Watashi ga Motete Dousunda
Kiss Him, Not Me
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Watashi ga Motete Dousunda

Alternative Titles

English: Kiss Him, Not Me
Synonyms: Boys, Please Kiss Him Instead of Me, What will you do if I become popular?
Japanese: 私がモテてどうすんだ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 14
Chapters: 60
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 13, 2013 to Feb 13, 2018
Genres: ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool, ShoujoShoujo, HaremHarem
Authors: Junko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Bessatsu Friend

Statistics

Score: 7.581 (scored by 1458014,580 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #21092
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #246
Members: 39,694
Favorites: 982

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 13, 2013
Hyperbolic33 (All reviews)
Preliminary
BL author Junko tries out shoujo. As of now only 2 english chapters are out (3rd is in chinese), so there's not much, but I still want to review it.

Story (6) - The story is about an overweight fujoshi (BL lover) who one day loses all her weight by not eating while grieving over her favorite character's death. Not very realistic, but hey it's shoujo. Now that she's pretty every hot boy in school comes out of the woodwork to try and get in her pants; except for one, who is my favorite, and was her friend from the start. Ensue reverse harem with BL read more
Oct 25, 2018
isahbellah (All reviews)
Let me start this review with the problematics: As a fat person, I often search for things with my representation. Unironically, it's hard to find a piece of media that focuses on an overweight female, but occasionally I come across stuff like Kiss Him, Not Me. At first, I was very excited to begin reading, this seemed right up my alley! But...

The beginning of the story is pretty fatphobic.

Let me introduce you to the characters:
- **Serinuma**, the MC, who actually doesn't give 2 SHITS about her own appearance so that's REALLY COOL. She's a fujoshi, so all that she cares about (REALLY) is... two guys read more
Aug 8, 2013
cookieme (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok so this is a review so there's gonna be some good and bad and its one of my first so.. you know go easy on me plus this is only based off the first two chapters which says a lot as a whole
well Im mostly summarizing since I noticed there aren't any reviews and I usually hate when there aren't any because I want to hear how the story is from another viewpoint before I waste my time with something I don't really like so Im not going into great detail.

So the story is and isn't a cliche and I'll explain why. Our mc read more
Jan 25, 2019
kikichan_ (All reviews)
“Wow, this was really good.”

– That's what I thought after finishing the last chapter.

I’m a shipper alright. On top of that, I’m also a simple person, so I usually ship the girl with the first guy to appear. This manga, however, despite providing five possible love interests for the main heroin, didn’t make me ship, strangely enough.

I liked all the boyfriend/girlfriend candidates, they were all unique and all funny in their way. Sure, when Kae had moments with Igarashi, it felt wrong (i'm sorry, Yuusuke). I immediately fell in love with Mutsumi-senpai, because he always cared for Kae, always put her first and didn’t care, read more
Dec 6, 2013
whazzits (All reviews)
Preliminary
Only two or three chapters have been out at the time of this writing, so keep in mind that opinions on the story and the characters may not be accurate in the future.

This author normally writes shounen-ai manga. This is both a departure from that and a sort of riffing on the idea of BL in general.

STORY

The MC is a fujoshi (aka the mangaka's fanbase) who suddenly finds herself quite beautiful, and attracts the attention of four of her male classmates. There aren't many reverse-harems in circulation, and those that are around usually don't reach for new heights. This premise does. The males who read more
Jun 24, 2015
ihatemal1234 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've currently read 25 chapters of this manga and I'm thoroughly enjoying it so far. The series does not take itself too seriously and definitely has a large amount of fanservice (which I think is always nice). The art is very, very well done and looks clean and crisp.

The way the story is laid out is also very nice. Nothing feels particularly rushed and doesn't leave you hanging too terribly at the end of every chapter.

All of the main characters receive a decent amount of development. There were several times where I found myself at odds with every character and their motivations, but things always read more
Jun 30, 2018
intotheheart (All reviews)
I think this manga balanced romance, and drama really well. Characters were generally well developed, with a light touch. The cast mostly focuses on our protagonist Serinuma Kae, and her suitors. Each of them had interesting backstories, hobbies, and approaches to romance.

It read like a standard shoujo romance, and asked why characters love, or appreciate each other. Is it appearance, or something else? This manga takes the time to explore it. The use of an otaku leading character was also useful, as the author made use of her hobbies and Kae's obsession with her favourite character to explore the dynamics between fiction, and reality.

