Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

High School DxD


Alternative Titles

English: High School DxD
Synonyms: Highschool DxD
Japanese: ハイスクールD×D

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 6, 2012 to Mar 23, 2012
Premiered: Winter 2012
Broadcast: Fridays at 11:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: TNK
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.541 (scored by 456,591 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15742
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #62
Members: 737,698
Favorites: 15,134

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 16, 2012
Stark700 (All reviews)
Sex, lewd thoughts, and imaginations. Here's an interesting little trivia: Did you know that the average man in our world today think about sex nearly every 56 seconds? Fact or fiction, you decide. Of course, this is all normal. I mean, our minds is filled with all sorts of imaginations and dreams whether it'd be finding the perfect girlfriend or going on your first dream date. In this anime known as the High School DxD, our protagonist Hyudo Iseei goes from a lecherous second-year high school student attending Kuoh Academy to someone he hasn't began to imagine before.

At first glance, the title High School DxD read more
Dec 23, 2013
MarlyTT (All reviews)
Surprisingly, despite this being labeled as "harem," this show didn't feel much like harem to me. Really strange. In fact, Sword Art Online felt even more of a harem than this, but ok. Issei only had like one real love interest, and that was Rias. Maybe it's the perspective of socially awkward people who think that if a girl talks to a guy, that means that the girl is in love with the guy that makes them think this is a harem. So I guess harem now means having a bunch of female characters and having one relevant male character in a same show. Oh, read more
Apr 3, 2015
TheHonestThief (All reviews)
High School DxD is an anime that has been praised as the best ecchi ever made, and in a way that is accurate. Seriously though, it is an ecchi. For all of you ecchi haters, stay away. Shove down your masochistic tendencies and walk away, this is not an anime you are going to enjoy.
We all know what we are getting into when we turn this show on, copious amounts of T&A. High School DxD has quickly become synonymous with that phrase. But even then, that was not the sole reason I turned this show on. I generally am the type that needs a read more
Aug 8, 2014
AnuCheekiBreeki (All reviews)
High School DxD is based on the light novels written by Ichiei Ishibumi and illustrated by Miyama-Zero. It stands out from the other ecchi harems that I have seen in sense that the first season cannot really be considered a harem but rather Issei going after the female love interest Rias Gremory. Some of the other female characters do show interest such as Asia when Issei becomes more intimate with the other girls. But the real harem aspects of High School DxD show up in the second season. If you are a fan of the ecchi genre you will be pleased to hear that DxD read more
Sep 11, 2012
Ikaros000 (All reviews)
Being a massive fan of the DxD series, I absolutely loved the anime adaptation. Anyone who has read the light novels would realise just how much emotional depth all the characters go through, especially Issei (the main protagonist) who I can only say had a VERY traumatic first girlfriend experience. High School DxD has a new take to a harem story, the author guaranteed a happy ending for all the girls and the plot is getting results that show it unlike other harem stories which can just end up a pain in the neck as the main protagonist is unable to choose.

First of all, you read more
Jan 6, 2012
XfizzyX (All reviews)
Preliminary
Seeing as there are no reviews up for this yet I figured I'd pop out a quick review of my thoughts from episode #1 *UPDATED FOR EP #3*

Summation: 7.5/10, story 7, Art 7, Sound 8, Char 7, Enjoy 9
if you are looking for something on Friday nights, and/or if you want something light amusing and sexual, and don't already have one lined up for this season, I'd strongly recommend watching at least the first episode to see if its for you.

Review:

UPDATED: While there exists in the show the normal stereotypes for females in this type of anime (The sadist, The shell/doll, The innocent) and the read more
Mar 24, 2012
Lyunatx (All reviews)
In search of an enjoyable anime featuring hot girls, demons, a cleaver plot and tons of comedy? Search no further: this is the anime for you!

Possibly the best anime of the season with the best girl: Rias.

Issei is a total badass and should never be underestimated. His perverted attitude is but a shell to his inner kind side. Issei is a guy that never will let any girl cry and punish those who take advantage of him or his harem. A total bro.

A must watch for 2012.

The opening and ending are very good and catchy. Hypnobut.

10/10 so you will watch it.
Dec 10, 2014
JKinky88 (All reviews)
Oppai, man we aaaall love oppai, they're round, good lookin, have a nipple in the middle. Man, but what about big oppai? Maybe oppai every single episode? Welp you got it! And thats Highschool DxD for ya, oppai or in english term, tits,boobs,melons,bozangas,milk-makers, I COULD GO ON ALL DAY. This show is a pretty weird example of fanservice, you got it everywhere! Hell some episodes nearly feel like filler episodes till the end of the episodes that continue the story. I came out of this show with no pants and a wet dick, but for now lets get to the review. Shall we?

Story: 6/10
So we read more
Feb 7, 2012
Downgrade355 (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all, what i don't get is why would someone complain about ecchi, i don't get it, it makes no sense, of all the things one could complain about, it has to be ecchi?

Well my friend, let me tell you, half, if not, the majority of people who watch this anime are watching it solely for the fanservice, it's called "Fan service" for a reason, but really, why would the developers bother putting fanservice in an anime if people didn't like it? just these past 3 months more than 5 ecchi animes were aired, so stop being a lil phag and grow up, as read more
Feb 26, 2014
kimmochi (All reviews)
** FOR THOSE WHO CAN"T BE BOTHERED TO READ**

First of all i'm telling to just watch it is great!!
it has the good story concepts and really balanced characters for an ecchi anime, with not much weird angled camera shots like between the legs and other stuff when the story is progressing good if you want best of both worlds. fan-services are about 10~20% in each EP so not much for those looking for it. At the end of watching you will feel like its a normal anime but not at the same time because of the nudity.

