MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #15
Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi

Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi

Alternative Titles

English: Spirited Away
Japanese: 千と千尋の神隠し

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 20, 2001
Duration: 2 hr. 5 min.
Rating: G - All Ages
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.921 (scored by 219677 users)
Ranked: #152
Popularity: #32
Members: 291,668
Favorites: 6,666
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

Popular Tags

adventure drama fantasy ghibli supernatural
Apr 21, 2015
adrianojones
The pitch-black shadows of a long tunnel envelop young Chihiro and her parents, swallowing them whole; yet this veil of darkness is soon extinguished by the vibrant green fields beneath a radiant sun and azure skies. Soon afterwards, the lights dim; softly-lit lamps begin to illuminate the shadows, empty streets once again bustle with shades, and the vestiges of the world Chihiro once knew begin to vanish. The bodies of Chihiro's parents have been morphed; her own body begins to fade. As a human, she is foreign, left frightened and perhaps a little captivated, accompanied only by a mysterious, yet familiar stranger named Haku. She read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 11, 2011
jal90
This is my first review in MyAnimeList, so I apologize in advance if you find the ideas I'll put forward here badly-written, explained or structured.

I am going to talk about Spirited Away (yeah, obvious). It's been quite a long time since I watched it for the last time, more than a year in fact; but I became a really fascinating and influential piece for me at that time, far enough to define my current love for Miyazaki's works, the Studio Ghibli and animation in general as an art and a strong way of expression. Today it's still one of my favorite animated features of any read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 11, 2008
Aeterna
When I first saw the movie, I didn't see what the big deal was. All right, so a girl gets whisked away to a fantasy world? We've heard that story before. And, unlike many other movies, there's no dramatic love story or epic battles and action scenes to keep you at the edge of your seat. Consequently, I didn't think of it as being very exciting.

Still, I watched it again and, for some reason, I got it the second time around. Spirited Away isn't meant to be anything grand, with all the bells and whistles. It has a quiet, subdued way of telling a simple read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 15, 2013
Gonzo-lewd
The very facet of childhood can be boiled down to the very definition of mysterious wonder and awe-inspiring imagination. We’ve all had those moments where we would go off into our own little world of childlike imagination and try experience an entirely new reality different from our own. Films have tried to recapture the atmosphere that resembles this nostalgic feeling of experiencing the journey of childhood that either succeeded or failed. It just takes a man like Miyazaki to do just that flawlessly.

Miyazaki isn’t a stranger to making movies about childhood and things similar of its nature; Totoro would be an obvious example to this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 27, 2014
Sorrow
As I'm aging everyday, I felt the need to reminisce about my childhood past, and so recently I decided to re-watch a whole bunch of Disney movies as well as Miyazaki (Studio Ghibili) films. (By the way, did you guys hear that Studio Ghibili is no more? Depressing news for future generations). The movies brought me to tears, and I couldn't help but feel an urge to write a review on how significantly emotional and magnificent Miyazaki's films are. Spirited Away is definitely by far the most popular of all Miyazaki's films considering he won a countless number of awards for the movie and it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 13, 2015
bluntRespect
Hayao Miyazaki's Spirited Away came with built-in expectations. After the exhausting but highly successful production of Princess Mononoke (Mononoke Hime, 1998), the director announced his retirement from film making. It was a promise he reneged on when meeting the ten-year-old daughter of a friend.
This girl provided the inspiration for Chihiro, the little heroine at the centre of Spirited Away, a film aimed at ten-year old girls but universal enough in its appeal to break every box office record on its home turf, going on to not only become the highest grossing film of all time in Japan, but attaining that status in record time at read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 23, 2008
JeremyC
Spirited Away was one of my first anime. I remember my mom came home from the movie store with it one day. It was a pleasant surprise for me to find that such a film exists. After it ended I said to myself, this isn't like any other animated films I had ever seen before . . . and then I watched it a second time.

Visually, I believe this is Hayao Miyazaki's best film. Everything is a joy to look at. The soundtrack of Spirited Away is one of my favorite anime soundtracks. This is one of the many strengths of the film. I feel read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Visceras
Well, usually i avoid reviewing movies because for me it's hard to judge them because i'm more used with series but still, i felt i had to make a review to this piece of art..

Let's get to it .. Sen to Chihiro no Makikakushi or spirited away is a movie that came out in 2001 and had a huge success, it had so many that it streamed outside of japan, in many different countries and translated to many different languages.. when i first watched this movie i had 10 years old and i didn´t realize the beauty of it.. now 7 years later i read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 30, 2007
engelmetzger
By far my favorite Miyazaki film, Spirited Away transported me to a place that I never wanted to leave. The visuals of this film are simply astounding. The colorful landscapes and the ornate buildings really brought the films story to life. The music was also extremely excellent. The characters were the best part of the film. Each one had their own story to tell. Most people might write this film off as a childrens movie, but in my opinion this is a movie that everyone- adults included- can watch and enjoy.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 11, 2008
kiriska
As an Oscar-nominated animated feature by a world renowned director and studio, everyone had high expectations for this movie.

