Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fairy Tail Movie 2: Dragon Cry


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Gekijouban Fairy Tail: Dragon Cry
Japanese: 劇場版 FAIRY TAIL 『DRAGON CRY』

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: May 6, 2017
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 24 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.731 (scored by 24,884 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10402
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1287
Members: 66,127
Favorites: 450

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 6, 2017
Van-Balthazar (All reviews)
ok so finally after 2 years wait the movie all fairy tail fan boys and fan girls were waiting for is out .... 2 years ago Hiro Mashima made a picture showing Natsu as half dragon and he said that a movie based on this picture will come , we all know mashima is a man of his word and finally the movie which is said to give the biggest fairy tail shockers ( said my mashima sensei himself ) is here .

Now as we know that Ft 2014 ended with the disbanded Fairy Tail guild so how come the guys are back again together read more
Jun 3, 2017
Nopon (All reviews)
Warning: I am still fresh of seeing this movie. I watched it two weeks ago. Before I give my overall review let me tell you that I will be comparing this movie to other recent shonen movies to get my point.

This will also spoil some major plot points

This is one of the worst movies I ever had the displeasure of watching. As someone who still watches Fairy Tail from the start until now that it only has 8 chapters left I was pissed. And this is coming from a fan that has stood with Fairy Tail even if it has had one of read more
Nov 27, 2017
Taifood (All reviews)
Hiro Mashima is quite possibly the worst storyteller I have ever seen in my life, and I've seen quite a bunch of media.

Let's get a few things out of the way first: I enjoyed Fairy Tail up until the end of the Tenrou Island arc. It was at that point that Mashima knew what he was doing because he didn't have to follow through on any of the hype he was building up. I believe that is Mashima's only good quality as a writer. He is able to create ideas that sound good at first, but they end up panning out extremely badly. Every read more
May 18, 2017
dog3pod (All reviews)
(i will make spoilers if there will be one)

I went to see this in the cinema and was so stoked as i needed my next FariyTail fix as the previous arc seems like it had ended far to long ago. So as for seeing some of my favorite anime characters in motion again it was great but unfortunately thats where the praise seems to slow down.

The first part of the movie is pure ecchi fan service that i do personally like but i know many are not a fan of it so to see it so prominent in most of the first part and read more
Nov 27, 2017
sychonic (All reviews)
This is the most amazing disappointment in all of movies. *Spoilers*








Story: What story? A new kingdom with a king whose also a chick because the king is actually a dragon wants to take an artifact to free himself from the girl or something along those lines. But some random dude who works for the king wants the staff to destroy things because generic villain. So how did the dragon get inside the girl, why does the generic dude want to destroy stuff. What are the abilities of the dragon and his henchmen what can the "Dragon Cry" do nothing is explained in this movie.

Art: Standard read more
Dec 28, 2017
PhantomKurata (All reviews)
There was a time where I use to love Fairy Tail as a whole I thought it has great characters especially Erza, Laxus, and Gajeel which were some of my favorite anime characters back then. I thought all the arcs were amazing and well written and I thought the fights were epic. This was 12-year-old me saying all that stuff because I didn’t watch many shounen animes back then and I thought Fairy Tail was the best shounen series ever made beating FMA 2003 and Shaman King. I wish I can Bright Slap my 12-year-old self for saying it. However my love for Fairy Tail read more
Aug 18, 2017
Den_N_Iemiesse (All reviews)
I think there are two perspectives that should be addressed when reviewing Fairy Tail; the objective/intelectual/elitist view, and the subjective/fanbase view. I'll start with the Elitist review because that's more fun; but please read both for more context. (The only spoilers included are vague, disjointed and should not be enough to actually /spoil/ any scene.)


Highly Elite Intellectual Score of Objectiveness: 1.5
This movie as garbage. Its full of plotholes, doesn't follow up on most of the what it introduces, is read more
Mar 4, 2018
Kaneki2401 (All reviews)
Fairy Tail Dragon Cry is absolute trashy film ever i watched & sequel to Phoenix Nonsense..... Literally being an Shonen Fan, my friend recommended FT to me since 2009. Fairy Tail isn't especially good but definitely relies on it's fan service to keep afloat of the other competitors in it's genre every now & always against esp. One Piece & get big blow from High School DXD.

Hiro Mashima is second to Tite Kubo in terms of Worst Writer Ever. He always uses art designs & Ideas of One Piece for his FT Plot lines .....NAKAMA POWER......Sorry to All as it is Canon Film & disgrace read more
Dec 9, 2017
Fairy_Slayer (All reviews)
This is my first review..I hope it can be helpful for all.
Hiro is one of the best manga artists I had ever seen.Fairy Tail has been one of the best and favorite anime that I had ever watched. Finally after all this time Dragon Cry has English subbed. Am excited to talk and review this movie.

Story: 8/10
The story is also about dragons but set in another new city. Just like the first movie, the movie also features a young female character ( I think her name was Sonya). She also joins team Natsu to fight the dragon ( Don't want to talk more to not read more
Nov 25, 2017
NimbusBlack (All reviews)
This movie is crap. I say this as someone that actually enjoyed Fairy Tail for the fun little shonen it was, and who finished the manga. Half of the time I spent watching this film consisted of me wanting desperately to skip past the same tropes I have seen a billion times over and the other half was spent crying about how little sense this film made in the actual story of Fairy Tail.

