Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Platinum End

Platinum End

Alternative Titles

English: Platinum End
Japanese: プラチナエンド

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Nov 4, 2015 to ?
Authors: Obata, Takeshi (Art), Ohba, Tsugumi (Story)
Serialization: Jump SQ.

Statistics

Score: 7.291 (scored by 8874 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #60892
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #238
Members: 30,154
Favorites: 643

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Feb 6, 2016
shizaman (All reviews)
Ok I know most of you won't even read this review since it has this score -which I consider a good one, you pass an exam with a 6 you know-, but well, whatever.

Platinum End is in general terms a stunningly edgy manga, although it has nice things which make its reading a little enjoyable.

All of us did come here because of Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata. That's a fact. Their names are guilty of attracting all of us to this series. Not for less. They aren't that acclaimed for nothing. They have wonderful works. But each passing month, the more I think their field read more
Feb 8, 2017
fanfictionlurker (All reviews)
Hello, my dear reader.

Let me tell you a little story.
What story, you might ask? Well, it's your story, and mine, and that of many others. How do I know? Because it always follows the same pattern.

It all started when you heard that Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata were working on another manga together. Great news, right? You loved Death Note and/or Bakuman, and you were instantly hyped up for more awesomeness from the power duo. You were perhaps a little surprised that a new manga coming from them didn't have any buzz, but you thought nothing of it at the time.

"It's just read more
Nov 20, 2015
Rkpandey (All reviews)
I know why you are here!
It's because real life Ashirogi Muto is back for one more masterpiece up their sleeves!! You know what I am talking about if you have seen Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata's Death Note and Bakuman.
I know it's too soon for me to write a review on this manga but I will keep on updating it as some new chapters are released.

Story -
Fed up with the depressing nature of his existence, Mirai Kakehashi, decided to suicide. After jumping off a nearby skyscraper, when he opened his eyes, he found himself in the arms of an angel, Revealing herself to be read more
Jan 20, 2016
Metalixx (All reviews)
Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata's 3rd Manga to be my next obsession. First Death Note and then Bakuman. A manga worth crying for :'(

The two artists are well renowned for their first manga Death Note which was thoroughly set the dark mood for the readers. Based on the current chapters it has the potential to be as interesting as their first work.

I believe that with they themselves it will be impossible to beat death note. People are reading this manga and cant forget how well Death Note did and feel like they are trying too hard and pushing their luck. This manga should be read more
Jan 2, 2016
gkaerth (All reviews)
Two months since i'm deciding to create account and starting to arranging my old anime and manga that i've ever seen in my life without any desire just to post or reviewing anything here
And what i got? My favourite author Tsugumi Ohba with his dynamic colour of intencity that can we seen clearly enough on his past works (Death Note and Bakuman) and the soulful art by Takeshi Obata that i knew it since his works at Hikaru no Go, has back to the party! what a nice time for me to be alive.. :D
and thats why i decided to make an early review.. and read more
May 21, 2017
BaileyHoldenFilm (All reviews)
Platinum End Review
Chapters 1 -18

Hm.

I think the proof to some degree is in the pudding here. The fact that I don't see many people reading or talking about a new series by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata (the creators of Death Note and Bakuman, but I think you all know that). These are some of the biggest names in the game and yet people don't seem to be taking much of any notice at al in the couple of years since this series started.

At first, I was a bit confused as to why this was the case, the first volume (Chapters 1 - 3) are read more
Jul 8, 2017
Chinaz (All reviews)
Platinum End - A manga work... about to die.

When people known that Ohba Tsugumi and Obata Takeshi would work together again, it was only logical that I became very enthusiastic in what they were going to do for this third work/manga together. People already knew this but for those who don't, these two authors worked together on past works such as Death Note (2004) and Bakuman (2008) as Ashirogi Muto.

With this information previously known, Death Note has succeeded in being one of my favorite works so far succeeding consequently other works with the same legal value as this. This manga, Platinum End - or in read more
Dec 31, 2018
Omni_Sloth (All reviews)
First of all this might have some spoilers.. you have been warned.

OK so first i have to say i love this manga as much as death note, allot of people would call me insane or stupid for that but, hear me out. Before we get into why i like it let me introduce some problems people have with this that i didn't, which is probably why i like it more then them.

First is that people were wanting something like "Death Note" i loved death note its what got me into Physiological stuff, but i didn't want something too similar to it, so if u want read more
Sep 28, 2016
jaxtoru (All reviews)
Well, I started to read this when the 4th, 5th Chapter got out, right now I've read for about 8 Chapters (?)

Note that the creators of this manga are the same creators from Death Note and Bakuman, both really good and known by almost everyone (Even though I haven't watch/read Bakuman until the end). So, as may think, this manga has a great potential and also, became popular because of their creators.

