Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fairy Tail


Alternative Titles

English: Fairy Tail
Japanese: FAIRY TAIL(フェアリーテイル)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 175
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 12, 2009 to Mar 30, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2009
Broadcast: Saturdays at 10:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.001 (scored by 500,896 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5782
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #20
Members: 981,554
Favorites: 41,844

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 27, 2013
Aryaragi (All reviews)


Fairy Tail ~ Another battle shounen anime to join the glorious world of anime. Adapted from the manga written by Hiro Mashima of the same name.
Now before you continue reading I must warn you that if you haven't seen all the episodes or are a huge fan that can't take criticism please refrain from reading this review. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.
For those yet reading this review please keep an open mind about what you are going to read.
Initially I did enjoy fairy tail but in the end i started disliking the series. Here are a few reasons why

First of all the arcs are short. read more
Apr 7, 2010
Ranivus (All reviews)
Preliminary
Those that are done raging between anime/manga adaptions feel free to read. Those who still don't understand why books and movies will ever be the same feel free to go away. With that being said, Fairy Tail is easily the best Shounen anime to date! Take this from a non-hardcore shounen fan. Granted, i do enjoy shounen as a casual viewer (despite me seeing over 3000 shounen eps) but I stand by my statement 100%

Sounds a little bit shallow but please let me elaborate. There have been countless shounen anime throughout the decades. Some lasting a few dozen episodes, others spanning 100's of episodes. Ever read more
Nov 2, 2013
vedatsvet (All reviews)
Fairy Tail is definitely one of the most popular shounen anime and if you are thinking of watching it based on this fact alone, then I encourage you to read some reviews first. I have one small request, reader. Please try to keep your egos in tact and read the review before evaluating it. We all have our reasons to like or not a show.Thank you. Stay tuned.

I am still amazed at myself that I managed to watch all of this series, but that only indicates that there are some positives to it and I somehow enjoyed it all. What can be said about the read more
Dec 25, 2014
Grimang3l (All reviews)
Fairy Tail isn't so much a bad anime, it's just over-welcomed it's stay. It was a one trick pony that was constantly played until you get annoyed and see the repetitive nature of the show and it's sad because this had a lot of potential to be really good .

Story - (3/10)
This is one of the weaker aspects of Fairy Tail as it gets daunting and rather boring because there is no real progression, and it becomes incredibly predictable with how it will play out, at first it was pretty fun since the stories did serve a proper purpose and introduced us to some other read more
Mar 2, 2014
Rice (All reviews)
Story (3/10): Oh god. People praise this as one of- No. THE best shounen anime out there. HAHAHAHAHAHA, no way dude. I swear, the writers follow a step by step process on a poster hung up in their office when creating this. This is what the poster reads: 1. Fairy Tail is aware of some evil people. 2. The regular Natsu, Lucy, and Happy group, sometimes with Gray and Erza, set out for adventure and to beat the bad people. 3. They find the bad dudes, and these bad dudes are seriously bad dudes. 5. A guild member (usually Lucy) is put in danger 5. read more
Dec 10, 2010
Bryce-kun (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fairy Tail. You had so much potential.

The story starts in a similar fashion like most shounens, a girl named Lucy dreams of becoming a wizard to join a prestigious guild. As soon as she meets Natsu her life is changed dramatically. In the process she goes on magical adventures, facing enemies with her friends along the way. The first episode gave me a quick preview of Fairy Tail, and along the way I made quick assumptions. Natsu seems to be your generic hot-blooded, brawling-fanatic main character and Lucy felt like another damsel in distress slash sidekick. I know I was making shallow judgments based on read more
May 31, 2014
BlackSwordsmanPT (All reviews)
Preliminary
To me this is the most overrated anime ever. Every episode tries to have some emotional bullsh*t and the fights are terrible, friendship power up > all

Story:
Ok, so this is the story of natsu ( lucy ? i dont even know who is the main ) and his friends. They are all part of a guild and go out on jobs. Natsu wants to find his lost dragon but 75 episodes into he does nothing to find him.....NOTHING!!!
The story never gets darker or something, its just natsu and pals vs other guilds.

Art:
Its good, the backgrounds suck tho.

Sound:
Easily the best thing about fairy tail.

Characters:
Hate the main read more
Feb 25, 2012
MyuuMyuu (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is only my third review, and im am not a very skilled english-writer, but please bear with me.

Fairy Tail itself is one of my favorite series. I will try not to compare the anime too much with the manga, since this a a review for the ANIME, but i must note that the fairy tail MANGA is my favorite shounen manga, and i have been following that series for years, also before the anime show started.

Why people should watch Fairy Tail? well if you like the shoune genre, it would really be a waste if you don't! Fairy Tail have all the good shounen read more
Jul 28, 2011
ImagineThat (All reviews)
Preliminary
Action Shounen's are a genre im very familar with having watched more than i could possibly name so naturally i was drawn to Fairy Tail which seems to be the next big "never ending story" which as of this review has over 90 episodes. While the premise of the series is interesting being about magic and guilds, ultimatley the series fails to really break any new grounds and throughout the course of the 80 odd episodes i've seen has really left me with a reoccuring feeling of déjá vu.

