Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Grisaia no Kajitsu


Alternative Titles

English: The Fruit of Grisaia
Synonyms: Le Fruit de la Grisaia
Japanese: グリザイアの果実

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2014 to Dec 28, 2014
Premiered: Fall 2014
Broadcast: Sundays at 20:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: 8bit
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.671 (scored by 168,902 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #11892
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #258
Members: 327,792
Favorites: 2,919

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 25, 2015
Veronin (All reviews)
For nearly every minute I spent watching Grisaia, I kept asking myself the same question: "Why the hell is this only 13 episodes long?"

The natural response would be that the studio did not have enough budget to stretch the production any further. And while that does contain some truth, it does not excuse 50+ hours of story from the visual novel being jammed into a meagre four hours of animation. True, there's a lot of crap in the visual novel that could be cut out with little of value being lost. But when necessary story and characterisation is rushed through so quickly that you can read more
Jan 4, 2015
Darknesser (All reviews)
Grisaia no Kajitsu Review

So. Where to begin ? Grisaia no Kajitsu debuted as a visual novel, and it was quite highly praised. So, like several other visual novels, since it was starting to get very popular, Front Wing decided that it was time to adapt it into an anime, to further boost the popularity of the VN. However, most of us know that adapting a visual novel into an anime is a very "hit or miss" decision. Either it's a complete success, like Clannad or Fate/Stay Night UBW, or it's a complete disaster, the that will forever tarnish the reputation of the source material. read more
Dec 28, 2014
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
"No matter how much I keep lowering my expectations, I still end up disappointed"
That one sentence sums up the ongoing experience of watching this anime from start to finish.

Grisaia no Kajitsu is undoubtedly one of the most successful and popular visual novels in recent years. It is a game praised for having a godlike character cast, excellent production value, great comedy, extreme lewdness and an abnormal amount of psychological depth and serious storylines for a harem series. Sounds like the perfect recipe for something to make an anime out of, right? Well three and a half years after the original visual novel was released, it read more
Dec 28, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
When it comes to risk, Grisaia No Kajitsu (The Fruit of Grisaia) is no stranger to the word. Dare I say a show with based on a popular visual novel only gets a 13 episode adaptation. Take a look at some of the other popular visual novels like Little Busters and Clannad. Even with 2-cour adaptations, there are some problems with their effectiveness. So what happened with Grisaia No Kajitsu? The answer is a controversial adaptation. Or to say the least, this series is one that is a big oddball. I don’t mean it necessarily in a negative fashion but one that may strike some read more
Feb 11, 2015
CecaniahCorabele (All reviews)
I attracted to watch Grisaia no Kajitsu since it has a unique theme (psychological+drama), a type of settings that rarely found in this era. Before I starting to watch this, I heard many great things about the Visual Novel. Many people say it's a masterpiece. So, I started to watch with great things imagined in my mind. But after finishing it, I think I drowned into the same swamp again...

Grisaia no Kajitsu is a story about a group of 6 teenagers (5 girls and 1 boy) that have a problem in their life. They cannot go to the regular school because of the problem. Well, read more
Apr 13, 2015
maoxiong88 (All reviews)
"Being indebted to someone is nothing to be ashamed of, not repaying that debt is." - Kazami Yuuji.

Sometimes you've run out of Anime to watch or are just bored and come across something that sounds so dumb but you say "oh what the heck" and by the time you realize it, it's already several hours past the time you usually sleep. Saying you'll only watch one more episode but by the time you're done, you've watched them all! This is just the Anime that does exactly that! It is a gem among stones, and this is one review I read more
Jan 9, 2015
Valkqt (All reviews)
Be it for the dorky humour or the sporadic bouts of humanity in the individual routes, Grisaia no Kajitsu enstablished itself as a force in the otaku world strongly enough to pique my curiosity and get enough funds for anime projects.
The first adaptation covers the story of the first game and all five routes, but it is immediately evident that the series is cheaply made for a quick cash grab. Recycled backgrounds, vital parts of the story missing to fit screen time, rushed pacing and incomplete characterization aren't going to be noticed by VN readers exclusively, but casual watchers as well.

Fundamentally, it's the same read more
Dec 28, 2014
Winneon (All reviews)
I have a more updated review on my website. You can go there by going to my MAL profile and clicking on the website link in the details section. I will not be directly linking the updated review here because of the MAL review guidelines.

Grisaia no Kajitsu.

Renowned as one of the best visual novels ever to be concieved, the first of the Grisaia trilogy finally received an anime adaption with the collaboration of animation studio 8bit, and Front Wing, the creator of the Grisaia trilogy. When I first heard of this adaption, I was beyond ecstatic. My favourite visual novel was getting a proper (at read more
Jul 12, 2015
Evotic (All reviews)
Let me start off by saying, Grisaia is NOT a harem. Well, you kinda get that harem-y feel on the first few episodes, but it is actually not. I was actually surprised that this anime received a lot of hate from the community. I actually loved this anime. I will now explain why I enjoyed it.

STORY -6
TBH, this anime doesn't have that much story. It doesn't have a proper plot other than a guy moves in to a school for girls. But it's more than meets the eye. This anime's plot is about our MC trying to make the girls get over their past problems, read more
Dec 28, 2014
Master10K (All reviews)
May 2014, Grisaia no Kajitsu is officially announced to be receiving an anime adaptation. Fans of the Visual Novel are excited to see how Juicy this animated Yuuji can be. But fans are also apprehensive, as it is being adapted by Studio 8bit. The same 8bit that butchered the adaptation of another fairly popular Visual Novel title not so long ago (Walkure Romanze), however people were hopeful that maybe, this time round, they learnt their lesson. Well did they?

