Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Dragon Ball Z


Alternative Titles

English: Dragon Ball Z
Synonyms: DBZ, Dragonball Z
Japanese: ドラゴンボールZ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 291
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 26, 1989 to Jan 31, 1996
Premiered: Spring 1989
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 19:00 (JST)
Producers: Fuji TV
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.281 (scored by 445,608 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2592
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #73
Members: 662,453
Favorites: 25,637

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 8, 2007
ChrisVarick (All reviews)
Dragon Ball Z is epic. No doubt this is one of the most popular series that helped spread the art of anime in the world.

The original Dragon Ball was fun, but in DBZ the characters have grown and the maturity is felt throughout the whole series. From the incredible Sayian Saga, an important Frieza Saga and the entertaining Cell Saga to the Grand Finale - Buu Saga, DBZ does not disappoint. It's not all about the fighting, although the series have probably 4-5 battles that should be written in the anime history books. I was always astonished by the character development which is amazing read more
Jun 26, 2011
therustbelt (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're like me, the name Dragon Ball Z gets your blood boiling, your erection throbbing, and your bicep muscles pulsating. Contrary to popular belief, this is not because of some terrible medical condition or permanent damage from anabolic steroids. This is because the amount of manliness contained in just one episode of DBZ is enough to cause penis growth, beard hair, and possibly cancer. Make no mistake, this is not an anime for children or people on high blood pressure medication. Like Hank McCoy's premature big-foot vaccine, watching Dragon Ball Z is guaranteed to turn you into a badass gorilla with the strength of read more
Jun 29, 2014
Soul_Punisher (All reviews)
If anyone knows of Shounen anime Then there is No doubt
anyone would of course heard of Dragon ball Z which I'm obviously sure
most people who are reading this review have and are not hopefully sleeping under a rock.

Its One of the earliest shounen animes along side others. The show itself has probably had
one of the Biggest impact of a shounen anime I've seen in my lifetime growing up besides the likes of attack on titan, Fullmetal Alchemist and Death note and yet till this day
it has many viewers still checking it out. some have finish seeing it, some re watch it, some read more
Aug 20, 2008
Masaaki (All reviews)
I started watching Dragonball Z at a very young age and even when I was young I loved it although I didn't know what was going on. I grew up watching the English dub on Cartoon Network and Fell in Love with the Show. Dragonball Z is an Epic Anime with Brilliant Fight scene's and Great Characters.
If you are Looking for a Great Fighting Anime look no further.
I can safely say that Dragonball Z is the King of Fighting Anime.
Dragonball Z is a Fun Anime and also my Favorite!

Story
Dragonball Z is a story about a naive man named Goku trying to be come stronger read more
Mar 19, 2011
DBZAOTA482 (All reviews)
Ah yes, Dragon Ball Z, this really takes me back. This series used to be everywhere, there were DBZ lunchboxes, DBZ toys, DBZ VHS sets,& DBZ video games. Well nowadays, it feeds off mostly on video games now, some good(like the Budokai and Tenkaichi series, Burst Limit,& dbz legends), many bad(like Final Bout, Sagas,& Raging Blast). It is widely considered a milestone in anime fandom as it is one of the backthroughs in spreading the art form, along with Pokemon, Akira,& Sailor Moon. It is also(along with the original) inspired many to become artists(including me).

I'll try my best to make this review seem as unbiased read more
Nov 6, 2007
ElectricSlime (All reviews)
Preliminary
Dragonball Z, many, like me, grew up watching this dubbed on TV. At the time I though it was the coolest thing to ever grace the television and never missed an episode. I've probably seen most every episode 2-3 times. The story is all about how Goku and friends grow from relative weaklings to the most powerful beings in the Universe. As each new enemy is defeated, another appears, training ensues, baddie defeated. The story isn't that deep, it is your typical good vs evil battle with the whole universe at stake. Much of the plot is focused on friendship and overcoming impossible odds to read more
Jan 8, 2016
Lord_Rutsah (All reviews)
Oh boy, I'm digging my own grave again...

