Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nerawareta Gakuen


Alternative Titles

English: Psychic School Wars
Japanese: ねらわれた学園

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 19, 2012
Licensors: Funimation, NYAV Post
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Novel
Genres: Sci-Fi, Romance, School
Duration: 1 hr. 46 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.111 (scored by 29,417 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #33612
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1488
Members: 68,385
Favorites: 154

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 24, 2013
Spirai (All reviews)
After watching this, I was torn between regret of even trying it and a slight satisfaction that I was able to complete it.

STORY (4)

This movie starts off in a cliche manner. There's a new transfer student who, from his very first lines, we can confirm is not from Earth. We are introduced to the main set of characters- a typical, "you pervert!", finger-pointing anime girl who is the neighbor of the main character, the girl that the main character likes who's talented, shy, and also typical, and the main character himself who seems to be the typical anime guy who does not measure up to read more
Oct 20, 2012
MerelyPlayers (All reviews)
Having just returned from the apparent world premier, I can assure you that if you are a fan of anime with compelling stories, well constructed plots, and a suitable amount of intrigue, this film is most definitely not for you.
I'm sure the original story is as nuanced and engrossing as the reputation of its author would suggest. However, what the director of this film has managed to cram into these (approximate) 90 minutes is not so much a tale of psychic rivals and their attempts to impact history as it is a mishmash of awkward, stereotypically 'anime-ish' relationships and overt use of inanely pretty read more
Jun 24, 2013
-Karoshi- (All reviews)
I was looking forward to this movie for some time after reading MAL's synopsis, but after completing it, I felt as if I set my expectations too high.

STORY (6)
Nerawareta Gakuen, or Psychic School Wars, is a misnomer. Not once did anyone have a psychic battle against one another, let alone a war. From what I saw, a new handsome transfer student brainwashes all the students that had an aptitude to do some little magic, and were sent out to bully those who do not have powers. This in turn led to the tyranny of the student council, who created an inquisition hellbent on reprimanding those read more
Sep 29, 2013
notesec (All reviews)
With a story so convoluted, characters so dull and cliché, art and animation so top notch and a beautiful (but basic and boring) soundtrack makes this a mess of a movie.

The plot is stupid. Half of the time I didn't even know what was going on. It starts of as a sort of slice of life, school romance with a touch of sci-fi but and then moves into weird territory concerning cellphones (and their banning), psychic powers, time travel and a troubling dictatorship subplot. And the characters, my god, don't get me started.
There's the dull and boring main character, the life-long best friend neighbour girl read more
Oct 20, 2012
Vodh (All reviews)
It is a hard and often under-appreciated craft to bend cliches to your will and use them to create a beautiful and astonishing piece of art. The authors of Nerawareta Gakuen have succeeded.

The first thing that draws attention are the visuals. This is one of the most beautiful anime movies that I've ever seen. The quality of art and animation is absolutely top-notch. It is very bright and colorful, but we're being bombarded with the faerie-like palette with absolute mastery. I would say it is worth watching for the visuals alone. The music and sound production follow in line, complimenting the breathtaking graphics perfectly.

But read more
Jun 25, 2013
Impetus (All reviews)
To the casual viewer, Nerawareta Gakuen ostensibly appears to be about three seemingly average junior high students and one mysterious time traveler posing as a transfer student. However, if one peels back the first layer, it becomes obvious that Nerawareta Gakuen possesses myriad levels of complexity as it blends metaphor and reality. By cleverly using love, telepathy, and cell phones as metaphors for various forms of personal connection while simultaneously allowing them to serve as key plot devices to drive the corporeal story, Nerawareta Gakuen attempts to tackle and frame philosophical questions such as the meaning of personal connection, loneliness, individuality, and privacy.

Though read more
Jun 27, 2013
TheArchangel (All reviews)
Communication and connection are important parts of human relationships that develop over time, and in an era of incredibly easy access to technology, it is easy to assume that these bonds can be formed at the click of a button. However, is it really so easy to impersonally call someone a friend from having their cell phone number or email address? Rather than speaking through the "mind," simply expressing your feelings through words and actions can be more effective than any kind of computer or cell phone can offer.

Blending elements of time travel, psychic awareness and philosophy, "Nerawareta Gakuen" (Psychic School Wars) focuses on read more
Feb 6, 2015
Arsene_Lucifer (All reviews)
Nerawareta Gakuen effortlessly weaves a story that combines romance, time travel, an impending apocalypse, and growing up into an incomprehensible mess of a film. The film is plagued with aimless direction, among other things, that prevents it from being any more than eye candy. Besides being pretty to look at there’s nothing to be gained from seeing this film that’s a chore to finish.

The premise of Nerawareta Gakuen, which translates to the cooler sounding, but very misleading English title Psychic School War starts out simple. Introducing four characters into what appears will be a romance story with light elements of sci-fi. Following four characters each read more
Jun 25, 2013
Yemi_Hikari (All reviews)
The movie was a major let down. Don't get me wrong, I liked the characters, the sound as well as the art work, but that becomes a mute point when the actual plot line leaves a lot of unanswered questions for the viewer. Everything else ends up feeling like it was wasted. There is that much lack of closure by the end. It's to the point I'm frustrated and annoyed, particularly when I was honestly looking forward to this one.

One of the main issues comes from the fact the movie isn't just about certain characters having powers, it's about time travel. As I watched the read more
Dec 11, 2015
yesterdaz (All reviews)
Okay, despite what others may say, this is a good movie to watch. I especially thought that the surprise at the ending made up for the confusion throughout. Yeah, it wasn't packed full of action, and twenty more minutes to clear up the plot would certainly have been welcome, but, regardless, I definitely thought it was worth the just shy of two hours I spent watching it.

