Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Vexille: 2077 Nihon Sakoku


Alternative Titles

English: Vexille
Synonyms: Vexille: 2077 Nippon Sakoku, Vexille: 2077 Japan National Isolation
Japanese: ベクシル 2077日本鎖国

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 18, 2007
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Oxybot
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 50 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.991 (scored by 9,984 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #38152
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3335
Members: 16,677
Favorites: 33

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 11, 2008
Ranivus (All reviews)
Set in the year 2077, this cyberpunk thriller starts off with a bang and unfortunately goes out with a wimper.


The story evolves around roughneck yet beautiful girl named Vexille who works for an elite military force codenamed: S.W.O.R.D. In a nutshell, Japan has elected to become an isolated country and decides not to play ball with the rest of the world. A semi interesting story ensues...

Fortunately, as soon as the movie starts you are well treated for some nice visual eye candy. As you would expect from a CGI heavy movie, everything is rendered with utmost detail. But almost immediately you will notice that read more
Feb 10, 2008
Beatnik (All reviews)
Vexille is in the same vein as cyberpunk thriller franchises Appleseed and Ghost in the Shell. There is excellent animation and world/mecha design on display, with great music by Paul Oakenfold.

The story is intriguing and has moments of awe, but is overall generic and subpar. The premise of having the main protagonist from America and treating Japan like current-day hermit North Korea is very cool but not expanded upon creatively.

Vexille settles for obligatory action setpieces and clichéd villains to fill the running time. All stuff straight out of the Rebels-Fight-Empire 101 textbook. A textbook that is in need of a new edition, read more
Mar 10, 2008
Static (All reviews)
Vexille - 2077 Nihon Sakoku shares the same inspiration as Ghost in the Shell and Appleseed, following an almost straight forward cyberpunk plot line.

The story is fairly good and had some potencial. All flows around the isolation of Japan during 10 years because the disagreements in a Treatment for the preservation of mankind during the Robotized era. In short the denial of creating androids.
It is a simple plotline with good potencial for plot twists but unfortunatly it starts entering in a downward spiral to failure due to some bad decisions of the directors.

Art and Sound are simply Amazing. Superb animation not only for the read more
Sep 16, 2008
MotokoAramaki (All reviews)
For the record, I didn't start off hating this movie. I'd actually been searching for it for a good year before they released it in June (July? Something with a J). I looked at it lovingly the whole way home once I'd bought it, and when I watched it for the first time, I felt...happy.

That was about for the first 15 minutes.

I've watched it 3 times since I bought it, and it never gets better. I don't know whether or not I'm biased towards Shirow or whether I just expect better from the producers, but something about this movie was a little off.

First, let read more
Jul 19, 2009
PhantmShado (All reviews)
The story telling in Vexille is entirely unimaginative. Yes, that should be where this review begins; very little to no thought at all went into making the story line. Nearly everything is predictable far before it happens and the things that aren't you won't care about because there isn't any character depth to hold it together. This is not helped by the flashy animation style which accomplishes its shiny veneer at the cost of removing emotions from the faces of the characters. Seriously, it's not fair, the characters don't have that depth to lose. The fact that anime emotions are exaggerated beyond actual read more
Jul 4, 2009
um_esper (All reviews)
If you enjoyed the visuals and sound design of Appleseed and Appleseed Saga Ex Machina, then you will enjoy Vexille. Indeed TBS has stolen alot from the Sega produced Shirow classic.

Alot of the mechanical design and environment design is clearly a Shirow knock-off, but it is executed fairly well. I did appreciate the thought put into the explanation behind alot of the technology represented in the movie, since technology is rather central to the plot.

But the plot was exactly the problem in this movie. Specifically around character development and motive. While the outside story resembles a crossbred of Appleseed and I-Robot and does read more
Jun 11, 2011
Blind_Guardian (All reviews)
I watched Vexille not long after watching Appleseed; Ex Machina, and if the two weren't made by the same studio one of them needs to sue the other. However I found the CGI to be even more amazing in Vexille, a true feast for the eyes with razor-sharp action scenes and beautiful cel-shaded characters. If you hate 3D anime you may find yourself turned off by this, but unlike most 3D anime it's actually well done. It still feels like watching a two-hour video game cutscene at times, but at others it feels like watching a live-action movie, the animation gets so read more
Apr 7, 2018
eienOwO (All reviews)
This dystopian flick can be summed up in two words - implausibly childish.

The film initially casts the hook with mystery and intrigue surrounding an technologically advanced but sealed Japan - a Pandora's Box! How exciting! We're enticed with glimpses of fancy gadgets Japan exports to America, Logic dictates the country itself must have something even better hidden behind its doors worthy of all the hype, right? Giant robots? Flying cities? They've been done before but hell we can never get enough of 'em!

