Tokyo Babylon
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Tokyo Babylon

Alternative Titles

English: Tokyo Babylon
Japanese: 東京 BABYLON

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 7
Chapters: 18
Status: Finished
Published: 1990 to 1993
Genres: DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy, ShoujoShoujo, Shounen AiShounen Ai, SupernaturalSupernatural
Authors: CLAMP (Story & Art)
Serialization: Wings

Statistics

Score: 8.071 (scored by 62826,282 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #5562
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #761
Members: 15,017
Favorites: 780

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 2, 2011
Suzuhana (All reviews)
My love of CLAMP spills out again. Tokyo Babylon is another beautiful tragedy that every CLAMP follower, and manga reader should try.

Story: Find yourself in Tokyo, the 90s, following Subaru, a young progeny onmyouji. Exorcist for all who don't know what that is. Sounds so ordinary, so very relative. You can't even begin to understand how absolutely tragic and emotional this manga is. Subaru's companions, Seishirou and twin sister Hokuto accompany him as he travels throughout Tokyo and what is ultimately the setting for X/1999. There's plenty of humor here, parallel with tragedy and drama.

If you're uncomfortable with shounen ai, you may not read more
May 19, 2013
marusamarento (All reviews)
“Love is just a blood-match, to see who can endure lash, after lash…” – St Vincent


Though the title "Tokyo Babylon" evokes a contrast between the urban sprawl of 1980s cityscape and the ancient city of desolation, perhaps Sodom and Gomorrah would be a better allegory for the cold and corrupt city that lends itself to the scenery of Tokyo Babylon.

The city’s influence on our main character, Subaru Sumeragi, is undeniable. Thirteenth in the long line of onmyouji (spell-casters, mediums, or exorcists), he is employed as a kind of spiritual psychiatrist to relieve Tokyo’s residents, past and present, of their emotional baggage. Despite his obvious power read more
Jun 4, 2020
abystoma2 (All reviews)
Tokyo Babylon is mainly a collection of few stories about an exorcist protagonist and encounters he has during his works - both regular jobs and random confrontations.

Now, right from the start I felt like I was missing some chunk of the story, like I accidentally started reading the wrong volume and skipping the introduction. The characters aren't exactly properly introduced and thanks to their status as twins might even be easily confused for each other for first few chapters (though this might also be fault of the very low quality scanlations which are pretty much your only choice for this manga as the official read more
Feb 20, 2015
misacchin (All reviews)
Well damn...
This is not the kind of manga a read every day. I typically read adventure shounen or horror/ mystery type of stuff and Tokyo Babylon is pretty much on the other end of the scale HOWEVER it is worth the read, surprisingly, and here's why;
(PS. If you just want the short version of it skip to Overall :p)

Story: 9/10
I was extremely confused at the beginning. Not only was the wording terrible but what was happening in the story made no sense. I really have no idea why I kept reading because I felt like dropping t right there HOWEVER I am grateful I kept read more
Feb 1, 2009
DinaraC (All reviews)
Tokyo Babylon was one of the first few mangas that I started reading years ago and up till today, I still think it is one of the best mangas CLAMP has produced.

Warning, this manga does contain some elements of shounen ai (boy love).

Story:

Looking at the summary one would think that che, it's your typical magical boy running around Tokyo exorcising your ghost for the day. I must say, the story line reflects more than that and it addresses some of the issues society is facing from the aging population to bullying. There are some really cute moments (a big hug for Hokuto-chan and read more
Nov 7, 2012
lady_ribbon (All reviews)
Tokyo Babylon is the beautiful, classic manga from Clamp that lures you into the false sense of security that everything will be okay and perfect at the end – when it is anything but, and much, much worse. It’s been about 20 years since this manga was written, and it is still one of Clamp’s greatest and most memorable works; and the work that spawned such beloved characters, and the somewhat sequel, the gorgeous X (X/1999) where Subaru and Seishirou appear nine years later.

★ Story (10) – Tokyo of the 90’s– a modern, powerful cityscape, a glorious empire of sprawling lights and commercial skyscrapers; a read more
Nov 4, 2011
SmileToday191 (All reviews)
With CLAMP it seems you are definitely to get a story that holds many archetypes and cliches done in a way that seems original and fresh. I'm truly baffled as to how they manage, but they do, and so this is also the way TB is done.

Story:
Pain, tragedy, pain, tragedy, throw in some more pain and tragedy. Not to say that the plot is bad, not at all. In fact CLAMP here uses the urban landscape quite well, delving into the lives of those cursed by its overwhelming power to either let you rise or sink to the bottom. Tokyo is basically the main theme read more
Apr 7, 2018
Cindy-Uchiha (All reviews)
I dropped Tokyo Babylon the first time I read it directly after the first few pages and decided to never pick it up again. For someone who loves mainstream battle shounen shit, the start of Tokyo Babylon already decided how weak the story line is going to be.
So why did I pick it up again? Because I saw a beautiful picture of the protagonists on someone's profile. Not because I thought it might be worth reading again, or that it deserved another try. I was just fascinated by that picture, which turned out to be not from this manga at all.

The protagonist of Tokyo read more
Aug 5, 2012
SpiritualWolf (All reviews)
One of the best series' I've read! Dark, corrupted and very tragic. There is also a few comedy moments in there too which I like, but that's as far as it goes with the plot being anywhere near a happy place.

I found it very enjoyable, despite it's plot, which also nearly had me in tears. :p
Jan 9, 2019
Wheedies (All reviews)
Most that needs to be said about Tokyo Babylon has been said by other reviews, it's a fantastic story with fantastic characters and a great emotional ending. What I'd like to mention however is in its relation to other series be Clamp, namely X1999 and xxxHolic.

This book serves as a prequel or prologue for X1999, providing backstory for (primarily) two of its side characters, while at the same time having nothing to do with X1999 beyond a few hints. It effectively works as its own standalone tittle they bear so little in common.

As for xxxHolic, while not directly connected they share the same read more
Dec 25, 2020
Some1ridiculous (All reviews)
Basically I had found out that the 2021 anime adaption of this series is gonna be delayed so without waiting decade for it to come out, I decided to dig into the manga. I gotta say at first, it's complex af like I didn't have a clue wtf was going on. I kinda let the story speak for itself without deep thought and it worked!

Without not trying to spoil too much, it's basically about a spiritual medium named Subaru and he mainly partners with his twin sister Hokuto (she has great fashion sense) and a very "Subaru-fan" veterinarian, Seishirou. Now heads up, do not read more
Aug 16, 2016
Chinomi-san (All reviews)
I always add CLAMP works to my manga list for reading; the artwork is amazing, the stories are intriguing, and the way CLAMP touches on feelings that people in everyday life endure all the time is astounding. Tokyo Babylon is not an exception, though I must confess that I've never heard of this title before. It's one of CLAMP's oldest series and despite its age, still delivers exactly what CLAMP is well-known for; timeless manga that people of many ages can enjoy.

What's wonderful about this plot is the way it is character-driven. Subaru's responsibility as a powerful exorcist puts him in dangerous situations all the read more