Story

As you are probably aware, the story begins with a teenage girl named Lucy Heartfilia who has read more
Aug 30, 2013
Niiyonichii (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sometimes there will be shows that will make you laugh and cry. Sometimes the shows will raise realistic questions, and sometimes shows will leave a bitter scar in your heart. Shounen genre is the champion of genre when it comes to long running, and it is infamous for its action, and known for exploring an interesting specific topic, whether it is ninja, samurai, pirates or shinigami. Most shounen develope from the Japanese myths and culture, while some (recently even more) decides to tell the story of distant land. Fairy Tail is one of the rare shounens that tells the story of magic, set in more read more
Nov 29, 2009
Marquis_D_Luffy (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm going to be continually updating this review as the show continues. Currently, I've seen 20 episodes of Fairy Tail and I'm extremely pleased to say that they've upped the artwork and animation. In the first few epi's, things felt a bit below par, animation was re-used in some fight sequences, and overall gave you the feeling of a resounding "meh." Over the last few episodes, Fairy Tail's animation, it's soundtrack, and it's storyline have all truly begun. Character introductions are over, and the true Fairy Tail of the manga is showing through. All I can say is watch until episode 13 (a half series read more
Nov 11, 2009
Yxel (All reviews)
Preliminary
I had heard of a legendary manga called Fairy Tail, and when an anime version of it was announced, I was really happy. I wanted to watch a mainstream shounen (as in.. Bleach, Naruto, One Piece) from the very beginning, since those three aforementioned series have way too many episode for me to catch up on, anyway.

I was sorely disappointed.


==[Pros]==

- Great idea. The setting is very imaginative... but that's to be expected when you're dealing with a series like this.

- Music. The ED is very catchy, and the OP isn't bad.


==[Cons]==

- Characters. They are static. Very static. To the read more
Aug 6, 2013
Manglex (All reviews)
It just sucks the way it ended…
Not that it ended badly, it just sucks that it ended at all.

Fairy Tail is, for lack of a better term, your generic shounen. You have a group of teenage wizards running around fighting bad guys and all the while they get stronger as Natsu Dragneel looks for his father… who is a dragon. Shounen clichés come with the territory, and Fairy Tail is no exception. Think about it. If you make a shounen, no matter how you make it, it is going to have some generic components. What makes Fairy Tail so unique is that it is read more
Oct 12, 2009
GreatRumbler (All reviews)
Preliminary
*THIS IS A REVIEW OF THE FIRST EPISODE*

Lucy is a young wizard who wants to join the magic guild Fairy Tail. During her travels she meets Natsu, a fellow wizard, and his mascot pet Happy. Together they travel the world and get into lots of fights, presumably, in her quest to join Fairy Tail. This is, after all, a shonen series, so that's to be expected.

The characters are standard fair for the genre: plucky, but slightly air-headed, girl, awesome fighter guy who's also an idiot, and a cute mascot pet that explains everything to the air-headed girl. Really nothing here to make them stand out read more
Jun 2, 2012
mymiddlenut (All reviews)
Preliminary
One of those shows that starts out really good but then gets worse as it moves along yet you continue to watch hoping that it returns to its original greatness but sadly it never does. Fairy Tail in a nutshell.

Reasons why it gets worse:
The arcs are very predictable and similar.
The female characters lose more clothing as it continues.
The gags are overly done.
The main character doesn't train to get stronger they suddenly get stronger in the middle of a fight.
Happy doesn't say "Aye Sir" anymore.(big reason, unforgivable)

So go ahead and watch it its not bad nor is it great. And who knows maybe it will suddenly read more
Aug 25, 2011
XxkekkeiGenkaixX (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review!
I’ve heard of an anime called Fairy Tail becoming part of the legendary animes out there. I've watched it, and to my surprise it’s not good as I expected it to be.

Art:7
Well to be honest, I really don’t pay attention to the art when it comes to anime. I think anything goes well. However, compared to other animes out there, it has a good artistic look. Very cartoony and joyful feeling.

Music:7
It actually has very good music. The soundtrack is epic, sounds like medieval time music, and its good. It also has a lot of classical music, like Can-Can, Pomp and read more
Nov 24, 2015
WetWipes (All reviews)
I hate this anime so much yet I cannot stop watching it in the hope that over two hundred episodes down the line the story will actually develop. I now have to take monthly breaks in between of individual episodes so that I can convince myself that the next episode wont be as bad as the last.

Story: 1/10

If this section of the review is a mess it is because there is no way in words to describe how horrifically bad fairy tails story is and I have therefore just ranted for a while about how bad it is as well as I could.

Imagine if nobody read more
Aug 28, 2012
Demetri124 (All reviews)
Preliminary
From what I understand this anime is loved by a lot of people (As it frequently shows up on recommendations and top ten lists) but I'll proudly say that I just don't get it. With that said, I understand the story and everything about the anime, but I personally don't see what people are calling so great.

As a professional critic, this is where I'd normally explain the show and characters but if you're reading this chances are you know those things already. So going right into, I'll just say that (once again, in my opinion) nothing really works with this anime. The characters aren't interesting read more
Dec 6, 2009
Synaizen (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I first picked up Fairy Tail, I had heard much hype from friends -- that it would pose a challenge to the big four kings of shonen anime, e.g. Naruto/Bleach/One Piece/Fullmetal Alchemist. After watching the first few episodes, I could not decide whether I hated it or loved it. I gave it a 6 for many reasons, but I personally have started to follow it and hope it develops.

Story: 8

The story is one of interesting concept, not over-done in anime right now: a world of magicians and wizards, where everyone has the ability to do some form of magic. At the start, I was read more
Feb 28, 2013
Augustinsitu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: 5 (Mediocre)
Fairy Tail is a shounen anime that revolves around a Mage Guild called 'Fairy Tail'. Each arc in the anime revolves around 4 main characters; Natsu, Lucy, Erza and Gray.

The first few arcs in the show have varying plots that slowly unravel these characters' pasts. Later arcs have plots related more-so to the guild's history, but the show never fails to ruin a good plot with the addition of random bad guys used purely for battle-scenes, so characters can power up with the power of friendship. yay.


Another downfall to the story of Fairy Tail is that is had no direction it is read more