Ranked #12

Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi

Alternative Titles

English: Spirited Away
Japanese: 千と千尋の神隠し


Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 20, 2001
Source: Original
Duration: 2 hr. 5 min.
Rating: G - All Ages
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.931 (scored by 254,660 users)
Ranked: #122
Popularity: #37
Members: 340,430
Favorites: 7,930
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 19, 2015
This is like watching a dream. Sometimes when you have those moments where you picture something then you say to yourself that was not reality, the image that came to my mind must be from a different world that I saw somewhere, but not that I can recall when or where. This is like opening a door deep down in your mind and behind that door lies all your lucid dreams and imagination. watch it for sure, you can never go wrong with this.

I enjoyed this very much. You will experience all kind of different feelings watching this; fear, love, warmth..etc
I found this review Helpful
Nov 3, 2015
Story, Art, Sound and Character: 4.12/5
Enjoyment: 5/5
Overall: 9.25/10 (or 4.12/5)

I'm gonna be direct with this review. Spirited Away (also known as Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi, lit. "Sen when Chihiro misteriously disappears") is a masterpiece. I think everybody should watch it, it is not perfect in any way, but it is indeed one of the most enjoyable experiences I ever had.

This movie made me review my way of reviewing movies (did that made sense) in a way where the plot is not the best in no way but the movie is so enjoyable that it makes up for it.


Probably the weakest part of read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 11, 2011
This is my first review in MyAnimeList, so I apologize in advance if you find the ideas I'll put forward here badly-written, explained or structured.

I am going to talk about Spirited Away (yeah, obvious). It's been quite a long time since I watched it for the last time, more than a year in fact; but I became a really fascinating and influential piece for me at that time, far enough to define my current love for Miyazaki's works, the Studio Ghibli and animation in general as an art and a strong way of expression. Today it's still one of my favorite animated features of any read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 21, 2015
The pitch-black shadows of a long tunnel envelop young Chihiro and her parents, swallowing them whole; yet this veil of darkness is soon extinguished by the vibrant green fields beneath a radiant sun and azure skies. Soon afterwards, the lights dim; softly-lit lamps begin to illuminate the shadows, empty streets once again bustle with shades, and the vestiges of the world Chihiro once knew begin to vanish. The bodies of Chihiro's parents have been morphed; her own body begins to fade. As a human, she is foreign, left frightened and perhaps a little captivated, accompanied only by a mysterious, yet familiar stranger named Haku. She read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 11, 2008
When I first saw the movie, I didn't see what the big deal was. All right, so a girl gets whisked away to a fantasy world? We've heard that story before. And, unlike many other movies, there's no dramatic love story or epic battles and action scenes to keep you at the edge of your seat. Consequently, I didn't think of it as being very exciting.

Still, I watched it again and, for some reason, I got it the second time around. Spirited Away isn't meant to be anything grand, with all the bells and whistles. It has a quiet, subdued way of telling a simple read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 15, 2013
The very facet of childhood can be boiled down to the very definition of mysterious wonder and awe-inspiring imagination. We’ve all had those moments where we would go off into our own little world of childlike imagination and try experience an entirely new reality different from our own. Films have tried to recapture the atmosphere that resembles this nostalgic feeling of experiencing the journey of childhood that either succeeded or failed. It just takes a man like Miyazaki to do just that flawlessly.

Miyazaki isn’t a stranger to making movies about childhood and things similar of its nature; Totoro would be an obvious example to this read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 27, 2014
As I'm aging everyday, I felt the need to reminisce about my childhood past, and so recently I decided to re-watch a whole bunch of Disney movies as well as Miyazaki (Studio Ghibili) films. (By the way, did you guys hear that Studio Ghibili is no more? Depressing news for future generations). The movies brought me to tears, and I couldn't help but feel an urge to write a review on how significantly emotional and magnificent Miyazaki's films are. Spirited Away is definitely by far the most popular of all Miyazaki's films considering he won a countless number of awards for the movie and it read more
I found this review Helpful
May 29, 2015
I've discussed a lot of Studio Ghibli films in the past, and I'll probably touch on more in future. Surprisingly one of their best known films, Spirited Away, hasn't come up yet. It was written and directed by Miyazaki Hayao with production beginning in 2000 and the eventual release in 2001 breaking box office records and winning various awards. Of course, something being popular doesn't necessarily translate to it being good. Although it's a Miyazaki Hayao film so the probability of it being ungood is exceedingly low. Either way, let's take a look.


Our tale opens with a family driving to their new home. The father read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 4, 2015
Dunno why you all rate this with 10 or 9 but if you read this review i'd like to tell you im not rating based at others' ratings or overalls, but only according to myself's enjoyment.

So let's go quickly to the opinion i have about "Spirited Away"

As a 18 years old teen you definetely won't get so much impressed as you were expecting!

Watching this reminded me of the time i watched "Alice in Wonderland" as a kid..

