Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hyouka


Alternative Titles

English: Hyouka
Synonyms: Hyou-ka, Hyouka: You can't escape, Hyou-ka: You can't escape, Hyoka
Japanese: 氷菓

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 23, 2012 to Sep 17, 2012
Premiered: Spring 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Novel
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.161 (scored by 198,213 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3512
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #66
Members: 427,373
Favorites: 9,782

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 16, 2012
Veronin (All reviews)
"I don't do anything I don't have to. What I have to do, I do quickly."

For most people, the short years spent in highschool are often the turning point and highlight of their lives; a time filled with introspection and change, where some dreams end and others are born to take their place. On the other hand, there are some who reject this notion and choose to spend their days as uneventfully and routinely as possible, never straying too far from their comfort zone and established lifestyle. After all, why waste the energy on trivial matters?

Oreki Houtarou is one of these individuals.

Set during the read more
May 28, 2015
Kirik0h (All reviews)
High school – It is probably not incorrect to suggest that this is the most ubiquitous setting for anime nowadays. Yet even amongst the endless swathes of high school anime that inevitably centre around cute high school girls, there are always exceptions and Hyouka is one of them.

We find ourselves in the Classic Literature Club of which Oreki Houtarou, our energy-conserving protagonist is reluctantly a member and is soon joined by his eclectic group of friends, thus completing the groundwork for this “mystery” anime. When one considers what constitutes a “mystery” show, it is often associated with preconceptions of crime, horror and eerie suspense read more
Jun 30, 2013
lonelyintrovert (All reviews)
"I'm curious; I can't stop thinking about it!"

Are you looking for an adrenaline pumping mystery anime about murders,deception, and crime? Are you looking for a mystery anime that has a badass detective? Are you looking for a mystery that will keep you on the edge of your seat? Well look somewhere else. Because Hyouka isn't that kind of anime.

Story-Hyouka revolves around a boy called Oreki Houtarou. An apathetic guy who has little interest in anything or anyone. His life motto is "I don't do anything I don't have to. What I have to do, I do quickly." But when her older sister who lives in read more
Sep 16, 2012
Stark700 (All reviews)
Alright folks, let's talk some Hyouka. Time to exercise your brains and turn that curiosity light bulb ON.

Hyouka (also the same name of the first volume of the Classic Literature Club that's also a implied term of “Ice Cream”) is an anime series adapted from the mystery novel written by Honobu Yonezawa. The story? Well, if you're curious like a certain purple eyed girl in the series, Hyouka details the Kamiyama High School's Classic Literature Club and its members having fun while solving mysteries and enjoying the time of their boring lives.

It all begins with the unenthusiastic young boy by the name of read more
Sep 19, 2012
Lindle (All reviews)
Well, it tried, I'll give it that.

Hyouka, also known as "Hyou-ka: You Can't Escape" is the latest series by acclaimed studio Kyoto Animation, who, despite their huge fanbase, generally produce work of more style than substance. Hyouka unfortunately follows this trend, though superficially it doesn't fit in with the rest of KyoAni's back catalogue very much, as Hyouka is generally very dry in tone.