STORY - I rather liked the basic premise for this movie; it's very simple and reminiscent of a lot of traditional Asian children's stories, not to mention My Neighbor Totoro, with the whole moving away thing. In addition to Chihiro's task of saving her parents, the story very quickly expands to include an assortment of other strange characters, all with their issues and goals, and there are times when we are completely wrapped up in these secondary characters' problems. This makes it almost seem like Spirited Away read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 14, 2012
animelambie
Highest grossing film in Japanese history, winner of an American Academy award in 2002, and it's absolutely amazing.

At it's heart, Spirited Away is a familiar story. Again, our young heroine learns to find her inner strength and comes of age after “falling down the rabbit hole” and finds herself on a liminal journey through the realm of the spirits. Again it proves Miyazaki’s talent as a director, storyteller, and visionary-- elevating a traditional narrative by just executing it perfectly.

The lead character, Chihiro, excels as a heroine because her characterization is spot on. Miyazaki wanted to make a protagonist read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 4, 2014
PenX
Looking at this film, I kept wondering why this film was popular, so I decided to review this myself. When you have looked at my scores, yes, it may be shocking, but my score system works differently from MALs. I'll go straight into the pros and the cons.

If there's one thing I enjoy about the movie is the character, Chihiro. In the beginning, she portrayed well as typical ten-year old girls. She's irresponsible and slightly rude at times, though she isn't a complete brat. Her character development was handled perfectly and is the strongest point of the movie. She suffered through many hardships as she read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 26, 2008
DarkRavie
Spirited Away

Spirited Away is about a 10-year-old girl named Chihiro who with her parents, enters an ominous looking tunnel that leads them to a mysterious town filled with restaurants.

Chihiro's parents are quick sit down and begin eating. Unable to get through to them that they should leave, Chihiro wanders off and comes across what she recognizes as a bathhouse where a young boy suddenly appears and warns her to leave before nightfall.

However, as the sun sets, the town begins to fill up with Spirits, and Chihiro returns to find that her parents have undergone a mysterious transformation.

Now alone Chihiro must fend for herself read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 23, 2009
KnightsGuardian
Hayao Miyazaki is a genius and it really shines in this masterpiece. I've watched this movie countless times and it never gets old. It is still just as magical, intriguing and amazing as ever!

Story: [10]
The story begins with ten year old Chihiro and her family on their way to their new home and decide to take a short cut. In the beginning, you see little Chihiro as a bratty little girl who is too scared to do anything without her parents. Later in the story you see this character develop beautifully. She becomes a brave, enlightened little girl who looks forward to new adventures.

Stumbling read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 5, 2009
ace52387
Overview:
The mopey Chihiro is throwing a small tantrum in her parents` car as they`re on their way to their new home. Understandably for a young child, she hates the idea of leaving her friends and adjusting to a new environment. Little does she know just how different her next environment would be when an ill-conceived shortcut leads the family to a mysterious bath house for the spirits. Her parents transform into pigs, and it`s up to Chihiro to make do on her own while she finds a way to undo the spell.

Story & Characters
Spirited Away is a window into Miyazaki`s imagination. Chihiro`s journey takes us read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 25, 2014
Subpyro
Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi (Spirited Away) is one of those smaller factors that contribute towards a great childhood. Being the first Studio Ghibli movie I saw, as well as possibly the first anime-focused product in general, I am always more than happy to hear about it at any given time. After rewatching it so many times that I've long lost the count on the matter, but having everything it presents carved splendidly inside my head, allow me to share my humble thoughts on this piece of art.

Overflowing fantasy done right. I believe those four words would examine Spirited Away the best. Starting off with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 25, 2010
innerchihiro
Yes, I just gave this movie tens across the board. And this is not because of a temporary high after watching the movie. I am not going to wake up tomorrow and say "wow, that really wasn't that great. Why did I get so excited?" because I watched this movie many years ago. In fact, this was my first, and to this day remains my favorite anime, movie, and story of all time.

There are movies that you really have to think about. Movies that you won't understand unless you think about them until your brains come out your ears, and most people, unless totally read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 21, 2008
noface
This movie was my first introduction to anime that didn't involve teenagers piloting giant robots, and I have to say, if I hadn't seen it, I would've written off all anime as only being fit for 12 year olds. "Spirited Away" is awesome, beautiful, and one of my favorite movies in any genre. Some might feel it's only for kids, or long for more gunplay, explosions, heroines with oversize chests and undersized clothes, etc. Well, that's fine, but they're missing out.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 19, 2007
dataznmaverick
No matter how you approach a review for this movie, this will always be one of the greatest animes ever made. It has fluid artwork and strong characters. And it eschews from typical anime stereotypes. Most importantly, it has a strong moral point about growing up.

For some unknown reason, I have heard a lot of criticism about this anime, in that people think that it's no different from anything else that Studio Ghibli has released. Any other anime by Studio Ghibli has not won an "Academy Award For Best Animation". Nor has any other Ghibli work been ranked as the best animation title by read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 5, 2014
SpokeyJoe
Having seen this film a handful of times, I have always been impressed by and admired how technically accomplished it is. Yet after having just watched it again for perhaps the fifth or sixth time, I now feel that the themes and the character development take a back seat to those technical accomplishments. Undoubtedly they are present, but in my opinion one must do some reaching and stretching. As a result of all this, it is hard for me to care about the characters and the story being told. To me, this is one of Studio Ghibli's weaker films. It is an imaginative, well-paced film, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful