Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Jigoku Shoujo: Yoi no Togi


Alternative Titles

English: Hell Girl: Fourth Twilight
Synonyms: Hell Girl 4, Jigoku Shoujo 4
Japanese: 地獄少女 宵伽

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 6
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 15, 2017 to Aug 19, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Saturdays at 00:00 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, Fujishouji
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.601 (scored by 11,178 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #55522
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2266
Members: 37,189
Favorites: 143

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 30, 2017
anime_chibi1290 (All reviews)
Listen guys, I'm about to save you a whole lot of time here. Let me start by saying that I absolutely love this series. I don't care that it's repetitive in a sense of same theme different characters, I think it's a great series on a whole. This season starts off like that and gives you a slight 3rd season vibe where they introduce a new character and hell girl backstory subplot. All in all, this part was definitely interesting and I was really excited to see where they were gonna go with this.

*Spoilers* (kind of)

Unfortunately this new plot lasts for about 6 episodes. It read more
Aug 5, 2017
KuroKagami (All reviews)
Preliminary
Highly uninspirational, Jigoku Shoujo: Yoi no Togi still suffers from it's predecessor's mistakes, with a lot of terrible writing, horrible character designs, and uninteresting situations.

I have seen people saying it has a lot of "dark and twisted" themes going on, but I can only see how bad the writers want their characters to be bad.

We still get the "bullied schoolgirl "episode we see every season, the "all friendship carries hatery" staple and of course "bad people do bad things" special.

I don't think this counts as an spoiler because you know this is going to happen in every episode, but I particullary hate the read more
Aug 11, 2017
Ihateusrnms (All reviews)
Preliminary
There is nothing I hate more than an anime failing to accomplish its main goal.
In Jigoku shoujo's case, it's showing the dark side of humans, filled with greed, resentment, jealousy, violence, etc. But it fails Horribly.
Let me repeat, HORRIBLY.

No single character is realistic. To the average eye, it may look like the characters are dark and filled with personalities to explore. But in reality, the writers are just lazy. They try to make the characters as bad and pathetic as possible, but they completely forget the main thing that makes a character interesting, motivation. The characters in the anime have no motivation for their read more
Sep 30, 2017
kokuborou (All reviews)
I will be honest and blunt here season 4 of Jigoku Shoujo is a waste of time and it’s not like the previous 3 seasons that had an actual story and character development.The lack of originality is missing, the poor writing is all over the place and the enjoyment is zero.Also if you are wondering if this has any connection with the previous season you are wrong, it has nothing to do with the whole series at all it’s just a 12 episode cour waste of money and time.

The first 6 episodes are just cheap drama that turns into edgy stuff and it read more
Aug 25, 2017
CrayonMizhan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hell Girl is one of my favourite series. I have watched it for 3 seasons despite others' criticism towards its tendency to repeat its own plot. However, season 4 is a disgrace and has brought shame to this show which has so much potential.

SPOILER (but not really since they just copy paste)

The season began with the concept which is copy pasted from season 3, where another girl with hatred lost her memory from her previous life and was now forced to be the next Hell Girl to atone for her sin. Fine, whatevs, I thought I should give it a chance - it may take read more
Aug 26, 2017
RPWPA (All reviews)
Preliminary
When the studio announced that they are going to make a new season I was surprised because from what I have read, the manga should have ended with the last episode of season 3 so I wasn't sure what was going to happen in the new season and I thought it would be random and since it is an original season it would be worse than before but i'm happy to say that I was wrong.

Season 3 ended with Enma Ai becoming hell girl for eternity and so it was obvious that we were gonna get new stories with different people trying to get revenge read more
Sep 30, 2017
DrMondaiNashi (All reviews)
This anime is the fourth and most likely final season of the Hell Girl animated series which began airing in 2005.

