.hack//Liminality

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: .hack//Liminality
Synonyms: Hack OVA
Japanese: .hack//LIMINALITY

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 4
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 20, 2002 to Apr 10, 2003
Studios: Bee Train
Source: Original
Genres: GameGame, MysteryMystery, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Duration: 33 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.611 (scored by 1494914,949 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #53322
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2930
Members: 30,226
Favorites: 41
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 3, 2008
Stormy_77 (All reviews)
Story

The .hack series isn't an easy one to get into for those of us who haven't played the game as there is plenty of background information that is left out in the anime. The strength of Liminality is it addresses some of these questions in a very intriguing manner. Liminality spans more than one .Hack anime, several of the manga and some games but the genius in this anime is it does so from the Real Life point of view (vs. gameplay). It manages to tie many loose ends together and in an entertaining fashion.

Characters

The characters are well fleshed out and developed. There is read more
Mar 9, 2010
kekekeKaj (All reviews)
This OVA is the (very much superior) follow up to the "Hack Sign" series. The production is in the typical style of Bee Train, with the ever present, haunting melodies of Yuki Kajiura (a staple aspect in Bee Train productions) succeeding to be even better than in "Noir" or "Hack sign". And since those were earlier works, it does seem like the studio is getting the hang of the music production more and more.

Unlike "Hack Sign", significant events actually start happening from the word go, resulting in a captivating opening episode. Unfortunately, having set the bar rather high, the remaining three episodes are a read more
May 3, 2009
sailorlitakino (All reviews)
This was suprisingly good! Usually in .hacks I am bored to tears but this was really good! I was very involved and focused 90% of the time. The first episode did drag on a bit but the final 3 weren't as long which was a good thing.

Story:
The story is outstanding! Unlike most .hack animes the story does not take place inside of "The World". This takes place in the real world and I like that. It does get somewhat confusing but if you pay attention you will understand it. The ending was a little confusing to me but I still really liked it.

Art:
The color was read more
Jun 16, 2011
HangJarrel (All reviews)
All right before we get started, just want to make sure that you all know that I haven't played any of the hack games, although a lot of my friends have been telling me to go and get the games because they are really good (from what they said)

Unfortunately the anime series are a completely different form of media so yeah this is my take on it.

Story

Honestly though, it's hard to watch an anime that where you're already supposed to know things and with the lack of background information it's really difficult to get into the story line especially when read more
Jul 19, 2014
FullmetalCowboy (All reviews)
Critic’s Log - Earthdate: July 17, 2014. Supplemental Review to .Hack//SIGN


I looked into the .Hack video games and I really couldn’t get interested in playing them…However there was something else that came along with it… here’s .Hack//Liminality

In the year 2007, the MMORPG (Massive Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game) known as 'The World' was released in the US and became insanely popular, spreading worldwide and reaching up to 20 million players. One day, a mysterious phenomenon occurs where all the monsters in the game become increasingly powerful and harbour unheard of abilities. Along with this, players are unable to make any progress with their characters. Naturally, read more
Apr 5, 2019
Vluddipijjun (All reviews)
Personal disclaimer, I watched this following .hack sign and on hazy childhood memories of the PS2 games. Part of my lackluster impression of the series is it seems to start and stop in the middle of a story, rather than itself being a self-contained story, so I may simply be missing out on details from other media that tie Liminality into a timeline better.

All that said, Liminality was a bit too disjointed and inconsequential for me. The first three episodes mainly serve to introduce each of the three main female cast members, followed by a finale where the crew undertakes a mission against the main read more
Jan 24, 2017
Far_Together (All reviews)
It's worth noting here, that I write this review based on the condition that Liminality is watched with full knowledge of the story in the 4 original games on Playstation 2 as well as the entirety of .hack//SIGN.

.hack//Liminality is a very interesting addition to the .hack// lore because it is very largely based in the real world instead of the game The World. It elaborates on details that are alluded to but that the player may not really understand otherwise. Each episode has points of direct correlation to their accompanying games and it's not fair to leave them as a standalone object because they're simply read more
Oct 28, 2016
KamuiShiro (All reviews)
This review is shorter than usual because this is an OVA. There won't be as much detail in the pros and cons of each category, but it'll be enough for you to decide if you're interested in this anime. Let's begin, my friend.

-----

Story - 9/10

+ While .hack//Sign takes place in the game world, .hack//Liminality focuses on the real world. The story reveals more details about the problems the game world has on the real world, which I enjoyed. I also loved knowing more of the mystery behind it.

- The story can be a bit slow at times, but it's a very minor issue.

-----

Characters - 2/10

- read more
Feb 6, 2015
brynolf (All reviews)
Overall
I might have got the chronology wrong, but I started out with this OVA, and have yet to see "Sign" and "Twilight". That's probably why I didn't understand a thing.

Animation
Not bad, not great. It looks kind of like most TV animes out there. I guess you expect more from an OVA, though. I like the attention to detail in the animation, though (throw a frying pan down a hatch, and it's still there when you get down there).

Sound
Voice acting is solid but nothing special. Background music is a bit repetative and there are few different songs considering this being a rather short OVA.

The ending theme read more
Jan 13, 2013
Neku_Tennyson (All reviews)
Okay Before I start this Review This anime is a alternative series to .Hack/ / Sign.

Story: The Story of .Hack/ /Liminality is about two girls. Minase Mai and Tomonari Kasumi both collapse while playing "The World" while hearing a strange sound. They are both hospitalized and Mai is the only one that wakes up, while her friend Kasumi is put into a coma. The creator of the world Tokuoka Junichiro comes to help because he tells Mai not only her friend has been put into a coma, but another 6 people have also been put into a coma. Because of that mysterious sound that has read more
Sep 17, 2020
ikarishinji49 (All reviews)
Nice supplement to the .HackSign series, showing a group of 3 girls trying to look into and expose what was happening in the outside world during the events of .HackSign, as it's revealed that several other people around the world had fallen into a coma like Tsukasa from not being able to log out of The World due to the Morgana virus. They find out the company that created and managed the game was trying to cover the situation up while trying to solve the problem. It's a more realistic scenario than the fantasy one in .HackSign, however, this one, rather than being a psychological read more