Santa Company: Manatsu no Merry Christmas


SANTA COMPANY ~Midsummer Merry Christmas~

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: SANTA COMPANY ~Midsummer Merry Christmas~
Japanese: サンタ・カンパニー ~真夏のメリークリスマス~

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 28, 2021
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: ORENDA
Source: Original
Genres: FantasyFantasy
Duration: 26 min.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 5.541 (scored by 873873 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #97472
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #9242
Members: 1,804
Favorites: 5
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 28, 2021
BenSpeirs (All reviews)
The real litter was the friends we made along the way.
Shout outs to Google Mail.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Congratulations MAL for getting the honour to host this.

Character design was alright I guess. Moon Santa was terrifying.
Why did this air so late after Christmas.
What did this have to do with Christmas.
Save the whales. Pick up your bottles kids.
I'm really desperately trying to reach the minimum character count here, does it show.
Um.
Also a bootleg Ghostbusters believe it or not.
Apparently there's more to this series but whether or not you know of it I don't think matters cos this was it's own thing.



















Jan 28, 2021
Aspier (All reviews)
Well... What should I say

The anime itself was better than I expected it to be, the art was great and the ending was amazing.
The story was all over the place and didn’t really make a lot of sense, but it did what it was supposed to do:
Tell people about all the trash in the ocean

As this anime is probably aimed at kids aged 4-9 you can’t expect much story.

Characters were alright, I especially liked Thomas and Santa.

For being free, this anime was really good.

The live chat made the anime pretty funny, shoutout to Google Mail and all the other amazing people!

Anyway, Im tired, bye
Jan 28, 2021
chessplayer798 (All reviews)
story- 4
while I love the message, the story itself is not very well executed, I think the biggest limiting factor was the 30 minute run times, due to this they could not have the proper setup needed in order to establish needed plot points. Additionally for being a 30-minute show, the begging was far to slow, it felt like 80% of the episode was just an introduction
Art-6
while there are some problems with CGI it is overall pretty fine and I liked the color pallet,
sound-8
easy the best part of the show, the sound design and music was actually very good and fit the atmosphere
Character-5
the read more
Jan 28, 2021
peachyixxy (All reviews)
Santa Company, at least this version, does a pretty mediocre job of telling a story with an environmental message for kids. I know there's another short film and a full-length movie from a few years ago, but as I haven't seen those, I'm just going to judge this on its own.

There are going to be slight spoilers from here on out, but since it's a 30-minute short film... I hope it's not too inconvenient.

Story - 4

Although this is a PG film, definitely meant for kids, I feel like the story was still really underdeveloped. Kids don't necessarily need super complex stories, especially if read more
Feb 10, 2021
FlyYOUNG (All reviews)
***SPOILER AHEAD***


Supposed to be educational but instead of focusing on the real life impacts it has (it does touch on this briefly but VERY briefly- probably less than a minute in total), it instead focuses on a monster that appears because of trash which of course not being real, is not going to make people change because it's FICTIONAL.

The main protagonist is also possibly one of the most infuriating characters I've ever met. She's idiotic, blames everything that goes wrong or isn't in her favour on others, and basically just straight up bullies Trevor. She's the epitome of a terrible person yet she saves the read more
Jan 30, 2021
Karinara (All reviews)
Well... That was bad.

The story was a rushed mess. I guess the main point is to advertise against littering, but mixing it with the story of becoming a tonttu makes it a mess (even though as a Finn, I enjoyed hearing them say the word tonttu). Adding the part about the littering felt really forced. I can understand that someone might start cleaning the beach when seeing litter on it, but the way he talked about littering was not natural. No one talks like that, that was just very badly made "Insert our agenda here" moment.

The artstyle looks nice, I liked it. Maybe a bit read more
Jan 28, 2021
RvEc (All reviews)
The Anime is great and enjoyed it, there's no anything bad about it. The genre of this anime is for kids or PG, this story is also the same as the short films we watched. So don't be surprised why the story goes like this.

There were lots of live stream viewers complaining about the CG and the storyline. First of all, you should expect that this also a kid's movie (or think to yourself as a child) so this kind of anime was more focused on the message rather than making more effort to the CG animation.

Many of the viewers were unsatisfied because of read more
Jan 28, 2021
Hyskoa_Morroh (All reviews)
It had a very simple story, great if you want to just past the time. The character design and art style were beautiful and overall keep me very entertained! I expected it to be longer, but that was okay. There was some use of CGI/3D models so it could seem weird to some people. I recommend watching it if you have nothing else to watch or want to watch it with your family. It also had an important message. It's a 30-minute movie so you can't expect so much. Maybe if the story was developed more and make it longer. It would be great as read more
Feb 4, 2021
WOWDood (All reviews)
Not going into details here because just from looking at it, you can probably already tell about which way it's heading. I'll say that the animation was particularly good, the main point and theme about this show was suppose to be an educational short movie about why littering is bad and it did okay in that department I guess so you can't really fault the plot for that and expect insane plot and character development. Although being an educational purposed film, it did have that anime feel in it and wasn't straight forward, throwing in some little plot and characters in there for the fun read more
Mar 4, 2021
jokiboi (All reviews)
I think it's a good idea to spread awareness about the plastics and trash that contaminated the sea and affecting marine animals. I really wish the anime would be more realistic, based on reality lives than just a fantasy because, in reality, it is really hard to tell people to not littering the ocean.
You can't just tell people "hey the sea is polluted and marine animals are dying we have to stop this" and then they just agree and clean the oceans. In reality, there are many people who are lazy to put trash in to the bin or just put it in their pocket read more
Jan 30, 2021
marchedbus786 (All reviews)
Most of this is my early thoughts about the film. I did not spend much time over thinking the film. I also did not watch many short anime films, so i do not have a specific standard for reviewing them. I will be judging the film based sorely on my expectations and how much did the film delivered.
And let me tell you, going in to this, I did not had any high expectations. I did not watch the original film, neither did I know anything about it`s premise and world. I knew that this was a spin-off and that it had limited budget and read more