Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tenshi Kinryouku


Alternative Titles

English: Angel Sanctuary
Japanese: 天使禁猟区

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 3
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: May 25, 2000 to Aug 25, 2000
Licensors: Media Blasters
Studios: Hal Film Maker
Source: Manga
Duration: 30 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.391 (scored by 24,066 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #66122
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2097
Members: 41,604
Favorites: 203

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 26, 2008
TrenchKamen (All reviews)
I take this opportunity to advocate that you go read the manga before you try this OVA. The manga is light years beyond this drek in terms of... well, pretty much everything.

Needless to say this OVA does NOT do the manga any justice. Some of the animation sequences are pretty, but beyond that, this just sucks. The characters come off flat and obnoxious, and the story seems pointless and haphazard--there is no tension, and it feels like there are no stakes. This does not feel like a semi-Apocalyptic war between the forces of Heaven and Hell. It feels like... well... like every other bad pseudo-Biblical read more
Oct 25, 2008
iamjoe (All reviews)
Great, another incestuous gay demon supernatural bishounen bishoujo anime. I find myself being redundant if I say 'another stupid anime made from a sub-par manga'.

First off, the story is awful and had some of the worst plot I ever saw. It basically follows one guy perving on his younger sister and then angels trying to destroy the earth since the demons are ironically the good guys.

It pretty much goes like this:

Boy: I wanna bone my sister!!

Sister: I'm pointless!

Demons: AH, ANGELS!! OMGWTF!

The art was terrible--it looked like every character tripped and fell into Liberace's closet because their colour coordination in their clothes and hair read more
Jul 30, 2007
mistress_reebi (All reviews)
Angels are God's messengers that protect humans from danger because they are the good guys. Wrong! Unlike most stories, the bad guys (the daemons) are the good guys in Angel Sanctuary. Some viewers may find this OVA offensive and sacriligious; however, it isn't an insult on Christianity. It's a fictional story reversing the roles for once and isn't meant to be persecuting Christianity; just showing the other side of the coin. There are far more films and television shows using crude humour towards Christianity in North America, which are a million times more offensive than Angel Sanctuary. Putting that aside, the mood for Angel Sanctuary read more
Sep 16, 2010
Nanalilly (All reviews)
When I was a kid and starting to develop an interest in anime and manga, I came across a DVD of Angel Sanctuary at our local Blockbuster. Having never been exposed to much besides a few dime store ADV video tapes, I was thrilled. I took it home and decided that it was probably the coolest thing I had ever watched.

Unfortunately, from an objective point of view, I couldn't have been more wrong. It was childish idealism at the time. Angel Sanctuary the OAV is impossibly hard to review because it is based on what is in my opinion, one of the greatest and read more
Nov 4, 2007
Yandere (All reviews)
I first watched Angel Sanctuary after seeing pictures of it and reading about it for quite some time. Personally, some of my favorite animes are always demons, angels and fantasy, so I really wanted to see this anime and learn a lot about it. Unfortunately, it is too short and where it ends, is where the anime finally gets interesting, but for what you do see, the anime is very good and very catchy.

This may sound strange, but I enjoy incest stories when they are done tastefully and make the storyline actually interesting, and in this case, it is. The love between them is real, read more
Aug 9, 2016
VladWolfsbane (All reviews)
I know I've overrated this anime, but for me Angel Sanctuary harbors memories I hold close to my heart.
This review was originally written in the diary of a young warrior who is no longer among us. Accused of committing high treason he was exiled from the country, but he was given a choice, either that or just watch Angel Sanctuary 100 times over and write a detailed essay on it. Unaware of the danger that lay before him he went with option B......The poor soul was found hanging in his lockup the following day.

Not to brag, but I am far superior to him for I read more
Apr 20, 2008
Free_Wind (All reviews)
Warning, before you watch this, leave your religion at the door! Homosexual Demons, Kind Demons, Evil Angels, and Incest galor. Not to mention, everyone just wants to kill god. This is basicly the story of a young student named Setsuna Mudo and the trauma he goes through when he discovers that a rebel angel against god lies dormant inside of him. Not only that, but everyone seems to want to pull her out. Sadly, the only problem with this is that he'll die if they succede. You'll see Setsuna Mudo going through the average highschool pains we all experience, like dating your sister while hiding read more
Sep 10, 2014
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Angel Sanctuary was a manga written by Yuki Kaori from 1994 to 2000. At the tail end of its run, in 2000, it got an OVA from Hal Film Maker. The same studio that brought us Princess Tutu and... Bokusatsu Tenshi Dokuro-Chan. The manga is dark and disturbing with a lot of screwed up events and circumstances. It's also really good, provided you don't mind media that takes liberties with Judeo-Christian mythos. So, does a three episode OVA manage to capture the spirit of the manga?

Story:

Our tale opens with our hero, Setsuna, fighting against a group of thugs. He's winning handily, until his sister, read more
Apr 5, 2010
thesilentarmy (All reviews)
Angel Sanctuary can best be described by the fact that for a good portion of it, you're watching it with your eyebrows raised. This is due to the fact that Angel Sanctuary is an incest story. To most of us who actually have sisters and are not reading nasty doujins, this is an absurd and revolting concept.

