Redline

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Redline
Synonyms: Red line
Japanese: REDLINE

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 14, 2009
Licensors: Anchor Bay Films
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, Sci-FiSci-Fi, SportsSports
Theme: CarsCars
Duration: 1 hr. 42 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 8.291 (scored by 164324164,324 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2372
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #564
Members: 301,129
Favorites: 4,360

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 23, 2011
Touka (All reviews)
Takeshi Koike's debut feature; seven years in the making. Redline is an anime about racing, only presented like nothing seen before. Produced by Madhouse, with second key animation from Gainax, music from James Shimoji and a cast and crew pumped with everlasting potential, this is certainly one of - if not the - most adrenaline filled anime film to date.

As a film about racing, the plot is fairly standard fare, but the larger than life presentation coupled with the sheer imagination and creativity that has gone into Redline is second to none. The story - despite cliches - is both exhilarating and incredibly well paced. read more
Aug 20, 2011
Uriel1988 (All reviews)
Redline is excellent proof that you can have too much of a good thing. Especially when you neglect everything else in the process.

The first 10 minutes do an excellent job of letting viewers know what’s in store for them. It’s here that the film treats us to an intense and gorgeously animated race sequence and equally beautiful backgrounds and character models. From there on out it’s clear that the films intent is to overwhelm the viewer with adrenaline-filled races brought to life with mouth-watering animation and sound. Storyline and character development are of the lowest priority.

It’s no surprise, then, that Redline sticks closely to read more
Feb 23, 2011
hiruma55 (All reviews)
Ah Redline, what words can I use to describe this epic adrenaline rush? To be honest words are not enough, this is one of those films that you have to see to fully comprehend its greatness. However I am going to attempt to pass on my thoughts of this film in this review of what feel is one of the best anime films I have ever seen. Period.

Now in when it comes of the plot of Redline it is short, sweet and straight to the point. The film follows our main character JP, a driver who wants to race in a tournament called Redline which read more
Nov 21, 2010
5camp (All reviews)
Someone showed the Japan­ese ‘Wacky Races’. They were not impressed. “They call this ‘wacky’?”, they said. “We’ll show them wacky”.

You have never seen an anime like this before.

Red­line is an experience.

The story is about some punk-ass racing driver JP. He’s got­ten him­self into some match-fixing scan­dals but, due to some unfore­see­able coin­cid­ences, he wound up qual­i­fy­ing for Red­line, the worlds biggest racing event. The only rule is your vehicle must use wheels. Plus, to make things inter­est­ing, they decided to hold the race on Roboplanet, home to a war­ring civil­isa­tion who vow to kill any racers who dare enter their planet. Why hold the race read more
Jun 4, 2013
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
If Redline was to be described in one word, 'explosive' would be it. This off-the-wall animated racing movie is overflowing with zany antics, over-the-top characters, and logic-defying awesomeness. It doesn't have a complex story, and offers next to nothing for the thinking viewer, but that is obviously not its aim. Redline is a stunning display of visual brilliance, a reminder that the reason we love animation is that it can pull off things that are too ridiculous and outrageous to be accomplished in live action. It is the pinnacle of style over substance.

Redline took over 7 years to make, reportedly used 100,000 hand-made drawings, and read more
Feb 5, 2019
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
Ah, Redline, the industry’s loudest bomb. A bomb so explosive, so meticulously crafted and vibrant that its aftershocks can still be felt today from all sides of the spectrum, from the painful lack of risks maligned in today’s time, to the cult following that spawned from the ashes. A decade later, and the film’s still one of the biggest spectacles in the business, so it may have just won in the end.

Before I gush about the obvious, how ‘bout we get the specs on the writing, or rather the mainframe holding this bad boy together. Protagonist JP is one of the freshest mother fuckers in read more
Sep 10, 2020
BiDiGiN (All reviews)
*This is my first review, I'm trying a structured format, please do not hesitate to give me feedback by profile comment (or PM)*

After having watched Redline for the 3rd time, I've decided to write a review of it. To me it is unusual to rewatch something 3 times, and it wasn't out of pure love for it that I did an exception for this movie. I think you can blame it at least partly on my mindset watching it. Do not expect it to be complex yet do not "turn your brain off". My opinion of the movie changed between each watching, from mindless stylish read more
Apr 4, 2018
Knightmare_YK (All reviews)
“Life’s overrated” – JP
“Redline’s overrated” – Me
Me : 1
Redline : 0
Oh, and yeah, this is a spoiler free review, not that it means anything because that would imply Redline has something to spoil.
Redline……. is an enigma.
Hailed as a masterpiece by some, it definitely is a deviant piece of work, I’ll give it that. Now, coming to the actual movie itself, it is a movie about …. about some cars in a race crashing into each other while vying for the top finish for …. eh, it really doesn’t matter. Because Redline is not the kind of movie you watch for the plot, and Redline is read more
Aug 16, 2011
Cobbles (All reviews)
Way back at the turn of the century a short OVA series was released that went by the name “Trava”. It was a quirky series that was noted mostly for its visual style. The think bold shadows and lines were very much not unlike those of a comic book and it sported some very interesting and experimental animation. It was co-directed by Takeshi Koike, who instead of going on to direct some more anime seemingly stuck in the background and directed bits and pieces of animation here and there. More specifically, he was also behind the Afro Samurai promo, a section of the Animatrix and read more
May 30, 2014
fezyk (All reviews)
Redline is the pinnacle of what every racing movie inspires to be, fast paced, high octane, absolutely insane, and stunningly beautiful. It does this while all being set to one of my favorite anime soundtracks, so good that it rivals those of FLCL, Cowboy Bebop, Madoka, Attack on Titan, Kill la Killa, and the Monogatari Series (as well as anything else that I missed).

