Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

UQ Holder!

UQ Holder!

Alternative Titles

English: UQ Holder!
Synonyms: Yuukyuu Holder, Eternal Holder, UQ Holder!: Mahou Sensei Negima! 2
Japanese: UQ HOLDER!

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Aug 28, 2013 to ?
Authors: Akamatsu, Ken (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.761 (scored by 11292 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #19222
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #198
Members: 34,755
Favorites: 1,026

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Jan 19, 2014
CallMeKurisuchan (All reviews)
"OH MY GOD MAHOU SENSEI NEGIMA 2, WOOOOOT!" was my reaction but It's not entirely true, this tale is new and takes a different approach from Akamatsu-sensei's previous stories. One obvious thing, it's not a harem. Sorry to break your hearts for fellow harem-lovers...but it's still good, it has something, potential.

Now when something has potential it's either bad or ok and has a chance to become great but this series will be great, least from what I see. So let's begin the review before I trail off into another rant.

Story: 7 - This tale takes place in the Negima universe. That being said, you read more
May 23, 2017
overDere (All reviews)
From what I can presume, UQ Holder is some sort of sequel to Negima, that ridiculous ecchi harem manga with lots of distasteful stripping and panty shots and all kinds of fanservice. Which made me avoid it even until now, because I couldn't stand supposedly great manga that can't help but ruin their stories with terrible ecchi.

Couple of weeks ago, I discovered UQ Holder, recommended to me (didn't know about that whole Negima relation thing for a time). It was pretty nice. I would rate it an 8/10 a couple of days ago. A tale of dreams, adventure, and friendship. A standard shounen and a read more
Apr 17, 2015
Magister_Jakene (All reviews)
This manga is one of the best I've read. The fact that Ken Akamatsu has made another great manga doesn't surprise me. I was sad when I read the last chapter of Negima, it left a empty hole in my heart. I cried silently when I finished it in a public place then when I got home I cried for literally 20 minutes, going back and forth to get tissues. When I heard of UQ Holder, that empty hole was once filled again. The fact that UQ Holder has more characters, returning characters, and it continues the story of Mahou Sensei Negima just makes me read more
Jul 12, 2014
ironace (All reviews)
I dont usually read manga so when a friend recommended uq holder, i was very hesitant to read it. But when I did read it, I regretted not reading this earlier.

The review is based on the first two arcs of the story, untill chapter 30.

STORY-8

Similar to fairy tail, uq holder is an organisation that helps those in need in exchange for money. I like such a plot because it can give a variety of different arcs; darker, sinister ones and light funny ones.However, uq holder also has a lot of unanswered questions such as Totua's parents death. Even though it apparently seems that the read more
Feb 2, 2016
FuzzyCreatures (All reviews)
UQ Holder- One thing I can say is it is a beautiful manga written.
To be honest, I would be happy if it stayed as a manga only because I don't want people who love ecchi fan service to down it for not having a lot of fan service.

The story is beautiful that to a comparison of other mangas that. I read, it being 80 years in the future to present day( as of when I've typed this). It is also brilliant to the ties between the characters and how the bond strengthens as the story plot moves on. The main character Touta Konoe, flows with read more
Oct 28, 2017
SimplyKaori (All reviews)
Manga started out well and then it went absolute downhill after the 100th chapter. Had a good plot but then when the harem thing came along, the story went deep into the trash bin. I initially shipped Touta and Kuroumaru but now other girls are liking him which made their relationship seem nonexistent. If I were the manga artist, I would throw away the other half of the manga and start out fresh again. My enjoyment was first a 9 in the first half but went to a 1 in the latter so I averaged this to about a 5. This would've been quite a read more
Dec 18, 2016
MondoX (All reviews)
There is a difference between misdirection and plot holes. I am not sure if the author was trying for the former, or he forget what he wrote earlier. If I go in detail, if will spoil the story. One of the driving forces of the MC to fight against one of the antagonist loses its meaning after finding out about the MC's origins, but no one brings up this point. However, if you ignore the plot holes, the manga is actually good. The beginning had some small plot holes, but not enough to put me off, until much later.

