Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shining Hearts: Shiawase no Pan


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Shining Hearts: Bread of Happiness
Japanese: シャイニング・ハーツ 〜幸せのパン〜

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 13, 2012 to Jun 30, 2012
Premiered: Spring 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Game
Genres: Action, Fantasy
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.191 (scored by 11,893 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #66222
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1957
Members: 30,408
Favorites: 30

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 3, 2012
Archaeon (All reviews)
"Quod Subigo Farinam" - Terry Pratchett (Feet of Clay, 1996)

Once upon a time Sega were a powerhouse of the videogames world, but these days they appear to have lost much of their former glory - mainly because their most visible releases are little more than revisions of Sonic the Hedgehog. Fortunately the blue rodent isn't the only weapon in Sega's arsenal, and the company have a plethora of titles just waiting to be rereleased or resurrected (Phantasy Star, Rolling Thunder, Kid Chameleon, Strider, Afterburner, Space Harrier, Daytona, Panzer Dragoon, Sakura Taisen, Wonder Boy, Alex Kidd, and many others). There are even a few rare ones read more
Jul 3, 2012
Infinite (All reviews)
Shining Hearts: Shiawase no Pan seems to suffer from an identity crisis much like its protagonist, initially starting off as a serene slice of life about bread making and ending up as a fantastical action anime. Ultimately, although it executes both sections well, this change alienates both the viewers who wanted action and those that wanted a charming Aria-esque show.

There's one thing you can't deny about the show, and that is the high quality art and animation. It's incredibly consistent, the characters faces and the beautiful scenery remain brilliant throughout, and I doubt you'll see food look so delicious in anime for some time. The read more
Jul 18, 2012
Selsica (All reviews)
I write this to you as a fellow anime fan; a comrade who you can trust... someone who only wants to save you from the fresh hell that is this anime. Leave now. And never look back. Usually a show has SOMETHING to offer, whether it be by way of characters, plot, fan service, or other devices. Shining Hearts' one forte is the ability to lull you into a deep sleep, one which you wish never to wake from.

Story - 2

What story? They bake bread, offer no foreshadowing, then fart out a deus ex machina ending and treat it as a special twist. It is read more
Apr 15, 2012
YandereEconomist (All reviews)
Preliminary
After just watching the first episode, I can tell that Shining Hearts: Shiawase no Pan is objectively one of THE BEST shows this season. And by objectively the best, I mean its pretty good. And by pretty good I mean I liked it. Well, I didn't hate it. At least not after muting it, turning the subtitles of, and playing metal at maximum volume.

After I did that, WOW! The art was excellent, the music was excellent, and the combination of dark music with the sweetness of this show made for a perfect balance. I certainly would watch again (only) under the same conditions.
Nov 6, 2012
Zeurivar (All reviews)
It's abouuut BBB---- BBBB--- BUUUHHH--- BREEEADDDDDD

YES I SAID IT RIGHT! BREAD!!
(Now all bread-lovers and bakers can jump up for joy cos this anime makes pastry Light up your life!)

Now the story's about BREAD! That's all its about! I was... awkwardly forcing myself to watch this.. for the girls of course. Story was.. Neegghh-blegh

Frankly I thought there would be more romance, but unfortunately the love seems to revolve around the bread that the protagonists (and his lovely girls) make!

Now the first episode pretty much sums up the whole story; allow me to explain myself why it does
.
-Protagonist: Bread maker, wakes up to make bread. read more
May 17, 2012
polke45 (All reviews)
Preliminary
First, I did not play the visual novel so I cannot say how faithful is this adoption to the visual novel. Instead, I will judge it solely on the anime itself.

Story: 4
Nothing much can I say than the synopsis, but the dialogue is bland. It is just your average conversation rather than big speech where it is life and death. The story moves really slow. I am three episodes in and did not learn much about the characters.

Art: 8
The art is done really well for the main character and the scenary. If you are a fan of Tony Taka's art, then this anime would not read more
Jul 15, 2012
paksheet (All reviews)
Since I already wasted my time by watching this anime to its end, I decided I might as well do something of doubtful usefulness by writing this list of why Shining Hearts: Shiawase no Pan is an utter and complete waste of time.


Story: 2/10 Character: 1/10
This anime is a pseudo action-fantasy/slice of life, that does really badly at both genres. If you consider it as a slice of life, you keep getting barraged by random mystery plot shadowing scenes every few read more
Jul 4, 2012
Yemi_Hikari (All reviews)
The Anime has nothing going for it. There is practically no action even when the big climax comes about. The interactions of the characters aren't there either and even a small amount of romantic inclinations between the main character and one of the girls would have spiced things up nicely to pull this Anime out of the doldrums it tanked out with. There was also way to much pandering the concept of a bread that makes everyone happy no matter what. Really? The only good thing about this Anime is the beautiful art work.
Dec 17, 2012
yurichan_love (All reviews)
Shining Hearts is a beautiful anime to watch. The artwork is really well done and the characters are fun and enjoyable to see. You can see alot of green nature and interesting houses and places. It has a calm and peaceful progress in the story.

The story itself to me isn't that important. it is not the main focus of the anime. It is nice as an add-on for people who desire that. In my opinion the story was allright.

