Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

School Days


Alternative Titles

English: School Days
Japanese: スクールデイズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2007 to Sep 27, 2007
Premiered: Summer 2007
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 02:15 (JST)
Licensors: Discotek Media
Studios: TNK
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 5.981 (scored by 233,064 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #77282
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #157
Members: 385,095
Favorites: 2,512

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 21, 2007
Yandere (All reviews)
School Days is a psychological anime, number one, so do not think it is about cute children playing in school and having happy days. School Days is an anime about how cheating on someone can really end up messing with their head and lives and how the human heart and mind are very fragile and how friendship is very precious and when destroyed in the worst way, it can have the worst consequences.

The main character is your seemingly typical anime guy in high school that listens to music and has a bunch of perverted thoughts about girls all the time, but who turns out to read more
Sep 30, 2007
Xyik (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

This anime is great, great for one thing which I truly believe is its sole purpose of existence - opening pickle jars. This anime will help you with the opening of jars and various other tasks requiring brute strength. You'll feel like the Hulk after you've watched half the series. And the very reason for all of this is this anime's amazing ability to piss the viewer off like no other series I have ever seen. If you want to be angered, please, please watch this series.


Story:
Jokes aside, this anime might be considered a decent series to other people, but I read more
Aug 13, 2008
YoungVagabond (All reviews)
*THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS*

School Days Creator (SDC)- Hey man, I have a terrific idea for an anime series, based on this dirty animated game I've played!
Japanese Executive (JE)-Okay, I love hentai! Let's hear it.

SDC- Well, it's going to be about a guy who is a complete failure at life, an idiot loser who is intensely selfish. He gets uncontrollably nervous talking to girls, and does nothing with his life. However, the twist is that every girl who meets him falls madly in love. And he has sex with all of them.
JE-What's his driving motivation?

SDC-To fuck as many girls as possible, read more
Feb 14, 2015
lawlmartz (All reviews)
"I have touched the flower that everyone wants. The feelings for that flower, I have put into words. To hurt this world was not my intention. If there was no one there to question you, would that mean you could do anything?"

Preface:
Well, today is Valentine's Day, so what better series to review than one of the most controversial love stories ever to be put in animated form? That's right, I'm talking School Days, one of the biggest cases of subverted expectations I've seen in recent days.

Overview:

Our story begins with two star crossed lovers, Makoto and Kotonoha (Katsura). Young love is so fragile, and so read more
Jul 3, 2013
Polyphemus (All reviews)
A character that is not likable is not the same as a bad character. You wouldn't complain about the characters "doing stupid things" in Othello, would you? That's the point of a tragedy. Othello believed the lies about Desdemona because he was a flawed human being as Makoto cheated because he was a flawed human being. Things are not as simple as detractors make them seem and you can’t expect a cast of deeply flawed characters to make smart decisions, like the detractors of the series supposedly would.

Where did we get this idea that a character must be likable and flawless to be a read more
Nov 22, 2008
Ceptryn (All reviews)
Watching School days... and enjoying it requires a special type of person. The sort that that can view the suffering of fictional characters like a curious (or evil) scientist who conducts social experiments on a bunch of unknowing test subjects (victims) with intense academic interest (while cackling madly).

The entire anime is essentially a social experiment taken to extremes. What happens if you take a horny teenage guy with little self-restraint, and give him the temptation of almost unlimited sex? What if you add into the mix a group of fangirls, who tend to always regard sleeping with the guy who sleeps with the read more
Jan 22, 2014
CherryLemonLime (All reviews)
Characters - The characters are ALL, ALL devoid of ANY logic. It is VERY clear that this anime started out as a visual novel. The characters are absolutely ridiculous. Almost nothing that they do makes sense. There is one character that you will feel empathy for, but only for a couple episodes. Very quickly this character turn into complete trash like the rest. Apparently every single girl in this show is insanely stupid. Girls in this show are portrayed to be walking sex dolls with JUST enough brain power to give consent to sex. The ONE THING that I will give to this show about read more
Sep 27, 2007
Dmodwc (All reviews)
**Warning**
This is one of those shows that sets the viewer up for the ending the entire time. If you drop this before watching the last episode, you'll be wasting your time watching this series.

Story : It doesn't seem like the story was very well thought out at first (horny teenager in high school trying to get as much girls as he can). The main character, Ito Makoto, is guaranteed to be the worst anime character you'll ever meet. He's popular among the girls at his school because he seems/they think he's a nice guy (I have no idea what basis they have read more
Apr 6, 2008
slpless (All reviews)
School Days the game was released a few years ago and it drew quite a bit of attention because of the fact that it was completely animated eroge. In addition, a 30 minute non-interactive ‘demo’ (it was basically the same thing as the first episode of the anime) was also subtitled when it came out. Watching this ‘demo’ gave me the impression that School Days had a very typical romance narrative. Well a few weeks later I saw several gifs of the 3 infamous endings. Like many, I when WTF!? and became excited when the anime was announced so I could read more
Nov 28, 2009
Prede (All reviews)
We are used to tragedies happening on the grand scale. Famous Shakespeare plays like Romeo and Juliet and Macbeth, the accounts of Joan of Arc , and Oedipus Rex display this very well. Many times great tragedies are set in the past or fantasy worlds. But what would a tragedy that happens in our modern world be like? One that isn't on a grand scale. A tragedy grounded in reality, set in motion by everyday events, in which the worst crime that sparks it all involves cheating on others and not paying attention to people's feelings. This is what School Days attempts to show read more
Sep 6, 2013
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
A pitfall for many shows that attempt to be dark and mature is that they often mistaken edginess for depth. They present dark world views, display acts of immorality and cruelty, all under the misconception that they are laying bare some dark truth of the world. For an example, look no further than this infamous 12 episode anime series. School Days is the perfect picture of a show that confuses sadism for pessimistic insight. This is a show that is thoroughly patience testing in its sheer unpleasantness; saved from the bottom of the barrel only by the karmic bite of its conclusion. While its ambition read more
May 6, 2014
SporadicToast (All reviews)
Welcome to the world where you have a nice little harem with you in it, what would you do? Would you preserve the status quo to maintain it? Or rather choose one girl out of the rest? Or screw it up completely? Unfortunately for little Itou here, he chose the latter one, and hell did he screw up, big time.

