Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

The iDOLM@STER


Alternative Titles

English: THE IDOLM@STER
Synonyms: The Idolmaster
Japanese: アイドルマスター

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 8, 2011 to Dec 23, 2011
Premiered: Summer 2011
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:25 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Game
Genres: Comedy, Drama, Music
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.691 (scored by 38,781 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #11562
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #923
Members: 113,011
Favorites: 1,487

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 26, 2011
Ryhzuo (All reviews)
When one gets to point where they begin disregarding anime because they have too many girls on their front poster, it's probably time to take moment and re-evaluate. Granted, I've forced myself to sit through so many generic harems, rom-coms and ecchis these past few years that it has almost become reflexive of me to steer clear of any anime which possibly looks like it may contain any one of the aforementioned three. It was only natural then when I saw the poster of The Idolm@ster, an ensemble of 13 cute girls gawking up at me, that alarm bells tripped off in my head like read more
Aug 15, 2011
saikanokiseki (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm sort of a strange fan of the iDOLM@STER series. In terms of experience with the series, i've only seen Xenoglossia myself, which I also enjoyed very much, even though the other people I talked to about it didn't really seem to like it. Aside from that, i've never played any of the games associated with it, so I can't say I have any experience with them.

That being said, The iDOLM@STER so far has been quite an enjoyable experience for me.
(Please note that all things said below are my opinion only! Also, most of the things I talk about are already subjective in nature, so read more
Dec 23, 2011
Inushinde (All reviews)
There are some anime series that you desperately want to love. You’re either drawn in by the premise, one of the characters will strike your fancy for some reason and you’ll begin a furious Pixiv binge in search of any fanart of them to the point that your computer crashes and you’re declared legally dead, or you see some shimmer of pure gold underneath that thick sheen of shit and mediocrity and want to see if it’ll be more evident later on. The Idolmaster was one of the latter series, and it left me feeling entirely unsatisfied from start to finish.

The premise is simple enough: read more
Jun 3, 2012
Sanagami (All reviews)
The Idolm@ster is an ecchi anime with tons of fanservice but don't worry, your parents won't get mad because there is never any sex! A Producer enters a world with tons of lonely models and they get into many panty-revealing, nose bleeding adventures. The harem increases one by one and soon, all the girls just want the producer to touch their boobs. If you are a man, I definitely recommend this anime. Why should we ever bother with hentai anymore? That's all Idolm@ster is about....

....Or so you thought.

Well then, sorry to disappoint you but I lied. For some reason, Idolm@ster tries to sell read more
Jul 31, 2016
KUNYIT (All reviews)
Story: 3 (no impact. Mostly episodic, and while episode 08 is the only one that i like, the rest was boring for me)
Art: 8 (moe-moe cute girls)
Sound: 7
CHaracter: 2 (annoying and childish)
Enjoyment: 2
Overall: 2 (don't bother this at all)

Before proceeding to review sentence, allow me to apologize for my harsh overall ratings.

The Idol Master has potential to be the most entertaining idol anime because it was adopted by A-1 Picture that notably has abundant budget to create appealing animation, art, and music/OST. Unfortunately it falls apart from the expectation due to that it diverges its way from being realistic in idol topic...or not read more
Jul 10, 2011
electricbloom (All reviews)
Preliminary
The story revolves around 10 wannabe idols and the staff at their agency 765 Productions. The anime includes all the characters from the games along with their original voice actors making this series great for the original fans of the franchise. The first episode which aired in Japan on July 7th this year introduces the audience to the characters via interviews with each idol and member of staff, giving us an insight into their reason for becoming idols and working for 765 Productions. This was a very original introduction to the series and seemed like a great way of telling a story while keeping the read more
Aug 13, 2011
Tzu (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was thinking about giving this a quick spin but im gonna keep it short, since thats my thing.
So someone decided to make this video game into an anime, the story is about girls trying to be idols. Well I don't really see many game/anime adaptations go well and I can't really say im enjoying this series all that well. The plots kinda like a generic moe blobfest, and I think theres too much of that going around now.

The story consists of many different arcs with each idol being dug into deeper, their person and abilities are shown very vaguely and its a bit read more
Jun 21, 2015
King_Of_Light (All reviews)
So this is the first time watching an "Idol" themed anime, and because of that I may be rating this better than I should, but all in all this is a great anime and I doubt I would change the rating even if I had experience with similar animes.

Story: 9/10
The story really wasn't anything special to be honest. There were two main parts to the story (they can be differentiated by the opening changing). The first part consisted on the girls really trying to just get themselves out there and known to the world and while that may seem sorta boring, it really wasn't. Every read more
Mar 1, 2015
Scrambled1432 (All reviews)
Nearly plotless, fluffy as hell, and still pretty good. No CGI unlike Love Live!, which might be good or bad depending on who you are. Somehow manages to have each character be a character despite there being 15 or so.

Suuuuuuuper homosexual, though. Single most gay thing I've ever watched, and I watched Boku no Pico, man. Not that it's a bad thing, just incredibly homo. Every character is a lesbian or Miki, the only confirmed straight one there.
Apr 22, 2012
Lovely-Chan_6 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The IDOLM@STER is one of the best anime I watched. I love this anime because a lot of people can relate to some of the storyline. The girls also have various personalities. I also like it because their singing is amazing and the artwork is really good. Their dancing is amazing too. The anime is one of the best I watched.
Dec 14, 2011
tealeafkitty (All reviews)
Preliminary
Short Tips:
In one word: Vibrant
Good for: Light-hearted fun, colorful pretty art, watching to unwind and relax
Other notes: De-stressing, motivating, makes you smile! Cute girls and personalities :D

Full Review:
With a name like IDOLM@STER, I confess I really didn't expect much out of this anime when I first started. But after watching a few episodes, I was really really taken by the vibrant art and the colorful characters. To me, watching IDOLM@STER is like eating colorful fruit candy-- it's just so vibrant and sweet and there's nothing unpleasant about it at all!

