Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Redline


Alternative Titles

English: Redline
Synonyms: Red line
Japanese: REDLINE

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 14, 2009
Licensors: Anchor Bay Films
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Original
Genres: Action, Sci-Fi, Cars, Sports
Duration: 1 hr. 42 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 8.331 (scored by 78,240 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2082
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #502
Members: 134,583
Favorites: 2,024

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 23, 2011
Touka (All reviews)
Takeshi Koike's debut feature; seven years in the making. Redline is an anime about racing, only presented like nothing seen before. Produced by Madhouse, with second key animation from Gainax, music from James Shimoji and a cast and crew pumped with everlasting potential, this is certainly one of - if not the - most adrenaline filled anime film to date.

As a film about racing, the plot is fairly standard fare, but the larger than life presentation coupled with the sheer imagination and creativity that has gone into Redline is second to none. The story - despite cliches - is both exhilarating and incredibly well paced. read more
Aug 20, 2011
Uriel1988 (All reviews)
Redline is excellent proof that you can have too much of a good thing. Especially when you neglect everything else in the process.

The first 10 minutes do an excellent job of letting viewers know what’s in store for them. It’s here that the film treats us to an intense and gorgeously animated race sequence and equally beautiful backgrounds and character models. From there on out it’s clear that the films intent is to overwhelm the viewer with adrenaline-filled races brought to life with mouth-watering animation and sound. Storyline and character development are of the lowest priority.

It’s no surprise, then, that Redline sticks closely to read more
Feb 23, 2011
hiruma55 (All reviews)
Ah Redline, what words can I use to describe this epic adrenaline rush? To be honest words are not enough, this is one of those films that you have to see to fully comprehend its greatness. However I am going to attempt to pass on my thoughts of this film in this review of what feel is one of the best anime films I have ever seen. Period.

Now in when it comes of the plot of Redline it is short, sweet and straight to the point. The film follows our main character JP, a driver who wants to race in a tournament called Redline which read more
Nov 21, 2010
5camp (All reviews)
Someone showed the Japan­ese ‘Wacky Races’. They were not impressed. “They call this ‘wacky’?”, they said. “We’ll show them wacky”.

You have never seen an anime like this before.

Red­line is an experience.

The story is about some punk-ass racing driver JP. He’s got­ten him­self into some match-fixing scan­dals but, due to some unfore­see­able coin­cid­ences, he wound up qual­i­fy­ing for Red­line, the worlds biggest racing event. The only rule is your vehicle must use wheels. Plus, to make things inter­est­ing, they decided to hold the race on Roboplanet, home to a war­ring civil­isa­tion who vow to kill any racers who dare enter their planet. Why hold the race read more
Jun 4, 2013
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
If Redline was to be described in one word, 'explosive' would be it. This off-the-wall animated racing movie is overflowing with zany antics, over-the-top characters, and logic-defying awesomeness. It doesn't have a complex story, and offers next to nothing for the thinking viewer, but that is obviously not its aim. Redline is a stunning display of visual brilliance, a reminder that the reason we love animation is that it can pull off things that are too ridiculous and outrageous to be accomplished in live action. It is the pinnacle of style over substance.

Redline took over 7 years to make, reportedly used 100,000 hand-made drawings, and read more
Sep 17, 2017
KyoumaZ (All reviews)
Shows that utilize their audio-visual appeal in their own, unique way tend to fly under the radar of most people, if what they are trying to do would be more unconventional and be properly placed in an “artsy” section, but gaining reasonable critical acclaim and a steady increase in popularity the more time passes (e.g. Kaiba and Mononoke). In contrast to that, shows like Bebop and Mushishi’s audio-visuals take a much more grounded route. Their artistical appeal mostly derive from the colour palette and incredible attention to detail, not screwing around with the general ideas of body structure in fiction and creating a world with read more
Aug 16, 2011
Cobbles (All reviews)
Way back at the turn of the century a short OVA series was released that went by the name “Trava”. It was a quirky series that was noted mostly for its visual style. The think bold shadows and lines were very much not unlike those of a comic book and it sported some very interesting and experimental animation. It was co-directed by Takeshi Koike, who instead of going on to direct some more anime seemingly stuck in the background and directed bits and pieces of animation here and there. More specifically, he was also behind the Afro Samurai promo, a section of the Animatrix and read more
Sep 7, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Hey, you want to know an anime taking place throughout the far reaches of space that I recently returned to? Redline. I’ve been pruning down my favorites anime list recently, taking out things to ensure that only the best of the best stayed on, and I was curious about whether I’d still enjoy Madhouse’s visual popcorn masterpiece – as oxymoronic as that may sound. So I popped in my Blu-ray a few days ago and here we are.

For those of you who haven’t seen it, Redline is the result of Madhouse founder Masao Maruyama practically bankrupting his former studio before his move to Mappa and read more
Feb 25, 2017
Smartreviews (All reviews)
Redline, a must watch, is like the 8th wonder of the world. It's got a terrible incoherent story, boring cringey dialogue, and cliche characters, yet somehow manages to blow our minds regardless, one frame at a time.

Those familiar with my reviews know I have a soft spot in my heart for strong, creative, clever stories/dialogue, and think very little of mediums that fail to pull me in throughout the course of its plot. (and Redline's story/dialogue is none of those things) It's one of the reasons I didn't really think too highly of Kotonoha no Niwa (Garden of Words), a Makoto Shinkai short that read more
May 30, 2014
fezyk (All reviews)
Redline is the pinnacle of what every racing movie inspires to be, fast paced, high octane, absolutely insane, and stunningly beautiful. It does this while all being set to one of my favorite anime soundtracks, so good that it rivals those of FLCL, Cowboy Bebop, Madoka, Attack on Titan, Kill la Killa, and the Monogatari Series (as well as anything else that I missed).

