Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hakuouki


Alternative Titles

English: Hakuoki ~Demon of the Fleeting Blossom~
Synonyms: Hakuoki,Hakuouki: Shinsengumi Kitan
Japanese: 薄桜鬼

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2010 to Jun 20, 2010
Premiered: Spring 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.511 (scored by 52,188 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #16832
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #864
Members: 121,972
Favorites: 1,904

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 21, 2010
8thSin (All reviews)
*Spoiler warning* Do not read story section unless you've finished the series.

"Hakuouki" is based on a PS2 romance adventure otome game (games targeted toward girls).

The story starts with Yukimura Chizuru, daughter of a doctor in Edo (Tokyo's old name), arriving Kyoto in search of her father. She is saved by two Shinsengumi members from zombie-like demon, and gets taken into custody. Eventually she gains their trust and helps them out while looking for clues of her father.

Shinsengumi is an organization that actually existed in the late-Edo-period that acted as a 'special police' that served to suppress any anti-government movement in Kyoto. The actual organization only read more
Jun 25, 2010
Magdalen (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ignoring the fact it's been a game, and the main female character is the most frustrating, ignorant and helpless ever, this is a brilliant anime.
Even if you find the story a little...sparse at times, the reason you should /definitely/ watch to the end of every single episode is the male characters - both the drawing of them and the personalities themselves. They aren't, like a lot of mangas based on games, guys who may be hot but are stupid, masochistic and aloof. They are warm, funny, incredibly good looking (a major bonus) and, of course, incredibly protective of the female protagonist.

Chizuru (the female protagonist) read more
Jul 12, 2013
Growler (All reviews)
Japan's history is written mostly in blood rather than ink, which represents the source of interest for many people, with me proudly among them.

The story evolves around the Shinsengumi, the late Tokugawa Shogunate secret police.
They are followed in their struggle against the changing times where the old samurai ways of fighting and living are replaced by the incursion of western culture.
In Hakuouki the concept of time is well determinate, meaning that events don't unfold day after day and neither do battles so from that point of view its a plus.
Being a historical inspired tale ensures a certain continuity of the episodes while presenting key elements read more
Jul 31, 2010
Lindle (All reviews)
Hakuouki is an anime made by Studio DEEN, who have, in recent years, gained infamy for putting their names to a variety of very poor shows in recent years, as well as making a horribly butchered adaptation of Umineko. So, does Hakuouki enter the ranks of awful DEEN series, or does it redeem the studio? Well, put simply, it is terrible. It is a perfect example of why DEEN are a bad studio. There isn't a single good thing about it.

But before I get into the details about why Hakuouki is horrible, let's just sum up what Hakuouki is about for those not familiar with read more
Jul 11, 2010
lordsephiroth92 (All reviews)
-Before you read this review, take note of this:
I haven't played the Hakuouki games or read the manga. This is from the perspective of someone who only watched the anime.

Story: 10
I really enjoyed the story. The historic content was interesting. The added elements of Rasetsu and the conflicts with the Oni were also captivating. There was nothing with the story that bothered me, and I didn't feel bored, not even once. I usually don't watch Shoujo anime because I hate sappy romance and girly stuff, but this anime was an exception. There were no scenes with girls crying that they love this and that. Chizuru read more
Apr 8, 2010
Eunhea (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hello all! I'm not very good at writing but I just thought I share my thoughts on this one because i really enjoyed the first episode!
Okay this anime got me hooked. The story line is pretty much what the synopsis is! I think this anime has great potential because the art, music, personality of each character is so interesting. I thought that the artwork was somewhat dark and yet tranquil. If you like SWORDS+SAMURAI ISH+VAMPIRES/OGRE this is the anime for you. Also! I'm so into the traditional Japanese historical setting. I think it connects the past for us viewers to relate to culture. And read more
May 6, 2010
aindah (All reviews)
Preliminary
After having watched 5 episodes of Hakuouki I feel at liberty to write that this is an excellent anime, worth every minute you take to watch it.
The story is good so far. Although not yet fully disclosed, it looks better as you watch each episode. I absolutely love the historical genre, and all the political turmoil taking place in the 19th century. I may be partial to the genre, but it evokes a constant feel of déjà vu, so I cannot go higher.
The main (male) characters (members of Kondo faction of Shinsengumi) are all named after real members of the faction. Other than that, read more
Apr 6, 2010
skuj (All reviews)
Preliminary
its still too early to say how the anime will turn out to be, I mean we are just through with episode 1. I am already seeing mixed to awesome reviews for this anime series. And why not? Its a famous "Neo-Romance" game, which has been turned into an anime now, with Bishies as the center point. Although I do have mixed feelings for this one as we already know how the previous Neo-Romance animes have ended, for example La Corda D'oro. The female protagonist never ends up with any guy, a real DISAPPOINTMENT for romance enthusiasts like me :(. I am hoping this isn't read more
Jul 9, 2010
Dorothea (All reviews)
Story. 7
It's a good setup, if you like reverse-harem. A young girl in search of her father is taken in by a group of warriors that is also searching for him. However, the plot didn't really advance all that fast. Certainly the political situation was constantly evolving, but in terms of what was going on the heroine, she was basically a bystander who did almost nothing.

Art. 9
Beautiful art, especially character design. And the fight scenes were surprisingly decent, for a reverse-harem. Fangirls who like guys with silver hair will be especially pleased.

Sound. 6
The soundtrack worked fine with the show, but read more
Sep 2, 2010
spiritsoftime (All reviews)
I really wanted to like Hakuouki since it presents a lot of interesting ideas. Ultimately however, Hakuouki never decides on a main plot. Instead it flirts with subplot after subplot, ultimately failing to adequately develop or resolve any of them.

