Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Psycho-Pass


Alternative Titles

English: Psycho-Pass
Synonyms: Psychopath
Japanese: サイコパス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 12, 2012 to Mar 22, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:45 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.441 (scored by 405,164 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1392
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #30
Members: 814,364
Favorites: 25,624

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 24, 2013
animelambie (All reviews)
I feel so sorry for anybody who missed out on this anime this year because it was absolutely brilliant. Likewise, I also feel sorry for anybody who didn’t, because Urobuchi Gen ripped their hearts out.

The series is set in the near future in which it is possible to instantaneously quantify a person’s state of mind, personality, and probability of committing a crime, all recorded on an individual’s “Psycho-Pass”. When their “Crime Coefficient” index becomes too high, they are pursued and apprehended by police officers known as Inspectors, and their ‘hunting dogs’ the Enforcers; in this way, order is maintained. Unit One of the Public Safety read more
Apr 27, 2015
Inferno792 (All reviews)
I heard great things about Psycho Pass and it being compared to Death Note, I thought it would be great. But I didn't find the anime to be anything more than your run of the mill dark themed series. Before throwing off my review as a hated one, I would appreciate it if you guys just took a couple of minutes to read what I thought of Psycho Pass


Story - 7/10
The setting of Psycho Pass is a futuristic one in modern Japan, where people who have a high and cloudy Psycho Pass are either adjudged criminals or potent criminals. The ones who have a Psycho read more
Mar 24, 2014
jawnmewn (All reviews)
There is nothing more undefined, blurry, and vague than the line that separates "good" from "bad". What complicates the matter further is the question of "is said action more bad/good than another?" Why do we consider the murder of an innocent person a worse offense compared to something like a bank robbery? Is a doctor who saves hundreds of lives more "good" than a simple volunteer at a homeless shelter? While Psycho Pass may not be a realistic representation of today's societal state, the observation of human morals, psychological concepts, and fluctuation of emotions can all be applied to our methodology of thinking and our read more
Jun 16, 2013
Catsrcutest (All reviews)
After watching this series twice within a short amount of time (a month or so) and still enjoying it to the fullest, I felt compelled to finally write my first MAL review.

I will not bother writing a plot summary, you can read the essentials a little further above. I will, however, try to rate the plot. Psycho Pass will sometimes be referred to as PP.

Plot: 9.5/10:
The series is most of all a police-sci-fi set in near future. This sounds rather cliché put Psycho Pass manages to mix in a variety of genres in a non-confusing way. The near-future/sci-fi is at all time present, whereas read more
Apr 1, 2013
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
Crime is a constant in human civilization. Theft, murder, and countless other atrocities have been committed by people in every civilization throughout history; try as we might, humans have always had trouble preventing crimes from happening, let lone eliminating them completely. However, what if advancement in technology eventually provided a system that could accurately assess a person's capacity to commit a crime? That is the question posed in Production I.G.'s dystopian sci-fi crime thriller Psycho-Pass: a searing, violent, and ambitious exploration of crime, justice, and the system that judges which is right in a society. Filled with interesting concepts, it is unfortunate that the read more
Mar 21, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
Hey you, turn on the news.

What might be the first thing you see? It might be something like, “today in this peaceful community....police are looking for your help in identitying this suspect wanted for […]. If you have any other information, please contact your local authorities”.

Seriously, how often do you hear that? Most people who tune in the news daily probably would be half a dozen times a day. In the world of Psycho-Pass, the series takes crime to a whole new level with its advanced technology. Yet at the same time, hope and justice exists as the Enforcement Division uses technology of read more
May 24, 2013
PoeticJustice (All reviews)
It has been a while since there has been a dystopian, psychological, police thriller of this popularity since Ghost in The Shell first aired. Writer Urobuchi Gen, famous for his works on the Fate/Stay Night series, and Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica, decided to use his deft hand at writing and give us his own twisted version of the future. Psycho Pass is a dystopian crime thriller, centered around human morality. Is it right to sacrifice individual freedom, for safety? Is it right to condemn someone for something they might do?

Sadly, Psycho Pass falls short of greatness due to uneven pacing, some pretty poor read more
Jan 26, 2013
minatojs (All reviews)
Preliminary
Psycho pass.

In a world where a persons mental state means everything, every action you make could mean a life in prison, or life as a slave to the new systems police force, If, you have talent for thinking like a criminal and solving murders.

This anime is fantastic, and for the first time in a long while the main threat is a perfect character. I am 15 episodes in and somehow this anime is still getting better and better.

Crime, action, intelligence and mental stability are all equally important in this story, and the plot is continuous and really showing a lot of growth in the read more
Mar 22, 2013
frozzzen (All reviews)
Urobuchi Gen certainly made name for himself during last couple seasons. Known for his dark and edgy, sometimes nihilistic approach to writing that leaves trail of bodies and broken characters, it's hard to overlook his works. His works of Fate/zero and Madoka, that definitively left impact on anime scene for better or worse, coupled with Production I.G. creative history of making Ghost in the Shell franchise, made me hope that we would get darker, more Urobuchi-like version of GitS, something I would definitively enjoy a lot. Unfortunately, it didn't take too long to me to get disillusioned that such dream wouldn't come true due to read more
Nov 11, 2013
akaraC (All reviews)
"It's not the final judgement of "good" and "evil" that's important. What matters is that you come to that decision yourself. That you agonize over it and eventually accept it." -Akane Tsunemori

Psycho-Pass is essentially a psychological-action anime with a sci-fi based setting driving the story line.


The Story: 9/10
-------------------
Psycho-Pass is set in the future where you are able to easily see the mental state of one's mind. This is given a number, a number relating to one's contingency of creating a crime, called the 'Crime Coefficient' if it is over the normal rate. These persons are apprehended, if not disposed of if reached too high. read more
Aug 25, 2013
johnvswild (All reviews)
The Butcher strikes again with an intense action set in a chilling dystopia that, regrettably, is one of his weakest works.

SPOILER-FREE™

In early 22nd century Japan, it has become possible to analyze a human mind with a startling degree of accuracy using a network of scanners and an incredibly powerful supercomputer known as the SIByL System. To this end, the judicial system is no longer required for law enforcement. Police use the SIByL System’s abilities to judge a person’s mental state and depending on the situation, either arrest them so that they can undergo therapy, or carry out executions on the spot. Into this world is read more
Apr 29, 2013
Missingnomer (All reviews)
*Somewhat spoilerish materials in this review. I will try to fix that as I continue to grow as a writer!*

By now I have watched many anime shows that covered almost every theme you could possibly think of, almost. Yeah, I say almost because once in a while an anime show in particular rises above them all. A show that introduces an idea in a new way. A show that diverges from the other dozens of shows that air along side it. But what makes an anime stand head and shoulder above the others? Could it be the story, characters, or (if you are like me) read more
Sep 16, 2014
presheaf (All reviews)
To me, Psycho-Pass was great largely because of its world. The basic premise is "What if we could tell criminal minds apart from normal ones?", and in the show, the conclusion of this is that the governmental Sibyl System aggressively monitors your mental state, so that they can arrest or execute you provided you are sufficiently criminal.

Using the same scanning techniques, the state is able to assess your aptitude for different types of work and employ you accordingly. This is all nice on paper, but quickly leads into murky waters - is it really fair to deny someone the opportunity to try their hand read more
May 3, 2015
awerture (All reviews)
In short, "Psycho Pass" is a weak, pretentious and utterly misguided show. There are two main reasons for that. First - very general failure of the show in constructing a sensible futuristic vision and second - its not exactly superb writing.

At first Psycho-Pass looks like a clinical example of a generic work. It rips off "Minority Report", "Dredd" and many other SF stories. It has generic dystopian setting, generic art style, generic soundtrack - neither of these special nor particularly bad. Just not very promising. But then the basic premise of the story degenerates quickly. Decent dystopias in fiction generally should be at least marginally read more
Aug 19, 2014
SenecanTragedy (All reviews)
I'm gonna keep this brief: Watch this series. Fortunately I wasn't someone who started watching the show when it first aired, because goddamn, the hype and cliffhangers from episode to episode would have driven me crazy. Anyways, if I need to justify why this series is very good, here ya go.

STORY: Set in a futuristic city, 99 years in the future, the mental health of citizens can now be measured through Psycho-Pass, where it can be quantified. High Psycho-Pass means you're more likely to commit crime, low Psycho-Pass means the latter. Something that pleasantly surprised me was that the series deals with morals and read more
Apr 27, 2015
isomorphiccode (All reviews)
Morality is illusory. Art is dead. Talent is lost. True relationships are almost non-existent. Such is a world governed by the Sibyl system.

I have rated this series 9 before and after rewatching the new edited version I give it 10, simply because the extra scenes are very important and add great context to other scenes and flesh out characters better.

Psycho-pass is a crime fiction thriller whose idea is highly influenced by Philip Dick's "Minority Report" book series. Now despite the basic plot, this series is full of implications and hints. The writer does not give you what you want on a silver plate, he read more
May 23, 2013
Ressamp (All reviews)
In our modern world, society is essentially the dictator of all law and judgement. A justice system, in reality, is merely a representation of what we as a society believe is "right" or "wrong". People who step outside this box, are often penalized - at the most extreme point, we refer to these people as criminals.

Obviously, the justice system today, has it's flaws. It's not uncommon to see innocent men and women being framed for crimes they commit - our judgment is not perfect.

But what if we could determine instantly, the criminals of the future, predetermining criminals before they commit their crime? Would such a read more
Apr 14, 2013
-Ereya- (All reviews)
“This is a disease called serenity...a form of death that people wished for.”
A world that keeps people under control breeds monsters, in order to keep an equilibrium. Psycho-Pass could have been just another action anime with a cute main girl and attractive bishonen cast, fortunately, that wasn't the case. I would describe this anime as having an unique approach on a detective/ futuristic setting, borrowing a variety of concepts from various media and forming its own world.

In a world dependent on technology, which seems so guarded and secure, the human psyche has never been more endangered. This world is marked by the existence of the read more
Oct 20, 2014
Playbahnosh (All reviews)
When I started watching Psycho-Pass, I knew next to nothing about the series, save for two things: One, that it was made by the infamous Urobutcher, and two, that it came highly recommended all around. This conflict puzzled me to no end, but soon it all became clear...

Let's talk about the story. My favorite genre is sci-fi/cyberpunk, so it's no surprise, that my favorite author is Phillip K. Dick. I've read every single one of his books/novels, so it's kinda strange I didn't realize until the last few episodes, that Psycho-Pass is a homage to many of Dick's works, most notably "Minority Report" and "Do read more
Oct 26, 2014
noamsky (All reviews)
The series is set in a not so distant future. In a state which can definitely be seen as a satire of a modern utopia. What maintains the peace is a system where you can instantaneously measure an individual’s state of mind. If the person turns out to be emotionally unstable, the unit will immediately be apprehended. If it turns out the individual is suffering a too grave of a mental instability and therefore be out of reach salvaging, the system will instead discard the threat.

It goes without saying this is a society where humanistic ideals are by long time buried deep into the ground read more