Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fushigi Yuugi

Fushigi Yuugi

Alternative Titles

English: Fushigi Yugi
Synonyms: Mysterious Play, Curious Play
Japanese: ふしぎ遊戯

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 18
Chapters: 106
Status: Finished
Published: May 1992 to Jul 1996
Authors: Watase, Yuu (Story & Art)
Serialization: Sho-Comi

Statistics

Score: 7.721 (scored by 9063 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #21342
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #447
Members: 17,723
Favorites: 1,020

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 7, 2012
lady_ribbon (All reviews)
This is a review that I wrote on mangafox some years ago, under my username 'lady_ribbon". The reason I'm posting it here is because its still so true. (Some parts have been slightly edited).

I have heard a lot about this manga, mostly from raving, insane fangirls who can't type or use punctuation properly. Despite that, I wanted to read it since I love historical anime/manga, and this one seemed really popular.

I was so positive I would love it to pieces.

I was utterly wrong.

I have read all 18 volumes, watched the anime fully, and the O.V.A's. I'll keep my ranting to the manga though, since this read more
Jan 6, 2008
Lirael (All reviews)
I cannot believe that no one has yet submitted a review on this multi level, multi themed, multi quality manga. Because I feel it to be necessary, I am going to separate this review into two halves; two reviews. One for what was meant to be the series (1-13) and one for what became of the series (14-18)

My ratings are actually based on this first review; the main series itself.

First off, the story is astounding; my favourite to date. It was original and intriguing, emotional and inspirational, gripping and not predictable. It worked on several levels, allowing it to appeal to a wider audience than read more
Apr 27, 2008
chichiriNoDa (All reviews)
First of, (This is one of my favorite manga and lets just say I Rated everything outstanding.)

A review for the main story, (Volumes 1-13)

Story: The story revolves around Miaka a stubborn, gluttonous and most of the time a whin'er high school girl. While in the library she got sucked and literally transported back in ancient China. She learned that in order to get back to the real world she must become the priestess of Suzaku. As being a priestess her task is to gather her celestial warriors and summon the beast god to save the country in brink of catastrophe. She will then be read more
Apr 16, 2009
purple_neko (All reviews)
I've finished reading the manga (although I'm quite sure I haven't finished the anime (but yes, I know the anime ending, and the gist of the OVAs...well the 2nd in particular). Though I would just looove to read Tasuki's backstory (written by someone else than Watase-sensei though)...

Well, what do I say? I sometimes wished that I could be like Miaka and get sucked into some fantastical "other universe" just to escape reality..but then, who hasn't, even just once? Especially if you get to meet quite a few good-looking young men along the way, and end up having not only 2 of them falling in love read more
Aug 16, 2009
Shinganai (All reviews)
Preliminary
Coming from someone who usually reads more gory, twisted stuff, I gotta say, this is one of the best mangas I've read lately. While I couldn't give it perfect tens all across, it is DEFINITELY a great manga, especially to someone who's new to it. And here are some breif reasons why.
1.) The overall story. While the plot is sort of shojo-cliche (average school girl ets sucked into different world and given a great responsibility), it has a lot of good twists. Like, REALLY good. I would find myself thinking "wow...that was stupid..." and then reading on to realize that whatever happened was actually read more
Mar 29, 2011
painappurut (All reviews)
Preliminary
It took me a while to start reading this just because I didn't think I would find it interesting. If there is an anime version made of the manga, I usually like to watch it before reading the manga, but as the anime seemed a bit dull, I forgot all about it. However, last month I found myself without a manga to read and I got a hold of Fushigi Yuugi volume 1. As there was nothing better to do I decided to give it a try.

I didn't get captivated at first, it took me about a week to read the first volume but then read more
Oct 1, 2013
red_888 (All reviews)
Fushigi Yuugi has been my favorite eversince my elementary school days and up until now, i am surprised that im still engaged to this eventhough i am in my twenties ;).

I have finished the anime and OVA's and started reading the manga after reading the Fushigi Yuugi : Genbu Kaiden. Suddenly, i feel the rush to read the manga itself (i was not planning to since ive watched the episodes). Though there's only little difference than the anime, it seems like it gives me the same feelings. I guess, even if i watch it over and over again or even read, it'll give me the read more
Oct 17, 2011
st_owly (All reviews)
Note: This review is only for Part 1 (Volumes 1-13) The author intended it to end here, and it shows. Part 2 was written due to fan demand, and it shows. It definitely feels like a tacked on afterthought. Now, onto the review...

I think this is one of the best shoujo manga out there. It takes the basic plot bones of a shounen manga: Teenager faced with epic quest and who must defeat ultimate evil, adds romance and manages to turn it into a beautiful, gripping shoujo manga.

Art: The art is very 90's, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Unlike a lot of read more
May 24, 2016
shadowh09 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I absolutely LOVE this manga and the anime. This as got to be my favorite story of all times. There is an excellent plot line, plot twists, and characters you can't help but fall in love with <3! Themes of romance and friendship are highly evident. Some of the plot twists in here absolutely broke my heart. :'( RIP guys... The story takes place in the present when Miaka is a middle schooler who loves food, and has a older brother and a mother (where's her father, idk?). Miaka is best friends with her childhood friend Yui. When the two girls go to the library read more
May 25, 2010
mizuru1993 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I fell in love with this shoujo manga, I truely think everything about it is just beautiful. I artwork is perfectly drawn, there's intresting characters, and the plot is very intresting. For a shoujo, it won me a shounen fan as one.