B: The Beginning

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: B: The Beginning
Japanese: B: The Beginning

Information

Type: ONA
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 2, 2018
Producers: Netflix
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, MysteryMystery, PolicePolice, PsychologicalPsychological, SupernaturalSupernatural, ThrillerThriller
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.371 (scored by 102276102,276 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #20042
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #665
Members: 205,883
Favorites: 1,100
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 2, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
It’s so rare to see an anime of such high quality to take as many risks as B: The Beginning does. Sure it stumbles a bit along the way, but the final result is undeniably an ambitious and thoroughly entertaining ride worth watching.

The story is totally insane on paper but is somehow even more bewildering in action thanks to such lovingly crafted visuals by Production I.G. with a talented director at the helm. It is in one part a sci-fi police procedural similar to Psycho-Pass, but simultaneously a game of cat and mouse like Death Note. These wild ideas packed on top of each read more
Mar 4, 2018
-Rainy- (All reviews)
B: The Beginning combines two separate stories within each other, one of supernatural mystery and one with a detective searching for a murderer. The fundamental problem with the show is that both stories suck ass and don’t really connect together at all. You could rather easily cut out one of these plot lines from the entire narrative and not lose that much in terms of story quality in the other. Hell, the show may be better for it. So, don’t even read the rest of this review, just write the show off based on the word of one internet stranger alone. Trust me, I’m read more
Mar 2, 2018
ButadonMeitantei (All reviews)
Have you ever thought to yourself: "Hey, I wonder what would it be like if someone combined Terror in Resonance with Tokyo Ghoul." ? or "What if someone combined Psycho Pass with Death Note?"
No? Well, me neither. However, it seems B: The Beginning is here to fulfil your non-existent needs...
But this isn't even exactly true either.

Story: Whilst the central story borrows many elements like that which I have mentioned, it is, with all elements combined, very different to most Anime of the genre. Although I have to say the synopsis given on MAL is very vague and misleading.

To start off with, Koku, the seemingly-angsty teen read more
Mar 2, 2018
maxmolen (All reviews)
At first I thought this was going to be an simple cat and mouse game. Where the police would go after the murderer only to find him in ep 12 as the nice boy no one would suspect, but that wasn't the case and I loved it. I got more and more hooked on the story as I progressed. The mystery started to unravel. Who was the real murderer? and to find it out in ep 12 got me fired up, everything fell into place, everything became clear I always love it when an anime resolves everything in the end. One minor side-note I would read more
Mar 3, 2018
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
One very cold morning in London I went on Netflix to look for new anime to watch upon clicking on Netflix anime it showed a new series called B: The Beginning which was brand new.
Unlike Devilman Crybaby this show upon its release didn’t get much attention from anime fans. It did get same attention and hype but it wasn’t in the same level as Crybaby where everyone was literally hyping the living hell of the show to a point where it’s now the second coming of Jesus Christ. Unfortunately I wasn’t a fan of Crybaby not because it was simply a Netflix show but read more
Mar 3, 2018
Arachnophobic (All reviews)
Before watching:

Damn, this show has a really good OP! Hopefully the show lives up to it. And the PV makes it seem like it'll be a nice crime thriller.

After watching:

Okay, thanks for The Perfect World, which was apparently the ED, but I want my 5 hours back. No one told me this was Botched: The Beginning.

I wanted to like this show, I really did. I want the new shows coming out on Netflix to do justice to the medium, since they'll be available to a wide global audience who aren't exposed to anime. I wouldn't say it didn't keep me engaged throughout, but overall my read more
Mar 3, 2018
CrimsonIblis (All reviews)
B: The Beginning is an interesting anime that is flawlessly put together as an anime that has no manga or resources to begin with. It starts off pretty strange as another one of those shows that has crime and they solve the murders, but each murder and each episode builds off each other fits into place and makes the story unique. The story is good at shockers and confusion into making you question what everything means and the best part is the journey of how it gets there and how all the puzzles pieces fit together.

Story: 10
Most animes can't get a good story going and read more
Mar 7, 2018
KiddishBambino (All reviews)
Where to begin. Pretentious. Plain and simple.

This anime is awful. In all the anime I have seen I believe an overwhelming majority of them had something to say and left the viewer with at least one thought at its conclusion. This does not do that in the slightest. That is not without it trying to do so.

Story: Garbage confusing and says nothing. IN the end it left me feeling and asking for what reason was this made.

Art: The art was very impressive and fluid. I will without a doubt mention that merit which it indeed deserves. The action scenes are very well choreographed read more
Apr 13, 2018
magaiverix (All reviews)
The time came, when you wanted to watch anime like Psycho-Pass, I looked at the list of recommendations and I decided to look at, what netflix had prepared for us.

Story 8/10- I want to say now, anime would have deserved a masterpiece if there were 24 episodes than 12- the whole story was suppressed. Kazama Flick, Keith- his own story I liked more then Koku's because it was really interesting to look at it, deep investigation and enough for 12 episodes, but Koku's- could have devoted another 12 episodes, because his story from the past seems to me abnormally short, he and his school reminded read more
Mar 3, 2018
SkepticalIce (All reviews)
Preliminary
Animation-wise, I'm loving it! This anime might remind you of Psycho Pass but for me, it's more like Witch Hunter Robin.

I really love how they handle the animation scene when characters are too fast.

Yuna and Koku will remind you of Guilty Crown.

The music and the gold will remind you of witch hunter robin.