Hyouka is a mystery series, revolving around four high school students in the Classic Literature Club (an aimless club that happens to end up solving mysteries a lot). The students in question are main character Oreki Houtaro, whom I am about 99% read more
Jun 13, 2012
movoning (All reviews)
Preliminary
At first, I really wasnt impressed. The characters, especially the two guys, talk as if they are hinting the deeper theme to each episode. That was a little unnecessary. I didn't mind the plot though. The trivialized version of mysteries interested me more than the big mysteries that are either too fake or too unreal. I understand that this might be disappointing for mystery fans, but I feel like hyouka is a breeze that can change the stagnant mystery genre.
I honestly look forward to this a lot each week. I got used to the talkative characters and the lack of character development. There are read more
May 1, 2015
LebronsHairline (All reviews)
Hyouka is a slice of life anime that does a very good job of referencing famous mystery novel authors, yet fails to be a good mystery itself. Hyouka is a Kyoto Animation show with a generic high school setting (of course) and features trade mark, cute, moe, animation. I am not a huge fan at all of slice of life shows as they offer little to no substance plot wise but, I was oddly excited to watch this series because I am a huge mystery fan. On top of this, I heard Houtarou was a very cool and laid-back character that resembled read more
Jul 4, 2012
tsunderecookie (All reviews)
Preliminary
I had looked at Hyouka a while back but saw a lot of negative reviews so decided to give it a miss and just recently picked it up due to a friend's recommendation. Having just finished episode 7 I feel that I can safely say I am glad to have decided to watch it. I felt compelled to write a review to hopefully clear up some misunderstandings people might have about the series.

I think the big thing that may disappoint some viewers has to do with their expectations going into it. More specifically, the show is listed as a mystery and while there read more
May 23, 2012
MiyatouSeishirou (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hmm i suppose it may be a little too early to write a review considering that its still quite early in the anime so pardon me if my review isn't too good.

Story: Once again i'll repeat that its only been 5 episodes but i think that this anime has quite a good story. It has unpredictability and sometimes you wouldn't expect the things that did happen to happen.

Art: Character designs and background are decent at least. KyoAni as usual does quite a good job with the anime they produce. The art is elaborate and makes you feel like the place is real.

Sound: Hmm I read more
Oct 11, 2016
JinKun (All reviews)
The real mystery here, is how could anyone produce 22 episodes for one of the easily most boring animes this planet has ever known. Everyone rating Hyouka over six is either biased or just really illusive. No, I'm not trolling; keep on reading.

Hyouka is your typical slice-of-life anime that deals with a group of high school students living everyday with their school club surrounding their little, personal stories. Over 22 episodes, the main protagonist (Oreki) is a laid-back, bored, and unmotivated teenager who's been trying his hardest to "conserve energy" by doing the minimum in every aspect of his life. That includes facial expressions, too. read more
May 23, 2012
HD_survivor (All reviews)
Preliminary
After reading some of these reviews explaining how amazing Hyouka is, I thought I should set the record strait. Yes Hyouka has good art, likable characters, and does an excellent job explaining and executing idea's. However, at the end of the day the lack of any sort of interesting story really takes a toll on the show.

...THE GOOD...
I'll start with the good because there is a lot of good in this show.

ART: for starters it's one of the better animated shows out there, the art is very well drawn, and they do a good job portraying the characters. Though i feel read more
Mar 5, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
It’s retro-review time again, and today I’m going to be talking about an anime I was afraid to go back to because I was sure it wasn’t going to hold up over time. And really, can you blame me? After sitting through so many coming-of-age/character-based anime that most people consider to be good, but I consider to be shit, Hyouka looked like a prime candidate for “don’t believe the fans. It’s nowhere near that good unless you’re under that fanboy delusion that character interactions/development is good enough to entertain on its own”. And you know what? I am not.

In fact, I’ve come to really despise read more
Apr 2, 2015
Grimrr (All reviews)
Anime are known to usually be over-the-top no matter what genre they are. When I think of what makes anime great, I think of epic action, intense mind battles, heart-wrenching emotions, exciting drama, unrealistically awesome characters, and crazy plot twists.

Hyouka is none of that. It’s nowhere near “over-the-top” in any way. Hyouka is the definition of subtlety. It’s serene, relaxing, beautiful, funny, and smartly written. But the best thing about Hyouka is that it makes you think—and not just about the mysteries.

The mysteries are small-scale cases that manage to be incredibly intriguing, causing you to become “curious”. No, the writers don’t try to instill in read more
Sep 20, 2012
Stellio (All reviews)
Curiosity. Whether you love it, hate it, or lack it, curiosity is an unavoidable human nature in all of us. Daily explorations and innovations are all often made due to someone's curiosity. Even the Internet was built upon someone's curiosity for a virtual universe. Honestly, Hyouka sparked my curiosity when Kyoto animation first decided to produce it. Because I've had many great experiences with the studio's previous works, Hyouka didn't seem it would be an outlier to this trend.

