Tenki no Ko


Weathering With You

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Weathering With You
Japanese: 天気の子

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 19, 2019
Licensors: GKIDS
Studios: CoMix Wave Films
Source: Original
Genres: Slice of LifeSlice of Life, DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 1 hr. 54 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.471 (scored by 173093173,093 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1072
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #334
Members: 345,905
Favorites: 5,994
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 19, 2019
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
Looks like i'm one of the first reviews here, I'll go in the history books, lol! Well, let me start by saying Tenki no Ko is a great continuation of the form that Shinkai's been in for the past decade starting with Garden of Words. The character designs, story, pacing, art, animation and sound are all top notch as to be expected.

I, however do encourage you to lower your expectations. Not that the film isn't good, it is. Great even and really enjoyable for me. It's just not Kimi No Na Wa 2, which I feel many people will be expecting going in and be read more
Aug 25, 2019
DannyTheDonkey (All reviews)
[Spoiler Warning]

“Hey can I copy your works”
“Of Course, make sure just change it up a bit so it doesn’t look to obvious”

This is snarky little thought that I came up with when I just got back from seeing this film in the theaters. However, in essence it is pretty much understandable to compare Tenki no Ko with Kimi no Nawa or even call this movie as its spiritual successor. Aside from the obvious the two movies are made by the same person, it also share the same universe where mystic/magic do appears in a grounded realistic setting as a main feature for the plot, RADWIMPS read more
Oct 7, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
[This review contains spoilers, because I wasn't able to explain why I didn't like this movie without speaking of specific story events and character roles in the narrative]

Tenki no Ko tells us the romance story of runaway kids who kinda like each others but not really and then they start fighting against adults and opposing society because it rains all the time.

I found it very hard to relate to these youngsters because they feel like lifeless cardboard. Our main male lead ran away from home and got himself a gun which he uses to threaten people and pimps with. And our main female lead is read more
Jul 20, 2019
VFB_Dej4n14 (All reviews)
After having just watched Tenki no Ko in Koufu, I have decided I'll make this my first review, which I'll make spoiler free and using the categorisation format. I am currently stuck between whether I'd call this movie a 9 or a 10, so as I've only seen it once and don't want to over analyse, enjoyment comes first after all, I've put the lower to account for that hype we all feel when we first watch an anticipated release.

Story-8: The synopsis provided on the site is ample, so you can read that yourself and I'll cover my personal takes. While many read more
Jul 22, 2019
Taitoru (All reviews)
First of all let me say this

「This is a Spoiler Free review」

Kimi no na wa/Your Name is my most favorite anime movie of all time and my favorite from Shinkai Makoto. That movie is my inspiration and the reason why I currently live in work/study here Tokyo. I watched 天気の子/Tenki no Ko/Weathering With You Twice yesterday at theater near place I live, Theater is pack full of people only fews seat left. And please bear with my bad english

Tenki no ko/Weathering With You is a story about love of two peoples which is the favorite style of Shinkai Makoto and also have Shinto belief just read more
Jul 22, 2019
CoalChris (All reviews)
When the trailer for Tenki no Ko first released, I think I wasn't the only one who leapt out of my seat and screamed for joy, sharing it on all the social media platforms. The staff lineup was looking quite similar to Kimi no Na wa (Your Name), meaning it could possibly reach the same heights as the film which brought Makoto Shinkai to the spotlight of anime media. I was very hyped for it, and finally got to watch it this weekend, when it released. So how was it?

Overview:
Directing, visuals, audio were superb. Story was alright except the main "complication" was just filler. Characters read more
Sep 11, 2019
Clueby (All reviews)
Despite the overwhelming reviews saying that this is a masterpiece, nobody I personally know actually enjoyed this film... We were all disappointed. That's what this movie is major disappointment.

Let's start with the strongest points
Art and Sound - Goes without saying it's amazing, the soundtrack in particular is very catchy and fits well. The art is good but I would say Your Name had better art, in this movie things may look wonky sometimes.

Characters - Here's where everything about this movie fall apart, the main character is just unlikable and static. It was nice to see him change in the climax but he almost immediately read more
Sep 5, 2019
wittisy (All reviews)
"Weathering with you" is a plate of spaghetti with very questionable ingredients that seems to be there for the sake of looking good, and despite it's grand presentation complete with truffles and gold plate, you can tell that the presentation is only there to hide it's many flaws, the half-cooked linguine, the hastily cooked sauce and the utter arrogance you can sense from the kitchen, expecting you to forgive all those flaws because of the restaurant's prestige.

I gave the film a rating of 6 despite my many complaints with it, and it is only because anything lower than that would be a disservice to everything read more
May 2, 2020
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
Another beautiful masterpiece created by CoMix Wave Films, a studio that made Kimi no Nawa. and Kotonoha no Niwa. as well as other amazing movies and shows such as Everything Flows and 5 Centimeter.

Why you should watch this movie ( Also the reason why I enjoyed watching this movie )
1 ) You get to see the two characters from Kimi no Nawa. again.
2 ) The visuals are great.
3 ) The songs are good.
4 ) There’s romance

Tenki no Ko was just great. For a movie that could be called a rip-off of Kimi no Nawa. or one that is very much read more
Sep 2, 2019
felixlovesanime (All reviews)
While Kimi no Na Wa. felt like Makoto Shinkai proving himself to the world, Tenki no Ko feels like the auteur simply being himself-- because it's time for the world to get to know him.