Before you watch Redline, there are a few things that you must know, chief of which is that this movie is not being made for the intellectual. The story is simple and understated, but never aspires to be anything compelling on its read more
Apr 28, 2012
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
I'll give credit to Redline that it made for quite the impressive achievement in animation as it was completely animated by hand, which is unheard of these days with computers essentially being used to create all of the animation used for modern anime titles. The movie was brimming with plenty of detail and depth in depicting the violent races that took place in the movie and showing off the scenery of Roboworld as the racers prepared and raced on the planet's surface. The animation depth was slick enough to create the illusion of speedy movement depicted with the racers and any collateral damage coming from read more
Feb 19, 2013
Kuandohan (All reviews)
"Redline" is a film of style. It is a simple story that doesn't take itself too seriously. But this piece is truly art, you could watch it for that reason alone.
It's reminiscent of something Gainax would produce, but with a little extra kick of spice added.

The story of a racer who just can't turn down any race, along with everyone else in this film.
This film makes me think of a film version of an uncensored F-Zero.

For the art department. This movie should win an award. This is seriously the reason to watch this film. The execution, character design, machines, action, SPEED! Everything is done with read more
Mar 22, 2011
IdleWaiter (All reviews)
Let me be frank: No automotive film will ever surpass the experience you will have while watching this. Not even if Top Gear released a movie (although it'd be funnier).

While the story may be very dull, again lets be frank; you don't watch the F1 Grand Prix in Monaco for the commentary therefore this area of the film is unimportant.

The artwork is quite stylised and very retro Japan animation looking which suits the completely over-the-top mood the film has. It's like Speed Racer meets Gurren Lagann. The colours are bright, lines are thick and shadows are black giving it very punchy visuals.

The soundtrack is excellent read more
Aug 19, 2011
truthillusion (All reviews)
I am not a fan of racing. Things like Nascar bore me to death. I find it to be one of the worst video game ideas. And, when it comes to anime, even things like Initial D and Speed Racer aren't able to jump start my interest in racing. When I first got the intention of watching Redline, I hadn't a clue it was about racing. I was actually watching a conversation where people were discussing the animation on an anime forum and I decided that all the positive things they were saying about it was an excellent reason to watch it.

Again, I hate racing, read more
Apr 20, 2019
Daddy-O (All reviews)
Redline: A Personal Statement

A common criticism of Takeshi Koike’s Redline is that it chooses style over substance, to a fault. In principle, I should be against the concept of style over substance. I hold various pretentious ideas in my head about the role of art in the human experience and what meaningful purpose it might serve to God. The idea of tossing out metaphysical or introspective meaning for greater aesthetic value sounds unpleasantly nihilistic (Jesus, what thesaurus did I fall asleep on last night?) One need only play through something as mainstream as Persona 5 to encounter artists’ idolatry of aesthetic value devolving into a read more
Sep 7, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Hey, you want to know an anime taking place throughout the far reaches of space that I recently returned to? Redline. I’ve been pruning down my favorites anime list recently, taking out things to ensure that only the best of the best stayed on, and I was curious about whether I’d still enjoy Madhouse’s visual popcorn masterpiece – as oxymoronic as that may sound. So I popped in my Blu-ray a few days ago and here we are.

For those of you who haven’t seen it, Redline is the result of Madhouse founder Masao Maruyama practically bankrupting his former studio before his move to Mappa and read more
Feb 28, 2015
RarestProGamer (All reviews)
"Redline supposedly took 7 years and ~100,000 individual drawings to create, all hand-drawn, limited computer work, and it shows." which results in Brilliant Masterpiece.

Plot- Redline is about the biggest and most deadly racing tournament in the universe. Only held once every five years, everyone wants to stake their claim to fame, including JP, a reckless dare-devil driver oblivious to speed limits with his ultra-customized car—all the while, organized crime and militaristic governments want to leverage the race to their own ends. Amongst the other elite rival drivers in the tournament, JP falls for the alluring Sonoshee McLaren.

- This movie is a gem 1 hour 40 read more
Jan 18, 2013
Cakesmell (All reviews)
Like many others said, you don't watch Redline to be captivated by some intriguing plot. You watch Redline to see some kick-ass animation, and as long as you keep that in your mind it's a very enjoyable movie.
Within the first 5 minutes of the movie I was wowed by how impressive the animation, art, and backgrounds were. Right off the bat I was reminded of works like Afro Samurai or Tekkonkinkreet, both "animation porn", if you will. Redline isn't trying to be a deep or intelligent movie, no, it's supposed to amaze you visually and it does that perfectly.
read more
Aug 29, 2013
obtrice (All reviews)
Strap your ass in: Redline is the most pulse-racing, ridiculous anime in years. It’s basically Japan’s version of the Wacky Races, only more mature, pumped full of adrenaline and style, and wrapped up in the prettiest package imaginable. The film’s tagline is “Witness the future of animation,” and as pompous as it might sound, it’s no exaggeration. Seven years and hundreds of thousands of hand-drawn frames later, Madhouse has produced its masterpiece. Lush, imaginative worlds combine with a staggering attention to detail, gorgeous, bold character designs, and flawless animation to create a work that is as good as if not better looking than anything else read more
Oct 19, 2014
iSuckAtWriting (All reviews)
Redline is an odd film to think about. At its very well-presented surface there are racecars with rocket launchers that seem to fulfill a base desire for wanton destruction. But with such bombast in the film, it would be easy to assume the writing is shallow, isn’t great, or is even bad. That Redline actually has solid storytelling to go along with its senseless action is as much of a surprise to me is at might be to you.

But yes, the film does indeed have racecars/mechs/boats/whatever with rocket launchers as the first few minutes will prove. But the race the contestants are in isn’t the read more