Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Naruto


Alternative Titles

English: Naruto
Synonyms: NARUTO
Japanese: ナルト

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 220
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2002 to Feb 8, 2007
Premiered: Fall 2002
Broadcast: Thursdays at 19:30 (JST)
Producers: TV Tokyo, Aniplex, Shueisha
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.861 (scored by 585,352 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7662
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #9
Members: 881,469
Favorites: 31,766

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 27, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
To be honest, Naruto is the most overhyped show in existence. Everyone goes on and on and on about how great it is; and my expectations for this show was equally high. However, I was really, really let down. Really. This wasn't the best show ever, as I had thought it would be. Don't get me wrong, the show is enjoyable, but it's definitely not among the best shows out there. I hope Shippuden will better than this... much better.

The concept of this show isn't that hard to follow. It's an alternate world in which ninjas live. The ninjas fight by using various skills, and read more
Jun 25, 2008
theeggman85 (All reviews)
I began to browse through the reviews of Naruto, and realized something was horribly wrong. All the experienced anime watchers were giving it crappy reviews, and all the first-timers were giving it rave reviews, with reasons that every anime has to back them up. How could this be? Gee, I wonder. For some strange reason, Naruto has become the most popular and well-known anime series ever, and as such, it is usually the first anime seen by anime watchers alike. Why this is, I don't know. Maybe it appeals to a wide variety of young teenagers...

When I was 13 years old, I remember watching and read more
Apr 30, 2011
Ston3_FreeN7 (All reviews)
I'm sure most, if not all, the people who end up reading this review have seen Naruto before and those who haven't are probably put off by the pure unadulterated hatred this and the more recent Shippuuden garner. Okay, I guess "unadulterated" is a strong word but I digress..

In any case, before starting this review I want to point out that I haven't read the manga so I'm unsure as to what was or wasn't changed during the process of animating this story and I guess it's time to get the show on the road.

*Also, let it be known that the infamous "Filler Arc" read more
Dec 18, 2014
lahzor (All reviews)
I would like to start this review off by saying that I did not grow up with the Naruto series, nor did I have any pre-judgment of the series before I started watching it. Therefore I’d like to assert that my perspective on this series is as unbiased as it’s probably going to get, considering its popularity. When watching the series, the first thing I did was compile a list of filler episodes, and then promptly skipped all of them. This is so my watching experience in terms of the story deviated from the manga source material as little as possible. That being said, here read more
Dec 3, 2011
link9us (All reviews)
Naruto, yes Naruto. One of the series that has defined the cultural shonen’s of the last generation in the history of anime. This is a series that has changed significantly over the past decade.

What I love bout naruto is the whole “Ninja aspect” of the show. Every technique had substance, quality and all of the training arcs really shown the defining elements of how ninjutsu worked within the naruto universe. These qualities are something I will soon not forget. I know alot of people complain about naruto being a half ass wit that can’t do nothing Or perhaps sakura being useless. But in away read more
Jun 26, 2010
milkman57 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've heard a lot of people call this the most overrated anime of all time.

So is it really?

Well, that depends on who you ask. Me? I'm one of the guys who loves it. This is the anime that got me into anime in the first place. So why should you read my review as opposed to the hundred others? Because I'll try to show you both what everyone gripes about and what they love about the show. Bear with me on this review, as it will be a little long, but since the anime I'm reviewing is pretty long, I have a lot to cover.

Story read more
Dec 19, 2008
donsanman (All reviews)
ok so I've seen like 200+ series and i have to say that this is one pathetic series. i watched up to shippuden 50. im telling you nothing interesting happens, and like 90% of the series is filler anyway.

the plot is seriously lacking and its a pathetic excuse for a slice of life/action-drama type of show. im writing this for people who legitimately haven't seen the show and i know im going to get flamed by a whole bunch of narutards but the series is just NOT worth the acclaim or watching at all.

the characters are even worse. you have your over-zealous,untalented guy read more
Jun 8, 2009
tentacle_raep (All reviews)
Preliminary
Proof that I will watch just about anything, or rather that I once had nothing better to do than watch this crap while waiting for Squidbillies to come on (Unknown Hinson fangirl).

In either case, there are few anime out there that evoke a visceral reaction like Naruto. Sure there is Inuyasha and you can get your eyes clawed out by yaoi fangirls for calling them closet lesbians, but no other anime has started a craze of shut ins wearing orange sweatsuits and headbands to school like Naruto.

See, a uniform code is not just for keeping Crips and Bloods from wearing gang colors to school.

Naruto read more
Sep 3, 2008
mcjazzman32 (All reviews)
Having watched many different series of anime, I can understand why the "elitest" out there give this series a bad review; however, I can also say they're flat out wrong and biased. Naruto is a fantastic anime that doesn't get due credit where it's deserved.

First off, it's true that the fillers of this anime that take up about the last 1/3 of this Part 1 are flat out terrible. With the exception of the first two arcs (including the amazing Bikouchi retrieval arc) they're probably the worst anime I've ever seen and the fillers in Naruto Shippuden are just as bad. But I think as read more
Feb 5, 2009
wesley96 (All reviews)
Naruto is a hit or miss show. You love it, or you hate it. I mean, how many times have you heard from Narutards calling it "the best anime ever"? How many times have you heard from Naruto haters calling it "the worst anime ever"? Both have ruined the Naruto fan base, so now no one pays attention to Naruto anymore. I hope this review will get at least one person to try Naruto, even if it turns out they don't like it.

