Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

3-gatsu no Lion

3-gatsu no Lion

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Sangatsu no Lion, March Comes in Like a Lion, Lion of March
Japanese: 3月のライオン

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jul 13, 2007 to ?
Genres: DramaDrama, GameGame, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Umino, Chika (Story & Art)
Serialization: Young Animal

Statistics

Score: 8.631 (scored by 74687,468 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #702
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #306
Members: 26,998
Favorites: 1,820

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Feb 2, 2012
CherishAnime (All reviews)
Another masterpiece from the wonderful insightful Chika Umino, the creator of the very successful series Honey and Clover. She really knows how to stir you up in emotions with her unique characters and plot.

Story: What would life be like at the age of seventeen, living on your own with no real family and having to play Shogi to earn a living? This is the life of Rei Kiriyama, who is an introverted quietly awkward boy that’s been through so many traumas in his past, that it makes your heart swell. He is also a professional player of a Japanese board game called Shogi, which gives read more
Sep 24, 2016
czxcjx (All reviews)
The failure of a sports manga, or a sports story, comes when the activity is segregated from human perception and life itself.

There’s one scene in the completely over the top TV series Aoi Honoo where Honoo realizes that the secret to Adaichi Mitsuru’s success as a sports writer was that he wasn’t writing sports manga at all – but school manga. This, to me, is the secret to making a sports story shine – the activity must be an excuse to develop human emotions, because this aspect is where it really sticks inside your head beyond the mere manipulation of parts.

I find the same idea read more
Oct 25, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
Losing your parents at a young age can influence your later life significantly. Luckily for the protagonist Rei, he is taken in by a family. How did it affect his life, and the relations with other people? From the creator of Honey & Clover, comes the manga "3-gatsu no Lion", a slice of life manga which incorporates dramatic elements.

As mentioned earlier, due to Rei losing his parents, his life is thrown upside down. Insecurity and loneliness plagues his everyday life, even when living in an adopted family, being shogi his only scapeway to avoid confronting his new-found life. Obviously showing talent in Shogi, he ranks read more
Nov 5, 2015
SodiumChloride (All reviews)
Sangatsu No Lion is a good manga that is less talked about than many others that it is superior to .

Perhaps it's because of its synopsis which fails at being eye-catching .In any case this is not bad or boring provided you don't dislike slice of life .

On to the review then .

Story - 7
Being slice of life in its purest form ,Sangatsu No Lion doesn't exactly have what you can call a major plot line .This is just the story of a high school shogi pro with family issues .Like a biography ,you cannot exactly pick a point that represents the story even if read more
Dec 16, 2016
Zx_Caderu (All reviews)
Instead of a review, i think i will just be preaching about my favourite manga, cause i honestly love sangatsu too damn much. I think manga really is a very interesting medium, combining the best aspects of books and films. While books is able to vividly describe the wonders that can be shelved under without much thought in images, images however, is much easier to consume and can still pack quite a punch in conveying feelings. I think manga is a perfect balance of these two aspects and that Sangatsu was truly able to ultilise them in perfect harmony.

There is unique and impactful use read more
Sep 24, 2019
GGShang (All reviews)
March Comes In Like a Lion has skyrocketed into my top 10 list of anime and manga at blinding speeds. There is so much about it to talk about because it is a story that encompasses so much.

I have a hard time trying to explain to people what the plot is about. Yes, it is a story of a young shogi player that lives off of the earnings of his matches, but it is so much more. On one hand it is about the lives of professional shogi players everywhere and all the mentality, personality and back story that has built up each of them read more
Jun 19, 2019
PokharelSahas (All reviews)
One of the best manga I've ever read. The story, Art, potraying the emotions of characters in such a wonderful style. Really Beautiful.

The story of a teenage boy who has already started living in the world of adults and still trying to find the emotions and life that a normal teenager goes through.. Beautiful story indeed.. There are so many characters with different personality and background and the manga goes through everyone's story, delivering it in a level that seems as important as a protagonist. Writer really did a good job vis a vis this aspect. The Art style is simple and yet read more
Jan 13, 2020
xsmiley28 (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW (kind of) CONTAINS SPOILERS

I feel very conflicted about this series. Because I think what it does, it does well. Really well, even. But I often found myself very irritated while reading it. Why? One thing: the way this manga changes direction very abruptly, going into long arcs on new topics. (I will go into what those topics are here, if you consider that spoilers, but I won't give any spoiler-y details about what exactly happens.)

It starts off mainly about three things: shogi, Kiriyama's family/past, and the sisters he meets and builds bonds with. So far so good. I think it gives you a read more