Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tactics


Alternative Titles

Japanese: タクティクス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2004 to Mar 30, 2005
Premiered: Fall 2004
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Studio Izena, MediaNet
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.291 (scored by 11,147 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #25452
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2312
Members: 33,218
Favorites: 173

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 13, 2008
katiesquilts (All reviews)
Story: Tactics is a great anime, and its plot is actually quite realistic. I boy who admires a sealed Ogre-eater and dreams of one day breaking the seal and becoming freinds with the Ogre-eater...well, it COULD happen. And at least they didn't make it so that Kantarou, the dreamer, was still TRYING to find the seal. The plot was, actually, one of the highlights if you look back on the story, and the last episode is a real shocker! I will always associate Tactics with certain episodes, and whenever I think of it a rush of slides roll through my head, and it makes me read more
Oct 19, 2008
StarfleetCpt (All reviews)
Tactics is, summed up in two words, nothing special. A pretty average anime with a generic "monster of the week" plot with a loose overacing story that is connected by only a few episodes, lacking memorable characters, what characters there are being pretty bland, and ending as a fair piece of work that, while certainly viewers wouldn't actively want to forget, is pretty easily forgettable nonetheless.

Story: 6 (Fair)

The story revolves around Kantarou, a demon exorcist living in what is presumed to be Meiji-era Japan. He has an unusual ability to see and speak to demons and often communicates with them in order to discover the read more
Sep 2, 2008
MikariStar (All reviews)
The story of Tactics is rather episodic, but each mystery Kantaro needs to solve makes the episodes entertaining even if some could be watched in any order and you wouldn't be lost. The series has a supernatural theme with some Japanese mythology mixed in.

There are certain details about things that took place before the series started that are established but left unexplained. However, it's not too hard to conclude what the possible explanation would be. I won't go further into this so as to not spoil what little information is given in the series.

The characters are well balanced; there are cheerful ones, a quiet one, read more
Jun 27, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
Oh wow… That was what I first felt when I started watching this show. This is not the show I had originally planned on seeing but when I did end up seeing it, from the very first episode, it just gave me chills. And then… the comedy hit. Now this wasn’t a bad thing really, it was just unexpected. I went into this story without any history behind it or any way of knowing what it was about and the first part of the show was so serious.

Now I love the characters, even if they are pretty much stereotypes. Now I keep saying stereotypes read more
Jun 12, 2019
TunyVuny (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, the storyline could have been better & the plot is just fine. But there are so many issues which I have with the author/writer.

First of all if you've read the description of the anime it clearly says that other people were not able to see youkai that's why he was bullied. Now the point is why is that girl(suzu) able to see them, ok so many people will argue that is because of them having human form, but if you notice in the 1st episode when haruka's seal is lifted by kantaro, that girl(suzu) was easily able to see him, how is that possible, read more
Sep 7, 2009
Muu-chan_Fan (All reviews)
Tactics is a wonderful anime that can be enjoyed by many. The main characters are very likeable and well written. The artwork of the series, especially the background scenery, is very well done and adds to the story. This anime could be watched in stand alone episodes, with its "case of the week" type format, but there are also story lines that cross the entire series, so watching it in order would be helpful to understand everything that is going on. There are a lot of comedic moments and many times I found myself laughing out loud. There are also some very poignant moments scattered read more
Oct 20, 2009
NariaForgiveness (All reviews)
Honestly, I have to say this is on my top 10 favorite anime list. The story is very good and well-developed. The characters make you feel like you're actually in their era and I personally loved the manga so I decided to watch the anime. It sucks that it was so short in episodes but I did enjoy nevertheless.

I would recommended it to anyone who likes the Japanese Mythology or just like Bushonen in general. Personally, I would love to study the Japanese Mythology so it would make sense that I would watch this anime.

Jan 7, 2013
Shura-shurato (All reviews)
Well i really had hoped for an quite over the top story near the end , and more charach, development and /or more char. in general. The demon slaying job gets somewhat repetitive and like everyday anime ( after 2000) its too much censored at some good action scenes, Not that i ecxpeted much from the main person but more from the guardian.Sometimes it really got on my nerve that the guardian din't developed further powers and such, animation was looking alright but thats it.
May 30, 2015
maru-magus (All reviews)
This anime is so underrated when it deserves more love. I first came across it on TV in the U.S. on the Sci-fi channel. There used to be a block for anime and this was one of them. I was instantly in love with the characters. Their designs, by Studio Deen, are lovely along with their personalities. There's not a character I don't like. The story is amazing, though not as in-depth as the manga. The character development in the manga is better, but the anime has it's perks. The most development you can see is with Haruka. He is the best example of this. read more
Jan 17, 2014
flowerakane (All reviews)
Preliminary
I came across this series accidentially, while I was looking for action anime. At first I feel hestitate to watch it, since I don't really like the style of old anime (it's the effect of watching modern series with modern technology and design), but after I read the synopsis, I decided to give it a try. I am a sucker for strong demon and demon buster, I have always loved series involving these two categories.
I am really glad to have watched it, since it's unexpectedly great :D

Story: 7
The story mainly focused on the relationship between Ichinomiya Kantarou and Haruka. Ichinomiya has always been looking for read more
Jan 3, 2011
Fatalrain (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tactics starts out as one of those anime where the same thing keeps happening in every episode, but the main characters meet new one-shot characters every time. I'm personally not fond of these anime since they seem too childish and get boring after a short amount of time.
However, the more you watch it, the more the story really begins to unfold and it becomes far more interesting. The main characters, (especially Haruka) develop a lot, though some of the characters don't seem vital to the story at all.
The use of folklore and mythology is what, I think, makes the story unique. If it weren't for read more
Apr 4, 2014
greatyu (All reviews)
Ghost busting becomes more fascinating when you see it in the traditional way, at least for me, "Tactics" is a light comical anime where you follow "Ichinomiya Kantarou who is a liar and a sinful person but who is also a scholar"

Story: The story was fairly good, each episode is designed to suit various preferences of the audience. The historical value is also high, quite simillar to the anime "Mononoke"

Art: It was very well done, characters were drawn attractively.

Sound: You get the traditional feeling from the opening and the ending, there's just one of it's kind for the whole series. The soundtracks read more
Jan 7, 2011
Yakarin (All reviews)
Preliminary
"...You mean hope to me..."

Story (9): As some have already said, this anime is mostly episodic, it involves some lighthearted episodes, some strange ones..., even some dark parts; yet in my opinion, it's beauty doesn't really lies on the episodic cases, but rather on how it tells you a story about personal knowledge, learning, trust and friendship.

Art (8): The art is very nice, specially the detail added in the vegetation. The only thing I don't like very much is the way they changed Haruka's "aspect", although, towards the end his "aspect" change means more than meet the eye, at least that was my opinion.

Sound (8): read more