Moving forward, I enjoyed the beginning of the story, it was interesting, depressive boy wants to die, an angel saves him and boom, magic happens, all that thing about being the god and introducing read more
Feb 13, 2016
Orion_Gospel (All reviews)
"Will be updating this review, cause the manga is ongoing"

From the creators of Death Note and Bakuman, here comes Platinum end. A manga which is similar to a mix of Death Note and Mirai Nikki. A very interesting and promising manga with the potential of becoming better and more interesting. Ready to go a trip in a depressive survival game full of supernatural stuff?

Story: 9
For now, the story is about a depressive boy who wants to end his life because he can't find happiness. Determined to attempt suicide, he fails. An angel saved his life, and from that moment, everything changed...
A unique storyline and it read more
Nov 11, 2018
Meruru-tan (All reviews)
My initial interest to read this manga sparked from the fact that Platinum End has the same artist and author as Death Note. A series that is arguably one of the most popular and most liked Manga series of all time.
As you can imagine my expectations were quite high when I started reading this one.
I have to get this out here as fast as I can: Platinum End is in no way similar to Death Note!

In the beginning you might find some similarities like how both MCs have some supernatural being as a companion and godlike powers to change the world but the whole atmosphere read more
May 31, 2016
Piramyd (All reviews)
After giving us Bakuman and Death Note, two works which had each their own appeals and were really great, you would of course expect a lot from this new work of Ohba, the mysterious author who sometimes cooperate with Obata. Unfortunately, this is nothing like their previous combination, and here we have a rather disappointing and even mediocre manga.

The first chapter did not have anything amazing, however we were still given a sight of how much Obata's art has improved over the year, and finally there was indeed something which looked like an interesting idea, the premise being that an angel gives our main character read more
Jun 7, 2017
saitou2 (All reviews)
Before I start, I wanna say I have not read death note, but I love Bakuman.
The primary problem with this manga is it is disinteresting and dull.
The protagonist is probably a prime example of this. The has no real interesting motivation or any drive to do so. He just sort of gets dragged into everything. During the first chapter, we get the idea that he is somewhat of a lonely, awkward kid, but all that is brushed off after chapter 3 or so, then he becomes kind of just a dull slate who reacts to things I guess.
This dullness is also read more
Mar 23, 2016
Equeleus (All reviews)
I'll make it short. This manga stunned me. After reading Death Note and Bakuman, Tsugumi Ohba's story was once again a masterpiece. I've read 5 chapters and its potential is huge. The character designs - especially Mirai and Nasse seem to be really well done. Reading this really shows the reader that Ohba and Obata do what they always do.
The first chapter was very interesting and reminded of Death Note. Mirai seems to be a total opposite Light. The final showdown will PROBABLY be Mirai vs Metropolitan Man though it is safe to assume that Saki might try to do something. I can't wait for read more
Dec 19, 2018
Ren-Amamiya (All reviews)
Hey guys,it's my first review here! I hope my english is okay.

As a fan of Death Note/Bakuman and the work of Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata,
I had a lot of interest in Platinum End. Death Note is my favorite anime/manga of all time,
so i was very curious about Platinum.

I think it's impossible for them to beat Death Note. Platinum is.. Well decent for me ans i'll explain why.

Story- 7
The series follows Mirai Kakehashi, a student, who hate his life for some dark reason.He attempts suicide but he is rescued by his guardian angel, Nasse. He got special power and becomes one of 13 candidates chosen read more
Nov 5, 2018
hello_navi (All reviews)
Platinum End is dull, which is amazing, considering it's about a deathmatch to decide the next GOD. What's that? Do I hear a complaint? It's a philosophical story that asks what kind of person should have absolute power and what one should do with it? Perhaps. But it's mostly a deathmatch. A very boring one. Everyone has the same powers, and even those powers are unimaginative. Superspeed, Instadeath Arrow and Geass. This makes the battles (which are too long to begin with) boring.

The main character is a naive idealist crybaby, the kind of person that I hate to read about. The rest of the read more
Apr 10, 2019
DashinBashin (All reviews)
I have read every chapter currently available, which at the time of this writing is 40. We are in the middle, nearing towards the end of the second arc, and based on the direction the story is going in, nearing the endgame of the manga. So, I'll update this once I'm done, but here are my current thoughts.

I first found out about Platinum End like almost anyone did, I was reading Death Note's wikipedia page and that led to Tsugumi Ohba's page and found out he had a third manga with Takeshi Obata. However, I was a little worried when it turned out that nobody read more
May 26, 2019
GrimmChicken (All reviews)
Almost the sister Manga to Death Note I admittedly had a really enjoyable time with the story so far.

In case you have read my Death Note review I'll attempt to save you (and myself) some time trying to summarise its themes.

This Manga in style and (almost) in execution is almost the exact opposite of Death Note but in a surprisingly darker (under the surface) and broader scope.

One of the potential flaws I argued against Death Note has seemingly been taken care of in this series is its almost tunnel vision on its world building and its dominant emphasis on its characters although here is the read more