Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

The Big O


Alternative Titles

English: The Big O
Synonyms: Big O Roger, Big O
Japanese: THEビッグオー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 13, 1999 to Mar 27, 2003
Premiered: Fall 1999
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Bandai Visual
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.571 (scored by 26,723 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15152
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1541
Members: 65,920
Favorites: 733

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 20, 2014
wkoppin10 (All reviews)
Another solid block of nostalgia, I didn't get around to finishing "The Big O" until many years after the show had run its course. Certainly trope-ridden and unashamedly inspired by many outside elements, the art, characters, and ending certainly stand above mediocrity.

Paradigm City, a place where forty years ago, everyone lost their memories. My name is Roger Smith, and I'm a negotiator..
Accompanied by a soft piano and saxophone, our main character takes center stage. Smooth talking Smith, accompanied by his mercurial butler, sarcastic android Dorothy and backed up by the ubiquitous "Megaduece" Big O takes on Paradigms dark side, composed of criminals, read more
Jun 3, 2016
thegl25 (All reviews)
Many years ago watching the programing block adult swim I, like many others came across the Big O for the first time. I don’t know what it was that drew me to the show, could have been the music, the action, or the cast of characters. I may never know why I was so drawn to the Big O all those years ago but upon watching the show a couple of times since then ,I can see why it has become one of my favorite anime. Directed by Kazuyoshi Katayama, The Big O is a 1999 produced by sunrise entertainment also known for the read more
Jan 31, 2010
Otarocka626 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Think of Big-O like an episode of Batman the animated series only diffrence is there's no main villian & Bruce Wyane does'nt have a giant robot the art style of Big-o & Batman are very hand & hand there's very little diffrence, & the simularites are great Norman being Alfred the dependiple butler at any coast, Roger is Bruce the millionaire &man with plenty of free time, & Dorethy Barbara the girl living with Bruce helping when needed just not related to the butler & Barbara wasn't an android, the way the city & people are portrayed is greatly the same city in ruins & read more
May 22, 2015
ratchet573 (All reviews)
PART ONE
EPISODES 1-13

The first anime review I ever wrote was written four years ago and focused on The Big O. Needless to say you don’t see it on this site because it was a terribly written piece of crap comprised of two hundred words, one hundred of which laughed at the fact the robots in the series are called “Mega Deuces”. Get it? Like big poops.

God I was a stupid sixteen year old.

As this is the beginning of a series of reviews focusing on anime that I’ve neglected to critique for this site, I found it only fitting to rectify my getting rid of my read more
Jul 28, 2013
Rae (All reviews)
Art: The first thing I noticed was the the unique art style. It may look dated to some viewers, but I was a fan of the film noir-themed art direction. Many of the character designs reminded me of Western cartoons I had grown up with and I didn't mind the subdued colors.

OST: It was fair and suited the majority of the show's episodes. I like instrumental or orchestra music so I may be biased. Although, I didn't find the OP/ED to be all that memorable.

Characters: Roger Smith started the series as the enigmatic Negotiator and ends the series on a similar note. read more
Jul 15, 2017
DubOverSub1oo1 (All reviews)
If you are an anime fan who has been searching for a show that combines giant mecha action anime with all the cool film noir tropes of a classic P.I. story, than look no further than the Big O. When this show was first described to me I thought that there was no way you could combine two genres that could not be more opposite. But somehow, this show manages to combine theme beautifully. The characters are cool, the dialogue is sharp, the setting is incredibly interesting, the main character is basically Batman if he were a private eye and had a giant robot, the read more
Apr 26, 2017
Sakkeru (All reviews)
I'm baffled by the low reviews on MAL for The Big O. To this day I find it to be one of the most beautiful animated series of all time.

I don't think it deserves a 10 due to a few production errs. For instance, a few of the villains were designed a bit cheaply, and clearly there are differences in production quality across certain scenes. While I understand the complaints made about the final episodes of each season, I personally liked the endings to both seasons. Also, the intro theme song is TOO similar to Queen's Flash Gordon, and seems out of place (but still read more
May 18, 2014
Kaz_Nara (All reviews)
I might be scoring in a very bias way, but this was one of my favorite shows growing up as a kid. Whenever it came on, on adult swim, I would stay up for hours just to watch this show and all of it's re-runs while I was in elementary school. It was one of the most complex and entertaining, yet simple shows I ever watched. The character development was just so nice and the transitions of each episode just got you always craving more because they would leave you with so little yet so much information. My favorite thing about it is that they read more
Mar 6, 2018
jinxthewicked (All reviews)
Big O is genuinely one of my favorite anime of all time. It's an enjoyable noir mystery with mechs and compelling characters that make the entire thing feel solid and well thought out.

The animation is very of-the-time but clean and nice to look at (especially in the blu-ray release, which I absolutely bought the moment that I could). The art style is more on the simple side for the characters themselves, but really shines when it comes to the mechs like Big O itself.

DO NOT go into this anime expecting a full on mecha anime. That's not what it is and not what read more