What's the extraordinary secret it all builds up to? Drumroll.....

A SINGLE BACKWARD SLUM ON A PANCAKED FLAT DESERT.

No, seriously, the film's imagination goes read more
Jun 28, 2008
infinity (All reviews)
-- [ Vexille - 2077 Nihon ] --

In one line: "Awesome graphics, very Appleseed-like. Nice OST. Unimpressive characters in a very much cliché'd story."

Overall rating: 8/10

The story revolves around a hardened military girl named Vexille who is a member of S.W.O.R.D, which is some kind of high-tech military force. According to the plot, it has been 10 years that Japan has withdrawn from the U.N and became a loner, completely sealing off its frontiers, using high-end technological wizardry to filter incoming and outgoing transmission. It literally vanished off the world map. Then, the S.W.O.R.D is assigned a mission to infiltrate Japan and see what's going read more
Mar 31, 2008
Ravnouss66 (All reviews)
Watching Vexille is like watching the most beautiful yet uncomlete painting. The art is fantastic, and the elements within the story contain everything a good story needs. All the elements to make this the most innovative anime are there.

Art is perfect, like watching appleseed again.

Story is rushed, though full of many great elements it falls short and feels incomplete.

Characters are decent and would have been great had they truly been expanded upon. The hero alone never feels much like are hero or even important.

Sound was very good with some very good musical picks and pretty good voice acting.

It just read more
Jun 17, 2008
DolorDecorus (All reviews)
Sooo....a first not-so stellar review. Though I liked Appleseed Ex Machina I went into this movie expecting something along those lines. I did get what I was expecting but..uhmm less of it. Vexille wasn't interesting and despite the action and the glittery explosions (and I do like explosions), as well as the cyber-punk dystopian themes, it was dull..dull like's story, characters, music, and etc.

Story: The story itself is good. The idea of Japan isolating itself once again and the disastrous results that came from such isolation was something that got me into seeing the film. The theme of technology read more
Dec 2, 2018
Far_Together (All reviews)
A very cool premise with a wonderful soundtrack and animation, Vexille gives you a beautiful protagonist set in an almost built upon world with a really, REALLY lackluster story. The movie has a very promising start, but fails to do anything with it. It shortly falls into a rebel alliance vs. the empire plot-line. However, it also fails to do this well.

It was basically like if you watched Star Wars, but you only watched the cantina scene up to Han shooting Greedo, then the meeting about the run to blow up the Death Star(in a somehow extended version) and then the actual run to blow read more
Jan 10, 2016
shehrozeameen (All reviews)
I'll be honest here and now, in case anyone does wind up coming to this movie: I think that, irrespective of the aged CGI, its a good movie. I first saw this movie in 2007, and then saw it again this year - in 2007, I didn't note the title, but liked it. And my opinion about why I liked it, hasn't changed.

Now, going into details:

Story:

It is an action adventure movie. A straight forward, engaging, non intensive action adventure movie with strong machinima themes - think Ghost in the Shell (GitS) or Metal Gear Solid (MGS) minus the philosophy (and in the case of read more
Jun 10, 2014
jyagan0 (All reviews)
She’s smart, strong, sensitive, clever and beautiful. But foremost, she’s a warrior. More survivor that the superhero type, she still a woman who can kick butt when she need to. Did I mention smart? Hmmm... Just checking. As it so happens, Vexille is living in a future where fear of out of control technology has lead the United Nations (the deciding world body of the time) to declare specified limitations. Japan, far beyond the rest of the world in research and development, refused to comply. As a nation, Japan withdrew from the U.N. and closed itself off from the rest of the world. When a read more
Mar 25, 2009
Munsuta (All reviews)
In the year of 2077, Robotic Technology has advanced greatly in the world where robots where used for simple every day tasks. Japan leading in the robotics industry decides to sever its ties with the U.N. so they can research and develop androids ( Human Robots ) which has been banned by U.N. policy. After severing its ties with the U.N., Japan sets relay towers around its country which scramble all communications and basically make the country invisible to spy sattelites. A very good anime in which the graphics and sound were outstanding, kind of reminds me of animes like resident evil degeneration and final read more
Jun 25, 2018
Simkin13 (All reviews)
I see the lower rating this one had and it is hard to believe. The drawing/art is not like most other anime and maybe that is why it is lower rated by some. This is an awesome movie. The story is outstanding.

Everyone writing reviews here seem to just retell the description. ROFL. I won't do that. I think if you are reading this and have not seen this movie then please watch it. You see my rating on this one. Thumbs Up! Don't let the overall rating fool you, watch this one and you will be read more