Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Dive!!


Alternative Titles

Japanese: DIVE!!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 7, 2017 to Sep 22, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:55 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Zero-G
Source: Novel
Genres: Comedy, Sports
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.181 (scored by 6,831 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #66372
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2146
Members: 25,790
Favorites: 51

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 28, 2017
Sonal1988 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I trudged through 4 episodes of this anime just so that I could write this review. Y’all better upvote my review so that I’ll know that those 80 minutes of my life weren’t a COMPLETE waste.

Basically, Dive is what you get if Haikyuu and Free had an illegitimate child – with none of the good looks or character development of Free, nor the long drawn technical jargon or complicated strategies of Haikyuu. Granted, that’s being a little tough on the anime, seeing how only four episodes have aired, but, come on! That’s a quarter of the show right there. You can *tell* that this read more
Jul 28, 2017
SpoilerMagnet (All reviews)
Preliminary
*** SHORT & SPOILER FREE REVIEW ***

If you have seen any sports anime, there is one thing common in all of them, i.e., Adrenaline Rush. But I find it missing. Maybe it's because of a not-so-mainstream sports, diving.

Story(5/10): I thought I will watch it till 5-6 episodes, because 1st episode of any sports anime can't give you enough content and that feel which gives you a reason to go on with the anime. And guess what! I dropped this anime just after 4th episode. After watching those disastrous 88 minutes including OP and EP, i guess that mangaka thought about making a cool read more
Sep 22, 2017
JoJoberserker (All reviews)
Ok, this is my first time writing a review so..

Well, where do we start? I guess from the begining. Dive!! is an anime about, you guess it, diving, but it does little to nothing to get you exited for it. As we all know, at least the ones that have already watched an spocon, you don't have to like the sport that the series is about, you don't even have to know about it's very existance to like the anime itself and that is one of the many things this show does wrong. The anime fails in selling you the sport, they barely explain how read more
Aug 22, 2017
SleepingRogue (All reviews)
Preliminary
Dive!! is...
Well, it's an anime. A sports anime. About diving.
I wish I could say more about it, but it hasn't left much of an impression on me, despite having watched all the episodes that have been aired at the time I'm writing this.
It's probably not the best idea to write my first review on this rather.. forgetable anime but hey, I can do what I want.

And that's what I'm gonna do.
Keep in mind that this is very subjective, though, and I don't mind if you don't share my opinions. But let's get this over with.

Story - 3/10
Sports anime often aren't anything new, and read more
Sep 13, 2017
plisetskytrash (All reviews)
Preliminary
It certainly sounded promising at the beginning and I was so hyped but honestly I just ended up being disappointed. From the first episode it was obvious that DIVE!! was aiming for a kind of Free! vibe where you have beautiful, muscular guys and a little bit of sport-related drama but this anime just went down the wrong path I guess.

The two main flaws are nonexistent plot line and poor character development. I mean plot is nonexistent even if you turn your head like 180 degrees. All characters do is talk talk talk. And no, they’re not explaining us diving rules or anything read more
Sep 21, 2017
BlackCicero (All reviews)
It's pretty hard to imagine that there would be a way to make an anime about competitive diving interesting. Dive!! does nothing to change your mind in that regard. What you end up getting is a very average, typical sports anime.
The story itself is okay but any efforts to add dramatic or comedic elements fail for the most part. The art is good although I do have a little gripe with how the reflection of light off the water's surface looks on the divers bodies. The best chance the anime had of drawing me in I thought would have been the way they chose to read more
Nov 11, 2017
himawaripencil (All reviews)
I suggest to those who love sports anime, please take this as just another sports anime. If you're here to watch and compare Dive to other sports anime like Haikyuu, Yuri on ice, Free!, you'll be sorely disappointed. But if you take it as a normal sports anime, without holding any expectations or benchmarks, this is a very good anime that you can take quite a bit from.

The character development was great. I can say that this was pretty realistic in showing the diving industry in Japan especially if you're not very familiar with it. The characters all managed to change and improve in their read more
Nov 8, 2017
Cheesypi (All reviews)
Dive!! is a sports anime that isn’t. Just a few glaring flaws:

- Not enough energy / adrenaline
- No explaination of scoring / scores
- Hardy any explaination of techniques + why they are difficult
- Lack of development of rival oragnizations

BUT I Dive isn't a sports anime. It is a character-driven story about the coming-of-age of our main characters – and it does this very well. Instead of a focus on one main character, the show introduces, and heavily develops multiple characters, showing them experience new things together and alone, growing as teenagers. It is a brilliant coming-of-age story with unique, no cliché characters, using competitive read more