Tokyo Crazy Paradise
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Tokyo Crazy Paradise

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 東京クレイジーパラダイス

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 19
Chapters: 111
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 25, 1996 to Apr 25, 2002
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, ShoujoShoujo, Gender BenderGender Bender
Authors: Nakamura, Yoshiki (Story & Art)
Serialization: Hana to Yume

Statistics

Score: 8.351 (scored by 64706,470 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2102
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #711
Members: 14,992
Favorites: 758

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 5, 2008
spiffyish (All reviews)
HOW I WAS INTRODUCED TO TOKYO CRAZY PARADISE:
"Tokyo Crazy Paradise" was one of my random finds. I don't very often read random manga, but in TCP's case, I'm glad I did.

STORY (8/10):
When you boil TCP's story down into a mere plot summary it sounds dull and overdone--girl falls for bad boy, leader of a mafia organization at that. However, doing this certainly doesn't do TCP justice. The story melds romance, drama, and action so well that TCP becomes an incredibly unique story of its own.

ART (7/10):
The art of TCP is by no means bad, but it is a little different. The read more
Jun 19, 2009
Sweetpea (All reviews)
I discovered this manga when looking for other works by Nakamura Yoshiki- I was first drawn in by her recent manga, Skip Beat!. It turned out she had written a manga directly before Skip Beat!, called Tokyo Crazy Paradise.

The story seems to cross over both shoujo and shounen lines, the shounen covered by the large amount of violence that occurs in this story and the"'I will protect/serve 'insert name of person or area here'" attitude that many, if not all of the characters hold. This aspect also hold up in the main storyline. The more typical shoujo aspects occur in the lead's focus on taking read more
May 27, 2020
abystoma2 (All reviews)
I'll be honest right from the start: this review is biased. It focuses too much on only one aspect of the manga. That said, it is an aspect I consider very important and that could be even a deal breaker, and I'm sure I'm not the only one.

Yes, it is about the art. To say sucks would be an understatement. It's absolutely horrendous. It makes the manga practically unbearable. The illustrations are worse than bad fanarts posted by a 13 years old teen on a deviantart. The anatomy is worse than that of bad yaoi manga, and that's something. The characters are constantly offmodel with read more
Mar 31, 2015
ShojoManiac (All reviews)
Story: 10

Tokyo Crazy Paradise is built upon clichés that we’ve read/watched about a thousand times with manga and anime: yakuza, gender bending, poor girl, rich guy, poor girl becoming the “servant” of rich guy…But these clichés are done well in which you forget they’re clichés in the first place. Warning: this manga is grittier than typical shoujos. There’re drugs, human trafficking, violence, prostitution—yeah, it’s all there. This is a Yakuza story after all. And sure, these things might not faze some readers (the seinen demographic), but need I remind you again that TCP is shoujo? You know, the same thing Kimi ni Todoke (shoujo in read more
Jul 12, 2010
sweeny (All reviews)
Story - set in the future, when it is dangerous for women to be on the street, comes the story of two 14 year olds. One, head honcho of a powerful yakuza group, the other the daughter of policeman, living as a man.

Yes, this is the basic story, but it is So Much More!! It is action packed, it is (slightly) romanitic, it is about growing up, and growing together, it is jealousy, it is humour, it is just so addictive!!! There were many occasions when I laughed outloud, in situations where I was not expecting any comedy.

Art - you can tell who read more
May 26, 2008
helaynia (All reviews)
This is one of the first manga that got me hooked!
I loved the whole girl in boy disguise!
Hows innocent the main character is but strong willed and her personality is amazing.
I had some great laughs throughout the manga, the fighting scenes were great, the family and friends are used amazingly well.
And I wouldn't want to give anything else! So read it.
YOU'LL
Dec 11, 2014
Evionth (All reviews)
Man, this is hard to write, because I love this kind of formula, and the action and the people and everything is pretty darn good. The whole girl getting dressed up in disguise and is gorgeous and super cool is one of my favorite tropes. Genderbender too? SO AMAZING. I love Tsukasa a lot, she's kind of dumb at times, but she has a nice heart and a strong will and she's great, so great.

As I read the manga, however, I just couldn't make myself like Ryuuji. Given that he's literally one of the most important parts of the manga, a love interest and everything, read more
Aug 20, 2011
Shazura7 (All reviews)
Tokyo crazy paradise. how did I come upon it? I was looking through anime, and stumbled on it, saying to myself "Hey, that art style looks just like skip beats!" Not knowing that it was done by the same author until later. I'm not going to say "This is my first review" don't pity me, use your actually opinion on it!

Story-10
Personally I enjoyed this manga a lot! This manga has the cold stone-faced boy,Ryuji, and the girl that he shows his 'real' expressions to,Tsubasa, while still carrying out action and humor, it's very entertaining. If you're looking for a sappy romance between body read more
Aug 1, 2014
Aeowina (All reviews)
I discovered TCP while waiting for Skip Beat! chapters to be scantalated. I was skeptical at first, but decided to take a leap of faith and read another one of Nakamura-sensei's works. And I'm glad I did... Oh yes. Having already fangirl-ed sufficiently over Skip Beat!, I felt compelled to write about Tokyo Crazy Paradise. Don't worry, it'll will be a more solid review this time around ;D

>Story: TCP (or KurePara) is a little mix of everything when it comes to the plot. It has enough action to appeal to a shounen audience, while the romantic elements are true to it's shoujo nature. There were read more
Jun 30, 2019
-Lupa- (All reviews)
Preliminary
I tried really hard to like this manga, and on the surface, it has a lot of elements that I usually like. Strong, kick-ass female MC? Check. Gender-Bender slow burn romance? Yeah, I'm a sucker for that. Written by Nakamura sensei? Well I love Skip Beat, so I would love this one too, right?

