Tokyo Ghoul:re

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Tokyo Ghoul:re
Synonyms: Tokyo Kushu:re, Toukyou Kuushu:re
Japanese: 東京喰種トーキョーグール:re

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 3, 2018 to Jun 19, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, PsychologicalPsychological, SupernaturalSupernatural, MysteryMystery, DramaDrama, HorrorHorror, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.621 (scored by 309095309,095 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #52582
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #146
Members: 596,568
Favorites: 3,237
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 24, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tokyo Kushu Re is bad excuse for a sequel. The story starts off as a complete mess, directly jumping into action without any build-up and focusing around characters that have not even been introduced. Somehow the series assumes that it doens't have to put any efford into explaining any of these new things because it's part of already existing franchise.This makes it very hard to actually care about anything that is happening.


Soon after, it becomes clear that our main character has gone thru some trauma and now suffers from amnesia. Great, isn't this just perfectly cliche writing and also a way to turn all the read more
Jun 19, 2018
GMoney84 (All reviews)
Tokyo Ghoul except everything that was good is bad.

As a fan of the first two seasons I can't see this season as anything other than a massive failure and disappointment.

Story-5
Very tiny spoiler: Haise is Kaneki. Wow this show is boring. I'm not sure that a single interesting thing has happened in 12 episodes. Basically it's just 12 episodes of Haise and his new buddies fighting ghouls. Not a single fight is cool, interesting, or well animated, and not a single character is as good as a character from season one.

One thing I found so great about the original is that the man-eating ghouls who read more
Jun 19, 2018
CthulhusDong (All reviews)
!!POSSIBLE SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW!!

I'll start off by saying that Tokyo Ghoul and Tokyo Ghoul :Re are two of my favourite manga that I've read and they both hold a significant place in my life. The anime adaptions before :Re had been iffy to say the best, Season 1 of TG whilst not terrible left out a lot of content due to how few episodes they had and Root A was flat out awful.

So moving onto the anime adaption of :Re I was very apprehensive about how it was going to play out. Would they try and mish mash anime original and manga canon material read more
Jun 27, 2018
Seijatachiiii (All reviews)
This show is a hot mess. It is confusing due to its poor execution of plot; the animation becomes lazy and sloppy after episode 3; the soundtrack was disappointing and did not live up to the high expectations set up by the priors series and what was well developed characters were turned into archetypal and flat characters. After watching this train wreck I didn't even feel anger, as if at that point I was numb to the disappointment. All I could say was "Well that sucked". A few day later I have decide to write a review, because I'm just so bitter.

S T O R read more
Jun 19, 2018
tenshibeat (All reviews)
Note: This is a review coming from an anime only viewer.

Tokyo Ghoul:re is one heck of a series. From the start, you are taken on the world of Sasaki Haise, and the Quinx squad. The story, at the beginning, was quite confusing, having no context about the actual series at all. However, the pieces start to fall in much later, and the story gets more in depth than before.

The story in here is really good, with a complex and unique story which surprisingly shocks me at some points, and makes me laugh at other points. I definitely didn't expect to cry in this, but I read more
Apr 24, 2018
radical_autism (All reviews)
Preliminary
For me as a long-term Tokyo Ghoul fan, the newest anime adaptation does little to redeem the troubled state the Tokyo Ghoul franchise, as a whole, is currently in.

Tokyo Ghoul :re starts out strong, even if not as outstanding as the original. There's (still) the man-eating species known as "ghouls" terrorizing modern Tokyo. There's (still) the Commission of Counter Ghoul (CCG), a complex, very police-like organization tasked with protecting the populace from this menace. The job of a CCG investigator is hard: identifying a ghoul is only half the story, since ghouls will resist with superhuman abilities; prominently "kagune", predatory tentacle-like appendages.

While the read more
May 1, 2018
an1mnte (All reviews)
Preliminary
[Spoiler Warning]

0/10, Unfortunately a huge let down, an almost exact repeat of the mistakes made before, this anime is both an unusually bad adaption, sequel, and has been vastly overhyped.

