Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei


Alternative Titles

English: Sayonara, Zetsubou-Sensei
Synonyms: Sayonara Zetsubo Sensei, Goodbye Teacher Despair, SZS
Japanese: さよなら絶望先生

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 8, 2007 to Sep 23, 2007
Premiered: Summer 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: Shaft
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.961 (scored by 94,753 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6282
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #391
Members: 239,745
Favorites: 4,170

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 2, 2009
kurodayuchi (All reviews)
We all have times when we wish we were dead, although we don’t always mean it.

Well, I present you Itoshiki Nozomu. He’s the world’s most pessimistic person and always carries around a rope when things turn badly (by the way, when you write his name horizontally, you will get Zetsubou – despair). Right in the first episode we see Itoshiki hanging himself in some cherry trees and his imminent death is only stopped by Fuura Kafuka, his unequal: the world’s most optimistic person. This is what sets things off and from here on in we will make a journey through current Japan’s society, through read more
Jun 5, 2008
kiriska (All reviews)
Despair! I am in it.

STORY - Story? What story? This is a slice-of-life series and it is based entirely around hilarious character shenanigans, though if you ever see characters like this in your life, I'd be a little worried. Still, there are a few reoccurring themes revolving around anime and otaku snark and satire of Japanese lifestyle, culture, politics, media, literature, etc. They also frequently make fun of themselves, which is incredibly amusing. It's all amazingly well done and highly entertaining, I assure you. A bit of warning through, if you try and pause to read every single thing written in the background for scenes, read more
Oct 6, 2007
dollie_mixtures (All reviews)
Preliminary
Normally I'd wait until I've seen all of a series before voicing my opinion, here I'm making an exception. Once in a while comes an anime that pushes all the right buttons for me; Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei does just that.

It starts with the music: more to my taste, a little harder than your usual cutsy jpop. I often find myself skipping past the opening songs, I hardly ever watch the ending credits and quickly move onto the next episode; here, the music with the animation creates an awesome visual I watch each and every time. I'm sure it's partially due to the style of the read more
Oct 23, 2008
Splitter (All reviews)
I'm in despair! This anime with such a plot that could have been expanded in so many directions has left me in despair! And so begins this disillusioning review of Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei.

The series is a comedy, blending dark humor with otaku references and some slapstick. It's a very eccentric blend of various comedic styles so it comes off as a novelty and wears off just as fast. The first few episodes are uproariously funny, but once the novelty of the setting wears off there's nowhere for the series to go. Keeping to an episodic structure, no one grows and nothing changes. A good read more
Dec 27, 2007
Master10K (All reviews)
Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei is a Psychological, Slice of Life, Comedy about an extremely cynical teacher trying to spread his feelings and views of despair onto his students. Every episode is usually split up two as each part gives us incite into another one of the students, which means that every episode is different from the last. Seeing all the problems with Japanese culture laid out in front of you, just to make fun of it is not original however this anime is able to do it in such a unique way. With plenty of parodies and random moments, this anime is hard not to laugh read more
Dec 9, 2015
D-ohnuts (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei is a show about Nozomu Itoshiki, an extremely melodramatic man whose suicide is interrupted by Kafuka Fuura, a happy-go-lucky, perpetually optimistic girl. Itoshiki turns out to be a teacher, and when he goes to teach his class, it turns out that almost every single one of his students has severe mental problems as well.

Now, the premise is already hilarious enough, and for the most part, the show delivers in terms of comedy and satire.

However, the show is admittedly rather formulaic. Almost every episode follows more-or-less the same pattern: A problem/quirk regarding society is shown, Itoshiki rants about it, his read more
Jul 19, 2013
albinochocolate (All reviews)
"Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei" is as insane and addictive as it is deeply unorthodox. The usage of: silhouetted characters, extremely polar opposites in terms of the two main characters, constant cuts to text, and a bald, glasses-wearing man for censorship are definitive proof of this. As soon as it starts it already flaunts its relentless and ridiculously funny sense of humor. A strange premise along with a non-traditional visual approach not only make it intriguing but refreshing as well.

The premise is blatantly and pleasurably off-kilter like everything else in this anime. An incredibly negative and pessimistic person, Itoshiki Nozomu, and an incredibly positive and read more
Aug 9, 2010
Alinhje (All reviews)
I can see why most people liked this anime, but it’s not my cup of tea.
The first few episodes made me laugh due to the absurdity and the character introductions. At episode 9 I really felt like dropping the series but in the end I do like the fact that I watched it all.

Art (7/10): The art is very good at first, the surroundings were drawn in a way that I felt like it could be real. However other animations are also introduced, I liked some of them, I really disliked others. There’s also this bald guy popping up every now and then. I guess read more
Sep 20, 2013
BlindPenguin (All reviews)
Depression is often times (well, always) a serious topic. Suicide is almost a taboo in our modern society. Along with these, there are a whole slew of social problems that we see around us. These topics should always be handled delicately, because many people would be offended if they weren't.

"Sayonara, Zetsubou Sensei" takes this sentiment with a grain of salt. Our lead character, Itoshiki Nozomu, is a depressed, suicidal teacher who always views things in the most negative light. His class, sadly enough, has more problems than he does; the students range from a hikkikomori to a balding boy who read more
Jan 24, 2009
amade0 (All reviews)
Preliminary
There's good anime, and then there's crap anime, this one being the latter. I went into this anime expecting something quick, enjoyable, and funny, seeing that all the previous reviews gave it high ratings and some of the similar recommendations included stuff like 'Welcome to the NHK' *which also involves subjects like the hikikomori and is meant to be comedy*. However, I quickly realized this anime would not be one of those fun watches.

