Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mahou Shoujo Ore


Alternative Titles

English: Magical Girl Ore
Japanese: 魔法少女 俺

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2018 to Jun 18, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Mondays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Pierrot Plus
Source: Web manga
Genres: Comedy, Fantasy, Magic
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.681 (scored by 15,545 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #51922
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1701
Members: 58,085
Favorites: 101

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 23, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Princess Tutu? Madoka? Cardcaptor Sakura? Yeah, these are all cool and shit, but at the end of the day, little girls are only in the way when manly men are in town.


From the director of 'The Legend of the Legendary Heroes' comes the next masterpiece of badass and bro, Mahou Shoujo Ore. Show about cool delinquents and crazy GAR motherfuckers who turn into magical girls and save the day from the evilest things with the power of friendship. By friendship, I mean the power of bro because these are manly men and not ponies.


The story along pretty much everything else follows the similarly generic read more
Jun 19, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Magical Bros turned out a way better and funnier than anticipated (or Mahou Shoujo Ore if you prefer). It's a thoroughly entertaining, if slightly uneven, magical girl parody that has plenty of funny meta-jokes, self-aware commentary, and a cast of likable characters. Perhaps it’s source material simply wasn’t long enough to be adapted into 12 episodes, but aside from some sluggish pacing around the series midpoint, it's a worthwhile watch.

Even now, the plot synopsis sounds like a crazy fever dream. The first two episodes are supremely ridiculous parodies of a typical intro to a magical girl series. Protagonist Saki plays the straight man in read more
Jun 19, 2018
Moskovskaya-chan (All reviews)
Overall: Mahou Shoujo Ore is an anime that from the beginning until the end doesn't take itself seriously. I really don't really get the anime at all .
Its like a big joke at all dialogues scenes are so cliche that in some way you probably feel you just watching any other anime but in the same time is totally bizarre the setting with jojo's mahou shoujo with dreamy fairy-yakuzas trying to become the idols that everyone want to be.
It's a story about how Love can change someone and where ambitions can take someone.
The episodes 5 and 10 are in totally diferente level of the others read more
Apr 25, 2018
Rabb2t (All reviews)
Preliminary
Once again, 2018 strikes back with another parody anime. Mahou Shoujo Ore now fills the box for "Mahou Shoujo" parody, but does it do the genre justice?

Story: Mahou Ore starts out like a generic SoL anime, with your main character who has an unnatural hair colour and their love interest. The whole build up to the magical girl contract is also pretty standard, but the small gimmicks are what set this show apart from the regular genre's main entries. Instead of there being magical girls for one generation, it seems that it's now a generational thing, with Saki and her mom both becoming one. Now, read more
Jun 20, 2018
Hollweg (All reviews)
Mahou Shoujo Ore presents a synopsis so great one may argue the actual anime isn’t necessary, since it’s unlikely it will reach the absolute zaniness of its premise. And to be frank, parody anime as a whole is a tricky business: jokes being repeated to exhaustion, plots that refuse to go anywhere (when it can afford to have a proper plot to begin with) and characters who are just basic archetypes tend to be the ground rule, which means the number of parody anime that manages to be something more than a bunch of random gags stitched together is ridiculously small. Binan Koukou Chikyuu Boueibu read more
Apr 23, 2018
Groenboys (All reviews)
Preliminary
{Remember as of writing this there are 4 episodes released, so in the future I may edit this}

So.. Magical Girl.. it's a genre. I personally never watched any Magical Girl anime and I am not planning to do so, but I was pretty surprised with Mahou Shoujo Ore. It is a parody of the Magical Girl genre, but even as a non-watcher of the Magical Girl genre this anime is still enjoyable. Grab you microphones and get ready to kick some ass, this is my review of Mahou Shoujo Ore.

