Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Prison School

Prison School

Alternative Titles

English: Prison School
Synonyms: Kangoku Gakuen
Japanese: 監獄学園〈プリズンスクール〉

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 28
Chapters: 278
Status: Finished
Published: Feb 7, 2011 to Dec 25, 2017
Authors: Hiramoto, Akira (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.731 (scored by 37102 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #20502
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #50
Members: 83,707
Favorites: 4,700

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 17, 2018
Pipe (All reviews)
Prison school, a downhill chronicle.

This manga is the perfect example of what happens when the author runs out of ideas and begins experimenting with useless plot twists, destroying the character development and the whole story in the process. I am disappointed, the ending rambles and feels forced. Also, it will give you the impression it was incorrectly planned and misplaced. Perhaps Prison School lost the main essence in the middle of the manga, and the editor wanted to conclude it as quickly as possible. A shame because the story in the first arc is marvelous, creative, exciting, and amusing. The mangaka created a diamond, read more
Mar 15, 2013
RockCentipede (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga is extremely funny. Several times I have busted a gut laughing. The reason I find Kangoku Gakuen so good is because of the characters. The main guys are all unique. The story becomes rather serious dealing with things such as betrayal, and humiliation; sometimes this is funny but at other times it is sad. The comedy is over the top, it's just hilarious. Another good thing about this manga is that you can feel the emotions certain characters are feeling. These characters (at least to me) can be something people can relate to; I have pooped my pants once (never in school). To read more
Mar 26, 2015
KidSatan (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is one of the funniest thing i've ever seen, read or even experienced. Period.

First of all the art is stunning, it's actually what lead me to read this. It doesn't matter if you're a boy or a girl, the manga is just visually appealing from beginning to end (of course if you happen to like women this is, well some sort of pervy heaven xD); every single detail, every single action, everything is perfect. Then the characters: oh the characters. There's no such thing as a dull character here, they all have their thing that makes them unique and great in their own way, read more
Nov 29, 2014
takarabako (All reviews)
Preliminary
Don't listen to guys, who tell you this manga is only for those who like perverted stuff.

I really dislike hentai, and I avoid ecchi whenever possible. This manga stayed on my "plan to watch" list for a while, before I finally picked in up and finished 144 chapter in one day (actually, two days, because I finished long after midnight).

Is there a lot of ecchi in Kangoku Gakuen? Yes, unfortunately. BUT! Bigger half of it is made into a joke or something funny, and so it doesn't feel like straight fanservice.

The second half of ecchi is so overboard and unrealistic that I make a typical read more
Dec 26, 2017
srdltb (All reviews)
Prison School is the funniest manga I've ever read. It has great comedic buildup, serious characters getting into ridiculous situations, and stupid humor matched with realistic art. The characters are likable and the ships are good but I think its the art style that really set this series apart

It was quality entertainment up until around 200 chapters in when it got sidetracked and started to drag. It went downhill after that. The series just wasn't the same as the early chapters. They brought the romance up front and set the comedy aside.

The last half of the series have been nothing but a drag, I read more
May 15, 2018
NiBer (All reviews)
It sucks - 9/10
This is a perfect review of the series.

Manga is pretty much on point until it passes roughly ~80% of work. Most of the read is extremely enjoyable, fun, exciting, intense, erotic, feel-good experience that I had pleasure of familiarizing myself with for (almost) three days, before the work started showing signs of injury on better part of last day. Crazy adventures, situations, troubles, laughs and disasters our cast goes through in their lives is pretty much the definition of youth everyone would like to experience, maybe, to their own risk. Then, sadly, two things happen.

1) Prolongation
2) Bad ending

First, it draws out, read more
Jan 5, 2018
Xenience (All reviews)
This review WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS. It will be discussing the very big drop-off of humor and story that happened towards the end, as well as the horrendous ending that the readers received. I will, even with that being said, try and not spoil much. Just don't read the overall score, but honestly, I think I'd save your time if you do read it.

So I was going to just talk about the story, but I wrote too much about it. I'll use the format the reviewer gives me and try and make it as compact as possible.

Art: Really good. I mean, read more
Mar 21, 2015
shizaman (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all let me tell you English isn't my mother language so this review will probably suck.

The story focuses on a strict female high school where boys starts to be welcome and on the five boys who get in this high school: The typical well-intentioned protagonist Kiyoshi, who he gets into trouble because of misunderstandings, his childhood friend, Shingo, a Japanese history freak and the one who will figure out most of the plans (And also my favorite character) Gakuto, a masochist fat boy whose face is very small compared with his head, Andrei, and the most mysterious one, Jô, who is always covered read more
Aug 9, 2014
Ritz (All reviews)
Preliminary
It is 4:19 am as I write this review. It's been three hours and I've completed about 100+ chapters and this is some mature funny shit.

This manga is extremely mature as in lots of pantsu, big breasts and ero angles.

If you like funny jokes about hurting (s&m) people this is the manga you're looking for.

The story is about five males entering the prison as punishment for opeeping at the girls change room. The manga shows their struggle and their bond with each other as males.
Jul 13, 2013
fortisimuss (All reviews)
Preliminary
Prison School is a masterpiece.

That may be a hasty thing to say considering that it is not completed yet. It could turn mediocre at one point in time, or the already high levels of fan-service could skyrocket to the point of no plot... It won't though.

Prison school is ecchi manga with a awesome plot on the side.

Our plot starts with Kiyoshi, a fun loving guy who wants to have a sweet girlfriend, and four other boys (with similar interests) going to an all-girls school that just recently became co-ed. During the opening ceremony they realize that they are the only boys in a school read more
Aug 12, 2014
Mil_Mil (All reviews)
Preliminary
In some way, Prison School is a unique manga. Since the very first chapters it can be noticed that this story is pretty different from most of the typical japanese stories about sexually obsessed teenagers.

The school, where everything is happening, has more than a thousand female and only FIVE male students. Nevertheless, the story almost lacks any references to harem or any stereotypes that are often present in such kind of stories. After facing some plot twists, it's most likely that you want to keep on reading it with interest. And after facing some awkward situations, it's most likely that you laugh your head off.

Though read more
Sep 7, 2012
cguercin (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga is very entertaining, I think anyone who is a looking for a good laugh should pick it up. It contains extremely ecchi situations, but most of it is intended to add to the humorous, over-the-top atmosphere of it.

Another big plus of this manga is the artwork, the artist's talent is apparent from chapter 1. There is great attention to detail, and the characters are all very distinguishable from one another.

Speaking of characters, this is another area where this manga shines. The characters are all very unique with their various quirks. Although some of their habits and fetishes are somewhat strange, it almost read more
Jul 14, 2015
Silentfan6 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is not for everyone, but with what this story does it's incredible how great this series is.

The art is great, and some times it looks almost Gantz realistic. But, what's really surprising is while this is a super uncensored ecchi series it has great characters, they're all interesting and they all have good development. The story is so ridiculous that it's hard not to like this. I have to stop reading multiple times because I'm just laughing my butt off so much, or because I actually hold my arms up and cheer whenever a character pulls off their goal.

Something that is very rare read more
Sep 26, 2013
AidoWand (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hey guys. :)


This ... thing, that manga is just so so epic. You can't find look alikes mangas any better than this one. Well of course, I'm hasty that's for sure, it could still turn mediocre later, but in my opinion I guess not. Its fan-service, its art, characters and storyline are so unique that I think keeping up like that, on those high-levels would certainly come to a brilliant succes. Akira-sensei is back with this manga so he'll surely make his possible to not let it down.
Anyway, for now at least (chapter 76 at this moment) I laughed my ass off, it's mind-blowingly awesome read more
Jan 13, 2014
MangaReview (All reviews)
Preliminary
General: Kangoku Gakuen takes the perspective from 5 male's point of view's in which they attend an all girls private high school. The mangaka does a well enough job of trying to immerse you into this world of the characters by showing how much emotion and pain is shown from being in prison. As well as how cruel and unusual this school really is and is all captured by how detailed the artwork is. The artwork is most likely the defining part of the manga because it is not only done in great detail but also great style, giving off that somewhat realistic approach to read more
Apr 26, 2018
Byleyg (All reviews)
Before reading this manga, I saw the anime and it really make me laught, the jokes were decent, and the whole plot was good. I wanted to read the manga to see if that crazy humour improved in some way. It does for some time, but then gets worse.

The ammount of Ecchi it's overwhelming, of course, this is an ECCHI manga, but exaggerates its use, sometimes up to entire chapters like, the circunstances doesn't matter anymore "lets just put some ecchi here". It gets really anoying and give me the feel that the manga got stucked. On the last volumes the story got really slow read more
Jun 24, 2014
CyWolf (All reviews)
Preliminary
So to start this manga can get fairly ecchi and so if that kind of thing bothers you then don't read this. If you can look past that then this manga can be very enjoyable. It is incredibly funny and when I was reading through it I found myself laughing so much that it hurt. The characters, the scenes, the stupidity its all funny. However another great thing about this manga is the character development and how each character develops into a better, or weirder, person. It's quite a good tale of brotherhood and humor.
Jan 17, 2016
Lucandore (All reviews)
Preliminary
For me this mangá is like Brazilian funk of mangás, is heavy sexual have too much fan service which spoils the story. But this is bearable compare to the stupidity of the male characters.

Story - 7
I like the story, is solid is some aspects and even uses the famous Stanford Prision Experiment as a sort of base for the hole anime, focusing on comedy instead in true human nature.

Art - 10
Art is where the mangá excedes, it's extremely well, sometimes makes me remember of Bleach a little in some face shoots. The only character that I didn't like the visual was the Fat read more
Apr 19, 2014
Dreamboum (All reviews)
Preliminary
Baby Jesus.

I didn't know where I was going into when I started Kangoku Gakuen, I was just hormone-driven by the few pictures I saw scattered through the web and I took my courage to finally go into a reverse google images search to find the source of all this lewdness and achieve what my mind ruined by the internet told me to.

Alas, what awaited me at the end of this journey wasn't the pleasure of seeing scantily clad high school girls having fun in daily school activities but a fantastic adventure into the depths of male friendship and honor through the hardships of female domination read more
Aug 28, 2019
vitriolcocktail (All reviews)
Prison School is a nonsensical, lewd, fever dream-esque comedy. Its unique sense of humor and Machiavellian plot twists keep you wondering what will happen next.

The writing is sublime. The intricate plot dovetails beautifully with the downright ludicrous, self-aware comedy. The characters are lovingly written and you'll find yourself surprisingly invested in their (admittedly nonsensical) arcs.

The illustrations are wonderful. I love the over-the-top expressions the characters have. It's lovingly drawn and all of it is pleasant on the eyes.

My one gripe is that the story kind of awkwardly ends.

(spoiler)

The superintendent ends up in jail, Mari ends up just leaving everyone without so much as a goodbye, read more