Not a read more
Aug 10, 2017
SuperCheese88 (All reviews)
If you want a cool story set in the Negima universe but follows a different MC and group then THIS STORY IS FOR YOU up until all those character from Negima not only join this one but take over.

You know that main character Touta we started out with? The MC? Yeah, he because a side character. Or not even in it. Instead his not dad and not grandpa become the leads. YAY!

You know how this was all about a boy getting to the top of a tower because reasons while he traveled with a sexy vampire and a swords....person? NOPE! It's now about read more
Feb 16, 2016
Meira_Eve (All reviews)
Yes.. this is the first manga that i read from the very first time it was released... i found it when searching "akamatsu ken" at the manga site and boom.. uq holder 1 hour ago first chapter..
So it was good at first chapter so i continued it then found out that it happened after the negima events.. it got the comedy, it got the action, and of course the art is good.. but lately this "harem ecchi" butt in and for me it ruined the whole story.. beacuse yes i'm not too fond of harem.. i hope it will became like negima later, because at read more
Jan 26, 2017
SnowFlake2017 (All reviews)
to be honest this was my very first manga i have read, when i picked this book up i was like, 'time to dive into this story' but after reading the first couple of pages, seeing all the action and blood and gore, i started to like it! when i got to the spa scenes i enjoyed it even more, and the fact that there are immortals, scary creatures and new characters, i haven't read or seen Negima, but i can that Evangeline, Fate, Negima and others from it are great characters. i can also relate to a couple characters, like evangeline, no i didn't read more
Aug 21, 2018
judgementspammer (All reviews)
A quick warning: If you haven't read Negima, do not read this. This is a direct sequel to Negima and the author will reference and mention the details and plot of Negima. Go and read Negima then come back later. Don't worry though, Negima is very good and easy to read (the infamous fan service is only the first part, the good part shall be there for you). It'll be done in a flash.

I just wanted to make a quick note since there are a lot of people having problem reading this, either understanding jack sh*t about the plot, or find them not very appealing.
That's read more
May 11, 2018
Maurex (All reviews)
Spoiler-free (but this review is very long(but I put all my heart in it))

All of it began when I was 7 years old, my grand-mother for some reasons, ended up buying the first volume of Love Hina for my sister. And even now, we both ended up loving the manga. We loved it so much that we even had all the CDs of the anime. Love hina was the first manga that introduced me to the manga world as well as the anime world, even before naruto. And this fresh air from the generic looking cartoons I had back there, it was the first time read more
Mar 17, 2017
Huy_Quang_Pham (All reviews)
When I finished Mahou Sensei Negima (the prequel of this), I felt like someone cut a hole through my chest and grinded it on the cheese grater. And then when I heard of UQ Holder, I had a seizure on my bed.
The art: If you followed Amakatsu Ken and his previous work, you'll find that the character design on this series is a little different. But the detail and the care he put into building the world is still the same. Beautiful as ever
The plot: Veeerrryyy thick plot. Extremely intriguing to an extent that you might find yourself binging through 30 chapters within 15 minutes. read more
Jul 9, 2019
SpringLane (All reviews)
First time writing a review

Oh boy what a ride this has been. 140 whole chapters and nearly 6 years of reading this monthly. At first this manga was enjoyable and i'd come back every month to read the next chapter, however this has changed after 100 chapters.

What was fairly good character development was literally tossed into the bin just to have a harem. A couple of characters had actual development into a romantic relationship, that was good yes. However all of a sudden, we toss in a couple of chapters to have some fairly irrelevant characters at that point, to join a harem, read more
Jan 6, 2017
LoliEvangeline (All reviews)
I love this manga is all because, Evangeline. No Kidding.
This is the only first Review that I have make for Mal. so I hope this is helpful.

This manga have a complicated thing that you can imagine, it's like the two main chara is really loving each other, because imagine a girl take care a boy until the boy start to fall in love to her, and then the boy go to the past and make the girl fall in love to him.

I love how this story come. when Evangeline can get her love for real, it's just like thanks god Akamatsu Sensei. I hope read more