I read through several of story arcs, hoping that it would get better, before I eventually gave up and moved on. There are a few different reasons why it didn't appeal to me:
-Age of the characters (14). As a female in her 30s, that is already an age that I can't really read more
Sep 7, 2015
Karensama (All reviews)
One of my all time favorites and also underrated manga. The story starts off very cliche and uses many repetitive tones and plots like any other manga out there. BUT I also feel that it deserves a lot of leeway considering that it is a mid-90's manga.

[7/10] ART
The art is not as pleasant and polished in comparison to what we are all used to, and can take a bit of time to adjust (like I did). However, I want to make note that as the story progresses, the illustrations IMPROVED!!

[9/10] STORY
The story and plot are not exceptionally divine and different, but it does read more
Oct 16, 2008
YoungHeart (All reviews)
I throughly enjoyed this manga, because it was completely different from most shoujo manga I have read. Tsukasa is the female lead, and I have to say kicks as much ass as any guy can. The male lead is Ryuji and doesn't lack anything either. It was nice to have a good balance between action and romance. The fight scenes in the manga are very thrilling and the romance definitely keeps you wanting to see more without getting too mushy. If you've read any of Nakamura Yoshiki's work, or are simply looking for something other than your typical romance manga then this read more
Mar 24, 2015
soniaball03 (All reviews)
This is one of the best story i have ever read. The plot is really different from any other shoujo manga. You don't see good story like that often. But, if you want a sweet, no-fighting story don't read this. Personally, I really like those kind of stories so for me it's ya know, la crème de la crème. There's fighting. There's romance. Sooo good!

The characters are really good. You can put yourself in their place. They aren't unnatural. I really liked how Tsukasa is baka some times but sometimes she's serious and become a goddess of fighting! And Ryuji is so funny.

The art is read more
Jun 7, 2009
ElemenTalia (All reviews)
I thought that this was an amazing manga worthy of becoming an anime. The whole bad guy and girl disguised as a boy plots are a bit overdone these days, but this was a worthy reading choice. The title itself throws you off a bit as weird, but it was worth finding it. The art is amazing, the characters are wonderful, and the romance, drama, and life going on in the manga are amazing. It shows a bit of breast, but it is so worth reading over and over again.
Mar 16, 2012
nicparmesan (All reviews)
In my opinion, this manga is very underrated. I only happened upon it by chance, having never heard of it before and I absolutely loved it. The female lead is very strong and admirable as well as hilarious. I also couldn't help but love Ryuuji and his interactions with Tsukasa are absolutely hysterical. I can't believe that this never gained more popularity. I understand that it is a bit of an odd genre having this mix of shoujo with hardcore action, but I just see this as something that makes it unique and special. More people should definitely give it a try. If you read more
Aug 22, 2009
BlasianAngel (All reviews)
This manga is amazing! There's absoulutely nothing I dislike about it! It's incredibly hilarious mixed with amazing action scenes, sweet romance, and touching scenes of angst. I'm not really into drama, but this added just the write blend to keep me interest throughout the whole series. I've read this manga at least ten times (truly) and I still haven't gotten tired of it.
Tsukasa and Ryuji make such an awesome team as both lovers and fighters. You couldn't ask for a better pairing.
Feb 22, 2012
kasumi_imai (All reviews)
As many here, I started KurePara by trying to find something else from Nakamura-sensei after finishing Skip Beat! for the second time (I gotta stop rereading stuff).

Story - 10
The story gave us some shounen in the shoujo scenario. What is basically something awesome, because it has the perfect balance between romance and action. I'm kinda getting tired of all those honey-filled shoujo (aka Kyo, Koi wo Hajimemashite).

It all had the right pace to keep me on the edge of my seat from the very begining.
Nakamura-sensei must had done a lot of research to portrait the yakuza.

Art - 6
This is where I think is the thing read more
Apr 18, 2013
missytot (All reviews)
I'm not really a fan of romantic type of manga, whenever i see a category of romantic in genre I immediately ignore it. But "Tokyo Crazy Paradise" is an exemption of those, I'm out of manga to read when I tried to give these a shot and I am super really, really great-full of it.

The reason I dislike romantic manga because of the common type of protagonist whether a girl or a boy, always a wimp, lame, harem, ecchi, etc so tired of those character. In TCP all the character are created well thoroughly whether its the protagonist or the antagonist of the story.

Tokyo read more
Oct 2, 2011
MsDoooS (All reviews)
to tell you the truth that was the best manga I've read.

It was awesome, great and wow.

I like the girl how could take care of her self, so that why this manga

was the best I've read .

can i ask you do you know manga like this??