- Characters: 0/10 - Does what Tokyo ghoul does best, it ignores interesting characters, and instead focuses on the subpar, uninteresting ones. After establishing a bland and unchanging cast from the first series, this pointless sequel throws them all under a bus and replaces them with insert generic copy and paste characters here. This now includes the protagonist, the author waited until this sequel to reset him with a deux ex memory loss to retcon his read more
May 1, 2018
Pizco (All reviews)
Preliminary
Don't watch this anime.

Whether or not you've read the manga, you'll be extremely disappointed by this mess of an adaptation. As someone who's been with :re from chapter one, I'm actually appalled by how horrible this anime is.

The story, although enjoyable in this part of the anime, is extremely rushed. I've heard a lot of complaints about the pacing, and at first I excused it, thinking they'd fix it by episode two, since the first episode tends to have weird pacing. But no, we're at episode five now and nothing has changed. Nothing is fleshed out, the interactions are rushed, and because of this, the read more
May 26, 2018
magaiverix (All reviews)
Preliminary
A couple of days ago, I decided not to wait, until the whole season comes out and there was really no way to watch another anime show so I decided to start watch.
Tokyo Ghoul season 3- I will tell you honestly if I re watched the first and second season again (like 2-6 months before) then maybe my final raiting could be abit lower (6/10-7/10) but it was 3 years ago, when I watched for the first time.
Okey.... lets start with><
OP intro 5/10- Song is like a wtf, what i was listening to???? srsly? It was so hard to ask Toru Kitajima so that he read more
May 11, 2018
ShotgunXShogun (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tokyo Fooled...

Did I miss something?

What is happening?

Why is this happening?

Where are we?

Where is everybody?

Who is everybody?

Why does everything and everyone look totally different?

How did we get here?

What is the meaning of life?

What is love? Baby don't hurt me, don't hurt me, no more.

I rest my case.

8 out of 10 in the animation department, 1 out of 10 in the what the fuck is going on with this story right now department, 10 out of 10 people telling me to read the manga, 0 out of 10 chance I'm gonna do that any time soon, I enjoyed the first two seasons a reasonable amount, I dunno read more
Jun 24, 2018
vincent_0 (All reviews)
Tokyo Ghoul:re is a highly misunderstood anime. Manga readers condemn it for its rushing of the plot; anime-onlys enjoy it for its fresh storyline and decent action. To enjoy TG:re to the max, you have to find a balance between these two common opinions by acknowledging that the anime and manga are two different entities that should be viewed - and enjoyed - separately.

Ishida is a phenomenal storyteller. There are a plethora of brilliant scenes that you can tell have been crafted perfectly and could not be any better. For instance, while the overall drive of the plot felt rushed and unnecessarily accelerated in read more
Apr 25, 2018
MasterAdventZero (All reviews)
Preliminary
-Tokyo Ghoul:re (anime)-
-Episode Watched: 4-
-Tokyo Ghoul:re (anime) (Season 3) Score: 3/10-
-Status: DROPPED-
(Seriously, Citrus was a MUCH better anime than whatever this is)

So.....Tokyo Ghoul:re actually has gotten an anime series.....well.......that was a thing.....right anyways....I've been a fan of Tokyo Ghoul ever since I started reading the manga back in high school in 2015 and ever since then I was hooked by its characters, story, world and neat little lore and everything and it pretty much became my 2nd favorite manga series of all time (All time favorite being Berserk, of course) and so when I saw the previous 2 Seasons of the anime I was beyond read more
Oct 10, 2018
luciojb (All reviews)
Preliminary
Compared to the prequels, be it the anime or the manga, this is nothing alike. The story just doesn't keep me entertained anymore, the action is mediocre and everything is just messed up. I tried to continue watching the series, but everything that made TG special was broken in TG:re. There is NO consistency and no intelligence. I feel like a foolish child watching this, not because I am one, but because the anime makes me feel so. The art and sound is average, but everything that makes the anime enjoyable is not there. That's all, I had to drop it.
Jul 28, 2018
TheDopplerEffect (All reviews)
You're probably wondering whether or not I'm being serious about such a low score. Long story short, yes this show is really that bad. Frankly, at times I couldn't believe my eyes while watching this. I hope that after reading this review you'll see just how bad this show is yourself.

