Ranked #15

Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi

Alternative Titles

English: Spirited Away
Japanese: 千と千尋の神隠し

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 20, 2001
Producers: None found, add some
Source: Original
Duration: 2 hr. 5 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 8.931 (scored by 270,297 users)
Ranked: #152
Popularity: #37
Members: 362,272
Favorites: 8,766
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Reviews

Aeterna
Dec 11, 2008
When I first saw the movie, I didn't see what the big deal was. All right, so a girl gets whisked away to a fantasy world? We've heard that story before. And, unlike many other movies, there's no dramatic love story or epic battles and action scenes to keep you at the edge of your seat. Consequently, I didn't think of it as being very exciting.

Still, I watched it again and, for some reason, I got it the second time around. Spirited Away isn't meant to be anything grand, with all the bells and whistles. It has a quiet, subdued way of telling a simple read more
I found this review Helpful
jal90
Jan 11, 2011
This is my first review in MyAnimeList, so I apologize in advance if you find the ideas I'll put forward here badly-written, explained or structured.

I am going to talk about Spirited Away (yeah, obvious). It's been quite a long time since I watched it for the last time, more than a year in fact; but I became a really fascinating and influential piece for me at that time, far enough to define my current love for Miyazaki's works, the Studio Ghibli and animation in general as an art and a strong way of expression. Today it's still one of my favorite animated features of any read more
I found this review Helpful
Gonzo-lewd
Nov 15, 2013
The very facet of childhood can be boiled down to the very definition of mysterious wonder and awe-inspiring imagination. We’ve all had those moments where we would go off into our own little world of childlike imagination and try experience an entirely new reality different from our own. Films have tried to recapture the atmosphere that resembles this nostalgic feeling of experiencing the journey of childhood that either succeeded or failed. It just takes a man like Miyazaki to do just that flawlessly.

Miyazaki isn’t a stranger to making movies about childhood and things similar of its nature; Totoro would be an obvious example to this read more
I found this review Helpful
jazoraa
Nov 19, 2015
This is like watching a dream. Sometimes when you have those moments where you picture something then you say to yourself that was not reality, the image that came to my mind must be from a different world that I saw somewhere, but not that I can recall when or where. This is like opening a door deep down in your mind and behind that door lies all your lucid dreams and imagination. watch it for sure, you can never go wrong with this.

I enjoyed this very much. You will experience all kind of different feelings watching this; fear, love, warmth..etc
I found this review Helpful
slpless
Apr 27, 2008
In many ways this is a difficult review to write. This is because I’m clearly not the target audience, as Spirited Away is a film that is clearly targeted towards children. In the end, I simply decided to review the film as I normally do and leave a disclaimer about not being the target audience.

I first watched this film 5 years ago during my senior year in high school when a friend of mine was raving about it. Back then I found the film to be boring and feature a paper thin plot. Now 5 years later and a few hundred read more
I found this review Helpful
adrianojones
Apr 21, 2015
The pitch-black shadows of a long tunnel envelop young Chihiro and her parents, swallowing them whole; yet this veil of darkness is soon extinguished by the vibrant green fields beneath a radiant sun and azure skies. Soon afterwards, the lights dim; softly-lit lamps begin to illuminate the shadows, empty streets once again bustle with shades, and the vestiges of the world Chihiro once knew begin to vanish. The bodies of Chihiro's parents have been morphed; her own body begins to fade. As a human, she is foreign, left frightened and perhaps a little captivated, accompanied only by a mysterious, yet familiar stranger named Haku. She read more
I found this review Helpful
Sorrow
Nov 27, 2014
As I'm aging everyday, I felt the need to reminisce about my childhood past, and so recently I decided to re-watch a whole bunch of Disney movies as well as Miyazaki (Studio Ghibili) films. (By the way, did you guys hear that Studio Ghibili is no more? Depressing news for future generations). The movies brought me to tears, and I couldn't help but feel an urge to write a review on how significantly emotional and magnificent Miyazaki's films are. Spirited Away is definitely by far the most popular of all Miyazaki's films considering he won a countless number of awards for the movie and it read more
I found this review Helpful
kiriska
Jun 11, 2008
As an Oscar-nominated animated feature by a world renowned director and studio, everyone had high expectations for this movie.

STORY - I rather liked the basic premise for this movie; it's very simple and reminiscent of a lot of traditional Asian children's stories, not to mention My Neighbor Totoro, with the whole moving away thing. In addition to Chihiro's task of saving her parents, the story very quickly expands to include an assortment of other strange characters, all with their issues and goals, and there are times when we are completely wrapped up in these secondary characters' problems. This makes it almost seem like Spirited Away read more
I found this review Helpful
ktulu007
May 29, 2015
I've discussed a lot of Studio Ghibli films in the past, and I'll probably touch on more in future. Surprisingly one of their best known films, Spirited Away, hasn't come up yet. It was written and directed by Miyazaki Hayao with production beginning in 2000 and the eventual release in 2001 breaking box office records and winning various awards. Of course, something being popular doesn't necessarily translate to it being good. Although it's a Miyazaki Hayao film so the probability of it being ungood is exceedingly low. Either way, let's take a look.

Story:

Our tale opens with a family driving to their new home. The father read more
I found this review Helpful
engelmetzger
Jan 30, 2007
By far my favorite Miyazaki film, Spirited Away transported me to a place that I never wanted to leave. The visuals of this film are simply astounding. The colorful landscapes and the ornate buildings really brought the films story to life. The music was also extremely excellent. The characters were the best part of the film. Each one had their own story to tell. Most people might write this film off as a childrens movie, but in my opinion this is a movie that everyone- adults included- can watch and enjoy.
I found this review Helpful
CherryItUp
Jun 4, 2015
Dunno why you all rate this with 10 or 9 but if you read this review i'd like to tell you im not rating based at others' ratings or overalls, but only according to myself's enjoyment.