The story of IM@S isn't much to be honest, 12 girls striving to read more
Dec 27, 2011
Jeffrey-sama (All reviews)
Being an idol is far from easy. On the surface, it may seem like the job is all fun and games. However, as shown in THE iDOLM@STER, unexpected twists and turns make this job a very stressful one. Despite this, being an idol is like a dream come true for many of these girls as they would undoubtedly give everything they have to stay as one. Based on the popular raising simulation and rhythm game of the same name, THE iDOLM@STER had previously been unknown to the vast majority of the anime universe. Before continuing on to the main section of the review, take note read more
Dec 23, 2018
jd2281 (All reviews)
Story: 9/10 - I love how the story progresses each episode. It wasn't focused on one-person's life only but everybody's. every character touch my heart.

Sound: 10/10 - I love the sound effects and fitted in every scence in each episode. Most of all, I LOVE the music. I am having so much fun listening to them. I loved J-pop more.

Character: 10/10 - Every character left impact on me. They have different personalities and I enjoy watching them. All I am saying while I watched is "This girls are kawaii!"

Enjoyment: 10/10. I SIMPLY LOVE THIS ANIME. Nothing less.

Overall: 10/10. This anime is very fun read more
Mar 5, 2019
ttcchen (All reviews)
This is the most memorable idol animes I've seen. I watched this when I was young and even now I can remember everything about this anime. Like what happened in each episode, the voice of each characters, their hobbies, personality, pet, appearance, song, backstory... And it's been many years since I've watched this, so it really takes a lot for me to remember them so well. That's what makes this the best idol anime (imo) ever.

Story 7/10: The story is simple. A producer helping an idol group from a poor company rise to the top. There is no rival idol groups, or media scandals, or read more
Oct 19, 2015
PoorKid (All reviews)
This is my first review, so please mind my unprofessionalism.
Originally, I watched the first episode as a mere joke, but by the end of the first episode, it left me wanting more. The IDOLM@STER was the first idol anime I had ever watched, and it opened up an entire new type of anime to me. I had taken a liking to idol animes upon completion of this one. As I watched this anime of 13 idols grow bigger and bigger in popularity, it made me feel somewhat proud. Remembering them as beginners just in the first few episodes and top idols in the last few read more
Sep 5, 2018
Sip_of_Mercury (All reviews)
HONESTLY... When I heard of this show, all I expected were girls performing at concerts. What I did NOT expect was the journey towards performing, any problems that occurred, nor any backstory (yes, we get a lot)... The character development is insane. Both openings 1 and 2 (Ready and Change respectively) are really fantastic, and the animations are fantastic for both. The art style for the characters, the background, posters, concerts, everything is amazing. The music is fantastic, and the backstories of the characters we get the backstories for are amazing. I enjoyed this anime so much, and I did not expect an anime like read more
Mar 13, 2016
Tozzy (All reviews)
I’d like to think that I’ve made plenty of ventures into different genres and styles of anime. Part of the fun in consuming the medium for me is finding something new to explore, and throwing myself in the deep end at times has proven to be a worthwhile experience. However, I’d found myself shying away from the realm of idol anime and I’m not too sure why. There was not much that appealed to me or reached out to say ‘you really need to give this a go’. I had to push myself to take a leap of faith and decided to use The Idolm@ster read more
Nov 2, 2011
Charliegone (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've heard a lot of things about Idolmaster prior to watching it. In fact, I heard a lot about the hasegawa model airplanes they came up some time ago. That kind of caught my attention and well, ironically about the same time this anime popped up so I decided to watch and see what it was about.

Basically this show is about a bunch of girls from different backgrounds wanting to be idols with the help from their producer who remains nameless.

Story

The anime starts off very slow. You are introduced to the characters and you aren't given much information on them until several episodes in. read more
Mar 14, 2018
TiaanM777 (All reviews)
Watching The IDOLM@STER was an experience similar to eating a Big Mac. It’s delicious and a joy to eat … until you discover a Whopper. The previously unrivaled now Big Mac tastes cheap and bland when compared to the Whopper, but still remains edible. My point I am trying to get across is this: The IDOLM@STER is fun to watch, but don’t expect too much from the series.

Story – 7/10

The plot in The IDOLM@STER is a simple one. It revolves around the lives of the 13 girls who aim to become prospective idols. The IDOLM@STER manages to tackle the entertainment industry quite accurately. Episodes in read more
Jan 24, 2016
Sawt0othGrin (All reviews)
The core concept behind a Japanese Idol is “heart” and then projecting that heart onto their audience. Likewise, an Idol-anime must emulate this same sensation of heart and project it onto the viewer. This emulation can be a task easier said than done and thankfully "The iDOLM@STER" accomplishes this with flying colors.

Idol Master follows the story of 12 would-be idols and their amazing production team on their journey from borderline bankruptcy to stardom. Along the way we get to see every up and down in the idol process. This includes stories ranging from quirky and often times very read more