Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Rio: Rainbow Gate!


Alternative Titles

English: Rio - Rainbow Gate!: Reshuffle
Synonyms: Rio - Rainbow Gate
Japanese: リオ レインボーゲート!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 4, 2011 to Mar 29, 2011
Premiered: Winter 2011
Broadcast: Tuesdays at Unknown
Licensors: Media Blasters
Studios: Xebec
Source: Other
Genres: Game, Comedy, Ecchi
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 5.961 (scored by 10,177 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #81782
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2444
Members: 29,200
Favorites: 31

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 5, 2011
Skadi (All reviews)
One of the things find I generally like about anime is that they almost always have their basis in manga or novels, at least giving it the chance of having a coherent story. Rio: Rainbow Gate! breaks the norm by being based on a pachinko game, and it shows. I didn’t have much in the way of expectations for this series but after a somewhat promising start things started to come apart fairly fast.

Rio's story is, as expected, dreadfully terrible. Our leading character is Rio, a popular dealer and kind of the mascot of the casino she works in, Howard Resort. read more
Jan 6, 2011
ratratrat098 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Why would I give a 9? Because I liked it!

This review will be largely based on the first episode and the synopsis given from the other sites.

Story: The first episode doesn't have a deep story. This is a story about Mint who is a granddaughter of a very wealthy, casino-addicted Mr. Clark who decided to abandon his work and spend his vacation or slack off in a famous casino/hotel/amusement park/beach. This famous casino, Howard Casino, employs a very gorgeous lady named Rio Rollins Tachibana who is rumored to bring luck to any players/gamblers. Yup, this might sound absurd but this is the charm of this read more
Feb 16, 2011
CharmingIce (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ignore all the haters, this Anime is VERY GOOD and may even become GREAT!

I have to be honest, episode 1 is pretty boring and it doesn't give a good impression of what the story is all about. Episode 2 and 3 will make the story more clear and from that point onward it's only getting better and better.

Still, if you don't like fan-service, this is not the Anime for you.

Story:
Give it some time.

Animation:
The Animation is pretty neat if I may say so.

Sound:
Good, nothing remarkably great about it.

Characters:
With so many characters there should at leas be one character you'd read more
Mar 12, 2011
Nasty001 (All reviews)
Preliminary
There are still 2 more episodes to go, how will it end, we have to wait and see. Then again it is expected that the protagonist Rio will be on top. So without further adieu, how do I rate this? Here's how.

Story- a dreadful number 2.

Well, the story is so simple that the genre described really did much live up, well the ecchi part is co'z every chica in the anime wore very kinky outfits and the ecchi is on the perverted owner of Howard Casino Resort, the comedy is too simple and comedy aspect here is on the fumbling Hellising Aya and the read more
Feb 21, 2011
leingodf8 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hmmmmm, where do I begin with an anime like this. There's a lot to say... so how bout, I start with the reception it seems to have received for once. Rio: Rainbow Gate is probably one of the most hated anime of 2011. I've been trying to look at the reason for this from an objective stand point (at least... trying to put in as little of my own bias as possible), and I think I may have figured out why this anime doesn't work. Its a jumble of parts from different anime. Let me explain.

What are probably the 2 main complaints of this anime? read more
Jan 8, 2011
PhillyFlash (All reviews)
Preliminary
Maybe I'm too easily pleased when it comes to anime and I'm nowhere near as critical as others, but hey, I liked Rio: Rainbow Gate. I found the concept of a show based in a casino to have been different, oh, sure, I'll admit there's nothing particularly deep or meaningful about this show, and that it's attractive star presents a fair amount of fanservice to viewers, still, I thought it was delightfully goofy, silly and innocent fun, and isn't fun an important part of the anime watching experience? I enjoyed the light, wacky, slightly racy nature of this show which clearly doesn't take itself seriously, read more
Jan 12, 2011
TitanXL (All reviews)
Preliminary
Rio - Rainbow Gate! takes place at the tropical casino paradise called the Howard Resort Casino. The plot revolves around a tournament where Casino dealers challenge each other to various casino games to win the title of being the Top Dealer. Basic, simple, but it works for what it is. The main character Rio is called the Goddess of Victory, as she has uncanny luck and the ability to make anyone win whatever game they're playing just by walking past them.

The writing is, as you would expect, not the focus of the show. The plot is basic for what it is, read more
Feb 17, 2011
thecandyman328 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yet another shitty fan service anime like Infinite Stratos hits the fan.

First off let me start my review by ranting: SHUT THE FUCK UP ROSA CANYON YOU'RE SO FUCKING ANNOYING! Not just any actress but a Hollywood actress? What the fuck does that mean? And she says it a million fucking times! This show MIGHT actually be okay without her fucking it up in the varying screen time that she has. Every time I see her dumb blue hair and stupidly proportioned knockers I get pissed. In the first place, why does she always hang out with the main character? Its abnormal! You don't have read more
Jan 8, 2011
Mugen900 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, so according to my critics I should not be writing review on the first episode of the anime, but after reading the comment from the viewers and other pieces from other MAL users, I can't help but write one of my own as well, so here is my rating for this anime:

Story- a mediocre number 5.

According to comments they all find the anime more of a fan service than anything else, which I agree. Because it is all about Rio whom is regarded as a goddess of luck working as a dealer/maid/babysitter for Mint/ Howard Resort Model, etc in some posh Casino Resort. read more
Jan 23, 2011
garf02 (All reviews)
Preliminary
As far as episode 3, R:RG! try to appeal to men passions: Busty girls, and gambling games. I can not argue, that the 1st part is well applied in the series, maid outfits, short skirts, bunny girls, and fan-service when ever they can; on the other hand, this aspects totally kill the seriousness and thrilling of the gambling games.