Story - 3/10 (Poor)
The story is difficult to describe, because of the apparent lack of one. The anime begins with Chizuru, our appointed "protagonist", leaving her home and venturing to a city foreign to her in order to find her father. With this kind of opening, you'd expect that this quest would make up a significant portion of the anime. read more
Nov 19, 2010
Bryce-kun (All reviews)
**MAY INCLUDE SPOILERS**

"The protagonist, Yukimura Chizuru, is the daughter of a doctor who works in Edo. Her father "mysteriously" vanishes thus she has to leaves Edo to find her. When she arrives at Kyoto, Chizuru is attacked by criminals and witnesses a fight between an oni and the Shinsengumi...erm bishies. Taking her into custody and saving her, the bishies debate on what to do with Mary Sue errm Chizuru when they discover that she is the daughter of the doctor they are also looking for (whoa.. unexpected eh?). They decide to become Chizuru's playthings..ermm bodyguards and help her look for her father(the doctor). The story read more
Dec 13, 2012
Mistraal (All reviews)
I've seen a lot of negative reviews on this anime citing that it's boring, there is too much history, not enough action and so on. Frankly, you're in the wrong section. If you read a description and don't recognize the time periods or groups the anime is using, don't downrate it because you are ignorant of history.

Now, that being said, I thoroughly enjoyed this anime. It's set in a very similar time period to Rurouni Kenshin except Hakuouki is set before and during the revolution. It revolves around a girl named Chizuru who left Edo to search for her father in Kyoto. While there, read more
Feb 14, 2015
Seryne299 (All reviews)
This anime is one of the few rare decent reverse harem anime that exist. The fact that it was based on real life events may not seem original but it interprets them in its own way with supernatural twists added to it. I have not played the game, but as an anime only watcher I found it could be a standalone anime adaptation. The events that happened made sense to me and there is sufficient explanation of why certain events took place.

The plot progression is at first quite slow, but it is understandable to take some time for world building and understanding the characters read more
Mar 7, 2019
citycat (All reviews)
I really wanted to like this series. Maybe it was my fault for starting the first episode with high expectations.

Pros: If you're into ikemen, then this is a fine show for indulging your fancies. In fact, there's a gratuitous episode where the shinsengumi need to get topless for a physical. However, the pros end there. Beyond the beautiful faces, there's not much else. As there are many characters packed into 12 episodes, you never really get to know any of them.

Cons: I'm not sure what they were thinking when they thought they could pack all that Japanese history into a dozen episodes. At read more
Dec 19, 2018
BlueSwallow (All reviews)
After playing this game I started to watch and I loved it. All series are great and the characters are perfect. The story is also very good. The characters gave me a feeling of family. Has a warm story. This anime can make you cry like laugh.
Easy to connect to characters. Very good anime according to time of publication
Hakuoki impressed me a lot. There are a lot of scenes I can't get out of my mind.
Thanks for this lovely anime.


Oyununu oynadıktan sonra izlemeye başladım ve çok sevdim. Tüm seriler harika ve karakterler mükemmel. Hikaye de çok güzel. Karakterler bana bir aile hissi verdi. read more
Jun 8, 2017
Vorodor (All reviews)
So when i started to watch this, i was really not sure if i was going to like it or not. It's a little old so i wasn't sure if the art styles would be as good as i am used too, on that account i was wrong to be concerned. Once i started watching it, i just loved it. The fighting is really well done and i like that the plot loosely follows historical events while adding in a good slice of fantasy. It was enough to keep my hooked the entire way threw. I don't think you have to be a girl to read more
Aug 21, 2015
Bluefyre (All reviews)
The added fantasy in this anime helps it stand out among other historical anime. Despite what most people would think, the fantasy and historical drama themes are woven together perfectly. The romance isn't exactly the best, mostly because it's just an afterthought in my opinion.

The story ties your thoughts on what the participants in war go through to protect their honor and country. Though like most historical dramas, it's a real tear jerker. The plot makes it so that you start to understand what the characters are feeling throughout the many battles they fight.

One of the downsides to the anime was that Yukimura Chizuru can't read more
Jun 10, 2010
jenjen (All reviews)
Preliminary
I really like this anime :D I'm not a fan of historical anime, so i was sceptical at first, but this turned out rather good.
First of all, as a girl i must admit all the male protagonists are just kawaai
But thats not the reason i like it.
I find the idea of creating an all-wound healing medicine quite interesting.And also the "going insane " part.(You'll see when you watch the anime)
Time to time it really gets creepy.And the main character is also cool...Chizuru i mean.She's very brave and also kind.Not that it's something very special as a personality, but i've become quite attached to her.
Hopefully read more
Jun 26, 2013
Hinami (All reviews)
Chizuru's story starts off in quite a common manner ( minus the rounin who are chasing her for reasons unknown ). Her father goes missing and she decides that it's been far too long since she heard from him so armed with a sword and a boy's attire, she sets out. Only to attract the attention of rounin who have nothing better do than chase a "boy" who did nothing to them ( I still have no idea why they were chasing her but well, rounin are rounin and we need something to start off with ).

Much to Chizuru's horror, the rounin are cut read more
Dec 10, 2015
dark_meowlord (All reviews)
This is the big one.

The story is interesting, it's dynamic and, except the supernatural stuff, it's history based. This, for me, was the biggest surprise and enjoyment, the facts, the characters, the battles, the war, the ending, it all happened, and it shows the shift moment in Japan from swords to gun-power.

The characters (existed like I said). There are interesting, quite classic, the serious one, the funny one, the childish one, the quite one, the smart one and so one. (from girls perspective) they are sexy as hell.

The battles are enjoyable to watch, not bloody, but enough to show the fact, that read more