Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi


Alternative Titles

English: Spirited Away
Synonyms: Sen and Chihiro's Spiriting Away
Japanese: 千と千尋の神隠し

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 20, 2001
Producers: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Ghibli
Source: Original
Duration: 2 hr. 5 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 8.931 (scored by 370,744 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #162
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #35
Members: 511,290
Favorites: 11,819

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 11, 2008
Aeterna (All reviews)
When I first saw the movie, I didn't see what the big deal was. All right, so a girl gets whisked away to a fantasy world? We've heard that story before. And, unlike many other movies, there's no dramatic love story or epic battles and action scenes to keep you at the edge of your seat. Consequently, I didn't think of it as being very exciting.

Still, I watched it again and, for some reason, I got it the second time around. Spirited Away isn't meant to be anything grand, with all the bells and whistles. It has a quiet, subdued way of telling a simple read more
Jan 11, 2011
jal90 (All reviews)
This is my first review in MyAnimeList, so I apologize in advance if you find the ideas I'll put forward here badly-written, explained or structured.

I am going to talk about Spirited Away (yeah, obvious). It's been quite a long time since I watched it for the last time, more than a year in fact; but I became a really fascinating and influential piece for me at that time, far enough to define my current love for Miyazaki's works, the Studio Ghibli and animation in general as an art and a strong way of expression. Today it's still one of my favorite animated features of any read more
Nov 19, 2015
Jazoraa (All reviews)
This is like watching a dream. Sometimes when you have those moments where you picture something then you say to yourself that was not reality, the image that came to my mind must be from a different world that I saw somewhere, but not that I can recall when or where. This is like opening a door deep down in your mind and behind that door lies all your lucid dreams and imaginations. watch it for sure, you can never go wrong with this.

I enjoyed this very much. You will experience all kind of different feelings watching this; fear, love, warmth..etc
Apr 27, 2008
slpless (All reviews)
In many ways this is a difficult review to write. This is because I’m clearly not the target audience, as Spirited Away is a film that is clearly targeted towards children. In the end, I simply decided to review the film as I normally do and leave a disclaimer about not being the target audience.

I first watched this film 5 years ago during my senior year in high school when a friend of mine was raving about it. Back then I found the film to be boring and feature a paper thin plot. Now 5 years later and a few hundred read more
Nov 15, 2013
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
The very facet of childhood can be boiled down to the very definition of mysterious wonder and awe-inspiring imagination. We’ve all had those moments where we would go off into our own little world of childlike imagination and try experience an entirely new reality different from our own. Films have tried to recapture the atmosphere that resembles this nostalgic feeling of experiencing the journey of childhood that either succeeded or failed. It just takes a man like Miyazaki to do just that flawlessly.

Miyazaki isn’t a stranger to making movies about childhood and things similar of its nature; Totoro would be an obvious example to this read more
Nov 27, 2014
Sorrow (All reviews)
As I'm aging everyday, I felt the need to reminisce about my childhood past, and so recently I decided to re-watch a whole bunch of Disney movies as well as Miyazaki (Studio Ghibili) films. (By the way, did you guys hear that Studio Ghibili is no more? Depressing news for future generations). The movies brought me to tears, and I couldn't help but feel an urge to write a review on how significantly emotional and magnificent Miyazaki's films are. Spirited Away is definitely by far the most popular of all Miyazaki's films considering he won a countless number of awards for the movie and it read more
Jun 11, 2008
kiriska (All reviews)
As an Oscar-nominated animated feature by a world renowned director and studio, everyone had high expectations for this movie.

STORY - I rather liked the basic premise for this movie; it's very simple and reminiscent of a lot of traditional Asian children's stories, not to mention My Neighbor Totoro, with the whole moving away thing. In addition to Chihiro's task of saving her parents, the story very quickly expands to include an assortment of other strange characters, all with their issues and goals, and there are times when we are completely wrapped up in these secondary characters' problems. This makes it almost seem like Spirited Away read more
Jan 30, 2007
engelmetzger (All reviews)
By far my favorite Miyazaki film, Spirited Away transported me to a place that I never wanted to leave. The visuals of this film are simply astounding. The colorful landscapes and the ornate buildings really brought the films story to life. The music was also extremely excellent. The characters were the best part of the film. Each one had their own story to tell. Most people might write this film off as a childrens movie, but in my opinion this is a movie that everyone- adults included- can watch and enjoy.
Mar 24, 2015
Gamer_2k4 (All reviews)
At the time of this writing, Spirited Away is ranked #2 among anime movies on this site. In my opinion, that is sorely inaccurate. Reading the reviews for it, there are a lot of remarks about the excellent animation and soundtrack (rightfully so) and the strong character design (understandably so), but beyond that, the praise begins to falter. People struggle to justify the disjointed nature of the film, sometimes going with "shows remarkable creativity" and sometimes just falling back on "makes me nostalgic." Viewers who liked it don't know why they liked it, and that doesn't surprise me.

In short, Spirited Away read more
Jan 23, 2008
JeremyC (All reviews)
Spirited Away was one of my first anime. I remember my mom came home from the movie store with it one day. It was a pleasant surprise for me to find that such a film exists. After it ended I said to myself, this isn't like any other animated films I had ever seen before . . . and then I watched it a second time.

Visually, I believe this is Hayao Miyazaki's best film. Everything is a joy to look at. The soundtrack of Spirited Away is one of my favorite anime soundtracks. This is one of the many strengths of the film. I feel read more
Mar 1, 2015
Visceras (All reviews)
Well, usually i avoid reviewing movies because for me it's hard to judge them because i'm more used with series but still, i felt i had to make a review to this piece of art..