STORY

Now, at that point most reviewers would recap the plot of the show, albeit in very broad terms to avoid spoilers and such. But here's the problem: this show has no plot. None. A thing happens, the characters respond to it, then they fight it out. Rinse and repeat. This has been a formula read more
May 13, 2018
Thermal9 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The show pretends that it is going to be something fresh, then yanks the rug from under you. More of the same, but less enjoyable. It brings back old characters who maybe play a larger role later, but at the beginning seem to be there because they already existed in the first 2 seasons.
Certain elements are very apparent immediately from the start, making me care less about the main character. Speaking of caring less, I care even less about the tensions between humans and ghouls since most of the main cast is some form of in-between, which just displays to the viewer that the tensions read more
May 26, 2018
SkydiverRed (All reviews)
Preliminary
I cannot believe this, it is worse than the second season. Yeah, they somehow managed to do the unthinkable.

Story-2/10
Half the episodes are over and I am yet to find something resembling a story. It is just a series of disjointed events.

Art-3/10
It just keeps getting worse with time.

Sound-4/10
Opening is skippable and the osts are not that special. Ending completely ruins the mood of the anime.

Characters-1/10
By far the worst part of the anime(which is saying something). The new mc feels like a pussy compared to Kaneki(I hope I was kidding,but that's the truth).Not a single character whom you can root for.Most of the people do things just read more
Jul 11, 2018
PhoenixKola (All reviews)
I am going to be reviewing Tokyo Ghoul:Re as purely an anime and judge it based on its merits as simply that. Not some appendage meant to supplement its source material. This has been my approach when viewing seasons 1 and 2, which is why I enjoyed them for the most part (to the dismay of manga readers). Who knows? Coming in as a blank slate probably made it slightly easier for me to enjoy them. The world we were introduced to was lucid and well-established right from the first episode of season 1. The story was elaborate and well-paced, the character dynamics and relationships read more
Oct 11, 2018
SatanicAlpha (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tokyo Ghoul:re is undoubtedly the worst sequel to an anime. The popularity behind this series is beyond me. This season achieved the impossible, by somehow being even worse than the second season.

Story : 1

The pacing in this season is absolutely dreadful. From the get-go, you already have no idea on what is going on. It is revealed that Kaneki has lost his memories and is now living as a different person. While this sounds interesting at first, after a few episodes in you begin to wish that he would just turn back to his former self as soon as possible. Until this date, I read more
May 12, 2018
Griva (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is perfect example how to totaly bungle the sequel. I seen previous seasons of Tokyo Ghul and I can't still belive this is possible to create such poor continuation.

Let's start with the plot - to begin with I am not a manga reader so as avarage viewer all my infromations come from previous seasons.
To be honest first season was something "fresh", well made with very good soundtrack and composition. Tokyo ghul was touching some interesting and important topics as "what is bad" and "who is bad" and all dilemma related to being a ghul.
Second season was also well made but I felt a read more
Jul 15, 2018
AnimeBear422 (All reviews)
I'm not sure if the show was written with the assumption that the viewers read a lot of material from the manga, but I'm just a show watcher so keep that in mind with this review.

So, after such a long hiatus I'm very shocked to see that the show failed to learn from the mistakes made in season 2, which turned a pretty great setup from season 1 into a confusing series of fights with pretty graphics. While it looks great and has some great fights, TG:re is confusing and frustrating. I don't know where my season 1 tokyo ghoul storyline went, but I miss read more