Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hataraku Maou-sama!


Alternative Titles

English: The Devil is a Part-Timer!
Synonyms: Hataraku Maou-sama!
Japanese: はたらく魔王さま!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2013 to Jun 27, 2013
Premiered: Spring 2013
Broadcast: Thursdays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: White Fox
Source: Light novel
Genres: ComedyComedy, DemonsDemons, SupernaturalSupernatural, RomanceRomance, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.911 (scored by 496604496,604 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6942
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #55
Members: 818,360
Favorites: 8,329

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 28, 2013
Varyn (All reviews)
I'm well aware this isn't going to be a popular review, so go ahead and downvote it just because I gave it a 5/10, but at least listen to why first, because someone has to shatter the illusion that this was actually a good show.

The basic premise of the show is that the overlord of the demon army and one of his generals are attacked by the hero during a large scale war to take over 'ente isle'. They attempt to temporarily retreat to an alternate dimension, but find themselves trapped in modern day japan and are unable to return. So must work menial read more
Feb 19, 2014
Subbed (All reviews)
Unholy burger and fries. I would sure love to try them.

Supreme comedy. That’s what Hataraku Maou-sama is. I like to split the comedy genre into two types when it comes to it and the anime series in general: the first one is the comedy flow that is present through the entire series. It is there to make the series a tad lighter, to bring some more energy and by chance, to make us smile every once in a while. The second one, however, tends to focus on separate scenes rather than bringing the quirky atmosphere. It focuses on jokes and scenes that make us not read more
Jul 27, 2014
Steeze (All reviews)
If your wanting an all weekend anime marathon this is the anime for you. It's fun, comedic, and short with a side of action.

While I scrolled through the list the title is was caught my eye, "The Devil is A part Timer". There are many thoughts that came to mind so I decided to please my curiosity. From the start to finish the plot flows in a consistent manner. The characters development is great despite the short amount of episodes that are allotted (13). The animation is great as well as a decent english dubbed version.

Can't really point out anything bad read more
Jun 18, 2015
TheMasterMustard (All reviews)
Every year a cluster of anime release for people to gobble whatever they can get their hands on. However a few well made anime somehow don't get as much public attention they deserve. The hidden gem among piles of sand.

This anime is the one.

While sucky reboots and trashy sequels keep spreading their vice like grip among people who haven't breathed outside air for a long time, Hataraku Maou Sama is the odd kid in the block. It has a totally new concept which totally works for its genre. While most other stuff still don't know their true identities after 10 episodes, this anime knows read more
Jan 29, 2014
gosunoob (All reviews)
This was one of the most pleasant surprises I got to experience in 2013. Since I just got into anime in the beginning of 2013, I saw that Kotaku listed Devil is a PT as one of the 5 spring 2013 anime that one should watch.

I figure, hey, 13 episodes isn't much, let's give this a shot. Turns out I marathoned this anime in 2 days since it was just so much fun for me. The first episode has a bit more violence and is darker in tone than the rest of the anime, especially during the first 7 minutes or so, but I'd say read more
Jul 2, 2013
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
We can all agree that most comedies in recent seasons of anime have always tried to cling on to a similar type of situations or settings, the most obvious one being school comedy shows. You never get to see writers try to come up with different kinds of circumstances that could be brilliant but once they do it usually comes off either decent or just plain forgettable. It’s not often we get a show like Hataraku Maou-sama that is not only light-hearted and fun but also boasts some of the best comedy writing in an anime I’ve seen in yet this year.

The title Hataraku Maou-sama read more
Jul 27, 2013
KatakuriMojo (All reviews)
Hataraku Maou-sama! is one of my favourite anime for many reasons, and I think it is a must watch for any comedy/action loving fan. Please read on to find out why!

Story: 8
I found that the story, although not completely original, was executed very well. It begins with a very action-packed opening scene, and transitions nicely into the characters arriving in this strange land known as 'Tokyo'. The comedic timing in this show is spot on, and because of that it often made me actually laugh out loud (that is rare). The story pans out a little slowly, and although the action at the start is read more
Jul 28, 2014
NipponBanzai (All reviews)
I'm still wondering why i had skipped this masterpiece... but thank god I watched in a good mood, It's comedy is awesome, the voice actors are fit for every character is almost like they were meant to play them.
It has a nice start and a nice ending, there aren't plot holes and is easy to understand, and ofc it will make you laugh easily too!

this one needs a second season ASAP! and I strongly recommend everyone to watch this exellent piece of work.
Dec 9, 2014
WillSilva98 (All reviews)
------------------- No Spoiler Review of The Devil is a Part Timer---------------

The Devil is definitely The Lord of The Fries!!

Hataraku Maou-sama!(The Devil is a Part Timer) Is about Satan himself who finds himself in Modern Day Japan and works as a part timer at the McRonalds.

This anime is great and very fun to watch.

Story(8/10): The Story of Hataraku Maou-sama! is great and puts a good twist on the genre by making him work at McRonalds and trying to get by in a world where he is now longer top dog. The story is interesting and develops well throughout the series but an ending which I read more
Aug 10, 2013
SweetOmelette (All reviews)
Caution-you better be looking around in your local McDonalds, there are chances a demon lord could be working there!?! Hataraku Maou-sama is one of those animes that will throw you in for a spectacular ride with a twist!

Story- 8
Besides the world-traveling part of the story, I believe most of the story was quite original. I mean where else can you find an Overlord working in McDonalds? Despite others saying the pacing was slow, I thought it was appropriate- not too slow or too fast. As for the comedy, romance, and fantasy aspect, Hataraku uses absurd and cliche ideas and incorporates it into an outrageous read more
Aug 8, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
Hataraku Maou-sama
Hataraku Maou-sama!, i expected this to be even better because people that i know and people on comment section of everywhere were saying this was great, but there are some things that bothered me and thought they could have done those things better.

Story
The story was basic, a Demon lord that initially went to another dimension to regains his powers and start from the bottom and conquer Japan and the world, but then he realise that he's comfortable in this dimension, this is where he starts and keeps with his humble and hilarious life, where every situation is laughable and he at some points will read more
Nov 17, 2013
post_human (All reviews)
What if the devil lost almost all of his power and was forced to live in modern world? What if the hero came to defeat him and was actually a really bad tempered yelling girl? What if the devil didn't really have any skills and was forced to work as a part-timer at MgRonalds to earn his living? Yeah, it really sounds like a hilarious situation and that's how this anime is. The writer does try to throw in some random romance or emotional stuff but this show really shines through it's comedy mainly and on that regard it really is one of the best read more
Aug 31, 2014
punkertz (All reviews)
This is one of the funniest anime series I've seen so far...and I have seen a lot.

I was hooked to this series only after watching the first 10 minutes of the first episode, it is hilarious

Being able to use the typical and common, maou vs yuusha plot and turning it into a very funny anime deserve a standing ovation from me. although there are a few funny series that uses similar plot, this one is in my top ten list of funniest anime.

The anime artworks wasl well drawn and the characters are wonderful and unique. The anime team inserted the jokes and punt at the read more
Oct 10, 2017
kairyu_gen1 (All reviews)
It was funny at times, but it didn't understand how its own comedy worked and eventually fell apart.

The show starts out well enough, the premise is a solid foundation for situational comedy, 2 enemies trapped together and have to co-exist sets up a number of fun little gags, the fact that the main character is the literal devil is honestly just a gimmick to get people to check it out, the writers either didn't understand or didn't care what the devil is supposed to be, but it was just semantics and the show still made me chuckle a number of times each episode, so I read more
Feb 28, 2017
themegamancave (All reviews)
What happens when you take the most devious, evil being in the universe, zap him of his power and force him to live like a normal person in the hustle and bustle of normalcy? Hilarity ensues! White Fox’s (Steins;Gate, Re:Zero) 2013 release has probably one of the most unique premises in anime history. King Satan himself has been transported to earth along with his right hand man, Ashiya and ends up working at a fast food chain so cleverly coined “MgRonalds” while warding off heroes and other nemeses from his past life in Ente Isla. Yeah, sounds pretty interesting to me! Unfortunately, past some situational read more
Jun 27, 2013
baki502 (All reviews)
Well I have just completed this anime and therefore I am going to give my opinion about this anime too, as I think this anime does not deserve the rating it is given right now.
When I heard about this series it immediately caught my attention. The demon Lord somehow ends up in the human world and starts a conquest to conquer the world! This all wrapped nicely in a comedy show and it immediately reminded me a bit of Beelzebub. So you could imagine how excited I was for it to air. And for the first few minutes my expectations where fullfilled but afterwards it read more
Aug 2, 2014
kaizersaber (All reviews)
I would say that Hataraku Maou-Sama tries too hard to be what it's not. It's meant to be a comedy but there are many scenes inside which try to make it seem like there's some deeper plot/reveal when everyone knows that there obviously isn't because the style has made it clear that the anime doesn't take itself seriously at all.

Story: 3/10

I don't know if you can call anything in this anime a "story". Sure there were some minor conflicts about, but most of it was just routine. I would give the story 3 points just because there seemed to be 3 major arcs where there read more
Feb 15, 2015
Blazestar (All reviews)
As a person who isn't interested in comedy in general, it is really hard to find a not-so-serious show that is actually enjoyable. The devil is a part-timer! was quite a surprise for me.

Ten years from now if I still remember this anime, it would be the built-in commercials...
Constructive Criticisms are welcomed via PM or comment, they will be appreciated greatly.



STORY (Concept 4/5, Developement 3/5)

In an age when all animes are set in a world where people from reality somehow fall into some sort of fantasy (shout out to SAO and No game no life), this show is brave enough to do read more
Jul 19, 2014
Red_Tuesday (All reviews)
A failed gateway drug.

Slice of life and romantic comedy genres have always been behind shounen and fantasy/ sci-fi in popularity. It stands to reason that eventually a producer would try to encroach on that territory with a special formula pure-bred to draw in a new audience and teach them appreciation of your genre.

Hataraku Maou-sama! is that special formula, sadly it is not a very good one.

At first glance, the concept lends itself very well to what they are trying to do. Satan gets exiled to Japan along with his most loyal henchman, and has to learn the ways of a new life while trying to read more
Jun 11, 2015
Hiiroda (All reviews)
Why i'm supposed to love HMS? This anime was great with so many potentials. I'm so love comedy and HMS is the best choice if you want some "romcome" anime. The storyline make me curious about relationships between each characters, and HMS need the 2nd season as soon as possible. About graphics and art, this anime became the pioneer of the newcomers (on entire 2014-15) who has similarity in arts with HMS (2013). Enjoy :)