Art read more
Feb 20, 2019
coyoteclaw11 (All reviews)
Let's start with the cons since it's more fun that way! This story begins with its fair share of fatphobia. Serinuma is an overweight girl who ends up rapidly losing weight, sparking a bunch of guys to suddenly become interested in her. She gains and loses weight on a crazy scale, and this comes up a few times, the first of which has the others forcing her on a diet so she'll become "cute" again. Some of the love interests grow past this (or were never concerned with her weight in the first place) while others don't. So! It's worth noting that if this would read more
Mar 8, 2015
TheLittleQueen (All reviews)
Preliminary
I love this manga the plot overall is funny.Beside I believe most of the characters just broke the fourth wall o-o. I love it the art is outstanding and the main character is just my favorite.. Just read this manga for a good laugh and also there is some romantic moments (Mostly) but not that cheesey romance. YURI ALERT as well O.O but nor strong

Jul 28, 2016
atKatlin (All reviews)
Preliminary
I encountered this anime while browsing social site and I said I might as give a try to read this one since the plot is interesting. The story is about a female who loves BL and she is fat then suddenly when her favorite character dies, she becomes slim and all of the sudden guys flock around her. Seriously, that's implausible. I think that's one thing that catches the attention of the readers, but then as the story continues apparently the story is lazy and somewhat force. There are some dramas that are unjustifiable. On the positive note, the art is good. The characters have read more
Nov 6, 2016
HatoMada (All reviews)
Preliminary
WAIT!! Before you dismiss my nerdy semi-academia influenced ramble about how Watashi Ga Motete Dousunda is shaping the consumption of BL and reverse harem, let me say this:

"Girls that despise yaoi don't even exist, okay?"

What Is Fujoshi, And How Do They Have Sex?:
Hehe. Very necessary. Now, you're probably wondering what about the story is so praise-worthy? We get a blatantly stupid and very "anime" (in the sense of a contrived excuse to satisfy the premise) start followed by a checklist of all the scenarios a reverse harem show would include, and admittedly this isn't too interesting. But, where other than story can I talk about read more
May 11, 2020
marboatsailin (All reviews)
I came to this after watching the anime, which only goes up to about chapter 30~. Let's go by categories and hopefully this will help you figure out whether this is the manga for you!

Art:
the art is stunning! Everything is well made and draws you in. If art style is important to you, this manga will not disappoint!

Characters and Plot:
The characters, unfortunately, aren't anything too special. They all can fall into certain categories, but they do have developments that get you more attached read more
Sep 19, 2015
bottledragon (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I read the premise, I was excited. It sounded hilarious. I certainly felt that way for the first few chapters. However, it started to fall flat. It rarely feels like I'm reading a manga about a fujoshi who wants them to get with each other instead of her, and more like a generic harem with a dense protagonist.

I like the art, for the most part, because the characters are really cute. However, sometimes I have a hard time telling certain ones apart because they aren't very distinguished.

I really liked Musumi because he was really chill and didn't seem to care whether he read more
Nov 24, 2016
KaytaVi (All reviews)
Preliminary
After seeing all the early reviews full of prejudices I've decided to fight them after reading 40 chapters:

As many have already mentioned, this is a PARODY, don't take everything too seriously! It is full of clichés (used to an advantage), romantic moments, BL moments, comedic moments and all of this in a hilarious way. I enjoy this manga and anime extremely much, it always makes me laugh!

1. The biased synopsis
I was put off at the beginning about the MC suddenly losing weight in an impossible way and thus becoming popular. But don't be FOOLED! This is supposed to be ridiculous and simply a reason to read more
Feb 7, 2019
alittlelaughter (All reviews)
I thought the characters were all funny and endearing. What drew me into this manga was I guess all the fangirling the main character did in the first chapter. I found it relatable and so funny. The love interests are adorable and all the banter between the characters I thought were so sweet and cute. It made me go "awwww "in sincerity. Plot wise. I enjoyed it there were times where I was wondering who will she really end up with wth is she thinking. I got angry and sad. Luckily she chose my fave. The ending felt rushed or else I would of read more
Dec 23, 2016
Torra27 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I would sum up "Kiss Him, Not Me!" as silly yet fun shoujo that doesn't take itself too seriously. If you're in the mood for something that you don't have to think about too much, (which is what I sometimes need!), this ones a pretty safe bet to give you a smile.

The plot is pretty silly, its basically a harem revolving around a female fujoshi who *magically* loses weight after a week from being depressed over her favourite anime character dying. Except, what really kind of makes me laugh is the fact that she really doesn't enjoy that so much and ships each of read more
May 18, 2020
ML27 (All reviews)
A high school fujoshi - Serinuma Kae - is hit with a tragedy in her favourite anime, and so loses a lot of weight and become super hot, thus attracting the attention of four guys and one girl.

Verrrry shallow premise... but the first half of the story is actually pretty compelling, if very fatphobic.. Kae is someone who just does not give a flying DAMN about her weight, and is out here living her best life loving anime and watching BL, and I'm all for it. She's living the life I wanna live.

Then she approached by these people who are suddenly super into her because read more
May 16, 2016
Seasonalanime (All reviews)
Preliminary
I can honestly say I hate reverse Harems & the harem genre combined. When have you seen the last good one with a different vibe? Me I can only count 2. The shows like Asterick war and sword art online make me cringe. Asterick war's plot is what not to do because it's so overused. That's the issue with making a good series with this genre. If you can do it you get a gold 🌟 in my book. ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀This series is about Kae a Fujoshi that'll make you cringe (in a good way lol) at her Yaoi fangirling and with her weight changing quark. read more