Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Inferno Cop


Alternative Titles

Japanese: インフェルノコップ

Information

Type: ONA
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 25, 2012 to Mar 19, 2013
Producers: CoMix Wave Films
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Trigger
Source: Original
Genres: Action, Police
Duration: 3 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.351 (scored by 28,928 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #21852
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1396
Members: 50,538
Favorites: 669

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 23, 2013
BloodRequiem (All reviews)
Sir Isaac Newton was an English physicist and mathematician who is widely regarded as one of the most influential scientists of all time and as a key figure in the scientific revolution. One of his famous quotes that is still repeated to this day is: "Plato is my friend, Aristotle is my friend, but my favourite anime is Inferno Cop."

To be honest, I have always regarded perfection as something that cannot be attained. However, studio Trigger managed to prove me wrong with this brilliant masterpiece named Inferno Cop. With first glance, Inferno Cop may seem like a generic action hero series, but this gem of read more
Jan 21, 2013
Baconzombie (All reviews)
This anime…

No…

This masterpiece,

is a revolutionary work of art that epitomizes the pinnacle of outstanding animation, deep character interaction, and well-crafted plot development. With thought-provoking themes intermixed with deep, symbolic undertones that would bring greats such as Poe and Kerouac to their knees, Inferno Cop is an instant classic that will make its mark in history.

STORY:
The story covers such a wide array of dramatic and moral tales of bravery and enlightenment that it puts Homer’s epics, The Iliad and The Odyssey, to shame. From a highly emotional legal drama to a deep, symbolic conflict with an omnipotent cult, Inferno cop includes many classic themes read more
Jan 6, 2013
5camp (All reviews)
Inferno Cop comes to us from Studio Trigger, the studio Mr. Gurren Lagann Imaishi set up after he got sick of things at Gainax. This is the first anime they've put out, simply as Youtube releases. My guess is this is one of those small projects a company does so they can get used to the creation process. Lots of companies do this. Release small product where success doesn't matter at all. It's just a learning process so they know how to structure the creation process internally. But, given that this comes from those crazy ex-Gainax guys, what they produced turned out to be inspired. read more
Jan 6, 2013
GloriousHawk (All reviews)
Preliminary
This will be short.

I do believe for some this show has become the new "Mars of Destruction". For those of you who don't know what that show is, it is a one episode anime that was absolutely appalling in all aspects. But there's one little thing...you can't compare Mars of Destruction to this. Mars of Destruction failed to be what it wanted to be and Inferno Cop succeeded at what it wanted to be. It is a funny, show with a bizarre sense of dark humour wrapped up neatly in 3 minutes.

Inferno Cop isn't meant to be clever nor witty. It doesn't have read more
Jul 8, 2016
karlstein12 (All reviews)
Inferno Cop, a show where ending credits is 4x longer than the episode itself.

This is a masterpiece, but at the same time the worst shlock ever made.

This is satirical comedy at its peak and beyond. It's something that far exceeds my intellect to comprehend. This is maximum autism.

To make more sense, I'd have to copy our Lord Foggle's review on Mars of Destruction here while purely agreeing with each of the sentences and have no satirical intentions afterwards, and for me to come close to deducing what Inferno Cop is, I'd have to be born as Einstein in all my seven lives. read more
Jan 23, 2013
MiguelAntilsu (All reviews)
You might've heard about this anime and how people are calling it 'Anime of the Year' and 'Best Anime Ever'. Well, guess what? They're all pulling your leg. As it turns out, this anime is nothing more than an ugly, poorly-constructed web series with almost no redeeming value. Here's why:

Story: 1
Three minutes per episode isn't a whole lot of time to develop a story. Almost every episode is either a letdown or a ripoff. Among the things ripped off in this show are "Return of the Jedi," "Monty Python and the Holy Grail," "Neon Genesis Evangelion," and of course read more
Jan 29, 2013
MFPapillon (All reviews)
Inferno Cop is Trigger's new groundbreaking anime masterpiece. Inferno Cop is former GAINAX employee Amemiya Akira's directorial debut. He follows in Yamamoto Yutaka's footsteps as he tries to breath new life into the medium, or "save anime".