It's mostly about baking bread and who doesn't like bread? :). You can sniff the smell of the bakery as if you where there yourself. read more
Aug 4, 2012
crescent917 (All reviews)
Well this anime is pretty damn disappointing.... they seal the action and I barely able to finish it..... First things first

Story(1/10)
I accept the first episode just a prologue I though it'll be a Lord of the Ring style settings but it's a big disappointment I though elf will play a major role in here... I keep waiting and waiting and yet no action come... and the fuck with it? making a story with a bread?It's pretty plain boring. And it's very annoying all people says "Hmmm It smells good" over and over again...goddamnit!! it's getting on my nerves...If you plan to watch it you better read more
Apr 15, 2014
rigardt (All reviews)
This is extremely fun paranormal world series ,although bit short ,it remained enjoyable and imaginative.
The stories character art is very good and fits the story well. The characters are not introduced like most anime in the first episodes but revealed and learned very later in the series. it can be bit confusing .you mostly wonder if there should not have been a previous series. but I think that's one positive attribute about this series..... its different.
for those that does not much care for spoilers ..the world of this series is filled with humans ,elves,dwarfs and attractive cat beasts .
I must say the read more
Jul 4, 2012
Hectotane (All reviews)
You know... with all the talk from someone over in the Wapanese Animu Industry about "calming / soothing anime (?)," you'd think that this show would pop up in your mind. Because; despite ALL of the characters being cool and kick-ass, the story is BORING AS HELL.

I'm sorry, folks. I needed to say that. I compared this title to all of the "guys are pussy" animu of this spring season. And while it's nice to see a "grown-up anime for and about grown-ups;" that "energy," usually found in the lot of retarded animu playing on the other side, is not there.

"Shining (Heart; Happy) Bread" reminds read more
Oct 23, 2012
K0NR4D (All reviews)
A harmless show. Not a good show. You won't be staying up late watching it because you just *have* to see what happens next. You'll watch it because it's bright and happy and well drawn. The plot goes no where and you want to take it into the corner and yell at it for not even making an effort at being interesting.

The person who created it seemed to suffer under the misconception that if you are a cook and you are emotionally unbalanced then it will negatively affect the taste of the food you prepare. I have personally eaten food prepared by read more
Jul 6, 2013
Mayuka-hime (All reviews)
Story (5/10):
========
Shining Hearts is...about bread, and Rick...who makes bread. So I guess one shouldn't go into it expecting a whole lot. Like most slice of life animes, not all that much really happens.

The pacing was really strange. It was incredibly slow and slice of life, then tried to cram all the magical action into the last two episodes. Not even that really, all the action together wouldn't have been a full episode, it was just spread into two. Then...it was incredibly anti-climactic.

I think it leaves you with more questions than you had any answers. Who are all read more
Aug 27, 2016
Vaenny (All reviews)
Shining hearts: Shiawase no Pan. If the title weren't already a giveaway, it's about bread. And it could've stayed that way, but the plot said otherwise.

In my opinion, it was fine simply as a relaxing anime about everyone living peaceful lives as if they were in heaven. But then the last two episodes ruined it. I get that the setting is probably a metaphor of heaven and people being washed ashore are those that have passed, but adding action to it wasn't a good idea.

Characters were really dense, especially the main characters! The protagonist himself was a flat character, never changes his personality. Heck, he read more
May 26, 2012
Nik_K (All reviews)
Preliminary
The main story and characters of Shining Hearts: Shiawase no Pan start to unravell very slowly and so 90% of the time the main "cast" makes and delivers bread. Of course at the time of this review only 7 episodes have aired so i hope (and makes sense if it does) something will change soon, if not then it's been a waste of time.
Oct 13, 2012
PMSA (All reviews)
Shining Hearts – Shiawase no Pan:

~Story: Kinda decent. Just a bit annoying considering that it has potential to be a good anime. Basically it's just an island full of washed up people who can't live without Rick's bread. They even got the elves and animals addicted to it. XD

~Art: It's really good, so does that animation. It doesn't have any derp moments unlike the plot.

~Sound:The sound fits well. Except for the parts where they girls just stare blankly and give a little "ugh" one at a time as their faces show the screen.

~Character: Characters are good, their quite well developed. Except Rick, his confusion makes read more
Jul 4, 2012
kairi07 (All reviews)
Preliminary
After watching all episodes have to say that it needs a bit of romance, first it started slowly, kinda boring and then everything happens at ones... The drawing is nice and in some front covers one of the characters is a panther man but in the anime there are crocodile men. The most laking thing from the anime are those 3 girls... they are following Rick everywhere!! Rick: stay away from me!! Kagura is the only fairish but seems to be dumb, well to conclude this anime is very good for kids, it's not bad but for me it laks in things ^^
Apr 11, 2014
aafje1998 (All reviews)
If you want to watch this anime because there is a tag saying action, beware that the action is hard to find. The story is most about a boy that has amnesia and starts to work at a bakery. There is some fantasy and a nice plottwist in the end. That is something that makes the anime a bit beareble but even with that, you really need to like watching people sell and bake bread if you want to find any fun in watching this.
May 30, 2013
oneshotkiller50k (All reviews)
when i started watching this anime i thought it would be good but i was wrong.
What i liked about this anime was that the story was unpredictable but it was too, "how can i put this" casual and boring for most the episodes it was about the same thing, it eventually got good at the last two episodes i will admit the characters were amazing all had there own individual story which was interesting
what i didn't like about this anime was the fact that it took till the last two episodes to get good too me it was boring and i felt as if read more