We have all heard of Dragonball (of Z I mean, noone watched the original), it was a huge name in the 90s, that introduced anime to the rest of the world through the only good dub I've seen today and is responsible for inspiring hundreds of other anime and mangas. So why would anyone hate it?

Well, as was mentioned, Dragonball WAS responsible for many of today's mangas, creating (or at least making famous) various stereotypes that lasted though decades. Some examples of the wonderful stereotypes that Dragonball made norm include: 1)Stupid protagonist in shounen. 2)Evil is stupid. 3)Death read more
Feb 5, 2019
Cokeyo (All reviews)
Why is Dragon Ball Z so popular? Is it because of the complex characters? No, is it because of the intriguing story? No, Is it because of the nonstop fighting and crazy hype factor? Hell yes!!!.

Dragonball Z focuses on the fighting and hype aspect of Anime and i can see why as this is where the show truly shines. What Dragonball z sets out to do it does VERY well. The build up to the fights is intense enough but when the show finally brings the likes of Goku and Frieza to have their fight it is truly something amazing and epic. The animation read more
Jul 16, 2008
RangFlash (All reviews)
Well, if you've never seen this show, you must have been living under a rock, or a giant turtle, or something. Or maybe you've been living in some kind of strange alternate dimension...

Yeah, it's Dragonball Z. Some crazy anime show. It's been extremely popular in the past. It still has a big following, somewhere, I think. It's spawned like 30 video games. "But is it any good?" you ask. Well I've come here to tell you.

The show spans for almost 300 episodes, and is ultimately drawn out so long that it feels boring and pointless at times. Oftentimes nothing happens in an episode, except for read more
Sep 28, 2018
Iamkingdomhearts (All reviews)
...The king of all Shonen genre based...

...The precursor to series such, as One Piece, Naruto, Bleach and many others...

Dragon Ball one could say can be where a Manga/Anime fan first started their journey into the world of Otaku-Japanese related fandom.

All the tropes of fighting featured in Shonen based series nowadays...Dragon Ball was the one that helped inspired them, providing an edge unlike any other that again helped to give fighting based series the popularity that they have most certainly earned both in and on their very own rights respectively.

Dragon Ball was a Journey into the East from Western perspectives, as alongside Pokemon at the time, read more
Mar 16, 2008
Ubermensch (All reviews)
Like many anime fans that started young and grew up watching anime DBZ was always a favorite of mine. Had this review been written when I was 13 I probably would have given it 10s across the board. However I am not 13 anymore and my tastes in anime have matured over the years. Thus this review is written in the context of a 21 year old near college graduate and one that has a vastly larger collection than my formative years.

Story - 7
Dragon Ball Z follows off years after the end of the Dragon Ball series. As the characters have aged so have their read more
Jan 19, 2009
MarioGamer (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before you start reading, please keep in mind that I am a huge Dragon Ball Z fan. So that may influence my opinion a bit.

Dragon Ball Z marked quite a few firsts in its genre. One could almost argue that if it wasn't Dragon Ball Z, anime may not have become what it is today. It started in the 1980's in Japan, but did not reach American TV until the 90's. I remember coming home from school every day as a kid and turning my TV on to Cartoon Network to watch this show. Fast forward ten years later read more
Oct 4, 2018
Momoiro_Hime (All reviews)
Dragon Ball Z is one of a kind and there will be no other, even if its created from the same mangaka Akira Toriyama.

It's not plane luck that this anime is known globally and to all ages. Like Dragon Ball which was prior to Z, it is one of the most mainstream anime shows the past 20 years now and keeps going even today.

The story continues from the Dragon Ball series where Goku beats Piccolo and finally brings peace to Earth.