And this is "Spirited Away"! A perfect movie for kids and teenagers but a typical/fantasy/funny Disney movie for the others.
I See why this is proposed for three oscars. Even read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 5, 2015
Considered one of the (if not THE) best Anime movies of all time, let's see how good it really is (in my eyes only of course).

The plot of Spirited Away bears a strong similarity to Alice in Wonderland. Both feature young girls stranding in a bizarre fantasy world, struggling to get back home. There are a lot of strange creatures and magic happening. For somebody from the west, some of these things may appear even weirder, but since we are in a fairy tale, that shouldn't bother you. Instead of going forward, this movie takes a couple of turns that may make it hard to read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 13, 2015
When I watch some movies, especially new, I'm pretty often bored and angry that there is so so many same clichés, ideas, characters and other stuff. After that I always need to sit in comfortable armchair and start to watch Spirited Away which is wonderful explosion of new ideas and original creativity. This movie is like party for imagination and for sure in future will be incredibly popular classic story like for example A Christmas Carol now. Plot in Spirited Away is beautiful in its simplicity. Characters are outstanding original, very likeable and thanks God there is no villain, just mix of different personalities. Also read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 28, 2015
The first time I saw Spirited Away, I was 8. Back then, I didn't know just exactly what I loved about the movie, but I couldn't stop asking my mom to go watch it again and again.
Now, at 21 and having seen this movie more times that I can remember, I can say that Spirited Away is its music, the music is its art, the art is the spirit of the movie. They're all woven in a thin, fluid matter from which dreams are made. The story isn't meant to be taken at face value; it happens inside Chihiro's mind, but that doesn't mean it read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Well, usually i avoid reviewing movies because for me it's hard to judge them because i'm more used with series but still, i felt i had to make a review to this piece of art..

Let's get to it .. Sen to Chihiro no Makikakushi or spirited away is a movie that came out in 2001 and had a huge success, it had so many that it streamed outside of japan, in many different countries and translated to many different languages.. when i first watched this movie i had 10 years old and i didn´t realize the beauty of it.. now 7 years later i read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 28, 2015
Spoilers Below: (if you haven`t watched this movie yet, DO IT!! read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 27, 2008
In many ways this is a difficult review to write. This is because I’m clearly not the target audience, as Spirited Away is a film that is clearly targeted towards children. In the end, I simply decided to review the film as I normally do and leave a disclaimer about not being the target audience.

I first watched this film 5 years ago during my senior year in high school when a friend of mine was raving about it. Back then I found the film to be boring and feature a paper thin plot. Now 5 years later and a few hundred read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 24, 2015
At the time of this writing, Spirited Away is ranked #2 among anime movies on this site. In my opinion, that is sorely inaccurate. Reading the reviews for it, there are a lot of remarks about the excellent animation and soundtrack (rightfully so) and the strong character design (understandably so), but beyond that, the praise begins to falter. People struggle to justify the disjointed nature of the film, sometimes going with "shows remarkable creativity" and sometimes just falling back on "makes me nostalgic." Viewers who liked it don't know why they liked it, and that doesn't surprise me.

In short, Spirited Away read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 25, 2014
Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi (Spirited Away) is one of those smaller factors that contribute towards a great childhood. Being the first Studio Ghibli movie I saw, as well as possibly the first anime-focused product in general, I am always more than happy to hear about it at any given time. After rewatching it so many times that I've long lost the count on the matter, but having everything it presents carved splendidly inside my head, allow me to share my humble thoughts on this piece of art.

Overflowing fantasy done right. I believe those four words would examine Spirited Away the best. Starting off with read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 28, 2015
This film is, yet another Miyazaki masterpiece. I'm giving it a 9 only because there isn't a 9.5. Ok, this film is odd, yet well made with an engaging storyline, beautiful art and good characters.

The re-watchability is very low unless you leave it 6 months, it's a great journey while you're on it but afterwards it's kind of forgettable.

A lot of peoples favourite, but Ghibli has done much better.

I loved it because it's a gripping, action-packed ride. But its downfall is that it kind of drags on a bit. The first half or so is one of the best animes ever, but read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 3, 2015
When it comes to Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi, there really isn't anything fascinating about it's story, setting or characters in general. A story where a young girl named Chihiro, is lost and winded away into a Spirit world and is searching for a way to return to the normal world. Simple right?
But that is where Sen to Chihiro excels. The simplicity in which the story is unravelled, differs from others. Yes, we've seen this before but because the story isnt anything to worry too much about; it gives the writers enough effort to put into the rest of the AM. This satisfied the standards read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 4, 2014
Looking at this film, I kept wondering why this film was popular, so I decided to review this myself. When you have looked at my scores, yes, it may be shocking, but my score system works differently from MALs. I'll go straight into the pros and the cons.

If there's one thing I enjoy about the movie is the character, Chihiro. In the beginning, she portrayed well as typical ten-year old girls. She's irresponsible and slightly rude at times, though she isn't a complete brat. Her character development was handled perfectly and is the strongest point of the movie. She suffered through many hardships as she read more
I found this review Helpful