Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ro-Kyu-Bu!


Alternative Titles

English: Ro-Kyu-Bu ~ Fast Break!
Synonyms: Rou-Kyuu-Bu!, Rou-Kyu-Bu!, Ro-Kyu-Bu: Fast Break
Japanese: ロウきゅーぶ!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 1, 2011 to Sep 23, 2011
Premiered: Summer 2011
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.941 (scored by 27,201 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #39532
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1496
Members: 62,816
Favorites: 200

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 1, 2011
Sartaj (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review for Ro-Kyu-Bu! will be based on opinions made after viewing the first episode of the series.

This show is like a cross between a really sugoi (tl note: sugoi means amazing)adaption of Slam Dunk and Kodomo no Jikan. Basically, we have this lolicon who becomes a basketball coach for an elementary school. This team he has to put up with (tl note: enjoy) consists of two perverted DFC goddesses, some dfc who thinks she’s Shaq, a glasses girl who will probably get hit by a train by the end(as they all do), and this overly self conscious big tits girl who belongs on read more
Jun 26, 2013
blaZofgold (All reviews)
I'm somewhat perplexed by the number of 6's and 7's this anime is receiving. I was initially reluctant to watch this anime because of the score, but I'm glad I committed in the end.

Ro-kyu-bu is a loli/sports anime with a barebones plot and relatively static characters. While some might consider this points to criticize the anime on, I would like to point to the genre of the piece and remind everyone why we are watching this anime. To learn more about basketball? I should hope not. Sports anime is almost always a terrible representation of the actual sport itself. I will smack anyone who dares read more
Jul 2, 2011
InunoTaishou (All reviews)
Preliminary
The only two reviews on this show are overall ratings of 10 and 0, claiming it's good loli show and other saying it's a crappy loli show and not worth the time.

The show is indeed loli, though I think they present it in a cute and at the same time seductive way, *spoiler* as soon as he opens the gym door he's greeted by loli maids which then turn to imouto maids with their overall goal of this greeting is to making their new coach love them (I won't reveal why, but if you actually paid attention to the show you'd figure it out and read more
Sep 25, 2011
AquaHaze (All reviews)
When lolis and basketball are combined, the result isn't as bad as one might expect. Although it's far from great Ro-Kyu-Bu is a charming series.

If you are looking an anime that is heavily focused on basketball then you are looking in the wrong place. Basketball is simply the activity which brings everyone together. However the series does lack a solid plot because the focus is on the characters themselves making it feel like a slice of life some of the time. The series is character driven and the majority of this anime is spent developing the characters, which is okay but it makes it hard read more
Jul 29, 2015
Blood_Diver_A (All reviews)
[THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS]
––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

"Lolicon: Or (The Unexpected Love for a Loli Character)"

Keizo, the director for Sekirei and Dog Days, was walking towards an unfamiliar house; the home belonged to an underaged girl, whom he had met online. A few days before, he asked the girl if she wanted to participate in a voice audition. She replied, “Yes”, under the condition that they perform the voice audition in her home. This was unusual, but he didn’t want to disappoint the producers, so he went. Now, you’re thinking, aren’t voice actors usually young to middle-aged women in their 20’s or 30’s? Well…a strange development took place.

Normally, his read more
Mar 20, 2013
Orsonius (All reviews)
I'm a big sucker for Lolis and when I found out about this anime I was pumped!

And after finishing it I can say I wasn't disappointed, rather very pleased.

If you are a Loli-lover this is a must watch and one of the best shows in that genre out there.

But lets get to the heart of the review and look on what this show did right and what it lacked in.

Animation
Ro-Kyu-Bu, made by Studio Blanc, which did nothing that I know of before did a generic job animating the show. To be honest, an anime in the SoL pseudo-sports genre will most likely look not that read more
Sep 26, 2011
gamejok3r (All reviews)
Ro-Kyu-Bu was an entertaining enough series though the plot was lack luster, and the humor was a bit hit or miss. The artwork was typical of a slice of life anime and lacked originality, though the quality was good.

The plot was straight forward enough and lacked depth, though the direction was good and made for a heart warming story at times. However, as the series progressed it became apparent that the linear direction of the series will cause viewers to lose interest, and I doubt I could sit through more than a few episodes at a time before becoming bored with lack luster read more
Mar 18, 2013
Cronosmu (All reviews)
While many see Ro-Kyu-Bu! as a pointless lolicon anime, with its nihilistic approach it actually shows us the metanarrative of the struggles of women in the contemporary postpatriarchal society. It's clear, after deconstructing the visual paradigm and analizing the semioticist desituationism, that Hinata appears as the archetype of the fatal flow of communication and the rubbicon of the neorelationships between alienated individuals striving to survive in the neocapitalist narrative of reality. One can either reject the semantics of basketball's futility in the context of Foucaultian power relations or accept that, however, through Tomoka's efforts in a phalic dominated world one can have a clear access read more
Dec 5, 2012
AznBaka (All reviews)
The entertainment of basketball for all ages. The girls basketball team show dominance on the court and will accept any challenge ahead of them with the help of there coach on the sideline.
Oct 28, 2012
HadenaZubon (All reviews)
***This is a Spoiler-Free Review***

You probably have your pre-conceptions of what kind of show Ro-Kyu-Bu is. Even from just looking at a splash image, you may know whether or not this show is for you. This review will not convince anyone that is disturbed or offended (lol) by an anime about grade school girls playing basketball and the occasional ecchi rom-com harem antics that come with such a setup. For those of you still reading, there's a little more beneath that stereotypical exterior...(but only a little)

Story [6/10] - After watching the first episode it's pretty hard to get a feel for what read more
Oct 4, 2012
slyffer (All reviews)
Ro-Kyu-Bu!

