Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Wonderful Days


Alternative Titles

English: Sky Blue
Japanese: 원더풀 데이즈

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 17, 2003
Producers: Tin House
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: None found, add some
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 23 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.091 (scored by 13,803 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #34472
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2577
Members: 29,331
Favorites: 75

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 7, 2007
amaity (All reviews)
At first I was afraid this was going to be like Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within - a big let down, but I was pleasantly surprised by this high quality Korean animated feature.

Like both the Final Fantasy installments, which this is so reminiscent of, Wonderful Days takes place in a post-apocalyptic world where a group of humans are fighting for a better tomorrow - their wonderful days. One can tell that the plot is not a major aspect of the movie; there is very little background on the present events and little or no clarification of what is what. But that's read more
Jun 1, 2010
Tini (All reviews)
I actually had to watch this bad movie twice because I wanted to be sure of what I’m writing, and the first time I watched it I had some trouble to understand the plot since I fell asleep. I’m so disappointed in this movie

The reviews were really positive, the plot seemed really interesting and the cover of the anime looked awesome.

It was also recommended with the Final fantasy advent children which I really like. I’m sorry to say that I really can’t find what’s similar with these two. And I think that the person who recomended Final fantasy advent children with this anime, needs to read more
Jul 15, 2009
Onegai (All reviews)
I came across this movie while i was looking through some animes that were on sale. As it only was like 4$ I thought I’d buy it. I didn’t really expect anything from it, since it was Korean and all, but I was pleasantly surprised..

[5]Story: The story had potential, and had this been a series with at least 12 episodes I think it would have been really good. But as it stands we only have a movie and the 1.5 hours of playtime is not nearly enough to explore the desolated world we are introduced to in ‘Wonderful Days’. If you want to know read more
Oct 18, 2009
viking-chan (All reviews)
Damn. I am so disappointed that I didn't like this.

Story (3) + Character (3)
Just to clarify this: I think the story is a really good idea. But it could have been carried out so much better. I kept on being unable to connect with the different groups and characters, and found myself not really being interested in them. The dialogue is flat and impersonal, and little is done to personify the main characters in any other ways. I am not feeling any sympathy (or any other feelings for that matter) toward the diggers nor the Ecoban people, simply because I don't feel like read more
Dec 16, 2013
mykk (All reviews)
Sky Blue is probably the lamest anime movie I have seen so far. Not that it is entirely bad, I have enjoyed watching it, but if someone asked me what I think about it, “lame” would be a perfect word.

Lameness begins with storyline. It is the most generic dystopian future storyline that you could think of.
Mankind has split into groups of two: elite, who live in ultra sterile futuristic Eden, and working class who live in the wasteland.

While I think it is accurate vision of the future or even depiction of the present day (we already are divided by where we live, where we eat, read more
May 12, 2009
garrym (All reviews)
An absolutely stunning film!

Although not a new concept, the story line of an ecologically devastated earth, Elite overlords, and scavenging workers is brought wonderfully to life. I would love to see this taken up as a series, which would allow much more development of the characters. There is a relationship between Jay & Cade which doesn’t really get touched on until near the end, when it becomes clear that they are more than just friends. This begs the question of her relationship with Shua. Apparently, he left the city whilst still a small boy, and hasn’t been back for 10 years, yet she recognises read more
Nov 24, 2018
PxHC (All reviews)
"The history of all hitherto existing society is the history of class struggle"

I think you already had a good idea of the story setting before reaching this review, so I won't extend into that. The art and direction here are really good, with very impressive CGI for a 2003 movie, feeling very natural in the animation, and great music.

For a 80min movie it deliveries a fine characters and background development, although nothing much to mention about it. An overall good movie which you will enjoy more if you are into the genre - post-apocalyptic dystopian future, social and environmental issues, and so on.

The ending shows read more
Jun 25, 2015
cybergeek (All reviews)
Nice animation, poor plot.
Enjoyed watching it only because of nice art. The plot is the most trivial you can think of. Characters only a bit better. Only good for meditative world watching.
Apr 21, 2010
Progenitor (All reviews)
WOW...The best animation I have ever seen...the best art by far, beats EVERYTHING I have ever seen and I have seen a lot of crap, the story is pretty awesome, don't know why its rated so low.
Nov 15, 2011
FallenOne87 (All reviews)
This movie surprised me. I usually don't like CG mixed with my anime, but for this movie, it seemed to work well. The story is pretty good, and so are the main characters. It was the ending that got me though. You always hope for a decent ending, and this movie will give you that. I also liked the song that Shua played on his gramma phone, having a song completely in English kinda threw me off for a minute lol. I recommend this movie to anyone who likes a little si-fi and a movie with a decent story ^_^
Nov 7, 2012
kaonasi_mV (All reviews)
"Wonderful days" I would characterize as "stylish romanticism".
Each scene pleases the eye. Scenes of an action don't pull suddenness. Probably I yet didn't see finer cruelty. The torn-off hands and the raked heads cause only admiration, but not disgust. And in general I like this atmosphere of the cyberpunk: the far future, the destroyed cities, pieces of iron dominating by the world and the desperate loner heroes, trying to escape from this environment, never gave rest to my sick mentality. Somebody can calls a plot naive. Well, is also that? It is always pleasant to see, when somebody goes to the dream, despite that read more
Jul 5, 2019
glDaNieLL (All reviews)
First and foremost, do not expect an action movie, as this movie is more a drama with action scenes here and there.

As a disclaimer, I'd like to say this is my first time reviewing a movie/anime, and I watched the movie dubbed cuz I didn't want to bother myself with reading subtitles.

The setting is pretty straightforward, a futuristic post-apocalyptic world where resources are waning away, and society is split between 2 classes: the elite dictatorship-like rule (the politics of the society is not explored) and the "diggers" who as the name suggest, make sure the elite living in the city "Ecoban" are getting the resources read more
Jan 12, 2019
Tasusa (All reviews)
Just wanted to write something so that people who start watching this do not have too much expectations.

The premise is good; dystopian society, two classes of people, a small twist near the end.
But the characters were very boring:- flat with sudden emotional changes and actions. Random backstories inserted here and there for a few seconds which they probably could have focused on more had the animators not interested Sakuga at every other place and pointless animation of random things which really wasn't needed. Footage of random windmills, bikes and places for minutes straight which could have been cut short to add more substance to the read more
Mar 2, 2011
Nimloth (All reviews)
This is an outstanding anime that mixes diffrent types of animation seamlessly and in a way that makes this movie a smorgasbord for the eyes. The music and the characters are deep, rich and complement eachother perfectly. It's one of the few Sci Fi's that actually succeeds in getting me to belive that it really is set in the future.

The minus is that it's a bit slow at times and that the bad guys in the movie is a bit to archehtypicly evil (or free of human emotions).This is wheighed up by the main antagonist and protagonist which actually has a really developed back-story to read more