Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shingetsutan Tsukihime


Alternative Titles

English: Lunar Legend Tsukihime
Synonyms: Tsukihime - Lunar Legend, Lunar Legend Moon Princess, Moon Princess, True Lunar Chronicle Tsukihime, Lunar Legends
Japanese: 真月譚 月姫

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 10, 2003 to Dec 26, 2003
Premiered: Fall 2003
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: TBS, Rondo Robe, Movic
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.001 (scored by 55,074 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #37892
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #904
Members: 119,827
Favorites: 610

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 25, 2010
linearrush (All reviews)
"There is no Tsukihime Anime."

Ah yes, those infamous words. Before all of you say anything, I DID finish the visual novel and I HAVE read the manga (well, the first three volumes) and guess what, I STILL enjoyed this anime so sit back, relax and let me tell it like it is.

As far as story goes, I don't see what the problem was. Quite honestly, I thought the visual novel was redundant when explaining the differences between a Dead Apostle and a True Ancestor. In the anime, it goes straight to the point and makes easy on the viewers. Dead Apostle is a human read more
Apr 18, 2010
McRib (All reviews)
So there's a funny little joke that goes around anime communities and it goes along the lines of "There is no Tsukihime anime". I thought it was all in jest when I decided to see what the fuss was about on this show. Sadly though, I too believe there is no Tsukihime anime after watching this monstrosity.

Flashback, its 2000..there's a little doujin game called Tsukihime out there that's taking the visual novel world by storm..3 years later JC Staff..a prominent animation studio makes an adaptation of the wildly popular game. However, they either A: Did not play the game or B: Just made this as read more
Aug 20, 2007
dataznmaverick (All reviews)
You might be wondering. I gave all the rest of the criteria 10's. But why is the overall a 6?

It started a long time ago, when I got word of a highly acclaimed, super popular doujin game called Tsukihime. Although I was never a fan of the 'point & click' type of anime games, this game caught my interest, because of how several rave reviewers were praising this game's depth, plot and amazing characters.

So I got it and played it. Boy, did it have all of the aforementioned stuff plus a whole lot more. By the end, I was hooked. And something happened to read more
Jan 13, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Lunar Legend Tsukihime is a Supernatural, Romance, Drama about Shiki Tohno; a boy who’s said to have been caught in a terrible accident 8 years ago and since then he has been able to see the lines of Death in everything and everyone. One day in the park he kills a lady but then wakes up in his room. Was it all a dream? Maybe or maybe not, because the next day he meets her again.

Well this is the starting point to this very short anime and even though it’s short the story is surprisingly slow moving. Even though it doesn’t seem like it in read more
Feb 12, 2009
KaminaKai (All reviews)
*It is almost criminal to not watch this anime.*

"... fans ... treat the anime as ... an in depth synopsis of the visual novel and the manga."

I stumbled across this hidden treasure while watching the Kara no Kyoukai (KnK) movie series. If you have not seen the KnK movies, please feel free to skip to the next paragraph. For those who have seen the movies, perhaps the first thing that will capture your interest is the name Shiki and the "Mystic Eyes of Anime Death Perception" as both of these are also in Shingetsutan Tsukihime. As you get further into the story, you will realize read more
Sep 2, 2009
Mueti (All reviews)
While browsing through the existing reviews, I saw a clear pattern emerge. Most of the people who have not played the visual novel it is based on thoroughly enjoyed the show while those that have were disappointed when faced with the injustice done to the original work.
And that basically already sums up my verdict.

I myself watched the anime first, without even knowing there was a game it was based on. I liked it a great deal.
After learning of the original work afterward I got curious and sought it out. And as it turns out, I then agreed with everyone who was disappointed with the show read more
Aug 20, 2012
Errol (All reviews)
As someone who has played the visual novel, its respective sequel and the PLUS-DISC, I can honestly say...

This show gave me cancer.
Feb 1, 2008
fr0z3nshad3 (All reviews)
story: The story is great. It´s not like other anime with vampires with lot of action, blood and killings. It focus the relation between shiki , a normal student with a special power and a vampire, arcueid. It´s really interesting, the only problem is that the story goes way to slow in some episodes, however, is still one of the best stories i´ve ever seen.

Art: Is similar with another type-moon anime, "Fate/stay night" (wich i also liked a lot). I think the art is great, the visual effects are nice.

Sound: One of the first aspects in tsukihime that called my attention was the sound. The read more
Jun 30, 2008
Raptor73 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Shingetsutan Tsukihime is an anime that I would definitely stay away from. I am slightly biased in reviewing this, since I played the Visual Novel 'Tsukihime' before watching this series, and was disgusted at the injustice done to such a brilliant story. The anime compresses the storyline heavy, makes unneeded changes and completely wrecks the original characters. For anyone who is curious enough to want to watch this series, I have but one thing to say. Don't. If you are that interested, track down the Visual novel, install the mirrormoon english patch and read it instead. Alternatively, read the manga, which does some justice to read more
Mar 9, 2013
-Ereya- (All reviews)
“Once upon a time lived a group called “The Moon people”, who were not human. Among them was a proud princess, called “White Princess”. She woke up in white and slept in white. Princess of the True Ancestors who did not know impurity.”
Type Moon is famous for its dark themes, supernatural settings and plot twists.
The Tsukihime novel was the the second creation of Type Moon, so you can say it's the predeccesor and inspiration for the anime fate/stay night.