Story: 7/10
The story is as basic as you can get, but read more
Jun 19, 2018
PixEFit (All reviews)
Many anime try to adapt or subvert the genre they exist in. Whether a show is a slice of life or a shonen series, they want to be different from the rest. To stand out. Sometimes, the anime goes as far as to make fun of the genre they exist in. Creating a meta sort of show. Magical Girl Ore is a satire of the magical girl genre. Magical Girl Ore is about a startup idol named Saki partnered with her best friend Sakuyo. Although Saki isn’t very good at singing or dancing, she is determined to become closer to her love, and Sakuyo’s brother, read more
May 15, 2018
AZAZN-chan (All reviews)
Preliminary
STORY: 8
Because this is a parody/comedy the story is acceptable. A young girl finds out that her mom was a Magical Girl but can no longer do her job so she takes her mother's place. In this series Magical Girls have the bodies of men since they are built for fighting. A key plot point is that there are really complicated ties between characters. The main three characters love one another but in different physical forms but don't know it. This creates a lot of tension and opportunities for awkward/funny skits which are really well done.

ART: 9
The art is great. It is consistent, the coloring, read more
Nov 17, 2019
Pixeldrum (All reviews)
A parody of the popular magical girl genre.

Was it good? Not exactly. Actually, this show had some opportunities for success. The concept of a girl turning into a guy in a magical girl parody show isn't that bad. However, they seem to lose focus a lot. There isn't a lot of creativity when generating the scenarios of the episodes. For a parody and comedy show, it falls short completely. I mean, I'll admit, there are some scenes that are funny, but overall, it's pretty bad. There's just a lot of "fluff" and actual action, believe it or not, among all the episodes. Plus, there's read more
Sep 12, 2018
Seregosa (All reviews)
Hehe, this anime was honestly a truly weird one. It's a major cringefest from start to end. The main idea here is moronic characters, being fairly self-aware and the surrealistic setting. It pokes fun at the standard mahou shoujo stuff with girls who transform into macho men and beat things bloody with physical items or fists. I mean, it's pretty much what you'd get when you think "what if we took the standard mahou shoujo trope and reversed pretty much everything to the complete opposite?". So, instead of cute girls, we have macho men, instead of cute mascots, we have creepy yakuza-like mascots, instead of read more
Jun 22, 2018
LoomyTheBrew (All reviews)
Magical Girl Ore is one of the strangest anime I've seen in some time.

Not quite as strange as something like To Be Hero, but definitely up there. I'm not going to reiterate the synopsis of the show, but this is essentially a satire of the magical girl genre. You got cute girls turning into burly magical men and demons that look like Arnold Schwarzenegger in his prime. Already sounds odd and hilarious right?

But it goes deeper than that: enemies that disrupt animation, Godzilla(?), sauna competition, using the magical girl rod to literally beat enemies to a pulp, Yakuza fairies.... the list goes on.

For me the read more
Jun 21, 2018
levelgrind (All reviews)
Deconstructions and subversions of magical girl anime have been popular for quite a few years, and while most have tended to skew darker to try to explore the horrifying realities of what it may be like to be a magical girl, Magical Girl Ore sets out to do the exact opposite, by cranking up the ridiculousness to its absolute maximum.

More closely resembling zany classics like Excel Saga than Madoka Magica, fans of any genre of anime will likely find something to laugh at. This isn't to say that fans of classic magical girls won't find enjoyment in it, too, however. There's plenty to love, read more
Aug 5, 2018
RequiumOfNEETS (All reviews)
This was... an anime. There is honestly nothing to say about this anime, I can't comment on it, because I'm not sure the maker could explain what happens in this anime, but I'll try.

The idea is that Saki, a 15 year old, is a (not very good) idol and (really really bad) singer trying to make it big to impress her can kinda not really talk childhood friend Mohiro, with her gay for her regardless of gender friend, Sakuyo. One day, she gets an offer by a Yakuza looking fairy to become a magical girl, and she takes it, turning her into... a man. read more