Short answer: not so much. Long answer...

Well I certainly was hopeful after the 1st episode, which did a fantastic job of introducing all the important characters the read more
Dec 28, 2014
SBphiloz4 (All reviews)
Grisaia no Kajitsu is based on the adult visual novel that follows 5 female students at Mihama Academy. However, this is no ordinary school; only those 5 students are enrolled here, each with "special reasons" for being in an academy that seems more like a prison. Kazami Yuuji, a mysterious "exchange student from Canada", becomes the first male student enrolled in Mihama Academy. Although he claims to desire a normal school life, events of the students' past start to unfold, piece by piece. Just who really are these students? The girls must revisit their past and take hold of their lives for another time.

I read more
Dec 29, 2014
GoodLuck (All reviews)
As far as genre goes Grisaia no Kajitsu is probably one of the best in its field, as long as the genre is action, school life, comedy, romance goes.

The story begins with Yuuji being a mysterious transfer student coming into a new school. Also mysterious as in I don't trust this dude he's probably some badass who can kick my ass, not a Persona protagonist. Fitting his persona the school also seems to be special in the sense only five female students attend. Each of these five girls seems to have some kind of tragic back story as implied in episode 1. (Is this read more
Dec 30, 2014
iasuru (All reviews)
I really thought they had potential when the anime began but alas, it wasn't meant to be. That being said, it still has a few strengths that included interesting characters, and acceptable art.

Story:
The story was rushed. They had short episodes for each girls. This wasn't enough to know the full story of each girls. We just know the major points of their story. That is it. There are very many things they could have expanded on. Watching this series was like reading a chapter summary at Sparksnotes ten minutes before your next class.

While we know the general idea of what is going on, most read more
May 8, 2015
elisekv (All reviews)
I have to admit, there were parts of this story where I laughed my butt of, and other parts where I almost threw up because it started addressing several of my biggest fears in a very effective manner.

When it comes to the story, overall it has a typical visual novel type of pacing. The main character solves the problems of one girl, then moves on to the next girl. This is very typical in VN adaptations, though in Grisaia's case it's the content that makes the story interesting to watch. Yes, you may get tired of knowing that the main character can somehow solve read more
Dec 29, 2014
Tres_Bandidas (All reviews)
Le Fruit de la Grisaia...Ok, so what with the french subtitle? Do those girls look like fruits to you? IMAO, no, their characteristics where just made to make them look helpless like a damsel in distress and the guy is a porn star in a shining armor who come to save the day..........and afterwards he gets to bang them, or at least that's what part of the manga suggest {I have only been to some of the chapters and one of them involves Yuuji banging Amane}, so no more bull butter and here are my ratings for this anime with a Hentai atmosphere, but with read more
Jan 12, 2015
Drowniji (All reviews)
I was extremely surprised by this show, I was trying to find a new anime to watch and just randomly picked this from a list. when I read the synopsis I figured it would just be another ecchi/harem show and almost brushed it off. however, i looked into the show some more and decided to try it anyway. I had almost no intention of actually watching the show, i just needed something to pass the time. the first episode was okay enough and I was about to put the show down, except that the end of the first episode left enough mystery that I read more
Dec 28, 2014
Tozzy (All reviews)
Grisaia no Kajitsu is an anime that had plenty of potential to be something interesting, a chance to tell some compelling stories that contained their share of some emotional moments. Sadly these moments feel too far in between. Rushed narratives and developing characters but only to stop exploring them further has held back the show.

I should first clarify that I had not played the visual novel before diving into the show. In fact, I only took a small glance at the synopsis and thought that I might stumble across something interesting. While the anime itself has certainly appealed enough to me to want to explore read more
Jan 1, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

A common phrase that is often said is, "don't judge a book by its cover." Obviously, the saying isn't meant for books alone. It's aimed at anything that may look one way, but has more to it than just a precursory glance can give. From food to movies, sometimes it requires one to fully understand what truly lies behind the object. This particular expression can also be applied to people. The way one acts, thinks, and wishes to be perceived are all byproducts of the past that has created him or her. In certain cases, one's outward appearances read more
Feb 5, 2017
Suffaru3 (All reviews)
This anime---no,this is beyond the mere bounds of anime.This creation is the culmination of our existence and the reason we have worked to bring our society to this level.The creation of this existence was the final and greatest boss,the last level,there is no achievement to be made that is higher than the making of Grisaia.There is NOTHING that is or will ever be better than Grisaia,not even School Days has been able to come to this level. Now,onto my review of why this creation is what it is.

Grisaia has also,among many others, been awarded a score of 10/10 by a known nobody, Suffaru3;

The staff read more
Dec 30, 2014
Ransk (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let's get this out of the way: I read the entire Grisaia no Kajitsu VN, and I really liked it. I outright cried at two, maybe three of the five routes.

No, let's move on to this: this fucking anime was a horrible adaptation. It was so bad I wanted to vomit. Holy shit it was the worst adaptation of anything I've ever watched, there was so much cut content the show couldn't possibly have made sense to anyone who didn't read the VN, and Sakaki's route was so butchered and wrongly adapted it was like someone giving you a cookbook and telling you it was read more