Now, notice the lack of the "Comedy" genre that you should be expecting in a school harem.

Let me tell you a few things too, the description here is way too optimistic for this anime. The genre bar is also lacking too. If you're here expecting a read more
Jun 30, 2010
Icky-san (All reviews)
Story: What can I say about the storyline? It has its up's and downs as well as its "WTF" and "...". I can already see the creator of School Days trying to portray an image to the viewers that this is typically a normal life of a teenager would lead, but forgetting that not every teenager leads this type of life. Getting deeper into this, I would say the moral of this story goes beyond your ordinary imagination of ecchi and romance. All I can say is, prepare yourself for a story like no other, a story that even sometimes exist in reality and that read more
Feb 2, 2010
MrOnsen (All reviews)
You ever cut your eyes out with a butter knife? Well, you will know the experience once you watch School Days. I was on the verge of just staying in my room for a couple days and not even feeding myself. Yes, this anime was THAT bad. Now by bad, I mean something other than the traditional "shitty" or "garbage" most people are familiar with. I mean, it's just so god awful that it left a sour taste in my mouth. I will expand more on this feeling and provide you with a somewhat accurate portaryal of this steaming piece of doodoo.

Story:
The story is very read more
Jul 21, 2014
heartslayers (All reviews)
This review WILL contain spoilers.

When I first got into School Days, I didn' know what I was getting myself into. I had heard about it, by people who either loved it or hated it. So I didn't know what to expect from it.

2 years later, I still don't know exactly what I watched.

Story: 4

The premise of School Days is simple; boy falls in love with girl but he doesn't exactly know how to approache her, so he gets help from another girl to get them together. Pretty innocent, right? Sure, I thought the same thing, a cute couple with a change of love blooming. Thing read more
Mar 29, 2008
Tekky99 (All reviews)
Length: 12 Episodes
Original Airdates: 07/07 - 09/07
Demographic: Seinen
Genres: Drama, Romance, Psychological, (and eventually) Horror
WARNING: Contains scenes of sexuality, and a "Nice Boat" ending

One-sentence summary: "What the f***!?"

Plot Synopsis
Makoto Ito rides the train to and from school every day. However, at the beginning of his second term, he falls in love with a beautiful girl that also rides the train. Unfortunately, she barely knows of his existence. Her name is Kotonoha Katsura, and though they attend the same school, they are not in the same class. In an attempt to catch her eye, Makoto enlists the aid of a close female friend of his: Sekai Saionji. read more
Oct 23, 2007
Master10K (All reviews)
School Days is a Slice of Life, Romantic, Drama about a sordid love triangle between friends Makoto (guy), Kotonoha (girl) and Sekai (girl). This is anime is an adaptation of a visual novel, notorious for its tragic endings and this anime retains that reputation.

As the story begins it seems very average, with the typical storyline that this type of anime tends to follow however both of the girl's questionable behaviour and feelings do make this romance drama very interesting. Even though it is very short, the story flows well at a satisfying pace, with some major unexpected developments that will keep most unable to stop.

Yet read more
Jan 14, 2014
CamoBullo (All reviews)
AUTHORS NOTE (23/1/14): Near the end of the review, there is a spoiler regarding the final episode. I urge you to watch the series before reading the review or -- if you aren't interested in the series/have dropped it -- read it if you so desire.

Don’t be fooled this anime’s poster: it’s not all happy girls and good times. School Days is the adaption of a visual novel with the same name, infamous for its brutal bad endings. A notably absent genre this should be categorised is psychological – it shows the worst of human desire in a twelve episode, slow-paced fashion which is either read more
Aug 31, 2012
Ramemal (All reviews)
School days is a terrible show that is completely dependent on its ending. Otherwise, it wouldn't even be relevant to us.

Think about it, remove that "moment" from this show and what do we get? A poorly animated, poorly written story that needs a big kick at the end to leave somewhat of an impression.

None of the characters in this show are likable, and all of them are simply nonsensical. There's nothing special about the male MC, and yet all the girls are flaunting their bodies to him. Sekai is a braindead character. Just watching her made me lose some brain cells. Why did she introduce read more
Sep 20, 2017
WithMyCigs (All reviews)
(Note: this review contains minor spoilers)

School Days seems to offer something that is different from the typical romance, harem, and high school anime; at the very least, it has an unusual protagonist in that he is selfish, takes any opportunity for sex, and doesn't have any concern for the feelings of others or take any responsibility for his own actions. However, the originality mostly stops there. The girls are mostly archetypes of this genre: the energetic friend, the sweet and quiet girl, the seemingly emotionless, distant observer (who also happens to look half her age), and the childhood friend. Where they differ from these clichés read more