So let's go quickly to the opinion i have about "Spirited Away"

As a 18 years old teen you definetely won't get so much impressed as you were expecting!

Watching this reminded me of the time i watched "Alice in Wonderland" as a kid..

And this is "Spirited Away"! A perfect movie for kids and teenagers but a typical/fantasy/funny Disney movie for the others.
I See why this is proposed for three oscars. Even read more
I found this review Helpful
Visceras
Mar 1, 2015
Well, usually i avoid reviewing movies because for me it's hard to judge them because i'm more used with series but still, i felt i had to make a review to this piece of art..

Let's get to it .. Sen to Chihiro no Makikakushi or spirited away is a movie that came out in 2001 and had a huge success, it had so many that it streamed outside of japan, in many different countries and translated to many different languages.. when i first watched this movie i had 10 years old and i didn´t realize the beauty of it.. now 7 years later i read more
I found this review Helpful
Subpyro
Feb 25, 2014
Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi (Spirited Away) is one of those smaller factors that contribute towards a great childhood. Being the first Studio Ghibli movie I saw, as well as possibly the first anime-focused product in general, I am always more than happy to hear about it at any given time. After rewatching it so many times that I've long lost the count on the matter, but having everything it presents carved splendidly inside my head, allow me to share my humble thoughts on this piece of art.

Overflowing fantasy done right. I believe those four words would examine Spirited Away the best. Starting off with read more
I found this review Helpful
TrashDax
Jul 5, 2015
Considered one of the (if not THE) best Anime movies of all time, let's see how good it really is (in my eyes only of course).

Story:
The plot of Spirited Away bears a strong similarity to Alice in Wonderland. Both feature young girls stranding in a bizarre fantasy world, struggling to get back home. There are a lot of strange creatures and magic happening. For somebody from the west, some of these things may appear even weirder, but since we are in a fairy tale, that shouldn't bother you. Instead of going forward, this movie takes a couple of turns that may make it hard to read more
I found this review Helpful
JeremyC
Jan 23, 2008
Spirited Away was one of my first anime. I remember my mom came home from the movie store with it one day. It was a pleasant surprise for me to find that such a film exists. After it ended I said to myself, this isn't like any other animated films I had ever seen before . . . and then I watched it a second time.

Visually, I believe this is Hayao Miyazaki's best film. Everything is a joy to look at. The soundtrack of Spirited Away is one of my favorite anime soundtracks. This is one of the many strengths of the film. I feel read more
I found this review Helpful
PenX
Apr 4, 2014
Looking at this film, I kept wondering why this film was popular, so I decided to review this myself. When you have looked at my scores, yes, it may be shocking, but my score system works differently from MALs. I'll go straight into the pros and the cons.

If there's one thing I enjoy about the movie is the character, Chihiro. In the beginning, she portrayed well as typical ten-year old girls. She's irresponsible and slightly rude at times, though she isn't a complete brat. Her character development was handled perfectly and is the strongest point of the movie. She suffered through many hardships as she read more
I found this review Helpful
Gamer_2k4
Mar 24, 2015
At the time of this writing, Spirited Away is ranked #2 among anime movies on this site. In my opinion, that is sorely inaccurate. Reading the reviews for it, there are a lot of remarks about the excellent animation and soundtrack (rightfully so) and the strong character design (understandably so), but beyond that, the praise begins to falter. People struggle to justify the disjointed nature of the film, sometimes going with "shows remarkable creativity" and sometimes just falling back on "makes me nostalgic." Viewers who liked it don't know why they liked it, and that doesn't surprise me.

In short, Spirited Away read more
I found this review Helpful
DarkRavie
Feb 26, 2008
Spirited Away

Spirited Away is about a 10-year-old girl named Chihiro who with her parents, enters an ominous looking tunnel that leads them to a mysterious town filled with restaurants.

Chihiro's parents are quick sit down and begin eating. Unable to get through to them that they should leave, Chihiro wanders off and comes across what she recognizes as a bathhouse where a young boy suddenly appears and warns her to leave before nightfall.

However, as the sun sets, the town begins to fill up with Spirits, and Chihiro returns to find that her parents have undergone a mysterious transformation.

Now alone Chihiro must fend for herself read more
I found this review Helpful
Pyrefly
Apr 24, 2008
Unfortunately, the movie that introduced 'mainstream' America to Miyazaki is not as good as it has been advertised.

Story: The story itself is rather underwhelming; a small spoiled brat is 'spirited away' to, well, the spirit world, her life as she knows it is suddenly in danger, and she has to overcome her selfishness in order to get back to her world, all the time helping and being helped by an attractive young male spirit who is actually a dragon...did you catch all the cliches in there?

Art: This is the movie's one saving grace. Miyazaki was always known for his fantastic animation, and Spirited Away is read more
I found this review Helpful
SpokeyJoe
Jul 5, 2014
Having seen this film a handful of times, I have always been impressed by and admired how technically accomplished it is. Yet after having just watched it again for perhaps the fifth or sixth time, I now feel that the themes and the character development take a back seat to those technical accomplishments. Undoubtedly they are present, but in my opinion one must do some reaching and stretching. As a result of all this, it is hard for me to care about the characters and the story being told. To me, this is one of Studio Ghibli's weaker films. It is an imaginative, well-paced film, read more
I found this review Helpful