For those who haven't watched the previous installments, I highly recommend you take the time to watch the first season at the very least, even if I don't think it makes a difference to know Ai's backstory, it gives a nice perspective when you compare the humble beginnings to what it has became today, I mean, it's been over a decade, almost 14% of an adult male's mean life expectancy nowadays. (just let that sink in)

The Hell Girl (Jigoku Shoujo) series can be considered a read more
Aug 28, 2017
Maddy-Bunny (All reviews)
Preliminary
As someone who absolutely LOVES the Hell Girl/Jigoku Shoujo series, it honestly pains me to write this. I am choosing to write this, however, because I want to be honest with people before they waste their time.

If you've watched the other 3 seasons you know the formula of this series. It can be tedious and redundant, but it has its charm in the end. I even enjoyed most of mitsuganae (season 3) despite the criticism it received. The final arc of each season was always what made the series worth watching in my opinion.

Upon finding out a 4th season was coming out, I was absolutely read more
Aug 21, 2017
WaifuKiller (All reviews)
Preliminary
Short but good, jigoku shoujo always knows how to give you the chills, a lot of crude and interesting new stories and a lot of jerks sent to hell, wich is always satisfying to watch.
Personally, I grew up with this series and its always hype when a new season comes out, in this particular one we have the introduction of a new character/hell girl with a depressing but interesting background story, and my personal favorite character design for a hell girl so far, it gives the series a new tone of seriousness.
Pretty nice season, is what you would expect, the same formula well excecuted, read more
Aug 23, 2017
notyourghost (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review is written after watching the first 6 episodes (the second 6 are all recap).

Wow, what a disappointment! I have always loved the various Hell Girl anime series. They're almost all episodic, to the point that you can pick up anywhere. The characters are usually personable, making you want to learn more about what makes them so horrible. The Hell Girl crew is enjoyable to watch as they seem so worn about what they've seen in the world. The animation is usually big eyed creep fest, plus beautiful florals. Add in thematic and atmospheric music. Sounds great, right? Well, throw all that out read more
Apr 8, 2018
Hime-han (All reviews)
Overall good story, and a great leading character of Enma Ai, but the storyline for the series is too repetitive. I'm currently trying to watch this, but I just can't seem to get to it. I'm not too sure why to be fair, maybe because I know that all that can be expected is what was already seen in the first and second season. This means, that we will see Ai Enma taking up on requests from people, who want to send someone to hell. If perhaps we see Yuzuki become the real Hell Girl, instead of just her temporary replacement, to give a different read more
Sep 13, 2019
MetalTsundere (All reviews)
though it received such low scores from most of it's viewers, i actually had fun with the series, like back in season 2 the reasons for revenge are well justified (at least for me), it's not all about about high school problems anymore in which i find childish and adults are also taking part of pulling the string.
However it seems that the show still didn't improve, as usual it's usual flaw is that the show will get better but it's a little too late, to top it off, I don't think Michiru is necessary for the show, just let Ai be hell girl also read more
Nov 21, 2017
Locokoko182 (All reviews)
This whole fourth season was made to make money. A disgusting cash grab that tarnishes the franchise.
For starters, it seems they just wanted to make some money off of the franchise, and instead of putting real effort into it, they decided to do the following: make six original episodes, then throw in episodes that aired years ago so they didn't have to do any actual work. I can't think of a lazier, more shameful way to make money off of a franchise.

Okay, so let's focus on the six episodes that were original. Out of those six, I think three were.... alright, and the rest read more
Oct 3, 2017
ShadowJackal35 (All reviews)
First things first, I write this review out of mere spite and am thoroughly disappointed with this season, so I'm going to be brief. Six episodes of the fourth season of Hell Girl are completely new and in every way a "Hell Girl" worthy episode. The last six on the other hand, are RECAPS from seasons 1, 2, and 3. Except for short 2-3 minute skits in the beginning of each episode, the episodes that follow that are copy and pasted from early seasons and are not worth watching. I have a very good memory and I can say with confidence that these episodes are read more