Should you give it a try?: If what you are looking for is an anime with interesting plot or breaking the regular anime standards, then no, don´t even try 1st episode, or anything related to it, but if you are looking for something to jack off, doesn´t read more
Jul 20, 2011
helur (All reviews)
Rio rainbow gate is a very odd show. Revolving around the antics of Rio and the side characters, they are bombarded by rival dealers who want to challenge her and obtain the gates. MAL has the tags ecchi, and comedy. However, the comedy in this show is non-existant; I found myself laughing at the show instead of with it. The ecchi is rather moderate and usually dedicated to one part of an episode or outfit oriented.

I found that the plot was actually the strongest point of the show, although not by much. It follows the average showdown per episode, and when the dealers battle they read more
Mar 31, 2011
dezifish (All reviews)
After following this particular series, I overall enjoyed it. The fan service was fan service. At the beginning it was very slow, but soon it began to form a plot, which I liked the idea it had. The ending wasn't as climatic as I expected but hey you can't argue with the whole world having good luck. Especially if Rio is responsible for world peace. I will say that I do look forward the next season. Mysterious man with a cape and red eyes with some little girl that has a bone to pick with someone. I would recommend this to anyone who just wants read more
Jan 16, 2011
mlmatlowe0 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The fact that number 4 on the rating scale indicates decent while number 5 is mediocre is beyond me, but none the less, I'll give it a 4 anyway since that balances out the scores nicely.

now, let's look at the premise to begin with: it's based on a character that is found on a slot machine, with big breasts.
I haven't even begun to really review it yet and just reading the premise you already get an idea of the motivations behind making this into an anime.

But i know what your going to say, "no, mlmatlow0, you overly critical fool, just because the premise sounds read more
Jun 15, 2011
awesome-49 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Rio rainbow gate is about a dealer named Rio at howard resort the whole story is about Rio player casino games and winning cards. I don't understand this anime its story is kiddish like its characters but its ecchi. Who is this anime for anybody who likes ecchi is old but the story for kids its just crap. I don't hate this show just found it boring.
Jan 26, 2011
danzil (All reviews)
Preliminary
for god sakes stop eith the ecchi fansevice crap girl and guy(homos) it actually a breathe of fresh air from anime with weak leads and depressing things tha you see in other anime really fanservice is not new you know it exist and when you saw the trailer for this anime you should have expected it i actually enjoy this series because its is not bad good ecchi thats what i call am a ecchi peson i nomally watch action and ecchi anyway because im not a fan of love or depressing anime so you like it or you dont but dont get mad of read more
Feb 15, 2011
Saumon (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, first of all, I admit it, I kinda enjoyed the 2-3first episodes, I thought the plot was kinda interesting, it's actually about collecting special cards that a random dude gave to the 13 best casino dealers in the world, the main character being one of them, to collect them, you can challenge other "gate keepers" to a "gate battle", so far so good. But the way it goes is just stupid, she keeps winning gate in the stupidest way possible in the stupidest battles. that anime is simply sexy girls in a child anime, that's it.

EDIT: I'll have to change my review after watching read more
Dec 1, 2017
DesolatePsyche (All reviews)
First things first. My "reviews" system is explained on a blog entry. Which can be found through my profile.
------

✦Story
Start was bright and intriguing, woman of luck being successful dealer in a mega casino. But as episodes went by, it became more far-fetched, chaotic in a bad way and thus from my point of view, it lost it's value and became quite boring. The subplot of main character and her search for someone and that conclusion was as well quite odd. Point being, story was with promising start and then it went downfall. Was potential game/casino Anime.

✦Art & Sound
Pretty, colorful and fun. Also character design of read more
Apr 21, 2017
ZetsubouCooper (All reviews)
From "plot" to actual plot.

STORY
As you may expect from the synopsis of the series, Rio: Rainbow Gate is not a series that focuses all that much on the story.
The basic premise of the 13 "Gate Cards" and the concept of "Roll Rulers" is... pretty vague. It's certainly explained, but not in all that much detail.
Why are there 13 cards? What happens once someone wins all 13? Are they kept by that person? After all, if a Gate holder has to accept a challenge from another Gate holder, if someone has them all, it should mean that they can keep them until they die.
Are read more
Jul 21, 2016
AllenHavens92 (All reviews)
Are you ready to place your bets? Because you just might "have a lucky day" with Rio: Rainbow Gate!

I'll be straight and say the concept is ridiculous, but that's where its charm comes from. Set in a casino resort where over-the-top duels occur and a dash of fan service for some spice. The main premise is the only iffy thing here, which is your typical "magic item collecting" scenario. My problem with it is there's not a whole lot to it that makes it any interesting. I also had a minor issue with the shift in the story's progression. This happens around halfway through, and read more
May 25, 2011
SolidousJohn23 (All reviews)
Rio's Rainbow Gate first anime to release in 2011 and IT SUCKS BALLS!!!!!

Positives +:
The Animation are the only thing thats good
Bearing yourself to stop watching this
The Actresses are good

Negatives -:
Episodes with no plots(some episodes do but people will send me hate comments if i did not)

Overalls:This Anime was a blunt disaster the first episode had no plot and about a bear and was stared for a moment not the less not knowing more about the characters which they should've did but ended up with episodes that included plots thats not about the show and plots that do

UPDATED: well a 3/10 is what it'll be read more