Monogatari Series: First Season
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Monogatari Series: First Season

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Bakemonogatari, Monster Tale, Kizumonogatari: Wound Tale, Nisemonogatari, Fake Tale, Nekomonogatari: Kuro, Black
Japanese: 〈物語〉シリーズ ファーストシーズン


Information

Volumes: 6
Chapters: 107
Status: Finished
Published: Nov 1, 2006 to Jul 28, 2010
Genres: Action Action, Comedy Comedy, Mystery Mystery, Romance Romance, Supernatural Supernatural
Theme: Vampire Vampire
Serialization: Mephisto
Authors: NISIO, ISIN (Story), VOFAN (Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.961 (scored by 1304213,042 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #122
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #246
Members: 49,082
Favorites: 2,651

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 4, 2011
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm assuming that the one who reads this is already familiar with Bakemonogatari. Review is still pretty much spoiler free.

Kizumonogatari is another light novel to Nisio Isin's monogatari series. Published after Bakemonogatari while chronologically taking place to time before Bakemono's story and therefore being its prequel. Characters are about same age as in Bakemonogatari so chronologically these two are really close to each others.

Story answers questions like how did Araragi and Tsubasa Hanekawa met, why did Araragi became vampire, who actually are Shinobu and Meme Oshino and how did things end up to the situation like those were in Bakemono. Actual plot is all about read more
May 27, 2013
Jamesml9411 (All reviews)
If you are here, it means either you are a big fan of Nishio Ishin, or saw the anime Bakemonogatari and fall in love with it. Monogatari series, as expected from Nishio Ishin, is full of Japanese word plays and definition intonation; what I mean is it is hard to understand from just reading it once. From here and now will be a review of the book, not the anime.

Before getting into review and "a bit" of spoilers, here is the timeline of the story

Kizumonogatari -> Nekomonogatari Kuro -> Bakemonogatari -> Nisemonogatari

Now let's start this.

Bakemonogatari:
Consist of different girls possessed by different Kai'i(Oddity or strangeness). Senjogahara read more
Jul 11, 2020
abystoma2 (All reviews)
Would NisiOisiN have been born in 18th-19th century in Europe, I’m sure we’d all be learning about his literary masterpieces in school and how his genius helped molding the face of literature. Regrettably, he’s from a mere small island nation in the current year, so he won’t get all of the attention he deserves. Then again, this enables him to include in his work all those tidbits and tropes we came to love (and dismantling them on the way), so that is also a win situation.

What started as something the author wrote pretty much just for the fun became one of the most beloved read more
Jun 8, 2019
Riskzz (All reviews)
Oh boy here we go !

The monogatari series. The number 1 highest ranking light novel here in myanimelist...

If your'e new here and your'e not familiar with the monogatari series nor read the light novels, but you are indeed curios, then let me help you

First thing you have to understand, the monogatari series, more specifically its author nisio isin doesn't really care about the order of the story
( the prequel to monogatari, which is kizumonogatari got released after bakemonogatari ) its sounds weird and it causes a lot of controversy in the fandom too... in my opinion you can either start with kizu or read more
Feb 17, 2012
Ravell (All reviews)
Preliminary
How much is your life worth it? Would you sacrifice yourself in order to save a stranger? What if you knew that the stranger had a much greater place in the world than you? Would it make a difference if she was actually a beautiful blonde vampire?...

Kizumonogatari is the introduction to the supernatural world of the Monogatari Series. It tells the story of Araragi Koyomi, an ordinary high schooler who lacks social skills and has no friends, but is by no means unhappy. He meets Hanekawa Tsubasa in a very convenient situation explained with lots of details in one of the first chapters; she is read more
Oct 2, 2021
Fguyretftgu7 (All reviews)
The Monogatari Series is quite possibly one of the weirdest series I've ever experienced. Yes, even weirder than Jojo's Bizarre Adventure (Araragi's Bizarre Adventure sounds like a suitable title not gonna lie). But after reading it, this series has definitely become one of my all time favorites, and I would definitely recommend to anyone interested (however there's some rather iffy subject matters that might turn some people off, if you're interested there's a video about it on youtube).

What makes Monogatari so enjoyable are definitely the dialogue and the characters in the series. The banter and interactions these characters have with each other is not just read more
Jun 3, 2019
Natsuki_Hyundai (All reviews)
The Monogatari series is one that has alluded me for some time. Like with Durarara!, the hype train came and gone. Their anime both- astonishingly- adapted all the volumes of their source materials, and have long since fully aired. However, they looked so charming that I HAD to try the originals for the sake of the fact that I really don't care for anime that much. And finally, in 2019, I slowly sunk my teeth into the first third of the Monogatari franchise.
~~~~~~~~
Story AND Characters- What Even is This?/10

This is a strange series. Basically, we have a supernatural slice-of-life, similar to Durarara! Except unlike Durarara!'s read more
Jul 15, 2021
RayRaivern (All reviews)
{The art rating in the rating list: I believe that art doesn't matter in the quality of Light Novels, so I rather rated it in regards to the Writing & Prose}

The Monogatari series is a set of stories which makes up an overall story.
And it is this overall story which is highly praised as the Monogatari series.

First, I should give my ratings of all the stories individually presented in the Monogatari Series: First Season.

Bakemonogatari: 7/10
Kizumonogatari: 9/10
Nisemonogatari: 8/10
Nekomonogatari: 9/10

Now to critique the story, characters, and writing style.

The individual stories can be divided into parts of 2 types.
Idle Conversation, consisting of Araragi talking with a girl over read more
Oct 10, 2020
pluvia33 (All reviews)
Preliminary
[An Audiobook Review]

I am a rather slow reader. Although I’ve never been tested, I believe that I have been living with a mild case of dyslexia all my life. Because of this, it usually takes me just as long to read something as it would take for someone to say the words out loud, or even longer. Because of this, I found that audiobooks are a great way for me to get more “reading” of proper novels done. If it takes this long for me to read anyway, why not just have someone read to me?! So, when the English publisher Vertical decided to not read more