Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mashiro-iro Symphony: The Color of Lovers


Alternative Titles

English: Mashiroiro Symphony: The Color of Lovers
Synonyms: Mashiro-iro Symphony: Love Is Pure White, Mashiroiro Symphony: The Color of Lovers, Pure White Symphony
Japanese: ましろ色シンフォニー -The color of lovers-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2011 to Dec 21, 2011
Premiered: Fall 2011
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 02:00 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Manglobe
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.221 (scored by 55,152 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #28372
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #951
Members: 110,595
Favorites: 459

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 24, 2013
Caleb_Marvell (All reviews)
Once upon a time, I was browsing through My Anime List, looking for a new anime to watch. That's when I found Mashiroiro Symphony. From the look of it, I guessed that it was based off of a visual novel. I've been a big fan of visual novels being turned into animes, I guess that's why I liked A Bridge to the Starry Skies, The Rose Madder Colored Hills, etc. So, I decided to try it. I didn't expect to find such a masterpiece.

So, story wise, nothing fancy. It's your typical harem anime that starts out with a boy coincidentally meeting what appears to be read more
Nov 23, 2014
OOCentral (All reviews)
When I first took a look into Mashiro-iro Symphony I never thought it would drag me in as much as it did. It took hold of my attention when I was watching, and didn't let go of me until I got though the whole anime; and yes I did marathon the anime for me it was that good.
I've always been a fan of romance animes, they're what I go to when I need an uplifting story or a sad one; this anime does it that bill of being one of read more
Nov 12, 2011
daemonblade1229 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Mashiro Symphony: The Blandness of Half-Ass Ville

I've watched 2 episodes of the anime. That was all I could muster before I just couldn't watch anymore. This is a preliminary review, based on what I've seen so far, and experienced based conjecture as to where it's gonna go.

The best way to describe this is with one word: bland.

Bland, bland, bland.

Characters are extremely one dimensional. Any attempts to make them interesting or have the audience invest are cursory at best. This is especially true for the main character. He has no quirks, no eccentricities, no emotional palette. He has 3 emotions: smiling contentment, thoughtfully unsettled, read more
Jul 26, 2014
OliverGriffin (All reviews)
This is quite possibly the best anime that I've ever seen that has harem listed as a genre.

I'm sure that you will all agree that the most annoying thing about any harem anime is the perverted characters who tries to hit on everyone/ gets hit on by everyone. Thus, I have more or less given up on the harem genre and steer well clear. However, this anime is like hope at the bottom of Pandora's box.

I really like how the protagonist is not just a decent person for once but he cares so much about everyone around him. All he is ever trying to do read more
Jan 15, 2014
sudokia (All reviews)
Judging by the cover of Mashiroiro Symphony: The Color of lovers, I thought this was just another typical cliche harem, you know, high school environment, different females for the male lead to choose. As I was progressing through the anime, I realized the plot was very "unique" and was driven by "unique" characters. Mashiroro Symphony does not follow the typical harem outline. Does that mean this anime was outstanding? exceptional?

NOPE

Personally, I don't mind if a harem is cliched or not, i was not expecting a unique plot, just your typical average harem. even if it was different I wouldn't mind it. So what went wrong?

STORY read more
Oct 20, 2011
Imperialz (All reviews)
Preliminary
1st thing to say, do not judge a book by its cover. This is not your standard visual novel adaptation. I am surprised myself. I watched for now, up until episode 3 and was surprised by everything it offers me. In fact some says about the ecchi scenes things but it does not disturbs the story and believe me, you won't find any more of that scene starting from episode 2, maybe it's an element to attract 1st time watcher but I think the element does not disturb the storyline after the 1st episode.

2nd, about the storyline, well, maybe pretty generic at 1st, the protagonist read more
Dec 22, 2011
mdz (All reviews)
[contains some generalized spoilers, point of view from someone who didn't play the visual novel]

Mashiro-iro Symphony (TV) is one of the two visual novels adapted this fall season.

From what I know, the Visual Novel sold extremely well[#1 Oct 2009], but it was also extremely average[7.68@VNDB]. Unfortunately, it being “average” appears to carry on over to the anime. The characters are extremely generic and linear; there's very little character development [There's two tsunderes, the nice girl, the maid, and the sister]. In most romance series, relationships form, characters mature, they grow, they get more intimate with each other, it's gradual, but it's there. However, in Mashiro, read more
Feb 7, 2012
retardation (All reviews)
I decided, based on what I thought was sound reasoning to check out Manglobe's latest release Mashiroriro Symphony: The Color of Lovers. I'm not the biggest fan of eroge interpretations but when I have liked them they were usually produced out by the higher tier studios. I dug the output from studios like Kyoto Animation (Clannad, Kanon, etc.), Shaft (Ef series), and P.A. Work (True Tears) because those studios were able to mask the usual problems with harem/game based series with great animation, direction or story writing.

I don't play eroge myself so I am not too certain about how often the source read more
Apr 6, 2012
Yuffira (All reviews)
Ow, another harem any with pretty characters! Something I like to devour every now and then. It even started of with a decent plot and 3 very strong main characters.
When Uryuu, Airi and Sakuno were introduced in the first episode I was happy to find out none of them are your average harem characters. A pity this impression didn't last long.

Sakuno,who seems to have had issues in the past and who could be a very interesting character, is sadly pushed to the background after just one episode. Airi, a strong looking woman, gets 3 episodes of glory but afterwords turns into background decoration. read more
Feb 11, 2012
ray357 (All reviews)
Mashiro-Iro Symphony

“White” -a pure and unstained color but could be dyed by any other color.