*Spoiler Alert*

He has finally made family with Chi-Chi and lives a normal life enjoying sparring at the forests near his read more
Mar 7, 2014
YuYuDragon (All reviews)
Ok, so I already did a DBGT review and I had strong opinions on why it isn't as bad as everyone says. Now it's time for my DBZ review and warning to all DBZ lovers I am going to trash on it... Just kidding, isn't that impossible?? DBZ has been known as the greatest anime and although I find that inaccurate it is definitively in the top five and the most influential anime of all time.

Story- I really wanted to give it a 10 across the board, but I just couldn't. Most of you who are reading this have probably seen DBZ or know read more
Jul 22, 2017
KingHarkinian (All reviews)
Can I make a critical review of DBZ?

Can I be the party pooper?

Can I piss in your cereal bowl?

Thank you.

DBZ is bad. It's actually very much to shonen what Final Fantasy 7 is to JRPG. It's origin of the Bad, the birth of it, the Genesis of modern shonen shit. It is to Nekketsu what SAO is to Isekai, the biggest and most recognisable of them all, and also the one that carries all its flaws.

Like Naruto, like Bleach, like One Piece(and I really like One Piece), like Mc Donalds food, there is a general trend with Life that when a lot of people like read more
Oct 18, 2017
freones (All reviews)
Grown up watching this epic anime. Dragon Ball at first seem a cut-throat battle of the warriors from cosmos working desperately on their martial arts skills to prove their superiority. But deep in it, lies some of the most important lessons you can learn as a human. Main character Goku faces warriors like Raditz, Vegeta, Freeza, Cell, Buu etc. You can easily see the increasing ability of these opponents. Each time he faces an opponent stronger than any of his previous opponents. He doesn't get intimidated by this. Instead his incredible enthusiasm to fight with the best and pushing his limits in order to match read more
Apr 14, 2009
luna56 (All reviews)
this was the first anime and manga i ever got addicted to or watched i highly recomend it to a fighting maniac plus the characters are very loveable and there is a character for neraly ever kind of personality the is quite a few of twists and turns this is the best out off the 3 (Dragonball,Dragonball Z,Dragonball GT,)

Story

The story is basic revolved around the main character Goku a sayian sent to destroy earth (also for a breif time Gokus son Gohan) it is full of interesting twists and alot of amusing characters and events unlike the Dragonball in is not mainly revolved around read more
Feb 3, 2008
-FlameHaze- (All reviews)
Preliminary
Intro
This is my favourite out of Dragoball / Z / GT, Dragonball Z was the first one I could get ahold of, so for me, watching Dragonball was like watching Star wars the originals then phantom menace etc came out years later.

Story
Story is good, drags out a little but good if you get into it, you will be disappointed the episodes come to an end. Although the same thing happens, bad guy comes, people defend, the fight sequences and opponents are mostly unique to their powers and reasons to wanting to conquer Earth. This pretty much keeps it unique.

Animation
The animation is pretty good, can't fault read more
Aug 6, 2017
SixLeafCloverOF (All reviews)
Ahhh, DBZ, a masterpiece of an anime! I still get so much nostalgia when I watch it. I'm going to try to keep this brief, since it isn't the deepest show or anything. Also it will be spoiler free. This was also my first BIG anime. I didn't think any anime was better. I was wrong. But that doesn't mean that I don't still love it. It will always be close to my heart. It is a masterpiece, after all!

Story: 7

This is the weakest aspect of the anime, in my opinion. The story is good, sharing roots with Superman's origin story. I'm also including the read more
Jun 13, 2009
woodyfly (All reviews)
I really rate it 10/10 in all categories. IT was just a masterpiece, especially for its time. The story is debateable, but the art, sound, character, enjoyment was flawless without contest.

ART
The art was amazing, it was so interesting and the fighting scenes got me hooked.

SOUND
Lot of people complain about the sound/music in DBZ sounding too "old" and preferred the american bruce falconer versions. I disagree STRONGLY. I felt the original sound and music fit PERFECTLY, there's no words to describe it. Every theme was amazing.

CHARACTER
This is one of the things that made DBZ one of the most memorable and watched series, the characters. Just read more