The story revolves around the main character Shiki, who lost his memory, after a supposed car accident. The anime begins with Shiki as a little boy, read more
Mar 10, 2010
sovietkazak (All reviews)
I'm shocked by the number of good reviews this has. It is possibly the worst anime I have ever seen. I still can't believe I was able to get past the first episode, let alone force myself to watch the entire series. It's been a couple of years since I watched this anime, so forgive me if I don't delve too deep into the god-awfulness of this anime.

The story follows two star-crossed lovers, a vampire and a human with paranormal abilities, as they fight off the forces of evil (evil vampires) while trying to build a relationship.

Shiki, the protagonist of this eyesore of an read more
Nov 27, 2013
SaturnSkye (All reviews)
This is solely a review of the anime. I have not played the visual novel or read the manga so I will not be comparing them.

STORY 4/10 -
The story of Lunar Legend Tsukihime is a simple one. The synopsis is pretty much what you get with not many plot twists. It moves at a slow pace towards a relatively predictable climax. The story itself could have been told in much less than twelve episodes. Since they used twelve episodes I feel as if so much more could have been done with it especially since reading that the visual novel is much more in depth. Episodes read more
Apr 30, 2009
DrowRanger (All reviews)
The problem of 99% of all the anime is an end. Sometimes it is a shitty happy end, when everyone (even dead!) is alive, sometimes it is a total Armageddon, sometimes kind of any other shit happens. Finding an anime with a really beautiful end is rather had.
But here it is.
During first series it is kind of boring. Yes, what can be more usual than a Ordinary Japanese Pupil, who has, of course, a Very Special Ability and a family with a bitchy sister (without any parents, of course)? When you hear the word "vampire", you also treat anime a bit lower, and having read more
Jun 15, 2013
baki502 (All reviews)
If you read the other reviews, you might have noticed that people that played the VN hate this anime and others who didnt enjoyed it quite well. Well I must say that is not true. I did not play the VN but could not enjoy this anime either. To describe this anime in one term that everyone understands:
THE STORY IS SWISS CHEESE!

All the other things have been adressed before in the other reviews. The Art is dated but good for its time, and I had no issue with sound.
But Oh Lord the rest is pretty awfull. Its flawed to the smallest details. The characters read more
Jun 1, 2011
Stythys (All reviews)
Ok, I just _have_ to say this. The ending was just utterly and completely terrible. Seriously, there are extremely few shows that have just left me so dissatisfied. It's one of those where you like all the characters and are rooting for them 'till the end and then they just fucking screw it up. And I'm not saying this because it's not your standard 'happy ending'. There are plenty of series that are kind of sad endings, main characters die, etc., but those are executed well and with purpose. This was just... no.
Jul 18, 2008
asianmaster939 (All reviews)
Shingetsutan Tsukihime. Sounds like something Japanese, right? Well, true, it is. Not many outside of anime circles would understand the greatness of this anime. Tsukihime is hailed as the best selling and most famous doujin series ever created by TYPE-MOON; and for that fact, the most famous in Japan. The visual novel/eroge game was hailed as genius, and quickly created a fan following, and whose success was followed by a serialized manga series, an anime series, and led to several sequels/spinoffs. The series is most acclaimed for its deep and complex story, which is very prevalent if rather narrow in the anime.

WARNING - SOME SPOILERS
Nothing read more
Jul 10, 2013
knguyen2708 (All reviews)
* I haven't read the visual novel, so this is purely based on the anime. This review does NOT contain spoilers.

To start, Tsukihime has a super slow plot, especially for a 12-episode anime. Every episode, every day, a few events happen, and a little bit more of the characters' past are revealed (just a little bit) while more and more questions are presented, and eventually build up to a fairly good ending. Despite its slowness, dialogues and guestures are done extremely well, concised and filled with meaning and emotions. This makes you feel like every second you watch it is worthwhile (and you don't want read more
Feb 17, 2009
Chardo (All reviews)
Let me explain my ratings, while the show is alright by itself, and its based on a great story and fantastic characters, it just does not give justice to the original visual novel which had much more interesting battles, discussions and concepts, Tsukihime deserved a much better anime than what we got, tsukihime its not as depressing as this show portraits, neither is nvsqr chaos a weakling that spawns 1 or 2 dogs, particularly, hisui and kohaku have much more personality than how they looked like and the role of satsuki is just dissapointing.

whatever happened to the curry love that made ciel not act like read more
May 10, 2016
Yuni (All reviews)
This show... It exists... I guess.

*ORIGINAL MEMES*

Anyways, why does the Tsukihime have a denied existence from this community? The question that overshadows all questions, amirite?

Keep in mind that I have not read the VN or the manga, meaning I can't exactly compare the mediums and how this anime adapted them. Sorry!

But even without reading the probably much better manga and VN, I can say that this show is pretty meh. Meh is the best way I can describe this. Shingetsutan Tsukihime sports was I consider to be the most boring and dull first two episodes in the history of anime. This show is one of read more
Jun 15, 2010
--Sunclaudius (All reviews)
This anime has a very disappointing end, but perhaps those who make this anime has another purpose would end this story.

This is a vampire show, but don’t expect alot of action from this show, cause there is hardly action in it.

The show to me in my opinion begining episodes were good, in the middle I disliked the show cause of the useless things that were happening, and also the whole “mystery” that was happening, which kind of annoyed me. The ending episodes to the show were good, but I still thought the ending was shallow, just an ending you would see in a lot of read more