However, the concept here is taken very seriously and from a realistic perspective. Unlike most of the incest fanservice and occurances you'll find in anime, in Angel Sanctuary it is not assumed to be a normal engagement for the sake of some weird fantasy. In fact, how abnormal and read more
May 27, 2019
KyasutoNaito (All reviews)
Angel Sanctuary Anime Review
By: Yuki Kaori
May 14, 2019

Overall: 9.4

Plot: 9

I can't actually remember how and why I downloaded this anime. It only consist of three episodes about the war between angels. The opening of the story is really interesting as it mentioned Lilith, who other people believe to be the first wife of Adam. Though along the story, that opening seems to be not related at all. The story actually show a tragic love between siblings, how they tried to stop their feelings and the consequence of falling in love. Apart from that, it was also a fantasy themed anime where war between God, angels read more
Jan 23, 2012
HeyItsCami (All reviews)
What can I say about this without being too harsh or too nice.

I'll be honest here. I only watched this because I was intrigued by the idea of Setsuna being the reincarnation of Alexiel, but that seems to be where it ends for me.

STORY: The story isn't bad by any means, but I did do a bit of research before and after watching the anime and they left a lot out. It ends with a cliffhanger, which could be good since it allows the viewer to choose what happens to Setsuna in the end. However, I was pretty confused while watching. I'll give them props read more
Oct 3, 2008
denilmo (All reviews)
Eh, I know it seems like my review isn't going to be that good by the rating alone ... but don't get me wrong. I'm a huge fan of Kaori Yuki and was really excited when I heard about Angel Sanctuary. The anime is so different from the manga and I felt like it didn't do it justice. I felt as though some of the characters were dulled down and honestly, the English dubbing wasn't that impressive.
Angel Sanctuary itself is a great story, with great characters and many twists and lots of action, sure to satisfy anyone that likes romance and fantasy. But unless you're read more
Sep 1, 2015
Kanohane (All reviews)
I watched this back in 2008, it was hilarious. No idea why I'm writing this 7yrs later, but I still love Kaori Yuki. This crap here was an outright horrible adaptation. I felt like it was just an extra for the manga readers. But honestly, its soo bad. Don't even get me started on the dubbed version, it was just too funny, there's screaming and ect where it doesn't belong and I swear, noone in this show has a brain. I felt like Setsuna and his sister were both retarded as well as 99.9% of the cast. Animation wasn't good and the OVA failed to read more
May 15, 2010
BeebopJazzAttack (All reviews)
I give apluse to people who can step out of the box and do something completly diffrent, something very taboo and risky. Angel Sanctuary did this, and it by no mean's a good anime, in fact I really didn't like it.

I don't know why I strated watching this, I'm not a big fan of deamon fighting animes. It was only three episodes and I had some time to kill so I tried it. I don't want to say the story caught my interest, but it did, because it was like nothing I have ever heard of in a anime. it's about a high school read more
May 27, 2010
yuudaiikanata (All reviews)
okay.. angel sanctuary.

story: 10/10
when i first read about it, i was turned off by the idea it was incest BUT nonetheless interested. it deviates from the norms of society, you might get a little shocked about it. i'm a traditional person so it was difficult to ingest it to my system. ehe. but the supernatural side is also another noteable feature. it is one that attracts most of its viewers.

art: 9/10
art is actually good too! considering the time it was produced, i'd say it was one of the best. even now, the art isn't as far from what we're seeing. although you'd see some read more
Dec 29, 2008
ladyxzeus (All reviews)
After all that is said about Angel Sanctuary the premise is simple: a mix of Orpheus, Divine Comedy and the Apocalypse Myth set in a futuristic display of Biblical Characters.

This is what makes this story so revolutionary, even shocking. There are a series of side stories that include homosexuality, incest and your average imorality that serve almost exclusevely as motto to present the Heaven and Hell and its characters.

This great premise is acomplished by fine art, extremelly detailed and, overall, beautiful. Even though the story is left at the Hades Arc in this OVA (for my great disappointment) just the art makes it worth to read more
Mar 15, 2013
DokiDokiChan (All reviews)
I wanted to watch the Angel Sanctuary OAV because I’m a huge fan of the manga, so my review is very colored by my comparison of the two. Also note that my review is based on the original Japanese audio.

My biggest problem with this anime is that it makes much less sense outside of the context of the manga. Even I was a bit confused about what was happening because I completed reading the manga so long ago. (Unlike with some series, none of this is due to a poor English translation.)
I actually feel like it would have been more beneficial to simplify the story read more
Aug 9, 2009
madbrilliant (All reviews)
Where do I begin? A friend of mine recommended this to me and I was very skeptical. A brother in love with his sister and reincarnations of angels and such? I believed I would surely hate it.

But...

I didn't. The art was beautiful. The story was fair, although I believe there were a few plot holes in the whole angel reincarnation line, but on the whole, a good adaptation of a manga that was so very long. (I assume. I have yet to finish the books myself.)
Aug 19, 2008
Ella-Ella-Eh (All reviews)
Angel Sanctuary made my mind twirl. Its basicly about girls pretending to be guys, siblings making love, evil angels (which, mind you, have three wings), emotional demons, a bit of blood and gore squirting around, and an imortal hot guy with a sword. Oh, and apperently, God is a 'no no' here.
Don't know about you, but thats the opposite of what i grew up with. But none the less, that only makes it unique. Like nothing you've ever seen before.. and will never want to see again.

Do keep in mind, the dubbed version is absolutly ridiculous. None of the voices match. But then again, read more
Dec 15, 2010
thelostone (All reviews)
This was a very interesting anime, it keeps your attention and is enjoyable. Its not for people who dont normally watch anime however, because it can get at some points confusing. It touches on several sensitive topics as well..such an incest, and god and death. As for the manga its alittle better in terms of..mental strain? the manga can be overbearing because it has ALOT of dialog
its one of those "not tell the story with pictures" type dealies. If your up for an exciting ride however..with no end i have to add this is for you.