But, looks can be deceiving. 

Hyouka, it appears, extinguished my curiosity just as easily as it had lit them. Hyouka played out as perhaps one of the most disappointing read more
Jul 15, 2013
TheLlama (All reviews)
"I'm curious," says Chitanda Eru, and Oreki Houtarou, unable to resist the sparkle in her eyes, knows that once more he has to give up on his lazy ways to help her solve a new everyday mystery.

Hyouka is a series that takes elements of both the mystery and school life genres, mixes them together, and churns out a product that is a very interesting blend of the two. At heart it is very much what you'd expect from a school comedy, from the cast to the plot. The cynical, dry male lead with a sarcastc streak to his inner thoughts and narrating, the airheaded somehow-top-of-her-class read more
Sep 7, 2016
themegamancave (All reviews)
"The world is full of obvious things which nobody by any chance ever observes.”
-Sherlock Holmes

In a world dominated by streamlined genres, few times does a series truly differentiate itself enough not to conform to rules subconsciously set out by the masses. Slice of life is perhaps the genre with the most to say, because it really conveys parts of our everyday "lives". However, many are quick to disassociate from this "genre" because the thought of watching an animated version of themselves completing repetitive, mundane tasks sounds like the farthest thing from entertainment. Hyouka seeks to mold an immersive experience by adding a lens to look read more
Sep 13, 2012
fullmetal90 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hyouka.. Actually I feel sorry for this anime.. The anime is given a lot of negative reviews...

The way the anime anime started was pretty slow... When it was put in Mystery genre , I kind of expected it to be like its predecessors (Detective School Q, Gosick etc) ... When it turned out the anime was nothing of that sort, I was fairly disappointed at first and even made me angry.

Well you may be wondering why I gave it a rating of 9.. The first thing you have to do before you see this read more
Oct 10, 2014
FadeFrost (All reviews)
-The following is a spoiler-free review-

"I'm curious, I can't stop thinking about it!"

These words best described how I felt as I swept through the Hyouka series. Though initially slow, as I watched more and more episodes, I began to feel myself pulled into the curiosity of Chitanda Eru and the mundane school life of our protagonists, Eru and Oreki. By the end, I found myself personally enjoying the Hyouka series greatly and wishing for much much more. But here's a disclaimer; If you're looking for a thoroughbred Mystery or Romantic slice of life, you won't find it here. In the words of one of the read more
Feb 3, 2014
Edward_Low (All reviews)
In retrospect, Hyouka only becomes a greater anime. My initial score was a 9. Now it's probably the most solid 10 I'll ever give.

The series is completely unpretentious and brilliantly executed. I know there are people out there who hate on slice-of-life anime because it's full of manipulative nonsense meant to make the viewer go 'aww'. Hyouka does none of that. Hyouka shows you why, ironically enough, considering the main character, ordinary life can be exciting and energising. That ordinary life, ordinary pleasures, ordinary amounts of logic, thinking, and effort can indeed result in something extraordinary.

The genius in Hyouka lies in its subtlety. The main read more
Sep 13, 2016
Wyatt (All reviews)
This is less of a review and more of a short, spoiler filled analysis.

The whole point of Hyouka, from a character standpoint, is Oreki’s gradual development, as caused by his feelings for Chitanda. Mainly, his change from being comfortable in his “grey” life, to desiring a rose colored one. As the series progresses, we see, despite his slight reluctance, him opening up to Chitanda and her curiosity.

Jump to episode 21. Oreki has clearly become much more invested in the mysteries, but he has yet to realize this for himself, and still claims to be content with his energy conserving lifestyle. That last bit gets read more