Let's get to it .. Sen to Chihiro no Makikakushi or spirited away is a movie that came out in 2001 and had a huge success, it had so many that it streamed outside of japan, in many different countries and translated to many different languages.. when i first watched this movie i had 10 years old and i didn´t realize the beauty of it.. now 7 years later i read more
May 29, 2015
ktulu007 (All reviews)
I've discussed a lot of Studio Ghibli films in the past, and I'll probably touch on more in future. Surprisingly one of their best known films, Spirited Away, hasn't come up yet. It was written and directed by Miyazaki Hayao with production beginning in 2000 and the eventual release in 2001 breaking box office records and winning various awards. Of course, something being popular doesn't necessarily translate to it being good. Although it's a Miyazaki Hayao film so the probability of it being ungood is exceedingly low. Either way, let's take a look.

Story:

Our tale opens with a family driving to their new home. The father read more
Apr 24, 2008
Pyrefly (All reviews)
Unfortunately, the movie that introduced 'mainstream' America to Miyazaki is not as good as it has been advertised.

Story: The story itself is rather underwhelming; a small spoiled brat is 'spirited away' to, well, the spirit world, her life as she knows it is suddenly in danger, and she has to overcome her selfishness in order to get back to her world, all the time helping and being helped by an attractive young male spirit who is actually a dragon...did you catch all the cliches in there?

Art: This is the movie's one saving grace. Miyazaki was always known for his fantastic animation, and Spirited Away is read more
Jul 5, 2015
TrashDax (All reviews)
Considered one of the (if not THE) best Anime movies of all time, let's see how good it really is (in my eyes only of course).

Story:
The plot of Spirited Away bears a strong similarity to Alice in Wonderland. Both feature young girls stranding in a bizarre fantasy world, struggling to get back home. There are a lot of strange creatures and magic happening. For somebody from the west, some of these things may appear even weirder, but since we are in a fairy tale, that shouldn't bother you. Instead of going forward, this movie takes a couple of turns that may make it hard to read more
Feb 26, 2008
DarkRavie (All reviews)
Spirited Away

Spirited Away is about a 10-year-old girl named Chihiro who with her parents, enters an ominous looking tunnel that leads them to a mysterious town filled with restaurants.

Chihiro's parents are quick sit down and begin eating. Unable to get through to them that they should leave, Chihiro wanders off and comes across what she recognizes as a bathhouse where a young boy suddenly appears and warns her to leave before nightfall.

However, as the sun sets, the town begins to fill up with Spirits, and Chihiro returns to find that her parents have undergone a mysterious transformation.

Now alone Chihiro must fend for herself read more
Aug 19, 2007
dataznmaverick (All reviews)
No matter how you approach a review for this movie, this will always be one of the greatest animes ever made. It has fluid artwork and strong characters. And it eschews from typical anime stereotypes. Most importantly, it has a strong moral point about growing up.

For some unknown reason, I have heard a lot of criticism about this anime, in that people think that it's no different from anything else that Studio Ghibli has released. Any other anime by Studio Ghibli has not won an "Academy Award For Best Animation". Nor has any other Ghibli work been ranked as the best animation title by read more
Feb 25, 2014
Subpyro (All reviews)
Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi (Spirited Away) is one of those smaller factors that contribute towards a great childhood. Being the first Studio Ghibli movie I saw, as well as possibly the first anime-focused product in general, I am always more than happy to hear about it at any given time. After rewatching it so many times that I've long lost the count on the matter, but having everything it presents carved splendidly inside my head, allow me to share my humble thoughts on this piece of art.

Overflowing fantasy done right. I believe those four words would examine Spirited Away the best. Starting off with read more
Sep 3, 2016
MikadoRyugamine (All reviews)
"Eat, sleep, and you'll be fine." -Lin

If I've learned anything from film, it's that nothing is ever perfect. But Spirited Away comes really close. There's a reason why it's the only animated movie ever to win the Oscar for Best Picture. It's my favorite movie, in fact.

I've seen some reviewers complain that there was no plot. Sure, it may not be super complex, but it's no less than Alice in Wonderland, which has a similar premise. There's more to Spirited Away than just a random girl bumbling around a magic world for 2 hours. She has to work to stay alive, taking on difficult tasks read more
Aug 19, 2016
Mieke8 (All reviews)
Spirited Away.. The first Hayao Miyazaki movie I watched, even the first anime movie I ever watched. Of course, it is only fitting the first review I would write would be about Spirited Away.

The first time I saw this movie I liked it immediately; the art is very good, the music is memorable and also the characters make the story great. Hayao Miyazaki creates a beautiful and mysterious world with a deeper layer. This movie makes you wonder about possible symbolism and there are a lot of theories about the true meaning of Spirited Away. If they are officially confirmed or not, this does not read more
May 14, 2012
animelambie (All reviews)
Highest grossing film in Japanese history, winner of an American Academy award in 2002, and it's absolutely amazing.

At it's heart, Spirited Away is a familiar story. Again, our young heroine learns to find her inner strength and comes of age after “falling down the rabbit hole” and finds herself on a liminal journey through the realm of the spirits. Again it proves Miyazaki’s talent as a director, storyteller, and visionary-- elevating a traditional narrative by just executing it perfectly.

The lead character, Chihiro, excels as a heroine because her characterization is spot on. Miyazaki wanted to make a protagonist read more