And when you thought that the rune B means rebirth and death, it has other meaning and also the CANOPUS. look for JP context :)

Animation-wise, I'm loving it! This anime might remind you of Psycho Pass but for me, it's more like Witch Hunter Robin.

I really love how they handle the animation scene read more
Mar 2, 2018
Zax1e (All reviews)
I think this anime was good, I rate it 8/10. If you liked Death Note you will probably like this one as well :) It has a lot of psychology and mystery involved :)
I would say that the art is very well made, one of my favorites.
Story - 8.5 / 10 . Looks like whoever wrote this had given it a deep thought, cause, in my opinion, it's pretty good :)
Sound - (?) I didn't pay attention :) but the original Japanese dub can sometimes be awful :D
Character-9/10. Oh man, the things I enjoyed most are the stories and traumas behind them. I do not read more
Mar 18, 2018
ArchStanton (All reviews)
This is a series that’s never what it seems. When you turn it on it seems to be an odd mix of Psycho Pass and Death Note. It’s obvious that the series is going to be a police procedural with a quirky and antisocial cop chasing after a supernatural demon boy who hunts serial killers. Except that it isn’t. The hunt is pretty perfunctory and they drop it as soon as they can. Same with the serial killer-hunting stuff. The detective and the boy aren’t even fierce opponents, they just happen to be following different plotlines. The boy’s story isn’t what you expect either. From read more
May 13, 2020
notdepressedyet (All reviews)
B: The Beginning is an anime that has no clear structure. It starts out as a very promising anime, with flashy and attractive characters that develop well in the early chapters, but then lose focus and focus on other things.
Its story is very promising, it seems to be an anime full of mystery and surprises, but it falls short with what it shows.
I think that the screenwriter and director was not very clear about what he wanted to tell, he wants to show a lot and he ended up saying nothing.
And as if that were not enough, the end is discouraging and boring. I am read more
Mar 2, 2019
BrokenKnives (All reviews)
This was interesting. I went into this very skeptical, after seeing comparisons to both Death Note and Tokyo Ghoul. Death Note being a show I love, and Tokyo Ghoul being a show I'm indifferent about. This combination seems unlikely. Death Note, while it uses the supernatural as a means of driving the story, focuses more on the mystery part than anything else. Tokyo Ghoul, on the other hand tries to get its characters into gore-filled fights as much as possible, with 99% of the fighting going on between characters that have supernatural powers, one way or the other. Strangely enough, I found myself enjoying this read more
Mar 7, 2018
anime-prime (All reviews)
B: The Beginning had a lot of hype being the follow up ONA of Devilman Crybaby on netflix which was a smash hit. It had a lot to live up to and I was curious to see if netflix would start a trend of licensing good quality shows. I saw it the moment it aired and binged it in under six hours. So it obviously held my attention, but did it live up to the hype or did it crash and burn? Fortunately and unfortunately, neither.

Animation: B: The Beginning is an original anime produced by the master of CGI vehicles itself, Production I.G. (Ghost in read more
Mar 3, 2018
B_Hill (All reviews)
I love mystery anime genre so I was extremely happy to find this series is out. Felt that the beginning looks so much promising, I immediately knew that I am going to binge-watch this. Then, the downfall was imminent from the end of the first episode. From that point on, it bleeds the flaws and the story flops at times. Sadly and surprisingly it couldn't recover till the end.

Although it didn't take advantage of many chances of interluding motives between characters, I like some character compilations. But as many reviewers point out, I feel they are largely underdeveloped. AND there's an annoying shrewish female character read more
Mar 7, 2018
pipimiiiiii (All reviews)
Preliminary
B: The Beginning is a complete mess. I couldn't get passed EP 2. I was totally into the tone it tried to convey at the beginning of the first episode. But then I got blue balled by the change in tone straight after the opening. This happened more than once. It kept pulling me right out of the moment far too many times, in just one episode. It's trying to be too many animes at once, and it's what kills it. The story doesn't help either. You got two or more different plot points going at the same time. It left me confused, and disinterested read more
Mar 4, 2018
MuieLaHateri (All reviews)
The story is relatively complex, you will enjoy it, the art is just really unique, the fighting scenes are 10000/10 it is very fluid and very nicely drawn, the characters are really charming and quite fleshed out even if some of them look like generic anime characters, but they have their own desires and motives.

This show just feels like watching a mix of Monster,Psycho-Pass and Death Note. The main character, and his best friend, I can actually relate to their friendship and the ending, never expected it to end that way actually, pretty much shocked.

Overall this is anime was a treat, something we deserved read more
Mar 18, 2018
HelenaHills (All reviews)
Okay, so what exactly makes B: The Beginning special?

What you need to know here is that this isn't just one story. It's composed by two different stories of different genres, (and ultimately two different protagonists) intersecting and complementing nicely each other until the end. The first story and strongest one, is a crime/police drama, the kind of "guess who the killer is", while the second and weakest one is the classic route where people who were experimented on were granted supernatural abilities.

Even though the second one sounds like the one which would be at the center, it only serves as fodder to explain the read more
Mar 12, 2018
akirakishitani (All reviews)
Anime like this is something you either like for the sci-fi action or dislike it because its the same as an anime you already watched. so while watching i did come across characteristics of various anime broken into jigsaw pieces and made to fit the picture the creators drew. so as far as originality goes, 'b the beginning' is not the one. its riddled with the quintessential cliches peculiar to the genre. the characters, especially the supposed villain is more than a card board cut out but the anime fails to dig deeper into what more he could become. the main hero whichever one that read more