From this point on, there WILL be SPOILERS. The next section are for people who watched the movie and were confused. This should clear up a lot.

Let's start from the beginning.

Ryouichi Kyougoku's father went back it time FIRST, in read more
Jun 24, 2013
TheAwakenHD (All reviews)
First I must warn you ! Don't make the same mistake that I did when watching this movie, wear sunglasses or you eyes will be burnt . (I'm not joking)

Well what to say about this thing that I have just watched, if you are fan of cheery petals this anime is for you, if you like special lens effects or light beams destroying your eyes this is a must watch.

And what about the movements of the characters they look like puppets it's just so unreal it just creep me out more than the exorcist or insidious . Just amazing !

The story :

Exactly read more
Aug 13, 2013
KingArthur13th (All reviews)
I may be an avid anime viewer but I rarely watch anime movies but I decided to give this new one a try. Nerawareta Gakuen is a supernatural romantic drama that starts off simple but gradually builds into a beautiful story that drops 2/3s of the way through. Allow me to explain what I mean. Nerawareta Gakuen starts off as a touching middle school romance between a set of friends that turns into a heart wrenching love triangle of pure unrequited love for each person involved. The love triangle gets even more complicated when Ryoichi, the new transfer student enrolls. Said transfer students turns out read more
Oct 28, 2014
AladdinTheMagii (All reviews)
Having just finished watching the movie a few moments ago I felt like now would be the perfect time to do a review. It's still fresh in my mind, and while I won't intend to do the normal layout of a review going over the story, art, sound, etc. separately, I felt I'd just give an overall.

Before watching this, I had finished Hotarubi no Mori e on youtube and Nerawareta Gakuen came up in the sidebar so I thought, why not give it a chance. And it was worth it. At some points, like in a lot of movies, there's a lack of action, read more
Jun 25, 2013
gagan5867 (All reviews)
Personally I would say the anime was beautiful. It felt so damn tranquil. Yeah I have seen many reviews saying that the story wasn't so good because the title suggests something else. Well supposedly it suggests psychic battles. Is it? If you are looking for action I recommend not watching it but if you are a lover of beautiful things its a must watch. Yeah at some parts its quite hard to understand but the ending puts all things to places.

The ending? Makes you sad really sad until the ending song ends. There is always something good after that. A typical happy ending it read more
Apr 25, 2019
NaMYAYA (All reviews)
WHAT THE FUCK IS GOING ON?!

That's the question you'll be asking yourself if you so choose to watch this anime. That shit that I just watched was like a fever dream. Let's just start now while it's fresh in my mind.

[Story?]

To begin with, the story gets a 1/10. The pacing in this anime is ridiculous. Let me put it this way: this should have been a 24 episode anime, not a movie. There is just too much shit going on at the same time. By the end of the movie I was just fucking confused. Like, I understood everything that happened, but I wasn't invested read more
Feb 20, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Oh boy...this movie was a sit to get through...

Alright before LA starts thrashing this movie, LA might as well get what it did RIGHT before tearing into this one. There will be mild spoilers ahead you have been warned! So this movie has time travelers and psychics involved and what they do with it as iffy of subject it is for time travel to pull off of...LA will be at least a bit lenient and say that Nerawareta Gakuen did...."ok" but even then it has some problems but that a bit later. The voice acting wasn't that bad all thing considering with Kana Hanazawa doing read more
Jul 5, 2013
jbeat (All reviews)
If I were to make a review based on the art, I'd say IT IS VISUALLY BEAUTIFUL, 10/10! However, art isn't the only category that makes a movie great or a flop. What pulled this movie down was the story/plot.

Story (3):
One world to describe the story: Confusing! The story was just all around the place. A new plot was brought up even though the previous one has been left unsolved. The first half was fine since it was still introducing the characters & the plot was still developing (exposition), and the tension and issues were building up(rising action). However, when the second read more
Nov 6, 2014
bunny1ov3r (All reviews)
Yesterday, my girlfriend and I wanted to watch an anime movie. We had four choices: AnoHana Movie, Hotaru no Haka, Hoshi wo Ou Kodomo, and Nerawareta Gakuen. Because I thought the rest of the choices would be too sentimental for a casual watch, we went with the last choice, Nerawareta Gakuen.

Don't make the same mistake I did.

I'll say it right away. I am not sure where this story stands in terms of science fiction writing (the source material), but in terms of an anime movie adaptation, it is horrible.

Story (3)
I do understand that everyone enjoys a different type of story. Some prefer drama, some prefer read more
Sep 15, 2013
gidoran (All reviews)
I actually watched this movie accidentally, thinking it was something else entirely. However, having full enjoyed the movie, I got on the Internet and started poking around - where did this come from, what was the vision behind it, that kind of thing. And everywhere I go - whether it's Anime News Network or here on MAL, every says that the story is about the main characters battle for freedom at their school.

That isn't true at all. This anime is about the characters, period, and the plot only works to emphasize their relationships. All of the cast are very simple characters - there really isn't read more
Aug 9, 2015
Aerial_Assasain (All reviews)
Please don't get your hopes up for this anime. To be honest this anime was a disappointment. The only time you should watch this is on a boring rainy day with nothing else to satisfy you with.

The anime is quite cliche and very awkward at times.

Although the background art is very well drawn they managed to counter it with very poor drawing of the characters.

The movie starts with a typical transfer student that attracts all the other students. Then all of a sudden the topic of cell-phones being disruptive comes up and they are being banned; they apparently they cause people to be uncommunicative with read more