Story - 10
Inferno Cop has a deep, though provoking narrative. Beneath what may at first appear to be a shallow action comedy, resembling something one might find airing on Adult Swim, there is actually an interesting underlying social commentary. This show examines such topics as the criminal jusitce system, the medical care system, and religion. It manages to do all of this in 3-minute read more
Apr 15, 2015
Akai_Shuichi (All reviews)
When making an anime, one would like every studio has high dreams, hopes for whatever they're making becomes something worth remembering for many years, something that will stay with their viewers, hopefully change their life, even if it's a little bit, for the better and become an epic tale grandparents will tell their children. Sadly, you rarely find anime that's even worth remembering, and most series are made just with the goal of milking some money, without thinking in the true art an anime can have behind. Inferno Cop is not the case. This is a series that went outside of every cliché to create read more
Mar 24, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Inferno Cop is like a combination between Ghost Rider, Strongbad, and the stoner comedy cartoons of Adult Swim. Rather than spoofing a single genre, Trigger decides to spoof a wide variety of media from Shonen to Robocop, from Marvel comics to Evangelion! This is easily the best comedy Studio Trigger has made to date!

I would like to apologize to Hiroyuki Imaishi for all the times I've spoken ill of his work! Normally I find his style of spoof to be extremely tedious, unfunny, and trying to convince people it is a masterful deconstruction when it isn't any more clever than a Setzer and Friedberg read more
Jan 1, 2015
Piegoose (All reviews)
A catchy title leading to a badass cover only makes things more exciting when seeing this ONA is made by Studio Trigger, which has many relations to Gainax. However, all of those who go in blind beyond those details will be in for a surprise. Whether that surprise is a good one or not will fluctuate greatly as this is some undoubtedly niche stuff. If action is what you're looking for, or if you tolerate nothing wacky and illogical, Inferno Cop is definitely siting outside of your safe bubble. If you read that and are still intrigued, I recommend stopping now and go watch it read more
Jul 27, 2016
bmoore07 (All reviews)

“We must cut out all that is different like a cancerous growth! It is essential in this society that we not only have a norm but that we conform to the norm. Differences weaken us! Variations destroy us!” – From the Twilight Zone episode “The Eye of the Beholder”

By and large, the presence of originality has been eroding away from the world’s forms of entertainment for a while now. The cinema industry has propelled itself a shade above mediocricy thanks to a seemingly neverending stream of re-makes, basically transforming nostalgia into mountains of cash. The NFL’s motto has currently been “this is the way we’ve read more
Mar 22, 2014
MrDesu (All reviews)
When it comes to giving something a score, I don't base it off of the story, the art style, how well everything just works together. I base it off of how much fun I had watching it. So, put it on a scale of 1 to 10, I have to pick 10 because "roller coaster" isn't an option.

Inferno Cop was produced by the now critically acclaimed Trigger, and it certainly shows and fits along their other works. What you're not going to get here is a deep story, thousands of hours of people slaving over frames of animation or the best sounding show to date. read more
Mar 19, 2013
Toucanbird (All reviews)
Inferno Cop: From The Bowels Of Hell

To be completely honest with you, I really don't know what to think of this series. The anime viewer in me found it to be a downright hilarious watch, while the critic in me found this to be a mediocre production from a relative new production company. Inferno Cop is brought to us by the production company Trigger in their first production to hit the anime market. To be honest, I can't rip Trigger that much since most production companies first works are never that good. I guess the good news for Trigger is, they never even tried to read more
Apr 11, 2016
Tshepilepci (All reviews)
I was hoping to write a well thought, balnced, and fair review of Inferno Cop after taking what I expected be a rather average show, I was proven wrong in after finishing it in a day. Inferno Cop is one of those rare shows that really redifines the medium as whole such Akira and Neon Genosis Avangelion. Inferno Cop is an anime and that is an undisputable fact.

How does Inferno Cop achive this? Simple, simplicity. Inferno Cop doesn't feel like its better or smarter than the audience but I feel that it thinks that its smarter since it uses the old storytelling technique of telling read more
Jan 1, 2016
MelancholyMatoi (All reviews)
Iz rly gud.

Obviously better than walking your dog down a street at 3:00AM with your mother watching you through the window as the dog is peeing. Followed by awkward tension with a pregnant sister who constantly is telling you that you, Onii-chan, is the father of her baby. Then said baby is secretly George W. Bush and conquers the world. Then Obama happened, the end. Infernal Cop in a nutshell. Not really. But this was worth reading. I think. Maybe.

Real talk: Self-medicating myself currently to compensate for the fact I wasted nearly 30 minutes on utter horse shit. Happy New Year everyone.
Sep 23, 2015
phs_togusa (All reviews)
Inferno Cop can be likened to Tenacious D in that its entire existence revolves around a single joke, and that joke wasn't very funny to begin with. Okay, maybe it would be funny to you if you were like what, 12? But in all seriousness, Inferno Cop is just plain worthless when you have countless other programmes accomplishing the same goals as Inferno Cop but with a much greater sense of conviction than this unpolished turd has to offer. Then again, this sheer lack of quality is to be expected from Trigger, a studio whose claim to fame is making shitty self-aware comedies that the read more
Jun 12, 2017
Shaadow (All reviews)
Many times Trigger has saved anime, but I can say without a shadow of a doubt, this is the best thing not only Trigger, but anyone has ever done to the anime industry.

I present to you an anime so perfect that everything else seems trash in comparison, an anime that revolutioned the industry, the single greatest anime that has ever been created: Inferno Cop.

Story: 10/10

The story for Inferno Cop is the best you'll ever see. It took all the potential that the premisse had and used it to the maximum. It's amazingly executed, with legendary fights to get you on the edge of your seat read more
Jul 10, 2014
WufenDerp (All reviews)
Inferno Cop is one of those parodies that you can just love

- Story
It was just funny nonsense about an "inferno"cop, in the first episode it seemed like some dumb nonsense, but the more you watched, the funnier the nonsense becomes.
I actually take suspicion these creators were using drugs while creating the story, it is pure nonsense, no cliches *bout time*, funny jokes, and funny side characters, this was pure fun

Art-
Now, there is nothing to say about the art, it is simple, and it is perfect for a parody, it's just some simple drawn characters, backgrounds, and some simple moving, not even a walk animation, but, read more
Jul 15, 2014
RonSnow (All reviews)
First, I'm going to split this review into six points: Plot, Characters, Animation, Music, Voice Acting and Overall...

Second, review in Spanish at the end...

And, third, I hope that it will help them and they enjoy it!

Also, forgive me if my English is not very good, I'm not any expert...

Without more, begin:

Plot: It is one of the most crazy and bizarre stories you ever saw in an Anime, the plot itself has no feet or head and makes no sense. To measures that pass chapters appear more and more wefts each one more bizarre than the last, and despite the simple which is this anime, never read more
May 17, 2015
xm0123 (All reviews)
(Don LaFontaine voice)

“In a world rife with kid heroes receiving convenient powers out of nowhere…a world overrun with moeblobs and shallow archetypes for characters…a world ravaged by light novels more concerned with otaku references than telling a good story…one man will rise to dispense his brand of ironclad justice.”

(Insert fiery whoosh sound effect)

(start playing Die Hollen Polizei)

“From the studio that brought you Little Witch Academia comes an anime that kicks tiresome clichés to the curb. A dramatic tale of good versus evil unlike any you’ve ever seen, set in the United States of Japan.”

(insert stock explosion sound effect)

“Inferno Cop! Now available at your local Crunchyroll read more