END you can stop reading read more
Aug 28, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Both film and television have a great number of genres and sub-genres. Some of these sub-genres are quite easy to pull off, like the "jump scare" adolescent horror movies that Blumhouse shits out every year! All you have to do is follow the same cookie cutter formula and your low budget schlock film will make back at least 800% of its budget and receive decent reviews! One of the most difficult sub-genres to actually execute well is the "completely self aware, so bad it's good comedy". Many studios and directors attempt to tackle this sub-genre with films like "Sharknado" or "Snakes on a Plane" but read more
Jan 10, 2013
MK42Dragon (All reviews)
Every once in a while an anime comes around that is so well done you have an eyegasm after every episode, simply put a masterpiece......
yeah, this isn't really that anime.

From personal observations I've noticed that people who can't stand fanservice shoot down an anime because of fanservice. I find them to be more annoying and painful than bamboo splinters under my fingernails. I dont really understand why they keep watching, if thats the type of anime they hate with a passion, then why? Are they masochists? Are they closet pervs who just don't want to admit it? The fact of the matter is that if read more
May 8, 2012
pakin (All reviews)
just to be straight forward here.... i saw the picture of this anime and just happens to watch it for... stuff.... , and it just so happens there's alot.. so those of you who think you're "not a pervert" and don't like nudity don't watch it ....
but as i watch this i realize that the story is better than i though it would be. so in conclusion, everyone that think that anime with harem, or ecchi in it are not good, will that's wrong, cuz this animei combine the fan service really good when the moment comes.
if you don't like nudity in any read more
Oct 27, 2014
TheTunder (All reviews)
With such series' like Rosario Vampire and Aki-Sora, the ecchi and harem genre has never been stronger. It is with such series going around that the genre being what it is that makes High School DxD an instant hit for fans of the genre. On the surface, it's an over-the-top, high-paced, fan-serviced spectacle that many fans of this genre love. With its rather cliche plot and possibly even more cliche characters, it'll capture you granted that you don't mind tits and asses.

Storywise, it starts out slow. The build-up is slow and the way the overall premise is established is slightly faster, but still very much read more
Jul 19, 2013
Gladeo (All reviews)
If you are no fan of the ecchi genre, please exit this review and spend your time on other reviews. I've been hearing adults say that the arts nowadays are not really emphasised. Well, I beg to differ. Body art is an aspect of art in which many people are spending time in. Animes also have quite a decent amount of genre with the aspect of body art a.k.a ecchi genres. Of course, this anime too. Read the synopsis your own as I'm diving straight through into the review.

Story:
THIS ISN'T PORN! It's just ecchi. All of my friends were like OMG! YOU WATCH read more
Oct 14, 2014
Richard-kun (All reviews)
Disclaimer: This was the first anime I ever watched, so I probably enjoyed it more than the average anime lover :3

This anime is good, great, fantastic! It's full of hilarious moments, badass action scenes, and an admirable try-hard main character. When I watched High School DxD, the fantasy really stood out for me (although I didn't have any other anime to compare it to at the time). The magic circles, giant dragons, explosions and amazing super powers that made the eyes drool (metaphorically), it was truly a great start to my life as an otaku.

Looking back, the story and character development was pretty weak, read more
Sep 10, 2012
azurekim1 (All reviews)
Okay...1 thing you need to know before you watch this anime... If you are a girl, please do not watch this... This anime will make you think that all guys in this world is a pervert and a scum for watching this anime...

If there is 1 thing I found out when I was watching this anime is that you don't watch this for the story... 1 thing, there is no twist to the plot or a really decent story...It is direct and the main focus is the art...NO...Specifically, the main focus of this anime is the DxD... If you still do not understand what I read more
Jan 8, 2012
Kazuyasan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Alright,my review is short as usual but I will conclude my own perception about this anime. If you are the fans of ecchi based or harem based anime,here is the must watch series for you.

Storyline: (8/10)
Storyline is pretty straight forward.As usual the story starts with a single hint and then a flashback of story.But I think its not necessary. I will not touch to the sypnosis here but, from the first ep, you will found out what the story main theme. There is girls battle with magic in a school life environment, some sort of hidden power on the main lead character, and a little read more
Apr 2, 2013
jizzaloo (All reviews)
The characterization and the plot was very well developed.

I also very much enjoyed the abundant fan service, in which girls would constantly end up naked one way or the other!

Very humorous, enjoyable, and best of all: a lot of cute, sexy girls!!

I definitely recommend this for all the ecchi and fantasy fans out there.

Plot: A normal perverted highschool guy is killed by his first boobalicious girlfriend, who happens to be a "fallen angel". He is then reborn as a devil by another sexy red-haired girl, who trains him along with the rest of her team of devils. The guy develops his powers while enjoying the read more
Mar 13, 2012
Nasty001 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Only 2 more episodes to go til the finale, so how do I rate this 12 episode anime?
Well, I don't think that there is a need for more BS since I already have my share of boobs, so let's get straight to the point:

Story: Poor 3. Boink! Boink!

The story is suppose to revolve around a guy name Issei who is a student in a former all girls school turned coed however it is focus chaotically around the plot where it is a the bad vs evil kind of thing.

Art: Good 7. Boink! Boink!

Ok, so I need not say why, since this anime is all about read more