Forum Settings
Forums
New
Pages (20) « First ... « 2 3 [4] 5 6 » ... Last »
Sep 15, 2014 2:02 PM

Sep 2014
Farewell to Weapons form Short Peace is a current example of what I'd like to see more of. Designs and concept from the manly age of anime, with great digital technique and high resolution picture.
Sep 15, 2014 3:30 PM

Aug 2013
I think story is main factor, animation and style are secondary. Hadashi no Gen, Otaku no Video, Cowboy Bebop and Trigun, is very good examples. Who said old anime sucks, he's from shit tier.
Sep 15, 2014 3:35 PM

Apr 2014
121th said:
I think story is main factor, animation and style are secondary. Hadashi no Gen, Otaku no Video, Cowboy Bebop and Trigun, is very good examples. Who said old anime sucks, he's from shit tier.
are* very good examples. (I'm studying for English teacher so I will be a grammar nazi, don't hate me.

And you named a few but forgot the best: Great Teacher Onizuka!!
Sep 15, 2014 4:24 PM

Oct 2010
Bean_Bandit said:
Their loss. They're missing out on some truly visionary animation and storytelling. Especially in the feature lengths and OVAs. Even throwaway "trash" like Genocyber is better animated, better drawn, and has more inspired lunacy than most of what you can find today. And forget about even trying to hang with Patlabor 2, Royal Space Force, Jin Roh, Mononoke Hime, Magnetic Rose etc.

If we are talking about movies and OVAs, I'd say that Mind Game, Summer wars and about every Hosoda, 5 centimeters per second, The wind rises, etc. can very perfectly match those anime classics as works of artistic significance. And there's also the typical cheap, exploitative OVA from the 80s and early 90s. It's easy to state the superiority of an era when you forget about bland shit like Baoh or the godawful Roots search.
Sep 15, 2014 4:36 PM
Sep 2014
Fist of The North Star is still to be rivaled with to this very day!!!
Sep 15, 2014 4:42 PM
Jun 2014