Osomatsu-san
Mr. Osomatsu
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Mr. Osomatsu
Japanese: おそ松さん

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2015 to Mar 29, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 01:35 (JST)
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Original
Genres: ComedyComedy, ParodyParody
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.071 (scored by 4281642,816 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #4652
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #972
Members: 120,963
Favorites: 3,324

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 28, 2016
Veronin (All reviews)
Osomatsu-san is to anime what South Park is to American animation, and what Deadpool is to superhero movies. A glimpse at the synopsis and simplistic art style may create the impression that Osomatsu-san is a family-friendly show for 'the kids', but do not be misled. It is packed with dirty humour and cursing, aimed primarily at older teenagers and twenty-somethings (and old men who watched the original series!) who have grown tired of how dull and artificial most comedy anime have become. If, like me, you happen to be a young adult who no longer cares for the twenty or thirty rom-coms airing each season, read more
Apr 5, 2016
Happy-Knight (All reviews)
I may be the minority opinion here but I pretty much struggled to finish this anime, in fact i was on the verge of stopping from watching it completely . Why? Well it really has nothing to do with the quality of the anime or anything like that, it's just that frankly I could rarely get even a chuckle from it- and it being a comedy anime, made it impossible to skip through any of it as that was what it mainly offered.

I am perfectly aware this was a reboot targeted towards the Japanese demographic, but as someone who tends to have a rather wide-spectrum read more
Mar 28, 2016
nerdtrash (All reviews)
Osomatsu-san: 94% ridiculous hilarity, 5% why am I suddenly sad, and 1% what is this I'm scared.

It actually took me a while to get around to watching this show. The art was too Muppet-ish for my tastes, and I didn't see anything appealing about a gag anime where the main characters all looked the same. I'd never heard of Osomatsu-kun either, so there was really nothing drawing me in. The only reason I started watching was because I heard that the first episode was filled with anime parodies and you could only watch it illegally because the creators didn't want to get sued. It took read more
Mar 29, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Osomatsu-san…..this is a show that’s kind of what you’d describe as a cult classic. It was originally published as a comedy series by Fujio Akatsuka and ran in the Weekly Shounen Magazine for 7 years from 1962 to 1969. Not only did it bring Akatsuka’s reputation to light to the public, the series itself is what I’d describe as an extraordinary comedy.

The modern version of Osomatsu-san is adapted by studio Pierrot and like the original, focuses on the Matsuno sextuplets. A group of six boys, they are known to cause mischief and the series chronicles their daily misadventures.

A common question that viewers may find read more
Apr 15, 2016
Suzu-kun22 (All reviews)
Art/Sound: The animation isn't horrible. But it mostly only adds to the frankly awful and unfunny humor and the character designs are really unflattering. The first OP was decent, and the first ED is notable for the ending animation alone. It's actually quite interesting, even if it's really stupid.

Story/Characters: A friend of mine who loves this show who doesn't get why I hate it so much keeps telling me 'it's just supposed to be a light and fun why are you judging it so harshly?' My answer usually ends up being, 'just because it's fun and light means it has to have unlikable, uninteresting, and read more
Jun 12, 2016
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Osomatsu-san is the anniversary celebration of a 60s show centered on six identical brothers and their friends, now grown up and living in a modernized world with the humor and animation upgraded to reflect their new age. The entire show consists of a bunch of skits centered on these characters either dealing with their shitty lives or reminding us that anime is awesome, and whilst some of the characters keep their old traits from back when their creator was alive, their personalities are mostly wildly different from what old-school fans might know of them. Karamatsu is now some wannabe ladies' man who wears tacky clothing read more
Dec 30, 2019
hyoriin (All reviews)
After putting it off for a while I've finally come back to write my review of Osomatsu-san, why I absolutely adore this series and why it's my favorite anime of all time. It's a little lengthy, but I hope that this can help explain why I hold this anime so close to my heart.

STORY:

There really isn't much of a plot in Osomatsu-san, however, it's also that lack of plot that makes it so fun to watch. The main bulk of each episode comes from the characters reacting to their situation as hopeless NEETs and trying to find a way out of their social grave. That read more
Jul 17, 2016
YaoiMaster (All reviews)
Let me just start by saying this is my new favorite anime. It was Zankyou no Terror for the longest time, but this anime stole the spotlight.

Okay. If you're looking for an anime with a bunch of character development and plot development, this anime is not for you. This anime is simply one for people who are in a bad mood and want to laugh at something. The characters' stupidity brings out comedy for this anime, as well as inside jokes and the overall facial expressions of some characters at times. The bond between the characters is humorous and not at all serious.

I refused to read more
Oct 6, 2017
nat385 (All reviews)
Short Review Summary:
- a few hidden gems in a mostly unfunny show
- great performances by voice actors
- nothing special or great about art or animation
- very hit and miss

I feel like I can’t give a proper review of this show because it was a skit comedy show, and with comedy, everything was a hit and miss. With this show, there were many hidden gems, but I am not sure whether one would find it worth it to go through the entire show for those few moments. There were a few parts where I was laughing my head off, but most of the time, the humour read more
Jan 11, 2018
Todoroqueen (All reviews)
Osomatsu-san is an anime that captures Humour and Slice Of Life really well. I always find myself crying in laughter at least once when I watch this show. It has a good balance between a proper story and progression alongside the skits in each episode as there are references and such used from episodes previous. It also has characters that are so low that it comes around to be really funny. Once you start this anime, it will strap you in and you will get addicted.