The story is basically about the main protagonist, Naruto Uzumaki, and his journey on becoming the greatest ninja in the Hidden Leaf Village. read more
Jan 11, 2009
TheAoiDoragon (All reviews)
Naruto, a lot of the new generations first favorite anime. It was not my first, I am with the last gen with Sailor Moon, DBZ and others. Naruto I started watching around... when it first came out. It was the first of it's kind, it lost spunk near the end, but it really kept you going for the first 135 episodes.

Story:

It was different then most animes, people don't admit it, but it was. It wasn't always about Naruto though, which sometimes made me wonder why Kishimoto called it Naruto. The story follows mainly Team 7 (Naruto, Sasuke, and Sakura) and the journeys they have until read more
Mar 4, 2008
BranGor (All reviews)
Preliminary
Naruto is the typical Shounen anime. Despite the success of its manga counterpart, the anime tries to take advantage of that advantage and attempts to drag out the series for all it's worth; and as far as quality is concerned, it is worth nothing.

Story:
Naruto's plot is driven by noneother than the "prototype" shounen anime template. Loner protagonist has bad past, then proceeds to set a goal in his life, along the way he meets other characters which make his possy even stronger. However, Naruto manages to make such a dull plot into an even more bland anime. By disrupting the plot with unneeded comedy/fanservice, read more
Feb 9, 2007
VyraLove (All reviews)
The mighty roar of a Kyubei vibrated throughout the area as a crowd of ninja from Konoha try their hardest to bring it to its knees. All the fighting is for naught until one person steps up and sacrifices himself to seal the Kyubei away. That man was known as the Fourth Hokage. Years later, a young orphan named Naruto causes much vandalism and trouble, just to get the attention he craves each day. His life goal is to become the next Hokage.

Kishimoto Masashi has brought us a very long series of action, drama, and comedy about a young ninja in training known as Naruto. read more
Apr 8, 2008
Talamare (All reviews)
Story: Naruto is a fairly decent anime that made quite a bit of mistakes, such as turning over half of the show into fillers, and taking the show into "god" level Dragon Ball Z style of fighting. Naruto starts out as a extremly good Ninja anime during its first season where everything you see is unexpected and the story is rather fresh and interesting, the first season including Zabuza had a perfect pace and the fight scenes felt truly of what ninjas should be.

After the first season however we are left with a quickly declining anime, soon the fights becomes my "special read more
Jan 10, 2009
BorisSoad (All reviews)
Preliminary
Naruto was the first anime I ever watched. And I'm glad it was. Because if I had watched for example Death Note, I think I wouldn't still be watching anime. Why is that? Naruto isn't a 'hardcore' anime. It is just plain fun and everyone can understand the storyline. While some other animes may be confusing when you first watch them, Naruto is just clear.

Very soon I realised what the power of Naruto was. It isn't the story, which is quite cool too, but it are the characters! Everyone has their own story and their own way of thinking. Their own powers and their read more
Apr 5, 2012
taigataiga (All reviews)
Naruto, who doesn't know about it? It's a wildly popular series that is controversial-- oh, almost every worldwide-known series is like that. First of all, i just don't get how people keep on complaining about this series. Like, those who gave this series a one-two-three ratings, i wonder what is wrong with them? They better came up with acceptable reasons. And oh-- maybe most of them thought that they're some sort of experts just because they've seen so many other animes besides this (even though they seriously can't make any better show-- note, MAKE-- than this show). I dislike those kinds of ppl that keeps read more
May 5, 2008
danceljoy (All reviews)
First to say: I decided to write a review for one of my favorite animes even though there are more than enough reviews. My anime addiction is indebted to this series because this was the one that invited me to the otaku world...

Story (7/10)

Naruto's story revolved around a obnoxious kid named Naruto, if you don't like him, then it's not very likely that you'll love the series.

The plot is a bit shallow and a bit of a cliche; a stupid main character who wants to attempt the impossible and has a hidden power behind his sadness having stereotypical nakamas to protect. Simply to read more
Oct 30, 2007
Huntsman (All reviews)
Preliminary
This has to be one of the worst anime series I've seen, and I've seen 240 anime series. Now that's saying a lot.

Ok now on to some of the things that made it so bad. First is the so called story that's supposed to take place I guess two hundred years ago. Yet they have tv and radio, so when the heck is this anime supposed to take place. Now as for the story which makes no lick of sense to me revolves around Naruto, Sakura, and Sasuke on a journey to become the best ninjas. Which wouldn't have read more
Jun 17, 2008
elc1247 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Wow... I look back and realize how painfully mediocre Naruto is compared to all the Anime I have watched recently... Its a shonen series, but it isnt really special... Just another addition to the "boredom-inducing-fillertastic" pile of anime in the end. It seems that many people have overrated this series because it was one of their first series, and they havent really watched many series anyways... -just a thought (All you hardcore fans keep reading, I explain myself)

Overall: Naruto had the setup to be something epic, though the length and the way they tell the story completely destroyed what chance they had at becoming epic. read more
Jan 25, 2012
RENZEN (All reviews)
Hm... Naruto as a series is a difficult one to review. It's almost 'cool' and 'accepted' to say this mainstream anime is overhyped and cliche. If one were to gush about Naruto one would immediately jump to the conclusion that they are a child, naive, or just new to anime.

Naruto is a story about a orphan kid who becomes a ninja. If you look at Naruto's story objectively it's actually pretty good. It has all the stuff you would likely want in a story; rivalries, fighting, ninjas, friendship, philosophical moralizing etc... What ultimately makes this shounen different read more