Nurarihyon no Mago: Sennen Makyou


Nura: Rise of the Yokai Clan - Demon Capital

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Nurarihyon no Mago 2, The Grandson of Nurarihyon 2, Grandchild of Nurarihyon 2
Japanese: ぬらりひょんの孫 千年魔京
English: Nura: Rise of the Yokai Clan - Demon Capital
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 3, 2011 to Dec 18, 2011
Premiered: Summer 2011
Broadcast: Sundays at 17:30 (JST)
Licensors: VIZ Media
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, SupernaturalSupernatural
Theme: DemonsDemons
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.971 (scored by 7485674,856 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #5942
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1214
Members: 147,023
Favorites: 600

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 26, 2011
SerB3128 (All reviews)
After finishing the first series of Nurarihyon no Mago, I was a bit reluctant to watch the second series "Nurarihyon no Mago: Sennen Makyou" because the first series seemed to lack a lot of intensity, creativity and overall story. From the beginning I had thought NnM had a lot of potential, but it really disappointed me in the end.

But even so, I decided to watch this new series, the sequel to the first show. And dear god it has surpassed the first series by a thousand miles! I couldn't be happier with it! This new show is definitely more exciting, productive and interesting than read more
Oct 1, 2012
Yui_Haruna (All reviews)
"Can a girl enjoy a shounen-horror-demon-themed-anime?" I ask "Why not?"Sennen Makyou is the kind of second season that makes an anime outstanding. It drove away all the uneasy feelings the first season left, and strongly consolidated into one of my favorites. If I have to say more, I really want to read the manga after this.

//WARNING: This review will compare a lot first and second season of Nurarihyon. Lazy readers better go to conclusion. Sorry if I´m way too biased for the awesomeness of this anime//

Story (10):
SM has one of the most consolidated stories you´ll ever see. All the points that didn´t make much read more
Jul 24, 2015
Allen-KT (All reviews)
Here you can see the true meaning of underrated anime.

Starting here, i need to say that first season wasn't really good. But differently from most people i've enjoyed it pretty much specially because of Rikuo's growth. When i watched it i could see a completely different person from the beggining, with more courage to fight and other things.

However in season 2 i felt like the season one was completely shit. Here you have more fights, more strong villains, more ACTION! If the first season could be boring sometimes for being "slow" the second one is completely different! Training, fights, Rikuo's father story, Nurarihyon story... This read more
Feb 10, 2012
colonelpanic (All reviews)
Preliminary
I liked the first season of Nurarihyon. It wasn’t great, but it was enjoyable. I was hoping for comparable quality from the second season, and at first I thought I would get it. I was wrong.

I think my biggest problem with this show is that it takes forever to get to the point. I don’t mind that at all with shows that only vaguely hint that something might happen and refuse to tell you what it is until it does. With this show, it was pretty obvious what was going to happen most of the way through. read more
May 26, 2016
Angel_Apocalypse (All reviews)
oh my... this is one of the series that surpasses the prequel!!!!

it is action packed with much excitement and great characters. The Nura clan is one yokai clan with lovable but lethal characters. I love Kubinashi, Kappa and Tsurara!!! I just find the ending a bit of WTF!! i did not like how it ended. it should be something more adrenaline pumping sort of ending which would led us to anticipate for season 3 or even maybe another scheme to make us demand for a new season.

That feeling when you are so pump up with the climax but then stopped in an instant?! That's just read more
Jul 1, 2021
PattyWack (All reviews)
this is probably one of the most underrated anime i've ever seen. I loved this anime easily one of all time favorites. I just loved the story and characters so much, way better than the first season (that i also really enjoyed) the fight scenes in this seasons were just awesome and the character backstories as well.

This anime has a really cool 2000s feel to it but it aged great. ths series kind of reminds me of bleach, theres shinigamis, demons, and awesome sword fights.

Idk i just love this anime so much lol makes me feel good when i think about it.
Mar 31, 2012
taigataiga (All reviews)
Nurarihyon no Mago ~Sennen Makyou~ is indeed the continuation-- the second season of Nurarihyon no Mago, but this season really differs in overall story and intensity. While you're just gonna stay relaxed and breathing normally watching the first, wait until you actually start watching the second!

The story itself is way better than the first. The first one always focuses on bunch of kids on their adventure on searching yokais, and that sucks. The battles themselves didn't have much of a meaning and many of them were just wall displays-- they ended so quickly without any tension. Everything just remained unclear there and leaves us into read more
Jan 21, 2012
ray357 (All reviews)
Exceptional!! For the people who are reading this your probably sick of hearing this but i'll say it anyway. THE 1ST SEASON WAS A DISAPPOINTMENT, but to be expected! However it did serve its purpose... It introduced all the characters need to know and what the plot may include. However some people have expected something else, but I found it worth while to watch. The first season started slow that why people hate it.

However, if you are still deciding whether to go on and watch this season, I say go for it! You wont go wrong. The story has more depth, more violence, and read more
Mar 18, 2012
flaxman85 (All reviews)
One of the best Shounen Anime of 2011 no doubt. Do yourself a favor and forget about the 1st season; that piece of shit does not exist.

If you're still in your teens (damn you) and love shounen stuff, then this will feel like a masterpiece to you. If you're old like me (:sadface:) then this 2nd season will make you want to go back to being prepubescent boy again. ^.^

Story:
On the surface, the plot may seem generic to most viewers (ie. good guys try to stop bad guys from trying to take over the world). However, the story behind each characters from different factions read more
Dec 16, 2012
yukified (All reviews)
After completing the whole season 1 and season 2, I have gotta say that the clear difference between season 1 and 2 , is that the 1st season has lots of comedy side however in season 2, the plot thickens and intensify which is actually good.

