Akira
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Akira

Alternative Titles

English: Akira
Japanese: AKIRA

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 6
Chapters: 120
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 6, 1982 to Jun 11, 1990
Genres: Action Action, Sci-Fi Sci-Fi
Demographic: Seinen Seinen
Authors: Otomo, Katsuhiro (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.701 (scored by 3303433,034 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #472
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #85
Members: 97,466
Favorites: 5,300

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 25, 2008
martusf (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story:
The story is nothing short of amazing, so well done and with lots of consistency. It develops nicely through the 6 volumes, with a nice ending. Very few things to pick on, but I guess it isn't for nothing this is considered a great work of art. Nonetheless the progress is a bit slow in the middle (specially volume 3), but it isn't enough to do anything about the greater feeling that the story has. Also, I have some mixed feelings about the position of the bikes in the story, it seems kinda a bit too important.

Art:
Nothing bad about this. The art pleased me all read more
Jul 27, 2016
MDG31ST (All reviews)
I almost feel bad that, upon re-assessment, I found the classic "Akira" to be so flawed. The source material for the first anime I ever saw, I remembered pouring through these volumes the first time Dark Horse re-released them in their giant phone books. While my maturation of taste has definitely not rendered "Akira" unreadable by any means, I can't help but feel that there is just so much potential for this to be something that it ultimately failed to be.

Let's get started with the good:

The art for this entire series is impeccable. The character designs are spot-on, but what most impresses me are the read more
Apr 13, 2010
Tumerking (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all the length of this manga is misleading. I would say the length of an average manga volume is about 200 pages. Akira's manga volumes are around 400 pages so don't think you'll be able to rush through this thing. It will take time.

STORY: 8/10
The main plot is focused on stopping the newly escaped, child-psychic, named "Akira" from destroying Japan and the rest of the world. For the most part we follow a motor cycle gang member named Kaneda who somehow gets sucked into this government psychic conspiracy. Kaneda doesn't really care so much about Akira as he does about his bff Tetsuo read more
May 15, 2015
tuklaw (All reviews)
I didn't like it at all and found it a bit overrated. And even though the artwork is pretty good, the story is just meh. Main characters appeared to be one sided and no character development at all. Kaneda and Tetsuo started off as annoying and ended the same throughout the whole manga, but I liked some characters like Kei, the Colonel and Chiyako even Ryu. Even the title character Akira is boring and he just exist as a plot device, other children are more interesting. Maybe I'm just expecting a lot more considering it is called one of the best. It may be influential read more
May 19, 2013
TuesdaysDusk (All reviews)
Preliminary
Akira is arguably one of the most influential manga ever created. It turned Otomo into one of the gods of manga, even though he never again penned of a similar scale. It is his opus, as it rightly should be. The landmark film adaption, one of the most important anime ever released and one of the films responsible for the popularity of anime in America, is an achievement, to say the least. What one does not typically realize, though, is that, while the 2 hour adaption does remain true to the original for the most part, it covers less than 2 volumes of the manga read more
Mar 22, 2017
Ghostfriendly (All reviews)
At time of release Akira was possibly regarded as the greatest manga yet written (and certainly clearer to understand than Evangelion). With the modern focus on dialogue as an engine of plot and character, Akira was a strange reading experience, with its static characters, repeated quarter-volume fight scenes against armies of gunmen, and unashamed focus on spectacle over exploring the intricacies of its own plot. The movie of Akira probably distils the vital themes and character dynamics much more sharply, with some more brilliant exchanges and creative images than anything in the source; the manga has nothing quite like that giant milk-bleeding teddy bear. read more
Sep 12, 2019
wyhhyw (All reviews)
If Akira was published today, I very much doubt it would get a fraction of the praise it now gets (even if it was updated to the "present time").
The good about this manga has already been told extensively, so I will talk about the bad.

Kaneda, one the main characters, is a normal human being, yet somehow he can wrestle with Superman, outsmart Batman, and overcome the Fates and the angels of Death. Additionally, he drives the fanciest motorcycles (and is the best rider, obviously), and gets the girl (another obviously, as all good heroes are supposed to get the girl). By the way, Kaneda is read more
Mar 9, 2015
Playcool (All reviews)
Preliminary
Akira is a classic.
I can only imagine how revolutionary it was for its time.
My biggest complains I have with the manga are that while it may had been breathtaking with its storytellling and characters on the 80/90's, and I did enjoyed the characters and apocalyptic scenario, both these just dont felt that amazing anymore in the current days.
The theme of Akira's was well explored, the whole death/life sci fi stuff was awesome, but the characters... with time I came to enjoy them more, but if I had to point Akira's main weakness, it would be those.
I can connect with Kaneda and the others, read more
Mar 23, 2011
IppoSRB (All reviews)
Preliminary
You know that feeling, when you start doing something, and can't get enough of it??
Well I had that feeling while reading Akira.
I bought it from a local manga shop, not expecting anything special.
As I started reading it, I found myself sucked into the story.
As it starts, the story is filled with mysteries, confusing things, and secrets that you just can't wait to uncover. And as you finish chapter by chapter, you finally get to unlock few secrets, but new bunch of them shows from nowhere.
So it's pushing you to keep reading, until you finish it completely.

The art isn't something revolutionary, but it's still pretty good. read more
Apr 30, 2008
Sentinel57 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I actually would rate this lower if I read just the normal black and white volumes that are being printed right now. Fortunately for me I was able to come across the 38~ volume full color version of this manga.

The art style in fully detailed color definitely blows the story to a whole new level. It just makes the whole thing 'pop'.