If you expect a series full of originality, different, you probably will not like ro kyu and above are not like characters with characteristics of a child. If you liked K-on will likely identify with the characters that show the characteristics are similar.

I think the major difference of this series for of basketball are other children their characters strong bond that develops between them and how the author and producers managed to create a story that can be developed in a way not so focused on the sport, when you watch two episodes of the series you will immediately realize the intention of the producers read more
Dec 21, 2018
LunaPrecure (All reviews)
【 The following is a review of : Ro-Kyu-Bu!, Ro-Kyu-Bu SS!, and Ro-Kyu-Bu!: Tomoka no Ichigo Sundae (OVA) 】

Ro-Kyu-Bu! is a cute, eh, sports anime? That features a colorful cast of elementary girls who can unrealistically Michael Jordan a basketball. It’s like Kuroko’s Basketball, if the cast often played the sport in maid outfits and swimsuits. It’s an earnest fanservice series that doesn’t go too far and is family friendly; the seductive subtext is usually implied AT MOSTーif you need an added to connotation to that sentiment, this series is done by the same team AND mangaka that worked on Tenshi 3P.

• The characters, from the read more
Nov 11, 2014
Micsupreeme (All reviews)
When i dug into this show, not long ago, i was cautious due to the hate it got, as a Loli anime of course - this is to be expected. Thus forth, if you're completely against the genre, don't watch it just to rant!

Anyway, moving onto the show, contrary to popular opinion and the beginning in particular, this anime encompasses a nice medium between the Moe, and the sport at hand: basketball of course! It is to be expected then that since there is a division between genres, it's a laid back show, in fact it throws a degree of intimacy into the mix with read more
Aug 22, 2013
DustPotato (All reviews)
What can i say other than this anime is very Moe, and it has its hints that its not an anime for children. I'm always confused as to what grade these kids are in. Is the guy in High School, or Middle School. I understand that the girls are elementary school kids, but seriously, They most definitely do not seem like elementary. they seem like late middle school kids.

It was a very good anime, and I enjoyed it very much. The anime had its funny moments, its sincere moments, and its serious moments. It also taught that sports should not read more
Oct 25, 2014
Doubleagent (All reviews)
Highschooler Subaru Hasegawa has lost his passion for basketball. His aunt sets him up as a coach for a young schoolgirls team in an attempt to get him out of his funk.

Are you are looking for a hilarious, overly cutesy, slightly risqué show with an actual story? Congratz, you can stop as this is the absolute pinnacle of that. The main characters are really endearing and while the story is not exactly complicated, it does a really good job of somehow getting you invested in small girls playing basketball.

The voice cast in this show is simply amazing. Highlight has to be everyone's favourites Yuki Kaji read more
Nov 24, 2013
DreamyGhost (All reviews)
A really nice way to be introduced to a totally new genre! I've never watched an anime about basketball, as well as any other sport, but this... This was awesome! Maybe all the lolicon references dropped this anime's rating a lot, but it still was an worthy one!

{STORY - 9/10}

An inspiring story about five young girls, with the dream of playing on a big tournament. Subaru is the one chosen to lead this team to glory, as he'll also regain interest on basketball after a long time not playing it...

A lot of training and effort will turn those girls into an admirable team, based on read more
Jul 3, 2011
Magejutsu (All reviews)
Preliminary
So I decided to check out this anime, which I have dubbed "Loli-Ball" after hearing some buzz on it around the web. For the most part I expected it to be pretty moe right off the bat and I was right. It doesn't try to hide it's moe-ness at all. There's quite a bit of fan service as well but nothing to explicit.

The story really isn't in far enough for me to get a good opinion on it but it has potential. A former basketball player in 10th grade is tricked into coaching an elementary school's girl's club for 3 days, although it's obvious somehow read more
Sep 9, 2015
_Arcadia0 (All reviews)
Ro-Kyu-Bu

OH my gao, this is so unbelievably cute, so ridiculous lovable, so fantastically amazing and full of so much greatness. I typically try to avoid using this word, because of how people react to it, but…. It’s the only way to even explain what Ro-Kyu-Bu is….

…… Welcome to Loli’s playing basketball!!! That’s right, that’s what Ro-Kyu-Bu is, but fret not, aside from a few bathing scenes, it’s not all that bad, I promise (I’m totally lying, don’t listen to me, beware, ecchi)! The story of Ro-Kyu-Bu is about a high school student who is forced to be a sensei to 5 school girls in a read more
May 24, 2018
cammym333 (All reviews)
This is a good series. that is my short review. This series, in my opinion, gets an instantly bad rep because of the cover of things, and you should never judge a book on it's cover. Sure it has grade schoolers in sexually suggestive situations, and yes it can be considered to be borderline softcore lolicon.

But, in my very own opinion. There is a lot of character development for half of the characters. Be it minor or major, Hina, Tomoka and Airi do get better at basketball and/or improve relationships/friendships with the other players, the coach (Subaru), and even rivals.

I share that while read more
Dec 23, 2017
AnimeLuv1998 (All reviews)
WOW I AM FINALLY WRITING A REVIEW!!

First off before I rant about this anime I wanna just point out how I came across this series.. It was while I was playing Degenki Bunko Fighting Climax Tomoka was in the game it was two years ago I came across it so now I finally finished ahd watched it now onto the review!

WARNING MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

Story (5):
first three episodes Subaru and the girls go through training everyday but after a certain time he wanted to stop but thanks to his aunt he really couldn't cause she knew Subaru loves Basketball and there was someone on read more