Tenki no Ko, in its essence, is an urban story. Here we have two teenagers (and one precocious tween) trying to navigate the cold and damp everyday life that is Tokyo by literally sweeping off the cold and the damp. Blessed with the ability to control weather, Hina (the heroine) believes that she can catch two birds with one stone and as her loyal friend/quasi-business manager, Hodaka (the hero) only wishes read more
Aug 21, 2019
Mightbe_W (All reviews)
Hello, this is my first time writing a review on something, I don't know why but I feel the need to write this after watching and reading the review below 7, but don't worry, I'm not here to ignite any argument with you, this is just an opinion from the prespective of a 19 years old.

Story : 8

So as everyone's been thinking for a while, Makoto Shinkai's story this time is having a direct approach, without needing us to think more deeper than usual, or should I say the word, "simple".
But that simple is simply enjoyable, two adolescent enjoying the joy of world, the idea read more
Jun 20, 2020
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
[Spoilers ahead]

The monumental success of Makoto Shinkai’s “Kimi no Na wa” is something that cannot be understated. It was a popcorn film that catapulted an already respected anime director to the superstar status often associated with the likes of Hayao Miyazaki. As such, all eyes were on him to make a follow-up to the 2016 juggernaut with another smash hit. As such, in 2019, Tenki no Ko hit theaters. It was not a particularly good movie, however, it is one that does show improvements over its predecessor despite some tremendous setbacks of its own.

At first glance, the visuals seem to be of similar quality to read more
Sep 9, 2019
TheZilla (All reviews)
Time to flood this review section with my showering praises! Bad joke sorry. Being serious though, if I want to summarize Tenki no Ko with one phrase, that will be, lacking of confidence to make bold moves. Yes, I actually said that on a film that our best boy, Makoto Shinkai made. He has always made really bold moves on his movie with no drawbacks at all. However, Tenki no Ko felt different. It felt as if he was being nervous when he was producing this film, there was that sense of nervousness inside the story. Not a smart play there, my friend, many people read more
Aug 17, 2019
Cosmic_Penguin (All reviews)
[No spoilers included]



Makoto Shinkai has done it again.

Not only he keep his magic of giving feels to everyone, he even improved on his story writing and this is by far the most well-scripted one he has directed. It might not have the extraordinary hit-you-in-the-guts feel of 5 Centimeters Per Second, the poetic atmosphere of The Garden Of Words or the glamorous starry vibes of Your Name, but in their places lies a sweet story of first love, having someone that cares for you and how the skies reflect our emotions.

To put it bluntly, it has the smell of fresh air under sunny blue skies just read more
Aug 12, 2019
justinjeon (All reviews)
To start off i am not a bot to anyone that think i live in the states. i have recently watched tenki no ko (weathering with you) and all i can think to myself was how beautifully executed this movie was from the characters to the general enjoyment of this film

Story: the story follows a runaway student from his home located on a small isolated island who runs away to tokyo. that is all i can say for as far as spoiler free explanations go, but knowing the story all i can say it is a phenomenally great story. 10/10

Art: for art it goes without read more
Jan 20, 2020
sil_ver (All reviews)
Many people wondered whether Makoto Shinkai could follow up Kimi no Wa with a better movie and Tenki no Ko proved that he could. In terms of art and sound, it continued to live up to its expectations. A major difference in this film compared to other Shinkai works is the development of side characters. In this film each character has their own set of problems and the audience has knowledge of all of it. In terms of screentime, all the major characters get an adequate amount of time and allows for the audience to connect to the characters more. Shinkai also included cameos of read more
Sep 6, 2019
JR4459 (All reviews)
This is my SPOILER FREE! review of weathering with you (Tenki no Ko)
Weathering with you is the latest film by Makoto Shinkai director of the likes of your name and the garden of words. Weathering with you will always be compared to your name and not just because it’s made by the same director, in many ways weathering with you feels like a spiritual successor to your name with them both being a fantastical story grounded in reality. Weathering with your excels with almost every aspect such as it’s story, characters and animation which makes it a must see for any fan of your read more
Aug 25, 2019
narukresna (All reviews)
overall, i really enjoy this movie, especially the art that makoto shinkai represent to us who watch it
not just an enjoyment that i get, but knowledge too, about weather, or about how a city can be there. makoto shinkai do a magic once again that make my eye not blink for 1 hour (i mean less blink)
even the hype is not like last series of shinkai movie, but i love this one. i think this movie recommend not only for kids, but to teenager or adult because shinkai gonna spoiled their eye to this movie.
1 think that i can to say is, LOVE read more
Aug 11, 2020
NextUniverse (All reviews)
TLDR Review at the bottom. Hopefully, that helped, in advance.

Shinkai's movies are, as usual, quite manipulative with emotions through the use of basic storyline structure, sob stories, and great audiovisuals to account for those elements. This is no different from Weathering With You. Though this may seem monotonous, it wouldn't be fair to judge Weathering With You based on other anime. In its respect, it is a very good anime standing on its own. With an extra theme of weather and hardships to go along with it, it is indeed a pleasant story with a new simple idea that Shinkai has brought us.


Story - 6
Again, read more
Jul 30, 2019
Sigsig (All reviews)
You'll be disappointed if you're expecting a tear-jerker anime like Kimi no Na Wa. However, if you drop all expectations that it will surpass its predecessor, it's quite the masterpiece on its own.

Art 10/10:
Director Shinkai seems to really love Shinjuku station. As someone who has been living at Shinjuku for years, I'd say he really brought out the feel of it - from the moody-looking South Exit to the South-East area where Hodaka camps out at night; to the Kabuki-cho Mcdonalds where he first meets Hina. There's no movie magic in it; the roads and pathways all exist in real life, and the distance read more