Story: 3
The story consists of...
a) *Insert legendary item here* which is stolen by *insert generic villain(s).*
b) *Shenanigans ensue.* Build some emotional tension. (And by some I read more
Nov 24, 2017
generalcdj (All reviews)
Hiro Mashima promised us a surprise, and boy did he give us a surprise. Your surprise at my score given that I am a fairy tail fan is only half the surprise you'll get when watching the actual movie. It is unimaginably terrible. (how did it get over 7 is beyond me, tbh I actually had this listed as a 5 on my list)

So lets just go over the good bits, the sound was good, but that is to be expected from a fairy tail title, unfortunately you shouldn't expect too much from the new stuff and the old tracks that make fairy tail fairy read more
Aug 14, 2017
Houcky (All reviews)
IF YOU ONLY WATCH THE ANIME AND DO NOT READ THE MANGA, THEN STAY WAY! THERE ARE A LOT OF SPOILERS THAT ARE NOT ADDRESSED IN THE ANIME YET!

Now that's out of the way. After 2 years or so without any proper Fairy Tail animation release the fans finally get what they want... an mediocre anime movie that oddly fits the canon, but somehow still it's in it's own little world. Unless you really want to just see some of what Fairy Tail usually offers after 2 years of withdraw then I would stay away from this movie.

The story is the same read more
Jul 23, 2018
Jo_Mariz (All reviews)
I'm surprised that this shit sells so much, this movie used the cake formula that is used throughout fairy tail.

° The famous strategy puts your half-naked characters tossing their breasts.

°Making appear strong enemies that give a beating in the protagonists, soon after the defeat they fight again and of course that our heroes win (kkk).

°Then appear an even stronger enemy and use the wonders of the power of friendship and protagonism to defeat him.

About the characters I can say the design was very good the used trait left the characters more beautiful than in the anime, as always the design of the female characters totally read more
Dec 5, 2017
Skotthildur213 (All reviews)
So I actually really enjoy Fairy Tail and have both read the manga and watched the anime. But this movie was just horrible. I mean how was this even able to get made, the movie is just a glorified tit fest/fan service trash. Fairy Tail has always been more on the fan service side but this was way beyond that.
The movie also gives new meaning to plot holes, I mean how can you have a movie that are just individual scenes cut together without any kind of bridge to connect them. They do not explain anything that happens in the movie. Like did Sonya read more
Nov 20, 2017
tambi33 (All reviews)
Before I start I just wanna say, for the sake of argument, is that at most I'll be comparing it to what we know of the fairy tail anime.

Personally this movie came as a massive underwhelming addition to the fairy tail franchise , ascalthough it remained it's comedic properties, the story became more and more distorted...but introduced new moves of which we have no knowledge about, adding to that (after understanding the time restraints) the character build up was slightly poorer in contrast to movie 1; the phoenix priestess.

At first, going in, I immediately assumed that it is set after season 2 and read more
May 5, 2018
NerdCitadel (All reviews)
So this is my first review... I might mess up but screw it I'm gonna give it a try.

Fairy tail movie 2: Dragon cry.... This movie is mediocre at best. I seen worse movies than this but this is probably the worse anime movie I seen awhile.

Let me say this: I'm not fully caught up with Fairy tail. I haven't reached the time skip yet so I'm still far behind but... I know enough fairy tail to have an idea about the characters and lore. This movie did nothing to impress me or surprise me. Let me break down why I didnt like this read more
Mar 7, 2018
lucymakesmehard (All reviews)
The following review contains spoilers for Fairy Tail (2009), Fairy Tail (2014), Fairy Tail: The Phoenix Priestess, and Fairy Tail: Dragon Cry.

Fairy Tail Dragon Cry or pandering to Natsu fans, the movie is a perfect example of everything Fairy Tail fans are sick of. I was even more hyped for this than I was for Sword Art Online: Ordinal Scale, which delivered everything a SAO fan could have asked for. Fairy Tail is my favorite anime of all time and has been for over four years now. After waiting a year for the English dub to come out, Dragon Cry is the single most read more
Dec 12, 2017
Kal_Milan (All reviews)
Ok first of all, all of the enemies were weak, natsu, gray, erza and wendy could've easily beaten them all solo! also DEMON SLAYER MAGIC IS SUPPOSE TI BE OP! WHEN GREY'S DAD USED IT, NATSU COULDNT EVEN MELT IT!!!
ALSO ERZA COULDVE DESTROYED ALL OF THEM WITH HER PHYSICAL ABILITIES WITHOUT USING MAGIC. IT GETS ME SO FRUSTRATED WHEN ALL THE FAIRY TAIL MEMBERS GET BEAT UP EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE AGAINST THE WEAKEST OPPONENTS!!! ARGHH IM DONE

second is that natsu couldnt even break a steel chain. just because he was out of power... HOW PATHETIC! why is everyone weak again seriously. in the magic read more
Dec 7, 2017
PurpleRose328 (All reviews)
Fairy Tail: Dragon Cry employs the usual formula that made this anime popular. It has its cool, emotional, funny, sweet and thrilling moments. And of course, who can ever forget the "power of friendship"? These are, after all, what made me a Fairy Tail fan. But somewhere, somehow, something went wrong.

So, what went wrong? They added more into the formula that damaged the overall quality of the story. One thing I particularly hate is that they added a transformation sequence. It's just so weird and awkward, it honestly made me think, "I'm watching Fairy Tail and not Sailor Moon, right?". Those scenes seriously made read more
Nov 30, 2017
Asunakob (All reviews)
Where should I start to review this mess of a movie , I rarely get this disappointed in sth since I carefully choose what I should watch. Let's just say that the Fairytail as we knew it seems to be dying. The worst part of the movie is the storytelling. First it throws you in while you have no idea what has happened in between of the movie and 2014 anime then it throws a creepy crappy story at you without any kind of logic in it , no development no real fight scenes absolutely nothing. It ONLY has the Fairytail name anything else is read more