If you are able to get access to these original color manga versions please read them/buy them/steal them. They really make this manga a true work of art.
Feb 6, 2012
SmileToday191 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Akira. Whether you're a fan of manga, anime, comics,film, science fiction, or just any kind of art form, most likely you have heard of the name "Akira", along with Akira Kurosawa it must be the most popular Akira out there.Whether it deserves the title of classic is up to those who have given it a chance, however if you are considering the movie best is to read the manga first.
Being called "classic" has many justifications, classics are usually good but in no way perfect. I kind of wish I could give this a 7.50, for 7 is too low but 8 is too high, why read more
Aug 16, 2012
whatevere5656 (All reviews)
Preliminary
In the 80s someone with a big vision and big dream poured what had been growing in his brain into a masterpiece, that soon would be acknowledged as a worldwide masterpiece. That person is Katsuhiro Otomo. The masterpiece is Akira.

Akira takes place in the future, in a place called neo tokyo. Neo because Tokyo before was "destroyed" by a person whose name is the title. Akira could do the destroying because he was number 28, a codename for government experiment in brainwave, mental research etc.(not my expertise area)

Where are the other numbers?
This is what the story revolves in.

Kaneda and Tetsuo are the high-ups of read more
Nov 21, 2011
Wombstone (All reviews)
Preliminary
This book's main draw is the non-stop action and the sheer spectacle of it when taken as a whole. The scenes of complete destruction are fucking raw; you can almost FEEL the painstaking lengths Otomo went to so that his book's art was out of this world. Those, along with the detailed and frenetic action scenes, should be considered for induction into the Louvre; not even kidding.

Oh and the story and characters are great too. Despite his dickish sneer and uh... biological idiosyncrasies, Tetsuo is a very organic character.
Mar 9, 2014
Wintermute12 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Akira is a rush from beginning to end with a compelling story and outstanding art. Any fans of the movie adaptation or fans of science fiction should definitely read this manga. Without spoiling anything, I have to say that the manga story line is explained in much more detail and while the movie itself is amazing, the manga somehow manages to surpass it in terms of story telling. The artwork in this is very good, especially when the action picks up and there are just a ton of different explosions going on or even the amazingly drawn backgrounds of the city with the motor bikes read more
Sep 11, 2018
jzmcdaisy2112 (All reviews)
The classic film Akira has been uttered by the lips of most every anime fan. However those who have read the manga are in a shrinking minority. With any adaptation (especially if you consider yourself a writer) it’s really important to absorb both and look at what was selected and condensed for the adaptation. The manga of Akira has an intense, gripping and action-heavy plot, and much of the movie summarizes the comic very well. However the movie is condensed for characterization’s sake, and leaves out certain details that made the plot make more sense in the manga.

Otomo loves both setting and action, as both read more
Nov 21, 2019
mouthpiece (All reviews)
(just for the record, this is a slight alteration of my anime review)

VALUE SECTION: 10/10
Analysis: Historical Value 3/3, Rereadability 3/3, Memorability 4/4

Amongst the most classic manga titles of all times, Akira has passed in history as one of the best dystopian/apocalyptic titles of all times, not only because of its detailed artwork but also because of its themes, angst-ridden characters, and grotesque action/transformation scenes.

ART SECTION: 8/10
Analysis: General Artwork 2/2, Character Figures 1/2, Backgrounds 2/2, Readability 2/2, Visual Effects 1/2

I must say I am amazed. The artwork is extremely detailed and dynamic, to the point it counts as a graphic novel and not as a run read more
Feb 3, 2019
robiu013 (All reviews)
I don't think I have ever written a review on something I quite liked as much as this, so this right now seems kind of unusual for me, but yeah, Akira the manga is excellent.

I had already watched the movie previously and loved it. It was an aesthetic masterpiece, however as far as story goes, it just felt too rushed and like it's skipping larger chunks of important information. Even if it ultimately raised interesting questions about society and technological development, it still felt like something was missing.

Now that I have finally gotten around reading the manga, I have to say, that even that problem read more
Dec 6, 2012
mellon29 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Akira was one of the first manga films I ever watched, only a few years ago now; I didn't even know we had it on the shelf! To be perfectly honest I adore the film, despite it being so different from the manga. The plot is so compelling, it just makes this film one of the best I have ever watched. The art is also very good; it is more realistic than a lot of anime and this is one of the reasons why i enjoyed it so much. As for characters, I love how realistic they are in contrast to the plot. Most of read more
Sep 2, 2021
Alex_Jaro (All reviews)
After seeing this manga with such high ratings in so many people's lists I just had to check it out, I was fairly disappointed, I expected a manga that would move me and widen my eyeholes, some were talking about it like a religion of some sort and I just wanted to get into it, the cover makes it look very psychological and dramatic, like the end of the world is coming and our protagonist is struggling against everything or has some kind of depression.

Well, it is similar enough but quite worse than what I expected. I didn't quite get what relation the creator or read more
Feb 3, 2018
Zentoyo (All reviews)
Preliminary
I enjoyed the movie, and i heard the manga was better.

Its not, i couldnt even finish it.

The characters are even flatter than in the movie and thats saying a lot, the character relationships are just as articifial and forced as the plot progression, a lot of time is wasted on useless shit that doesnt further the plot nor helps worldbuilding.

On a more possitive note, i kinda enjoyed the art, and in the late chapters there is some top notch qual art, or so ive heard.

It has aged horribly, and the slow pace makes the characters n plot problems even more agravating.

Ive heard the last read more