The humour is so hilarious at times that I catch myself laughing even after watching it. This is of course read more
Mar 29, 2017
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Osomatsu-san is a comedic anime from 2015 to 2016, recently adapted into a manga, brought to us by Pierrot. Yes, the studio that worked on Yu Yu Hakusho & Hikaru no Go. Along with a bunch of stuff I haven't reviewed. It's also set up as a sequel to a manga/anime originally from the 60s. I'll be up front, I haven't seen or read that one, so I won't know how well this one follows it. How does this one compare to Pierrot's other works? Well, let's have a look at it and see.

Story:

We open with a black and white scene of a group of read more
Jan 3, 2018
Quiqui99 (All reviews)
Osomatsu-san, the best anime I’ve watched. I was entertained during every episode and I am currently waiting for arriving episodes for season two.

Story: 9
Story was great, things were all over the place and some episodes didn’t make much sense, but were still comedic. Only but a few episodes kind of connected, the rest were on different topics and themes. It’s basically just these sextuplets, who are unemployed and virgins. It’s a parody of the old show made in the 1900’s.

Art: 10
I love the simplistic old 1900’s artsyle, it’s differs from the nowaday highly detailed anime artsyle. It makes it easier for them to animate episodes, read more
Apr 7, 2016
JebusMatoi (All reviews)
My favorite anime of last year came down between five anime that I simply adored. Hibike Euphonium, Sore ga Seiyuu, Osomatsu-san, Non Non Biyori Repeat and Rolling Girls. And at the end of the day, my choice for best anime of 2015 was...Osomatsu-san. Now I know some technicalities make it so Osomatsu-san isn't a 2015 anime but anything that debuted before the end of the year is 2015 to me. So...what makes this anime so special? Well, let's take a look.

Story:
The story to Osomatsu-san is simple. It's six sextuplets who grew up into 20-something adults from their previous adaptation, Osomatsu-kun, and are now trying to read more
Mar 29, 2016
AllenHavens92 (All reviews)
Whether or not you are familiar with the original source material, Osomatsu-san is a fantastic cavalcade of comedy that anyone can watch.

The original story (titled Osomatsu-kun) is similar to this reboot, but more simplified and more family-oriented. Here, it's set where our main characters (a set of sextuplets) are grown-up and doing adult things. If you ignore what it originally was about and not think of this as a new adaptation, it still works in its own way. There isn't any overarching story to it, as most episodes have smaller segments within. However, as the series progresses, there are references of things from past episodes. read more
Jun 19, 2016
ReJaKted (All reviews)
CONTAINS SLIGHT SPOILERS

Sometime around early September last year, I had gone through the seasonal anime chart. You know, the one that shows all the upcoming movies. Yeah, that chart.

As I kept giving quick looks to the various titles on display, a certain one had caught my eye. Yes, that anime was Osomatsu-san. What with it’s art style and rather eccentric color palette that screamed everything but modern Japanese animation, I was instantly captured.

Well, even though I was caught, I still didn’t watch the show until 2 days ago. The reason for that was, well, it’s a rule of mine to not watch or read something read more
Dec 21, 2016
MrSarcasticBloke (All reviews)
What happens when you make 6 lookalike sextuplets that are utter vermins of society (Lazy ass NEETs), place them into a batsh*t insane world, complete with highly contrasting personalities of the 6 thirsty dudes and entertaining as hell side characters? You get Osomatsu-San, A celebration of the late mangaka Fujio Akatsuka, It definitely lives up to the legacy of the apparently Really popular anime of the 80s, and I am definitely sure Akatsuka-san will be really proud of studio Pierrot, the studio known for ninjas in orange jumpsuits getting a prostate exam from their teachers. (a neverending series....)

Characters are easily recognizable, even though the read more
Jul 2, 2017
Saltail (All reviews)
Osomatsu-san is a sequel to an older show from the 60s and 80s about sextuplets who still live with their parents at the rip age of 20(give or take). I originally was put off by this series, as I assume others were as well, as the art style was outdated in my mind, but I had heard some good opinions about it.
After watching the first episode, which sadly isn't available legally now, I saw the potential in such a show. Now, the first episode may not be available, but there were plenty more gags and jokes to come as the series progressed. Now I should read more
Jan 11, 2020
RookieQueenOtaku (All reviews)
I really enjoyed Osomatsu-san. At first, I was reluctant to start it and confused with all the sextuplets. But it turned out to be a very good show. It was very funny, and it actually had some emotional moments. I really enjoy comedy that actually has moments that make you attached to the characters, like Nanbaka. I'm not usually a big watcher of comedy anime so when I find one I enjoy it's especially rare. The characters were very funny, their unique personality's and problems kept me laughing and crying all the way through. This isn't a show for a younger audience, however. It is read more
Feb 3, 2017
Strawberrycake48 (All reviews)
Comedy. A notoriously difficult genre to approach, mainly because of its notoriety as a ridiculously subjective area. Sure, to an extent everything is subjective- whether an art style is appealing (also relevent with Osomatsu), whether something is "scary" and what "good" even is. But comedy is especially difficult. Making people cry with laughter is quite the task, and when you've directed an anime like Gintama- renowned for its comedic content- then the task becomes even more difficult because there are certain expectations. If comedy is intended to be the driving force- the "story" itself- then it better measure up or the entire thing will just read more
Jun 8, 2017
APH_Ruby (All reviews)
Tbh, I really like this show. Sure, it doesn't have the best art nor comedy, but it's definitely enjoyable.

Story: 7
While the show is mostly silly jokes and some inappropriate jokes here and there (usually the Matsus stripping, something about "old man's ass," or related to sex), there are some angst and sadness. You can relate to some of the characters on a deep level as their sad stories are played. As for the comedy, it's not really funny until you get to know the characters. The only parts of the show's content that made me mad and frustrated is the Iyami Kart and episode 25.

Art: read more