I will be giving this story 9/10 but the plot can still be further developed like why is the night so long? I am actually surprised that rikuo classmates are not going on a yokai journey since like they are so interested in them which always put themselves in danger. Not to mention, kana chan which is seemingly rikuo read more
Nov 3, 2012
g-Reill (All reviews)
If you like anime that will give you excitement,action,thrill, and awesomeness. this anime is the one for you!

While watching this anime, some moments give me goosebumps. you cant help but think "how did he do that?!", "wow that was unexpected!", "impossible!".

well for me that is. if i put this anime in one word, that would be "AWESOME!"

now lets get to the review:

Nurarihyon no mago: sennen no makyou

Story: ( 9 / 10 )
The story was Great. sometimes it get a little boring part where there's talking. but most of the action will make you go "WOW". Unlike the first season read more
May 27, 2017
Aphyxia (All reviews)
A good anime on its own but as a sequel it took a really wrong direction.

The first season was really something special with its mix of romance, human life and youkai world. This anime, however, ditched all that and became all about the youkai world and strongly resembles your typical shounen battle anime.
Nothing wrong with that, but after watching the first season I was really hoping for more of the same and thus I'm really disappointed.

The main characters human friends went from main characters to side characters which was the biggest downer for me.

The romance aspect was cut down to almost none existent.

The read more
Mar 14, 2017
KingBaloo (All reviews)
I really got into this anime because I was looking for something short to watch that was on Netflix. After having seen all the other good ones that Netflix had to offer, I kinda fell to this one as a last resort, and it is just fine (6/10) - nothing too special, nothing too bad either.

The story is all over the place - The overall plot follows Rikuo Nurarihyon, a young yokai leader, who tries to bring his demon clan (who actually helps people rather than hurt them) to overcome the evil Hagorome Gitsune, the evil leader of the Tokyo demon clan. The story read more
Jan 17, 2016
XSilverWing (All reviews)
I have to admit. Nurarihyon no Mago was pretty disappointing for me since it didn't feel interesting. Heck I dropped out of it a few time before I finally watched the whole thing. So when I saw Nurarihyon no Mago: Sennen Makyou, I wasn't too happy, but I noticed how the cover didn't have Rikou in his human form, only his youkai form along with his clan and some new characters and I gave it a try. Believe me, I have no regrets making that decision.

Story: This is definitely a lot better than the first season. We have more background information, there is a read more
Oct 20, 2019
icedome (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS A SPOILER THAT IS CLEARLY LABELLED
Quite a number of years late to the party, but here we go. The show is a well produced piece of shounen that has some glaring issues that I believe will make or break it for some people. Here's where it did for me:

Voice Acting:
The main character's - Rikuo - VA is terrible - for both seasons (I watched the subbed version). You obviously tell how out of his voice range he was doing yokai form. It has the same strain a lot of female voices have when they're doing a "deep manly" voice. The only time read more
Apr 30, 2014
OtakuLair (All reviews)
Criteria
Story: 8
Season 2 of Nurarihyon no Mago leads a very similar story to that of season 1 in the sense that Nura Rikou is still battling between his human blood and his demon blood except in season 2 he is more aware and more accepting of his demon blood than he was in season 1. Season 2 of Nurarihyon no Mago can also be described as a ‘Demon War Arc’ as that is what it essentially is a war between two factions of demons. Tono Yokai vs Kyoto Yokai.
In season 2 they also address the specific powers and abilities used by demons, that read more
Dec 10, 2012
mrsKWON (All reviews)
There’s a long review coming…………

About the STORY
There are major different revelations from the past and back stories of the main characters. This really makes the storyline way more interesting than the previous season. There is even a look back at the love story of Rikuo’s grandparents. There are exciting mysteries to be revealed all throughout the series until its ending. There are more exciting yokai yakuza clan’s fights over territories or who’s the strongest. And this time, it genuinely feels like one. If we have seen stories about characters using chakras and reiatsus during battles; this time we will see characters using “fear” in order read more
Dec 18, 2020
Remixthis (All reviews)
TLDR: Loved the characters, sounds, art the theme. Plot wasn't too bad, CONTINUITY WAS ABSOLUTE TRASH. What ever happened between season 1 and 2 is apparently overlooked. I honestly don't understand why the ratings are higher in this series than the first.
***Spoilers to understand why continuity is bad***
The text will talk about Season 1 and 2 and will be posted on both show pages. Oh I don't care to look up many names. They were hard to remember minus a couple characters I loved.
Season 1 was great. I would recommend watching that show. We have a kid (Rikuo) who is struggling with the fact he read more
Apr 27, 2020
Jayke_Narn (All reviews)
This is my first time writing a review here in MAL, so please don't expect that much.

Nurarihyon no Mago was my one of my grade school anime, so it held a place in my heart. But of course, as I got older, I went to watch it again in high school to see if it was any good.


While I loved season 1 a lot when I was younger, the same cannot be said when I got older. S1 became boring because of one vital reason -- the pacing. If I'm not wrong, I tried to read the manga. Then I found out that some read more
Nov 30, 2018
Wanggg (All reviews)
After finishing season one of Nurarihyon no Mago, I was little bored, because the Main character was a coward, and I didn't like him. Even so, I decided to watch this new series. But in the second season, we saw that the main character is wiser and stronger, it was quite different from before. He became a hero, who wants to protect people and Youkais (Demons+, so for me this anime became from boring to pretty good. If you are a fan of anime, like zero to hero, this is the anime for you. This anime is one of the best Shounen Anime read more