I forced myself through 5 episodes before I dropped it. The second I started watching this anime felt like my I.Q. dropped 10 points.

STORY: There is no story. Its completely pointless. read more
Jan 2, 2008
tigger89 (All reviews)
This anime starts off as a pretty straightforward humor/harem anime. The episode is divided into two sections, and each section introduces a student who has a strange personality quirk, such as always being optimistic, or only communicating via text message. This was okay to get to know the characters, but by the end of the second episode I was wondering if this was all the series was going to be. Luckily, around episode 4 or 5, it broke out of that mold.

It still kept the two section format, but instead of simply introducing characters one per section, it would just place them read more
Jun 17, 2011
Simonian (All reviews)
"Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei" opens with a teenage girl happily walking in a small forest of cherry trees. Suddenly however she stumbles upon a horrifying sight - a young man hanging himself on one of the trees. Now that's SZS in a nutshell. I could easily end this review with those 2 sentences and it would still be a detailed and informative review.

However, I think that even though SZS lacks a real story, it still deserves a decent and elongated review because, if it had a good background story - it would have been a masterpiece. SZS is a slice of life anime, so the read more
Apr 19, 2013
TheFlowingStream (All reviews)
Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei is RANDOM, DENSE, COMPLEX, SIMPLE and over-all RIDICULOUS! [I mean it]
I won't praise it all much and will state what you're going to find here.

SZS is full of gags and random jokes. It includes long and short "debates" and discussions over a particular topic. The topic can be very interesting or very dumb, making some good points or useless talk. It's full of ups and downs and everywhere in between. It's all talk and no action. But smart talk.
Many mention there is a lot of dark humour....but it's not that much. There are dark terms, light terms, silly terms, complex terms, sometimes read more
Jun 9, 2015
Haneken2086 (All reviews)
SAYONARA ZETSUBO SENSEI tells the story of a depressed teacher named Nozomu Itoshiki (whose name means "beyond hope" or "despair"), who leads a class of students who are just as mentally disordered as he is. There's a perfectionist schoolgirl who hacks at everything she deems imperfect, a mute girl who only spews abuse through her phone, a stalker fixated on her beloved teacher... and the most dangerous of them all, the cute but psychotic girl who sees everything in an optimistic but insane manner, which ultimately boomerangs on Itoshiki and almost always lands him in trouble.

This show has a simple enjoyable premise and some interesting read more
Jan 5, 2010
DMDetonator (All reviews)
Im sure there are lots of people who would enjoy an anime such as this and unfortunately I am not one of those people.

There are always people who feel like dying and would go so far as to write a note or go to the top of the building or prepare to hang themselves. These people usually aren't serious, those who are, are first of all cowards and stupid. They believe that it takes courage to die however, they are wrong... It takes courage to live.

Now after sharing that with you let me say that this anime was rather boring for me. I king of read more
Nov 27, 2009
ringoo4 (All reviews)
Don't call me biased reviewer, I tends to be really cocky on series. This review might be find else where, since I can't just write different review all over again, in different forum. Remember, I only use same username for all the forum, (Goo4) so please don't freakin tell me that it is copied.

-----

ZETSUBOU SHITA!! Everyone should have shouted this at least once in their life. But there is someone who has gone into extreme, and even tries to suicide himself for ridiculous reasons.

The anime, Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei (aka. SZS), is considered to be the most random anime in existence. You cannot predict how read more
Apr 6, 2010
leingodf8 (All reviews)
Writing a review for the Zetsubou series, is like writing about MC Escher's stairs. The concept is cool, the art pulls you in, and every time you look at it, there's something new you didn't quite catch the first time.... But you have absolutely no idea why it was made, or what the hell is going on. Zetsubou is one hell of a wild ride, mixing so many thoughts and ideas you always knew about, but never questioned. It pushes boundaries, and creates an experience most viewers wont soon forget.

Now, if your looking for a deep plot with involving characters and a decent conclusion, then read more
Mar 11, 2009
Dellano (All reviews)
Well, I'm not a native speaker and this is my first review here. So please forgive me if I make any mistakes . ^¬^

Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei is by far the most interesting series I've seen in a while. It really brakes the whatever we may call "normal anime patterns" in a very original way. Starting with the story, which does not exist, not in a normal way. The following episode has nothing to do with the previous one. Sometimes, even the second part of the anime, doesn't seen to follow the first one, but every slice of the story can really gets read more
Jul 1, 2008
nx6 (All reviews)
Sayonara Zetsubo Sensei is about a depressed teacher who would like nothing more than to die, but whose attempts are usually foiled by his students, who all seem to have social quirks of their own. The series starts with Zetsubo trying to hang himself from a cherry tree when he is interrupted by a girl optimistic enough to be his polar opposite. After escaping a conversation with what he sees as an annoyingly bubbly person, he arrives at his classroom the next day and realizes the girl is one of his own students. Zetsubo's full name when written horizontally reads as "despair" and as the read more
Aug 18, 2008
UchihaItachi6660 (All reviews)
Ah, Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei! Before I begin, let me state that I watched this anime in two days while at a sleepover with some friends, which means some episodes were watched really late into the night/morning. This may have affected my perception of the anime to some degree due to severe sleepiness. Also, this sleepover happened about 6 weeks before I wrote this review, so I may not remember every little detail about what I am discussing. Forgive me. ^^’

Story- Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei’s (SZS) story revolves around a group of schoolgirls (OK, there is one moderately important male student, but no one REALLY cares) and read more