The title of this anime can be translated as “Pure White Symphony.” I agree with the author to go with this title. It’s a very suitable title for such a pure, innocent anime. The story is rather simple, our male protagonist usually encounters with our heroine and many other female companions.
However, it seem like this anime was written by two different scriptwriter.. This anime seem to be split into two where in the first part of the anime, the producers focused on one heroine and then on the second read more
Dec 28, 2013
MoonlightDeath (All reviews)
Hi, um new to the reviewing table, but have watched my fair amount of anime.
Mashiroiro Symphony, was a decent anime, the main character was a likable character, not to dense, but also extremely dense. Honestly, if the anime had more drama and more episodes to deepen the plot then it would be one of the best anime. The story is basically a high school teenager male that is attending a former all-girls school as a test to see if it can go fully co-ed. He is kind and that apparently wins the hearts of several girls. What was hilarious though was that the plot went read more
Mar 29, 2012
Vortyne (All reviews)
Lately with VN or eroge based animes I have been under the conviction that unless the anime takes two seasons to develop, most of the time the anime will end up extremely hurried and overly condensed. Mashiroiro was a nice outlier for this, proving to be quite enjoyable while staying modest in order to accomplish this. Very innocent story, without a whole lot of drama, but it makes for something very relaxing to watch and does not leave you unsatisfied. Each character has their time, and very thankfully, they do not pull that "You know who the main character is going to choose just because read more
Sep 6, 2012
Mindjack (All reviews)
Mashiroiro Symphony is an adaptation of the eroge. I've never played the eroge, so it's kind of hard to really understand how the story was supposed to play out.

The story was kind of everywhere. It jumped from one girl to another and it was pretty obvious too. After Sena and he had gotten into a bath together, they never really talked to each other after that. It was really confusing because I thought they had become close or something after doing something like that. Anyway, I guess the story tried to get some story about all characters to fit into the 12 episode limit that read more
Dec 9, 2014
WindAngel959 (All reviews)
If u aren't perverted then when u want to watch this anime,you will wavering because of the ratings which said "mild nudity" but don't worry,there is no visible and obvious nudity like ones in pervy anime at all. It is a truth that there are some scenes which male MC is forced to take a bath in same tub with some of fem characters coz the fem characters get in on their own even though they know that male MC already in the tub. But trust me,their body isn't being exposed or anything. So,don't worry,you wont see any ecchi nor hentai scenes in it :)

well read more
Feb 3, 2019
WorldofASH (All reviews)
At first look, this seems like a regular harem anime with a school setting. I remember watching the first few episodes with a bit of a bored look on m face just listing of the archetypes of each girl. But eventually, I found myself drawn in. I am not sure exactly what drew me in but by the 6th episode, I could not stop.

The characters, while a touch one dimensional at the beginning grew heavily throughout the anime. Each characters grew personally and created connections with each other that I could not call at all. Each one was truly fleshed out and really made it read more
Oct 28, 2011
Anmolya (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of the anime is great and the very first episode hooks you on pretty good. I've liked the story so far and have been very intriguing. It has a very good first episode & things turn out to get be better and better. It does have some humorous parts where the main character goes into the girl changing room by accident, so there is a little bit of ecchi present for all those ecchi fans out there. If your looking for a fan service anime those anime does not have much of fan service close to none. If you are looking for a good read more
Oct 21, 2011
walloman (All reviews)
Preliminary
well, at first i thought the story was going a whole other direction, but it really surprised me that it didn't, so thats commendable. the story... i give it "fair' at best, there is barely any movement in it, and its obvious that this anime was based on a bishoujo game. the drawing is one of the most appreciated qualities in this anime. the voice actors i guess were good, i don't tend to focus on this area. the characters are kind of unstable, but i'm sure you will see what i mean about it being obvious that it was based on a dating sim. read more
Jan 14, 2012
DakenFrost (All reviews)
INSTRUCTIONS FOR USE

Okay in my reviews i am going to tell my opinion on three things: plot, characters and overall. I may write some additional note if something was particularly good or not (like art or the characters voice).
I am going to try to be impartial, even if i like the anime a lot or i dislike it like the kechtup on the pasta and put things in the right context (i can't expect a complex plot for an harem)

REVIEW

Plot - 7
Yeah it's not bad at all; it's always an harem so for an harem the plot is totally nice. It is not simple and read more
Dec 28, 2011
VelocityWaffles (All reviews)
characters: I think I'll start my review with the best part of this series, the characters. All of the characters in MS were amazing, they all had their own personalities and you learn a lot about each of them throughout the series. One thing I really liked was how they portrayed the main character shingo, instead of being some idiot with a short temper or a pervert they made him a helpful and very kind person who was genuinely concerned about others. All the other characters had depth to them and were very unique in my opinion, even if their personalities were built off of read more
Oct 10, 2011
divinelight (All reviews)
-Updated below-

There is no much revealing for the story from entire episode 1, but it's about how test students getting to study together with an all-girl-school for some times.

The story is opened by a brother who searching his lost sister on the way home, not a great starter but surely a nice approach. After her sister's cellphone battery died, she was lucky to find another lost girl and both of them able to reunite with the brother. Simple, yet nice event.

Art is ultimately the best part of this series, I could say I will watch entirely because of the art itself.

Character design, much like the read more