No.6
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

No.6

Alternative Titles

English: No.6
Synonyms: Number Six, Number 6
Japanese: NO.6 [ナンバーシックス]

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 9
Chapters: 35
Status: Finished
Published: Jan 28, 2011 to Nov 28, 2013
Genres: ActionAction, MysteryMystery, DramaDrama, Sci-FiSci-Fi, ShoujoShoujo
Authors: Asano, Atsuko (Story), Kino, Hinoki (Art)
Serialization: ARIA

Statistics

Score: 8.391 (scored by 1170611,706 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1772
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #265
Members: 31,018
Favorites: 1,781

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 7, 2015
Midievalfantasy (All reviews)
The No. 6 manga is the only thing from what I've encountered so far that I've been able to give a 10 to. I'll do my best to refrain from any spoilers or summarizing the plot.

Story. (10/10)

The Good: the plot is excellent and I thought it was extremely well paced. From the very first page you're transported into the fake world of No. 6. You're then taken for a crash course on reality in the Western District. You're swept away by the every line, every detail on the page.

When I first saw the anime, I was jaded. When I read the light read more
Dec 29, 2012
Shion657 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I love No.6 the manga it really does explain a lot more than the anime. It really is captivating. I read all volumes released up to this day and I did that in just two days. That's how hooked I got to this and I will continue to read it.
Mar 8, 2014
arisutan (All reviews)
After watching the anime, I was desperate to find more of Shion & Nezumi's story, and discovered the manga was being published in Japan. The anime was only a half season and truly lacks much of the depth and story that the manga and novel include.
note: I have not read the official English translation of the manga. I am reading the Japanese versions.

Story-
Deep and intriguing, as if the premise of No.6 wasn't interesting enough already, there are many underlying and interweaving layers of the story. Things are truly not as they seem, but go much further than many other "ideal but not so ideal read more
Dec 31, 2013
mechato (All reviews)
No.6 follows two boys from opposite ends of the socioeconomic ladder as they try to reveal the secrets behind a so-called utopia. Although it's only 35 chapters long, I'm giving it a 10 because it's incredibly well-done despite its length. Read below for the full review.

- - - - -
Storyline: 9

To some extent, No.6 is just another dystopian story--perfect society with a dark secret, disillusioned citizens, etc.--but the inner workings of its dystopia are both unique and unexpected. Its plot is well-developed and easy to follow. The only reason why I don't give a perfect score for this category is because some moments within the read more
Feb 27, 2013
chiharuder (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well...this story got me captivated first moment. It's full with heart-race moments, and there is enough action in it too. The story is quite unique, but sometimes it's plain and predictable, but I still like it very much.

About the art: yeah, well the character designs are good, but a little more detail can't hurt, can it? I mean...I am used to pretty shoujo manga, with details by every block, so i kinda miss the creativity with the shadings, and other stuff like that.

Characters are pretty good: my favorite is Inukashi, but I'm not fond of dogs. I'm not sure if he/she is a read more
Nov 21, 2016
RavenSkye (All reviews)
No. 6 may be overlooked but after getting a glimpse of its world, you can say it’s worth your time.

I can’t say the story is unique but it is well written and delivered that the flow is, without a doubt, fluid. The manga has its share of gore, thrill, and sometimes humor and every mood was well-balanced to the convenience of its reader. The only problem is that the plot isn’t shown in a particular light whereas it appears mysterious or suspenseful. You may be thinking, ‘does that mean I can easily tell what’s going to happen next?’ and, somehow, yes but not exactly. read more
Jan 16, 2014
ninetwelves (All reviews)
Preliminary
this is my favorite manga. i first watched the show (SUBS IF YOURE PLANNING INTO OHMYGOD I HATe THE DUB) and the art is really good the character are much more developed and strong and its just overall really good i highly recommend it. i wasnt too satisfied with the ending in the anime thats why i went to the manga and i dont regret it. im was reading it on mangareader but i had an issue where i couldnt find the rest of the chapters after 22. its not on the site or anywhere i search like is it even released yet like it read more
May 13, 2017
FMAHD (All reviews)
Preliminary
Neck Bees: the Manga series.

If the prospect of reading a (gay??????) scifi story about a bipolar jerk (Eve/Rat), a confusingly determined piece of paper (Shion), and bees coming out of people's necks appeals to you, then I can recommend it.
To start, there's nothing particularly bad about the premise, I mean having bees erupt from people's necks is equivalent of a disease that kills people in a horrifying way. It's silly and dumb, but most anime is and I just found myself laughing about it anyways.
The characters are decent at first, Shion being a levelheaded guy who just wants the best for his friends and Rat read more
May 26, 2016
Sydist (All reviews)
The human emotions are a very sensitive thing to begin with, but what if you had grown up not knowing of the negative emotions? A place where there is no crime, and everything is perfect? Welcome to no. 6, a 'Utopian' town where everything seems to be perfect.

STORY: 9/10
The story follows the journey of two boys, Nezumi and Shion, along with many others. It is a story that can at first be hard to fall into (for some, at least), but as you continue reading, it's almost impossible to stop yourself from being interested. There are a wide variety of emotions in this manga, read more
Apr 29, 2017
imaginenarwhals (All reviews)
It is rare to find an original and riveting story in an unconventional world, that also fosters to the wishes of unappeasable fangirls. A mix of action, sci-fi, and drama; No. 6 is a manga that is not only thrilling, but prods at your emotions, focusing not only on the story at hand, but a complex relationship between two major characters.
I found this manga to be pleasantly progressive in its focus on romance, but not gender. It is rare to find an anime with two members of the same sex in love and confirmed in canon. It is even rarer to find one that does read more