Before you watch Redline, there are a few things that you must know, chief of which is that this movie is not being made for the intellectual. The story is simple and understated, but never aspires to be anything compelling on its read more
Apr 28, 2012
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
I'll give credit to Redline that it made for quite the impressive achievement in animation as it was completely animated by hand, which is unheard of these days with computers essentially being used to create all of the animation used for modern anime titles. The movie was brimming with plenty of detail and depth in depicting the violent races that took place in the movie and showing off the scenery of Roboworld as the racers prepared and raced on the planet's surface. The animation depth was slick enough to create the illusion of speedy movement depicted with the racers and any collateral damage coming from read more
Feb 28, 2015
RarestProGamer (All reviews)
"Redline supposedly took 7 years and ~100,000 individual drawings to create, all hand-drawn, limited computer work, and it shows." which results in Brilliant Masterpiece.

Plot- Redline is about the biggest and most deadly racing tournament in the universe. Only held once every five years, everyone wants to stake their claim to fame, including JP, a reckless dare-devil driver oblivious to speed limits with his ultra-customized car—all the while, organized crime and militaristic governments want to leverage the race to their own ends. Amongst the other elite rival drivers in the tournament, JP falls for the alluring Sonoshee McLaren.

- This movie is a gem 1 hour 40 read more
Jun 28, 2016
7DarkClouds (All reviews)
I really don't know what to say. It's spectacular!
This movie makes no sense and blends so many genres that people will always find things they love and hate about it. From the gore-filled violence to a completely original and atomic art style. All of it's elements are very different compared to other anime but they are right where they should be in the best way possible. Even where it doesn't shine as bright I would say it's way past average. If I had to make a recommendation for this I wouldn't know where to start. When you recommend something you almost always look for something read more
Jun 28, 2016
KR5-S14Kouki (All reviews)
Before I write my review, I guess it would be fair to inform that I am a sucker for racing movies. Cars is my passion and hobby which I place even above my passion for anime. That being said I was biased in my ratings because I felt the movie deserves higher score than it currently does however I will try to be fair in my review and give my actual scores throughout.

Plot-
Simply put Redline was a blast. The story couldnt have been more fun and enjoyable. The plot was simple enough, taking place in a universe were space ships and travel through the read more
Mar 22, 2011
IdleWaiter (All reviews)
Let me be frank: No automotive film will ever surpass the experience you will have while watching this. Not even if Top Gear released a movie (although it'd be funnier).

While the story may be very dull, again lets be frank; you don't watch the F1 Grand Prix in Monaco for the commentary therefore this area of the film is unimportant.

The artwork is quite stylised and very retro Japan animation looking which suits the completely over-the-top mood the film has. It's like Speed Racer meets Gurren Lagann. The colours are bright, lines are thick and shadows are black giving it very punchy visuals.

The soundtrack is excellent read more
Feb 19, 2013
Kuandohan (All reviews)
"Redline" is a film of style. It is a simple story that doesn't take itself too seriously. But this piece is truly art, you could watch it for that reason alone.
It's reminiscent of something Gainax would produce, but with a little extra kick of spice added.

The story of a racer who just can't turn down any race, along with everyone else in this film.
This film makes me think of a film version of an uncensored F-Zero.

For the art department. This movie should win an award. This is seriously the reason to watch this film. The execution, character design, machines, action, SPEED! Everything is done with read more
Dec 17, 2015
Rikuson1 (All reviews)
Redline Review

Story (7/10) Good

The Story for Redline good and simple and some for a movie like this I don't really need and super deep story especially when you know the what the entire plot is. It isn't anything deep but like I said it doesn't have to be for a racing anime movie I thought it was good enough.


Art and Animation (10/10) Outstanding

The is probably the best thing about this movie, the art style and animation are outstanding some of the most unique and best I've ever seen. Everything is so damn colorful, vibrant and full of life. How everything movie was read more
Nov 2, 2015
Luquillo (All reviews)
It's sad when you think about it. Redline had been in development for a few years, and for reasons I don't remember had been constantly pushed back. There were rumors that it was eventually being scrapped. It's very unfortunate this gem almost didn't see the light of day, when one takes under consideration the usual unimaginative tripe that for some reason not only finds an actual release but also numerous re-releases. Thankfully, there are production companies out there such as Studio Madhouse that still kick out decent to above average anime titles once in awhile. Redline directed by Takeshi Koike, is a sci-fi racer that read more
Jul 19, 2016
Cyborg_Dragon (All reviews)
Time to watch an episode of Wacky Rac......... I mean watch Redline which is pretty much the anime equivalent of Wacky Races. In case you do not know what Wacky Races is you did not have a childhood. Anyway time to get out of my nostalgia trip and get into a drug trip as that will make Redlines unique art style more unique if that where any bit possible.

Redline is a anime movie that has had a lot of work put into its animation and when I mean a lot its literally seven years of drawing for Madhouse who made it. If there read more
Jul 19, 2016
theillusionary (All reviews)
Everybody has a few anime they watch to relax with. I personally use Clannad and Kanon (2006) to wind down. Others may use Wolf Children or Usagi Drop. After a while though, I just need to watch something to get my blood pumping. Something to give me the kind of wild and crazy feeling that makes people do unspeakable things. I don’t think there is a single anime better suited for that job than Redline.

The story of Redline is very, very straightforward. There’s this race that happens every five years called the Redline (hence the name of the movie), and every five years, billions read more